GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set

Now shipping! Wii U is the next great gaming console from Nintendo and it redefines how you will play next. With its innovative new Wii U GamePad controller, it will not only introduce entirely new ways to play games, it will also transform how you connect with friends and enjoy entertainment.
Average Customer Rating:
8.707
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
10 stars
30
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
35 out of 4185%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Review 1 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Wii U is really fun and has a lot of potential :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/13
Sazh
Location: Miami,FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Nintendo New Home Console Wii U is really a fun system to play with family and friends. The Games is really fun to play with the Wii U Gamepad and takes gameplay to another level. The Wii U has a lot of Good Games coming out this year, such as a 3D Mario, Mario Kart, Legend of Zelda Wind Waker HD Remake and Third Party exclusive Games like The Wonderful 101. Nintendo has many surprises in store for Nintendo fans this coming year and the years beyond. I am having a great time with this System and enjoying Nintendo Games :) I highly recommend this system to anyone for any age to have massive fun with yourself, Friends and Family. Game On Everyone!!! :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Skeptical first, then wowed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/13
DeltaMerrix
Location: NC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I must admit, nintendo has outdone themselves with this system. I wasn't so sure about the Wii u, but with the assortment of games they were planning right from the beginning, I was sold. I have a rule, if a new gen system has 5 good games at the beginning, I'll get it when I can. So when purchasing it, I picked up two games to start. The gamepad doesn't last too long with battery life, but fun to use it regardless. The motion bar is back from the Wii, and works just as well, if not better than the wii version. You can play all of your old wii games on it and use all of the accessories, that is also an amazing plus to all of this. As far as I know, the other two next gens do not do that. I applaud Nintendo and the Wii U's future looks shining bright.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Great to the Core!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/13
xamyx6
Location: New Jeresey, NJ
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I very much so, love this WIIU. It's fun, and I can still play Mario games while my dad is watching TV!I also think my parents enjoy it to, because the WIIU allows you to play WII,games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Love the Wii U
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/13
Docsmooth
Location: Philadelphia,PA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My fiancee brought me the Wii u last week and i have to say i love i have a 360 and i stop playing to give my Wii u full attention their are some gamers and critic that puts the Wii u up against the Xbox 360 and playstation 3. Graphic can be compared to the 360 and ps3 Wii u is right behind those system their are just a slight diffrent in the graphics To me he Wii U is a total different experience than the 360 and ps3 beacuse of the game pad. Yes they play all the same games but the game pad add something different makes playing games like zombi u more real like when you are going thru your backpack you take your eyes off what's going on like in real life and being able to play on the tv or the game pad is AWSOME and sometimes it looks better on the game pad. Gamers who bash the Wii U need to give the Wii u a chance have an open mind and thats coming from an Xbox freak yes games are a little buggy but it a new system and game designers need to work hard to make great games for the Wii u not just go with whats easy this system has potential tv remote, cable remote,tablet, game controller, full game on the game pad its has everything you need out the box no need spending extra money on hdmi cords remote controlls for your system so you can play your dvd or blue ray (that the only thing the wii u dont have is a blue ray player but who cares) it all in one box Sony and Microsoft take note. Stop killing gamers pockets.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
GREAT JOB NINTENDO
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/13
tyranny
Location: louisiana
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This system is awesome! I purchased the white version of the wii u. I play Call of Duty Black Ops 2 online and it is better looking than the xbox version in my opinion. It also seems that there isn't the problems with cheating online like xbox. I was tired of playing online with my xbox because it seemed as though the cheating was getting out of hand. The pro controller actually feels better than the xbox controller too! I really hope that the 3rd party game developers get behind this system because I think it has the capability of becoming great. The gamepad has unlimited potential as well. It has a very high resolution and great color. I even played cod online on the gamepad so my wife could watch tv. xbox has a more polished user interface. what i mean is that xbox makes it easier to see ur friends list and navigate the menus faster. of course xbox has perfected thier menus over time and nintendo is fairly new to this kind of gaming experience. that being said, I love the new wii u.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
This is a great gift
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/13
sasuke200000
Location: MD
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I got this for my girlfriend and she loves it we are just playing away rocking iron MarioU and zombieU it is awesome and will bring me and her hours of joy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Nice,but not great
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/13
Hasaki
Location: Columbus,OH
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It's nice,and all,but with it not being better as far as specs go it shouldn't be more then the 360 like it is.Also i don't like that you need a wii remote to use the backwards compatibility.
