GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

DOOM 3 BFG Edition

DOOM 3 BFG Edition is the ultimate collection of groundbreaking games that defined the first person shooter. DOOM 3 BFG Edition will be available this Fall and features DOOM 3 and the Resurrection of Evil add-on pack, both of which have been re-mastered for the consoles. The package also includes hours of new content - seven new levels entitled The Lost Mission'. DOOM 3 BFG Edition is slated for release for the Xbox 360® video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, PC and PlayStation® 3 - marking the first time any DOOM game has ever been released for the PlayStation® 3.
Average Customer Rating:
4
4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
1 out of 425%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Review 1 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Bringing back the horror in more ways than one
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/14
2THUMBS
Location: PHILADELPHIA, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I grew up on the Doom saga and I have to admit I was shocked when Bethesda wanted to come out with a collectors edition of Doom 3. When Doom 3 came out to me it was terrifying a new twist on first person shooter while keeping the the classic feel of Doom. Furthermore you get the classics (Doom and Doom 2 ) wish they included final Doom, and Resurrection of Evil, AND lost levels for a REALLY good price. No complaining people we gotta be ready for Doom 2015 to come out and when it does like wolfenstein new order its going to change first person shooters once more!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
I began this on PC, I will continue this on PC
Posted on:10/5/12
robotchicken
When I first started with Doom 3, I believe it was on an OCZ 1GBDDR1 system, sporting an Athalon XP 2400+, and an XFX GeForce FX 5950 Ultra. I averaged mid 25-30fps, but mostly sticking around 28, with dips down into the high teens at times...curious to see how it will run on an OC'd FX8150 running at 4.6ghz, 16GB Avexir Core series DDR3 2000mhz, a Sapphire 6970 @ 970mhz and a Sabertooth motherboard. I'm guessing I'll kill this game, since I kill Crysis ;) It should be a much more fluid and smoother experience.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
animefanatic84
KS
 
Please wait while more information about animefanatic84 is loaded.
Additional information about animefanatic84 could not be loaded.
you should be fine dude
Posted 10/16/12
They didn't change any of the system requirements, all they did really was add some patches that the original had i guess with Windows 7. added some lighting, remastered the textures (or so i heard). flash light is now armor mounted. pretty much its kinda like what Lucas arts did with KOTOR collection, just patched it up with maybe a few minor adjustments.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
they doomed doom
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/14
loltroll
Location: Houston,Texas
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
god this awful game ,they just doomed doom.hope doom 4 will be not that bad.dont buy it never please
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
PC Specs.
Posted on:8/18/12
Reveiwguy355
Looks great but, what are the specs. for the PC version? I'm I going to bang my head on my desk when I get this or can my PC play this?
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IridiumBlade
Ashland, KY
 
Please wait while more information about IridiumBlade is loaded.
Additional information about IridiumBlade could not be loaded.
Posted 9/23/12
Just look up the specs of the original PC release. Also, bear in mind, that it has ben remastered for the consoles so I'm sure any PC with gaming video cards made within the last 7 years can run it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
AHHH SCARIEST GAME IVE PLAYED
Posted on:8/22/12
VatoLoko1985
Location: Anaheim,CA
YES NEW LEVELS,REMASTERED GRAPHICS WHAT ISN'T THEIR TO LOVE , I had the original and it scared the shout out of me.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
WOULD NOT LOAD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/13
StillNotMrHappy
Location: West Texas
I bought it at Best Buy, I wanted a shooter game for my PC, Doom had been fun. An hour on line downloading "Stream" and that wants to do more on-line when I start the computer.
Then the game will not load, I get an error message. Went on line and found people talking about the problem, old conversations at that!
I spent $29 and expected to put the disk in and play a game, not spend bandwidth AND get an error message!
I'm really not happy...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Remind me, what's the difference again?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/12
robotchicken
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I just popped in Doom 3 BFG, expecting a refreshing, new, modernized version of the last. Perhaps, something that would parallel the mods for the original. What we got, is an exact remake, with added checkpoint system, a shoulder mounted flashlight and an extra mission. This does not make any sense. They have essentially stripped the mod support, and left us with a very, original experience, with little option for otherwise. If you have the original DO NOT purchase, however, if you have a console, it's a decent choice, but even on console the textures are pretty dated. It most definitely does not come close to paralleling the Dead Space I experience technologically and graphically, let alone Dead Space 2.
It's strange...why strip Tech 4 and replace it with Tech 5 and not complete the process? The whole selling point to Tech 5, was "Megatextures." Doom 3 has been given Tech 5, and no Megatextures. What's the deal? We're still running the same ol, low-res textures of the original Doom. It could have been EASILY upgraded with high res textures to complete Tech 5. I'm so disappointed with ID right now. Now that I am in the mood for playing this game again and have had much better experiences in the past, with modded versions of the original, I now have to try to either find my original copy of Doom 3, or re-purchase the original and expansion, again, just to play it in high fidelity. Unbelievable....strip out texture/ audio mod support and offer the bare minimum enhancements and charge us for it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Raymondf
 
Please wait while more information about Raymondf is loaded.
Additional information about Raymondf could not be loaded.
Don't waste your money
Posted 12/6/12
If you have the original Doom 3 then don't bother getting this. The graphics are basically the same, and because you have to go through "STEAM" you can't get to the console anymore. If I had known this was through Steam I never would have purchased. Waste of money !!!!!!
Customer Avatar
djmvp76
 
Please wait while more information about djmvp76 is loaded.
Additional information about djmvp76 could not be loaded.
Must uy
Posted 10/27/12
I Installed The Game And I Is Has Amazing Graphics !!! The Lost Missions Are Awsome And It Totally Gave Me A Total Felling Of Good Ol Doom :D !!! This Is A MUST BUY !!! Support ID So They'll Have The Funds To Make Doom 4 Faster
Comments (2)
Comments (2)