GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series

Based on Robert Kirkman's award-winning comic book series, The Walking Dead is about a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive.
Average Customer Rating:
8.955
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
10 stars
28
9 stars
6
8 stars
6
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
39 out of 4489%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
Review 1 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
Two Words, bro. FREAKING. AWESOME!!
Posted on:10/2/12
PungYo
Location: Berkeley,CA
This game really NAILS down everything you love about Robert Kirkman's The Walking Dead; the tension, the atmosphere, the setting, the world, how the story goes. Just everything, even the comic book visuals. (The Walking Dead originally is a comic book series if you didn't know) Sadly, I never got the chance to read all the books. This is an interactive drama game like Heavy Rain, or those "point and click to interact with stuff around you" type of games. It's main strength is not the gameplay but the story and the feeling, the experience you get from playing an Episode the first time, so if you're looking to shoot up lots zombies you'll be disappointed. I already own the digital version of this BUT I WILL pick this up nonetheless to both support this series and as a keepsake or something. so if you like the AMC show, or the comics, like me, or just realistic zombie apocalypse in general, there's REALLY no reason not to pick this up once it's out or get the digital version like RIGHT NOW!! NOW!! man, i love this series :)
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
17 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
geekgurl
 
Please wait while more information about geekgurl is loaded.
Additional information about geekgurl could not be loaded.
Posted 11/26/12
Is it a decently long game? I want to get it but don't want to have it only last like an hour lol. Please let me know.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
Worst Game I have Ever Played on PS3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/14
StraightUpReviews
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It is almost as much fun and as interactive as an Online Defensive Driving Course. The playability is exactly the same. You watch poorly animated cut scenes and at the end of each scene you have to click something (usually doesn't matter what), just to prove you are still awake and to continue to the next cut scene.
This is nothing but a poorly done 1980's style Point & Click with horrible graphics and almost unusable interface. There are big warnings that every choice you make will influence the game. I have to laugh because it couldn't be further from the truth. No matter what you do the outcome is the same and makes no difference whatsoever. This is basically an animated movie with bad graphics and instead of pauses for commercials, you simply have to click to continue.
The puzzles:
Puzzles (if you call them that) can be solved by an intoxicated monkey. For example you will be stuck in a room with only two items to click. One of them does something and one of them doesn't. If you click the wrong one, nothing happens, so then you click the correct one to continue on to the next scene. I can't believe such garbage was rated so highly! It has a good story (like the comic book) but it is not even remotely a game. If you like stories, read the comic book. You can turn the pages without clicking something.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
Telltalle Games tells a powerful tale.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
kemeo1
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
While borrowing several pages from Robert Kirkman’s graphic novel as well as AMC’s TV adaptation, Telltalle prides themselves in developing a dynamic story that is tailored by the player's input. While this isn't anything new in the video game world, Telltalle breathes some fresh air through this concept. Choices are apparent everywhere through minor conversing to life changing dilemmas. Make no mistake, The Walking Dead will take some wild twists and turns and its direction is at your fingertips. The moral decisions are not a clear-cut, black-and-white matter. Instead it really requires you to both overcome and sacrifice to prevail. As a result, relationships with other survivors may turn sweet or sour. Whichever plot thread you follow, the entire game is a heavy load. It's amazing and sentimental to witness just how such fictional characters may end up becoming your friends. All that builds to an unforgettable ending that is sure to linger in your mind for weeks to come.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
The best!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/13
bell
Location: Florida,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is so good I just wouldnt give It up for anything in the world!Its so adictive and I think they should make a part two!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
20 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gearmaster
 
Please wait while more information about Gearmaster is loaded.
Additional information about Gearmaster could not be loaded.
Part Two
Posted 8/1/13
For those who are unaware TellTale games has released a new add-on to their walking dead series. It is a prologue for the second chapter of the walking dead games. Rumors are you will play as Clementine.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
Deserving of GOTY
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/12
AJCk19
Location: Buckeye State
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pros = pacing is good, feels like your in the story, unique, easy plat
Cons = gimmicky decisions, no replay value, short game
Worth = At least rent it!