However if your a Monster hunter fan like me then You have to get a Wii u.Unless you want to play MH3U on 3ds which has no online play unlike the Wii u Version that does.
So far it seems to play just as well as a 360 does which is nice,but not great since WU should be better with it being a next gen console.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/13
TrancePacifica
Location: Luverne, MN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is by far the best Nintendo system yet. The gamepad makes it unique, and also, with certain games, you can play the game on the gamepad while someone watches TV. The gamepad is light, not heavy, and the buttons and trigger buttons are easy to push. The touchscreen is responsive, and has no problems. Transferring save data and games you bought from the E-Shop is easy, and fun to watch, it takes a bit, so watching the Pikmin transferring the data makes it less of a pain to wait. Only problem I had is that the Wii U didn't come with the colored cables. I have an older TV that doesn't support the HDMI cable, so it was a good thing I had the Wii. So if any of you have older TV sets, make sure you get the colored cables. Either than that, this is an amazing system.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Nintendo On top Again!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/13
minoshiya
Location: fl.
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the best Nintendo in a long time. My favorite system's are NES,SNES and now The WII U! The basic set is great I pluged my old Western Digital 500gig mini drive and it works great! The HD is perfect and you know they will have all the great nintendo games, Plus they got the third party support that they need for us Hardcore gamers. Go buy one if you like anything about Video games at all!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Awesome console for the whole family!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/12
Dizzo1992
Location: NJ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I received the basic Wii U for Christmas and I felt like I was 10 again on Christmas morning. This is a great system not only for hardcore gamers like myself but for the whole family as well. I am usually a hardcore Xbox 360 gamer halo 4 is my main game, but I have to admit the Wii U is surprisingly fun, and keeps me entertained. Mario and Nintendo land are instant classics, and fun for you to play solo or with the whole family. The tablet is awesome light and responsive and my favorite part is how you can watch tv but continue playing on your tablet GENIUS! This is an awesome console for the whole family the 8 GB space is not a problem because I have a 1 TB external hard drive if needed. I highly recommend this console to anybody I hope you will enjoy it as much as I am.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bluefirebluebirds
 
Please wait while more information about Bluefirebluebirds is loaded.
Additional information about Bluefirebluebirds could not be loaded.
Maybe...
Posted 6/21/13
Well this looks pretty awesome to have and play but think about it... You have to buy all your games that you have for your regular wii to play the wii u version. its not like xbox 360 where you can put in a regular x box game. This is just my opinion.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Love this console!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
Wiishootemup
Location: Coruscant
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This has got to be the greatest console I've ever played, including the XBox 360. The gamepad has got to be the best feature. It is the most comfortable controller I've ever held, much more so than the 360 controller. The games are excellent, bringing great graphics and revolutionary gameplay to the mix. I could not recommend this console enough.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
8.7 out of 10(73)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/12
sonyNintendo
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
nintendo and sony are the best.. the wii u is amazing ,the gamepad idea is cool, improved online from the wii, good games all you need is the wii u and a ps3 and your all set. microsoft fails
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
it a great counsel
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/12
Anonymous
Location: chicago il
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this for nintendo fan who never got play third party and play in H D .its just a brand new way to play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Great System
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/12
Envu
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a good system. eventhough there arent much games out i have a feeling that a Kingdom hearts Title is going to be released so ill just keep it in my closet (unopened) till that day comes
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
DO NOT BUY BASIC MODEL. WAIT FOR DELUXE.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/12
grandjob
Location: san francisco
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
DO NOT, I REPEAT DO NOT, buy the basic model.
The basic model is practically useless out of the box.
There is only about 2.5 gb of memory left on the hard drive after the system update and netflix update. This is not enough memory to download any major titles from the eshop.
