GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct

The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is a do-whatever-you-need-to-survive first-person action game that brings the deep, character-driven world of AMC's Emmy®Award-winning TV series onto console gaming systems and the PC. The game follows the mysterious, crossbow-wielding survivor Daryl Dixon, brought to life by TV series star Norman Reedus, alongside his overbearing brother Merle, voiced by Michael Rooker, on a haunting, unforgiving journey across the Georgia countryside. Players will need to tread carefully on this desperate quest, scrounging for food, water, and ammunition to survive against nightmares both living and undead.
Average Customer Rating:
6.129
6.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (179 reviews)
10 stars
21
9 stars
18
8 stars
23
7 stars
10
6 stars
7
5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
8
2 stars
17
1 star
12
73 out of 13255%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Review 1 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
-_- this is a joke right?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/14
Drownedfish
Location: IL, Chicago
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The graphics suck, enough said. What ever zombie game have you heard of that takes a pure headshot to kill? For example I have a high power shotgun, I wasted all my bullets shooting the walker in the body. I mean if I have a rocket launcher would I have to shoot the zombie on the head!? I surprised the price for this game is still 20$. Why does Daryl drink water after being biten to stop the virus in him!? I would rather jump off a bridge into a leach infested water then ever play this game again
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
I bought this new and I thought it would be great.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/14
orkscoop
Location: allentown pa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
it was good and bad the story is okey though. mainly the begining but later on it just gets worse...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
best game EVER
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/14
mattbernz11
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game take realism,scary and the walking dead in the same game and is overall good for me because i enjoy the walking dead and takes my 2 favorite characters and buts them in a game and again it is really realistic as if your run a walker can here you if your using guns simply your gonna be heard by the walkers i know graphics aren't the best in this game it gets a thumbs up from me
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
fun, fun game with amazing gameplay
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/13
diddly666
Location: richmond va
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
awesome new game with a twist. headshots only, weapons are rare, guns and ammo are limited, and has awesome gameplay. similar to dead island.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
this game could be better
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/13
Andry
Location: Florida
I was expecting more!!! Lalalalalalalalalalalaallalalalalalalalalalalalalala...........................
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 6 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
I love the walking dead.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/25/13
cataclysm117
Location: georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love the walking dead and despite what most people think about this game I actually enjoyed it, however there were many flaws. To start off the graphics were really lacking and could have been a lot better especially by today's standards, also the replay ability of this game was not to great you can play threw this game about once or twice before it gets boring, but that doesn't mean it wasn't a good game it had a very interesting story to it. It shows how Daryl's dad dies and shows how Daryl got the crossbow which was cool and also how him and Merle made it to Atlanta and even shows dr. Jenner ( CDC scientist) leaving on a helicopter to go to Atlanta which was pretty interesting. Overall I will say that this game is not worth 60 bucks but rather 20 bucks. I would recommend to any walking dead fan looking for a cool very short campaign evolving Daryl.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 7 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
its not as bad as people say it is...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/13
dove218
Location: mentor ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Being a Older Gamer i look past how a game looks..i will be truthful This game looks ok and could have been better but with that aside the game is shockingly cool...it has moments of horror,shock and pushes you to you limit...once you unlock infinite ammo the game really becomes fun! are the zombies (walkers) stupid? yes...is the game worth 30 bucks ? Yes! its alot of fun to play if you can look be on its looks ...the gameplay alone is worth it ...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Hard and not really worth it
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/13
dakoram
Location: birnamwood, WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is not what I thought it would be. I thought that you would be stealthing to help avoid the walkers it dosen't help at all. The game is very odd and not like any other zombie game. You should have people along side you and the graphics could of been way better. The should have spent more time makeing the graphics better.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 9 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
It was okay.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/13
HerpDeLerp
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It was an okay game, It was a real bummer though. I am a huge fan of the TV show The Walking Dead and once I heard about this game I got real excited. I certainly don't think the game was AWFUL but it certainly wasn't great, or even good. I certainly think this game could of had a lot more work done on it and maybe even better graphics.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 10 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Its terrible from beginning to end.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/13
nik19
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Honestly I believe this game did absolutely no justice for Daryl or Merle as a character from the walking dead. I love the show but, they messed up on the game very terribly. In the first play through of the game it isn't even slightly fun until you reach the crossbow. After finishing the game, it's not fun until you unlock infinite ammo. They should've taken a lot more time on this game because I was very disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Perfect for a True Walking Dead Fan
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/13
frank147tyler
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Now I know most people say this game sucks, but i think there wrong. I watch the show, and read the comics, so you can say i'm a True Walking Dead Fan. This is a game for hardcore gamers because of the scavenging. Most people say this game is unrealistic if a walker grabs you your most likely going to have trouble stabbing it in real life. Plus in a Zombie Apocalypse your going to have to scavenge for food, fuel, weapons, ammo and and shelter. Also you would have to plan out your route to set up camp. Another reason this game is Boss is that your Daryl Dixon. The only thing i think is bad about this game is that is short, so it cuts down the lasting appeal. Other then that if you are a True Walking Dead Fan you should get this game, but wait for the price to drop.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Pretty good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/13
Firepro37
Location: Anchorage Alaska
The game has an amazing concept. The only let down was that the main story was two short. I was glad I spent my money on it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 13 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Wow.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/13
