GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct

The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is a do-whatever-you-need-to-survive first-person action game that brings the deep, character-driven world of AMC's Emmy®Award-winning TV series onto console gaming systems and the PC. The game follows the mysterious, crossbow-wielding survivor Daryl Dixon, brought to life by TV series star Norman Reedus, alongside his overbearing brother Merle, voiced by Michael Rooker, on a haunting, unforgiving journey across the Georgia countryside. Players will need to tread carefully on this desperate quest, scrounging for food, water, and ammunition to survive against nightmares both living and undead.
Average Customer Rating:
5.431
5.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
7
8 stars
5
7 stars
10
6 stars
3
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 star
9
28 out of 6543%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Review 1 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
better than I thought!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/14
indicaDee
Location: hesperia,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Just bought this game today I honestly had my doubts But it was way better than I thought overall I give it a 9.0 it would have been a 10 if it was aa bit longer I beat the story in about 8 hours. I will advise everyone to play the telltale TWD that one gets a 10.0 :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 2 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Waste of... well, everything!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
Smoltwire
Location: Chicago, IL
I don't know how much time I put into this game, but way too much. The graphics are level of which I haven't seen in 10 years, because they are that poor quality. I could get over the graphics if it wasn't for the awful game play. I've played a number of zombie games, but I don't think the makers even tried. There are so many glitches it's pathetic and you can barely make it two feet without a set of zombies appearing in the hallway you JUST CLEARED OUT. It'd be fun, I guess, if the fight dynamics were even possible to use. Everything is so out of sync that once zombies phased through a chain fence (which, in the game, is suppose to be too strong for them to break through). This game is terrible quality. Bare careful not to mistake it for the other Walking Dead video game, like I did. This game is awful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Who allowed this?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/13
5kuzzard
Location: Oconomowoc WI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Is this real? I am embarrassed for whoever thought that this would be ok to release as a game. I can't believe I let this piece of garbage touch my ps3 console.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
FINALLY...TWD I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/13
WINDMANKNOWS
Location: BASTROP,TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I tried the story game of TWD and I hated it. I am the type of gamer who like to be interactive with the game. And being a HUGE fan of the TV series, I love the idea of being one of the main characters of the show. The game itself is awesome. Just like in the show, if you get caught by 4-5 zombies you might have a chance. And like the show, if you get caught by anything more then that be prepared to die either with a fight or just becoming one with death. Having the option to choose who stays and who goes is good also. You can have people in your party stay in the vehicle or search for supplies. They have a chance of coming back or not. You have to think in some situations because the horde is waiting. You chose the road you travel on in your vehicle and the story line is suppose to be the gap connector to the first season. The graphics are good, it looks good on my HDTV. The controls are simple and the game itself is fun. If your a fan and just don't have the patience to sit and wait for all the talking in the other Tell Tale game. This game will fill that need for playing a character from the series and killing those Walkers. Have fun!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Just no.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/13
SuperFly01
Location: Corona, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct has great quality game play but the whole story is rushed and highly predicable
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 6 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Oh WHat a God awful game -_-
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/13
Giacomo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Not even worth reviewing it just saying it was a cheap cash grab for a game that had high expectations
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 7 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/13
fireclan144
Location: gloversville
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i dont know why so many people down this game its really cool you have to find aumo weapons fuel its just like your in the real walking dead seris the music makes you look around every corner explore the world if you go to fast you will miss something like a gernade that could be usefull good story line nice plot its a kind of game that makes you check your enviroment if i were you and like zombie firsat shotter! games i would get this one than dead island riptide!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
SUCKED!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/13
Spongebobisawesome
Location: TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
They could've made more zombie designs. I thought i was killing the same zombie over and over again..
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 9 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
The Critics are Wrong!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/13
BeastyBoy1235685623
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you watch the walking dead this is a prequel to the original series on amc. In the game you play as Daryl and it shows how he ended up in atlanta and how he got his crossbow. HIs brother Meryl pops up every once and a while, and you can pick up group members along the for them to get ammo, food, or gas, but there is a risk of them dying. The game is very realistic, and this is how i would picture a zombie apocolypse, if one happened. DEFINATLEY GET THIS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Walking Dead aka Dead Island
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/13
MrTheSuperMarioBros
Location: Lake Villa IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game plays and feels like Dead Island only with Walking Dead characters slapped across it. The graphics looks like a game made in 2004. Disrespectful to the Walking Dead series which I love. Guess what we expect from Activision from the overrated and horrible but popular COD to the terrible and mockery of the Walking Dead guess a game that sucks but we play it anyway but unlike COD it doesn't have a great multiplayer or is fun to play.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 11 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Couldn't get through it.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/13
sodbeatlesmcrlp
Huge let down. I love the Walking Dead but this game was just overall terrible. It's a waste of time and money.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 12 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
its awesome!give it a big chance!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/13
wassman
Location: michagen
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
after seeing the harsh reviews on the game i was not really sure if i should buy it then i wanted to try it for myself and it was amazing crossbow wielding daryl dixon and merle i cant believe it i started the game and it was nice then it got better WHO CARES ABOUT THE STUPID GRAPHICS i have an HDMI so the graphics are good stop hating the game buy it its awesome 10 STARS!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/13