After 8 hours of setup (charging gamepad, system update, mii creation etc.) I had a machine that was as functional as my roku but cost 10 times as much.
I had to wait 4 days for my games and external hard drive to arrive. I don't mind paying for early adoption, but by the time I bought nintendo land and a hard drive, I spent nearly $500 to get a console equivalent to the wii u deluxe, available for MSRP $349.99.
I knew this before I ordered it but you should be aware that the wii u deluxe comes with a game (nintendoland) and 32 gb of memory, which is enough to instantly download several major titles.
What really got me was that Nintendo just announced they will be offering a 10% rebate on eshop purchases to anyone with the deluxe model. Anyone with the BASIC model can pay full price, thanks very much. I am returning my basic model, all games, and peripherals, and boycotting nintendo due to their terrible customer service on this launch.
I have owned every nintendo console since the NES, 3 handhelds, and over 2000 games on the different platforms. I am so dissatisfied with the wii U BASIC that I have pledged never to give nintendo any of my money again.
DO NOT, I REPEAT DO NOT, buy the basic model. I wish I had the patience to wait for a deluxe model, but i didn't..
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
oneway1991
Dallas, TX
 
Please wait while more information about oneway1991 is loaded.
Additional information about oneway1991 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/15/12
It's kind of silly to boycott Nintendo when you should have known what purchase would be better for you in the long run. A lot of this information has been "out there" for a while, and if you even did some minimal research, you would have known about the Deluxe features. In fact, you really should have known that the Deluxe was way more worth it to begin with. Your impatience does not constitute a terrible review. This review is supposed to be for the quality of the console itself, not the outcome of your poor planning.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/12
Nintendoman99
Location: Valencia, CA
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I love the wii when i heard about the wii u i went nuts. I dont own the system but my friend has it. The graphics are amazing, the gamepad is incredible and it is reliable. I recommend this to nintendo fans anywhere
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
8.7 out of 10(73)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Shocked
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/12
secshark
Location: pooler, ga
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Forgive me for typos but this is being done from my phone. I will start say what ever you do DO NOT listen to what the bad reviews say. I was very very skeptical about buying this system but boy am i glad i bought it! This is coming from a die hard xbox fan. The graphics are very crisp and they are better than xbox(not leaps and bounds) but they are. The tablet takes some getting use to on call of duty but honestly now i love it! It is very innovating also. The mii verse is also one of the best things about the sgstem. I love the forum aspect people are always willing to help and play. Overall the system is super cool and worth the money!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Why do they do this?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/12
Irondiesel58
Location: Long Island
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Nintendo has given up after the Nintendo 64 system. I thought the Wii was badly under powered but this game has problems running their own games. I feels like the original system back in the 80's. Now I hear most were recalled for programing problems. Basicly it has the power of the first Xbox that came out ten years ago. I'm just done with Nintendo. Weak games under support an even weaker system. Yes Shiny and new but nothing else. Plus when the Xbox Infinity comes out next year these graphics will look like Atari. Sorry but I'm getting my money back.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Great System for Whole Family
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/12
jabronie925
Location: Martinez, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought the system and Mario Brothers knowing a 320GB External Drive is coming out next month. The system works perfectly as advertised and my wife and daughters love it. Its fun for the whole family. I can watch Football while they play or we can both play on the big screen. I highly recommend buying the system and the external HD for 80$ next month. It seems to be the better deal.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Wii U Review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/12
WiiUniverse
Location: SF, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Buy for Next Legend of Zelda. Nintendo showcased a demo reel at E3 2011 which depicted Link fighting a monster in HD. Nintendo also hinted they are working on a Legend of Zelda title for the Wii U, but that the final version may not necessarily take the same form as what was depicted in the demo. Next Super Smash Bros In August 2012, Sakurai stated that while the addition of third-party characters appealed to fans and broadened the Smash Bros. audience, he recognized the need to narrow down their inclusion since introducing non-Nintendo characters "willy-nilly" would lose focus of the game. He also noted that the game system had been completed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>