RavenLF
Location: Geneva
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I can't believe anyone would spend their money on this. This game had so much potential, with the voice actors and the wonderful storyline to follow from the TV series. It's like the developers have never seen an episode of TWD. There is no plot to this game, it's just a bunch of random scavenging, meaningless side-missions or the occasional roadblock. The zombies use recycled skins, and the melee combat is terrible. Animation in this game sucks, especially when using the knife. And when you run, little raindrops fall down the screen as if to simulate sweat. I don't understand why this game was so hyped up to turn out to be a terrible, rushed game that had great potential. I'd be embarrassed to be Activison.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 14 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
i sold this the day after i bought it
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/13
FRESH101
Location: Nuketown il
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i sold this the day after i bought it. now I got it day 1. sold it like a few days later do to violence. don't buy this you might be veryyyyyyyyy mad that you spent 50 dollars on it or 40 or whatever. I think even ign didn't like it this is the type of game that even Darrel and rick would throw in the garbage. even the director of the series would look at it and say is this some game wherei have to kill zombies then he would say no those aint zombies those are dolls that my sister had in her room. because the zombies literally looked fake as heck. so with that said don't buy this unless you want to get 15 dollars in return when you spent like 40 on whatever this is.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Very very disappointing
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/13
Bananaphone
Location: Clinton, CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There are very few games that I am genuinely disappointed with and/or I can't finish because it's so bad. This game meets both of those criteria. I am a huge fan of The Walking Dead. I read the comics, I watch the show, and I was expecting a zombie game that meets the amazing standards of TWD. What I got was a lackluster game with a similar feeling to CoD Zombies, which, as any true fan of TWD knows, is NOT this type of zombie story. While this may appeal to some people with a general concept of the show, or for people who just love to kill things absent-mindedly, it won't appeal to people searching for a beautifully written story, with smart gameplay. All of the levels in this game feel extremely similar. The zombies look generic and there are about three or four different looking ones. The game became so repetitive and awful at one point that I just couldn't bring myself to finishing it. If you are looking for a genuine Walking Dead experience, get the game by Telltale Games. This couldn't compete with that game even if they were the last two games on earth.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 16 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
craaap
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/13
pharoah
Location: los angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
dont bother, its the same silly craaap over and over with craaap weapons and craaap game play. you cant look down a ladder to shoot the craaap zombies at the bottom of it for christ sake. ... craaap
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 17 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
People downgrade to much.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/13
PowderKegIke
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was really good by my standards. The graphics didn't bother me nor did the bugs and glitches. It was a all around good game by my standpoint. People down grade to much and expected more from it. The game was pretty good the only thing that kinda bothered me were the graphics and 1 or 3 bugs I found a long the way. If they patch all that stuff up and spend more time on the graphics it would have been in the running for Game of The Year easily. Not a bad game but there are a lot of haters out there who think they know how to make the perfect game. But anyways great game totally buy it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/13
Smokecity
Location: Texas
I love the series, but have to say this is one of the worst games I've ever played. So bad to the point I solely created an account just to prevent anyone from buying this terrible game. I've never played such a repetitive game. I ignored the reviews, and was like its Daryl Dixon killing zombies. How bad could it possibly be? It's that bad. A game like this could have had so much potential. But obviously it was rushed and not cared for, because it reflects in every way shape and form with this atrocity of a game. I rented it from red box and am so glad I did. I beat it in less than 3 hours, and truly feel sorry for anyone who threw there money away. It has absolutely no re-play value what so ever. But I'm done now venting, and was truly looking forward to writing this towards the end of the game, to help prevent people from wasting there time.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 19 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Just What I thought
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/13
cyclone1234
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was better then I thought because of all of the bad rattings. If you dont care all about the graphics then this game is perfect. It explains everything a true Walking Dead fan would need to know. If this compony made another game following someone else's path, then I would play it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Not a complete loss
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/13
PureEvil616
Location: AZ
First off, everyone should stop comparing this to Telltale Games' game, which we all know rocked socks. This is a different style entirely, based off the tv show, not the comic. On to the review. This game was pretty fun to me. As most licensed games tend to be mediocre at best, I didn't pop this game in with high expectations. I was actually pleasantly surprised at how fun it was. Gameplay is simple: explore locations looking for fuel, ammo, and food (the health for the game) while avoiding or killing walkers. How much depth can you really get there? I don't expect a deep story and riveting action sequences, I expect only that this is the beginning of a zombie apocalypse and that surviving is my primary goal. There are little things that make for interesting ideas as well. When driving between locations, you can pick either back roads, streets, or highway. Each has different benefits and consequences: gas consumption vs. chances to stop for supplies. Sending out survivors that you've picked up to scavenge runs risks of them dying, depending on some personal traits and what you arm them with. Little things like this add to the game. The controls are perfect and responsive. One of my favorite things about this game is that there is no set number of walkers per map. They keep showing up, even if you clear an area. Leave, and more will show up later. The graphics... well it was hit and miss. The walkers looked pretty good, especially when they are in your face snapping their decayed jaws, hungering for your flesh. The lighting was impressive, as your flashlight cast real time shadows off of everything, living, dead, or inanimate. This isn't seen in many games, and I was happy to see that it was in this one. The environments however are pretty plain. I've seen much worse, but they just didn't seem very textured. Environments at least look occupied by junk and empty cans, boxes and cars, so it seems like everywhere has been looted.There are plenty of weapons to choose from. The voice acting is good enough, with the shows voice talents returning for Merle and Daryl. Overall the game is decently fun, but it wouldn't hurt to wait for a price drop. Recent (and cheap) DLC added a Herd Mode and a slew of new weapons for the story and new mode. It adds some replayability, in addition to the collectibles you can find.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>