Princeligero
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I can see why this game got a lot of poor ratings because people thought is was a sequel to the game "The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series". This game is about Merle and Daryl and who they are before they meet people in Atlanta and is a prequel to The Walking Dead TV Show. I would recommend this game to people who like the walking dead TV show and want to play a first person game about Zombies.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
This is a good game just with a great story.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/13
Bigdogg96
Location: Shelbyville,KY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The thing about the game that was the best was the story it starts before everything in th walking dead tv show that what was great about the game and i would like to see a expanseion to the story.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
It is good but also a little bad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/13
AWESOMESAUSE
Location: pensacola, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If your a walking dead fan like i am you will like this game. It has its flaws like graphics and sound but overall it is good game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 16 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
rushed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/13
pittpirate15
Location: Davie County, NC
i never watched the walking dead (i know you probably hate me for that) but i saw what the game looked like and i could only find rushed material and not to mention no co-op. and i hate to reveal the obvious but WAY under par graphics. I mostly don't look at stuff like that in a game but for this game from what i see holy gosh. it looks horrible. Though i hear nothing but awesome reviews on the TV series the game unfortunately just isn't there.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 17 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Huge Let Down!!!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/13
dambra661
1st off im a huge twd fan. this game was so cr@ppy i couldnt believe it. luckily i pre-ordered and recieved the herd mode which is ok. the zombies can get very annoying to kill and put down after awhile. People who are looking for a good back story to the dixon brothers like i was DO NOT expect to get it in this game. Nextly you dont even receive your crossbow till about half way thru the game which is cr@p. I could go on and on about how bad this game is but ill just skip to the point instead...THIS GAME IS A BIG DISGRACE TO THE DIXONS DO NOT BUY!!!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 18 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Great Ideas, but clearly rushed to release.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/13
Ceridain
Location: Cleveland, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Being a HUGE fan of the walking dead and all of its adaptations, I was extremely excited when i first discovered this was coming out. There is alot of great concepts but the overall game feels very rushed. its not so much about killing walkers as it is about sneaking around them. If the patched a few big issues it would be worthbuying for the story experiance.
1. Walkers shouldnt take 3-5 FULL power swing of a hammer. or Stabs to the face to die. its ridiculous.
2. Walkers literally spawn out of nowhere. I once closed a door with a window, straffed left and then back right and just from a second of being out of vision everything respawned. Or checkign a empty hallway with a closed door behind you and all of a sudden your mauled from behind.
3. Levels are Dry. they use the same farmohouse everytime yyou "salvage" supplies.
otherwise the story aspect and the voice work is awesome. they clearly just rushed the game to be out after season 3 to make the cash. hopefully patches soon otherwise complete trash. Get DEAD ISLAND.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 19 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Not bad but could have been a little bit better
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/13
Slycooper75
Location: los angeles,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Not bad but could have been a little bit better know why?
things you guys should know about the pros & cons? lets start shall we
Pros.
1.The sound is good, the walkers sounds is very good
2.the graphics are good too but there is a con. scroll down to see the cons
3.the weapons, some is loud, some is silent even the crossbow very silent, great weapon easy usable but limited usage of bolts which is con but pick them right back up
4.gameplay-the storyline on & off, scavenging LOTS of scavenging & walkers oh the walkers, for players who likes stealth games? example (metal gear solid) this is the game for you! every time go a around a corner? a walker jumps on you out of nowhere even they "playing dead"
Cons
1.Graphics-now if anyone has played call of duty:MW3 single player & expecting the walking dead:survival instinct to have the same graphics? well your wrong it's not the same graphic engine it's a little less than or nowhere near mw3 single player, even its the mw3 & TWD:SI has the same company (activision blizzard)
2.in the game requires a lot of scavenging which this game is about.
3.weapons is good but I don't know it good to have weapons but every time you shoot a gun more walkers comes out which is fine because that's how it is
& 4.the price $50 seems a little too much for it, I got mine $40 new & it was worth the price, so guys get the TWD toward a smaller price like $20-$30.
& a game recommend if you guys don't want this game? get the walking dead tell tales game totally worth it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
Honesty
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/13
maverick4444
Location: Pine Grove, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Sometimes being truthful can be hurtful. This game is one that I wanted to love so badly but alas I must settle for liking it. I am one of the few who has placed many hours into the game and I am finishing up another of my multiple playthroughs. There are some criticisms that can be understood. For instance, graphically the game is lacking but to be honest I hate the graphics in other games that get rave reviews. Graphics alone are not enough to make me dislike a game. Gameplay feels weighty. The guns seem a little questionable when aiming on occasion. There is nothing that makes me not want to play it. AI is adequate for the zombies being portrayed. I do not want hyper-intelligent zombies for this universe. It would not fit. Voice acting is superb from the two main stars and good from others. Sound could have been tweaked for better directional cues. The story is decent enough. I was not expecting a Mass Effect level story. I love the branching paths but I wish that more personality was given to the NPCs. Also, there are times when a choice must be made to leave someone behind and there are only a few instances when those choices have consequences. Sending out your passengers is a great idea that was not fully fleshed out with survivors often costing more in health than they bring back in loot. I personally love the scavenging missions in the different areas. Sure, there are a limited number of locations that get reused but I don't mind it. Would I like more? Of course, but that is because I enjoy this game for what it is and I would love to see a sequel that has had more time to develop and is set in the time between Season 2 and 3 while scavenging. It could be about Rick and the group struggling to survive against a small enemy (not the Governor yet) and then you can also choose to play as Merle (I love that character) in his early days with Woodbury. In closing, I would and have recommended this game to many. Those that have played it with an open mind have enjoyed it. Not a game of the year but I do not think that it deserved the bashing from others.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>