I'm very happy this won game of the year. It really deserves it. Not only is it unique compared to what we have played before, but everyone can get into it. Some episodes will be more adventure focused while others require some more action and so forth. Making each episode fresh and you not bored. There are 5 episodes each about 2 hours long. So this is about a 5 to 15 hours game.
You get all the trophies just for finishing the game including a platinum. So just don't think about the trophies and let yourself be taken into the story like a rpg. One thing that disturbs me about this zombie point & click adventure is that the decisions are gimmicky. It won't change the story that much and makes it not have any real replay value. Looking forward to season 2 though and maybe it could change that.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
Game of the Year Worthy
Posted on:11/27/12
H0RR0RG0D
Location: Vallejo, CA
This is only 1 of 2 "downloadable" games that were nominated for 2012 Game of the Year, and it darn well deserves it. By far the most "adult" game series that Telltale Games has given us to date. The game takes place in the comic canon of the series (not the TV show) so if you're a fan of them, you will love this game. Great story, characters you get attached to, fun gameplay -- and an emotional rollercoaster. The series consists of 5 Episodes, which began in April of 2012 and ended on November 20th of 2012. You'll get all 5 on 1 disc for a great price. Or you can pick up the "Collector's Edition" that comes with "The Walking Dead: Compendium 1" which contains the first 48 issues of the comic. Which ever you choose to get, just BUY THIS GAME. You won't regret it.
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
A wonderful gaming experience.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/13
LynnT
Location: Norfolk, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The Walking Dead shows that the "point and click" genre of games is not completely dead. If you're looking for a shoot 'em up zombie game, this is not for you. This game relys on the characters and story to drive it as the experience changes according to the choices you make. You really get sucked in from the begining and it never lets you go even after the end. You ARE Lee and you want to make the right choices even though those choices are not as black and white as you like to think. Ever gamer should experience this game at least once and it will have a lasting appeal as when you're finished you'll most likely go back through and make different choices. I only wish I could wipe my memory of the game to play it agin for the first time. The only con about it is the graphics. I like the comic style graphics just fine but the game tends to lag at fast paced sequences. It was annoying and I did miss a que because of it but I can overlook it. Beyond that, the game is amzaing and everyone should play it at least once.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
There's Only One Ending
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/13
Rahmer227
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
To start off with my biggest complaint, there is only one ending. And in a game that is all about choices, that is just unacceptable. But don't get me wrong I had a blast playing this game. The comic-booky charm of the graphics and gripping story had me from the second I started playing. Also just because there was only one ending doesn't mean that your choices don't mean anything. Everything you say and do effects the way the game plays out toward the single ending. (that single ending DOES work well no matter how you played the game) You can choose to be a jerk to a character and they'll be a jerk right back and you can even choose which characters live and die. So the whole time I felt the impact of everything I did. Overall, despite the single ending and the very infrequent and unpleasant action sequences, this game was great. I give it a 7.5.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
the best hardcore zombie game evr
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/13
strayrogue
Location: Harrington Park, New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i bought the walking dead for the psn (bonus episodes) and it was awesome which made me into buying the game itself. this was my first ps3 game purchase since christmas day. the walking dead game is like no other because its supposed to be comic book graphics which is awesome. i highly reccommend someone buy this DEad Rising is no match for this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
Lots of Fun - A Rich Experience
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/14
USBIV
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm a big fan of the Walking Dead series, but have never read the graphic novel. My wife also loves the show, but isn't a gamer. However, we really enjoyed the game, including its replayability and story. It gives more depth to the TV series by giving context to things we've seen like Hershel's distrust of strangers.
There are few moments of high pressure; it builds plenty of suspense but you don't have to be a shooter expert to advance. There are a couple points that are very tricky (as opposed to difficult), but only one I had to look up online. Those familiar with Telltale's MO will find the interface familiar, but the goofy undertone is totally absent.
Overall a great way for lovers of TWD to get more time with the story.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
WORTH IT, I PROMISE YOU.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/13
ohfrost11
Location: Berkeley, Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first started this game I was unsure what to expect, but as the gameplay continued I was full of so many different emotions (which isn't a bad thing), and I still had no clue what to expect all throughout the gameplay. So I started to expect the unexpected. But let me just say this, this game deserved game of the year, there has been no game that I've ever encountered that has left me so emotional -- and no, I wasn't shedding tears or anything of that nature, I just really felt like I was in the situations the characters are going through and let's just say the ending will keep you wanting more. And I'm honestly hoping there's no sequel only because if there is it would have so many high expectations that it would have to meet and I wouldn't want to be disappointed after being blown away by this title.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
A game that makes you think....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/12
LynnT
Location: Norfolk, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really enjoyed playing the Walking Dead, not only am I a fan, but I like games that are not just mindless shooting people. To think about your actions before you act really draws the player into the game. You start off playing a good guy in a not so good situation when the world comes to an end. You're faced with making hard decisions that will affect the outcome of the game with each choice you make. You get to know the characters and want them to succeed and you're heart can beat fasted when faced with a zombie obstacle. The only thing I didn't like to well was when the action started moving faster, it seemed like the game moved slower. The graphics at those parts were sticky at best. Besides that it was a great game to play and I think a lot of people will play it over again just to make different choices.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
GREAT GAME!!
Posted on:9/10/12
TheWalkingZombie
Location: Nuketown, Black Ops
I've played episode 1 and 2 of this game and I all i can say It's an amazing game. The story is great and their is many surprises! Must buy!
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
One Of My Favorite Games, If Not My Favorite.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/12
biggie321
Location: florida
Emotional, funny, smart, action packed, and exciting, The Walking Dead The Game is incredible, GET IT NOW!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
PLZ READ
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/14
kggkfftf877
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
many people see reviews which mislead them this game is not a hardcore game its basically a 5-7 hour movie and you sort of direct iti would recommend just watch the game on youtube because its like watching a movie but no doubt this game had the best story ever and was asad definetly desrved game of the yaer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
Definitely getting this!!
Posted on:12/8/12
Behemoth2484
Location: West Warwick, RI
Saw this game win GOTY on the VGA's. Downloaded the demo and loved it!! I don't know why everyone is complaining about the graphics...I think they're pretty good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
Boring!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/13
RugbyNinja
Location: San Francisco
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is basically only for super fans of the show who dont mind no action and horrible game play. I couldnt even get half way into the second episode before I had to stop playing. Total waste of my time.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MadnessInside
Overlord's Castle, Netherwolrd
 
Please wait while more information about MadnessInside is loaded.
Additional information about MadnessInside could not be loaded.
. . .
Posted 11/20/14
It is based off of the comic. Also if you can get past the lack of action sequences(It isn't some thoughtless FPS) it tells a very engaging and emotional story, if you could get past the fact that there are no flashy explosions, and mindless running around and shooting people while insulting each other over the headset(not that that part isn't fun, we all love a little trash talk now and then.) I am pretty sure you would seriously enjoy this game. If I insulted you, sorry, but that isn't my intent, nor is it my problem.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
My game of the year of 2012
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/13
yung2112
Location: new york, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Here we are with my favourite game of 2012.This is all about a story which you decide which paths to choose and which to not.Your objective is not killing zombies, is protecting a little girl from this cruel world.Is incredible, the voice acting the graphics and the everything... they are some parts that even make you drop tears and let a big weight in your life, and when you play this game. You will realize that a zombie apocalypse is not cool, it sucks, you simoky can loose everything.And the ending leaves SO MANY FRIKIN QUESTIONS. LUCKELY THEY´RE WORKING ON THE NEXT SEASON; SO LETS JUST HOPE THAT A TRAILER MIGHT ANSWER SOME QUESTIONS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
A nice game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
Sy777
Location: Atlanta
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Although Tell Tale failed with Jurassic Park (video game) , Walking Dead proved to be a very enjoyable game. The music for this game is very touching and fits well. Enjoyed all episodes, although the last episode did not meet my expectations. Certain characters will die, no matter what you do to prevent or avoid the scenario. A lot of the decisions play out the same, regardless of the choices you make. The fact that they say "This game is tailored to how you play" is only half true. Overall, a good game. Not worth $30 for a disc. This game is $20 I believe with the season pass (downloadable) , a suitable price for about 5-10 hours of gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for The Walking Dead - A TellTale Games Series
Don't waste your money.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/13
BudWype
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Unless you like games made in the late 90's! I'v played better free games online. you have no free-rome at all. follow the path is all it is! I would rather play the original DOOM game then this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 24 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>