GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate

The popular action RPG franchise Monster Hunter returns to Europe and North America with Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate launching on Nintendo Wii U and Nintendo 3DS. Players take on the role of a hunter and are sent to explore a settlement within the Monster Hunter universe, completing quests on their journey to seek and slay monsters while improving their skills and earning equipment upgrades. With many challenging monsters and over 200 quests the latest edition to the series is set to be the most expansive offering to date.
Average Customer Rating:
9.28
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
10 stars
21
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 out of 2592%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Review 1 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Great Reason to Own a Wii U
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/14
SillyHunter
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There is a lot to learn in order to get the most out of this game but it is Pure fun to do so. Having Played over 400 Hrs so far on this game and have opened up 99% of the game I can say I could easily play another 600 hrs plus and still not achieve all that there is to achieve. The game is just a blast and there is so many was to play the game. Must admit the game is its most fun when played with others.
If you Like a challenge and you are a patient individual then this just might be the game for you. If you played Monster Hunter Tri on Wii take note that there a whole lot more content in the Wii U version.
In my opinion this game is good enough on its own to Justify the purchase of a Wii U.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
One of my favorites
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/14
JenYvonne
Location: Ponce, PR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This one is awesome, it makes the difference with other games. I can't wait for the new one. MH4U in the west now!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Epic game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/13
MidcoreGamer
Location: Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Capcom really knew what they were doing with this game. MHTU is one of my favorite games for the wii u. It's a very fun game, and anyone who calls themselves a true wii u gamer should own this game. It gives you many hours of epic gameplay, with an epic online play. I'm also glad that the DLC is all free and obtained in-game(so you don't have to go to the store or order online). The online is probably the best aspect. Just be careful though, not all of the players are 100 percent nice, and some are even hackers, but this isn't a game problem. Overall this is a very good game, that should be owned by all.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Tons of content
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/13
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
My favorite game on the Wii U and one of my all time favorites. I've never put over 500 hours into a game (except for WoW maybe) and this game just has it all. Unique crafting for weapons and armour, very challenging gameplay, TONS of content, 1080p visuals, and a blast when playing with friends. The must own game for Wii U.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
THIS GAME SUCKS
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/3/13
kikiki
Location: maryland,maryland
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i got this game for wii u and it sucks sooo bad the gtaphics are horrible and the overall gameplay is sucky for example when i tryed too kill a monster the game froze up on me when it unfroze i lost all my items
 
My Product Recommendations
Wii Fit U
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Buy used. Positive reviews must be from fans only.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/13
REDDWARF
Location: St. Charles, IL
I made the mistake of buying this game new due to all the positive reviews and I wish this review was around before I made my purchase. The positive reviews you are reading about this game must be from hardcore fans of the series. I'm not saying don't try the game, and just because I did not like it does not mean someone else will, but it lasted 3 days in my house before trading it in for peanuts. The graphics and character animations look like that of a Dreamcast game. The Dreamcast was great, but that was over 10 years ago. The game is crazy boring. 4 hours into the game and no monsters. None, just lame talking cats and critters to hunt. The controls are awful too. Way unacceptable for a game in this day and age. One question I have is, why all the dialog? Who wants to read that much detail about literally nothing. Just tell me what to do and how to do it so I can ACTUALLY HUNT MONSTERS. Anyhow, hate if you want, but I wish there was a review like this out there before I made the plunge.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
The Hunt is always Great XD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/13
Getsuga
Location: Houma, LA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Monster Hunter 3 Tri Ultimate is the best Wii U Game there is in my damned obsessed opinion. SLASH SLASH SLASH GATHER GATHER GATHER FORGE WEAPONS AND ARMORS, HECK YEAH XD, PARTY WITH PEOPLE HAVE FUN, DO STUPID AND MAKE PEOPLE LAUGH :D GAIN EXPERIENCE LIKE NO OTHER HAHAHAHAHAHA .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Best Monster Hunter Game EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/13
MDog17
Location: Ryland Heights, KY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Like the title says, its the best Monster Hunter game yet. I am a monster hunter vet and i have played and beaten almost every monster hunter game in the us. Capcom has outdone themselves. There are lots of things that make this game better the all the others. Graphics, a larger assortment of weapons, and a larger assortment of monsters are just some of the reasons. As a vet, I say to any person that is hesitating to buy because you have never heard of it, don't hesitate. I got the wii u version, and i must say that the game is worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Instant Love
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/13
Js90Lx
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is why I purchased a U. I have not turned on my 360 since I've purchased this game for my U and 3DS. So much to do and so much fun. This is not for a casual gamer. You must have alot of time to get the most out of this game. It is a highly rewarding game that will crush your face.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Amassing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/13
Ninjoe
Location: Waterbury, CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The key to a good monster hunter game is a ton of epic boss fights and the more friends the more fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Very good game!
Posted 5/9/13
This game is ssssoooo EPIC! And i love the combat! Its also very well made! The music is outstanding! This game is emotional a interesting way and very good to play with friends online or off. Very engaging. I kown you liked this game every one I know LOVES IT! :):):)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
3 hours felt like 2 minutes.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/13
KyleXL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game never ends! Even after you complete story mode, you can go into free hunt mode and hunt monsters with no reason. But it's even better that way because you don't have to struggle with an objective. You get to do what you want to do. The game has a large variety of noticeably bright colors on the monsters and the land. The monsters are fairly smart. They run when they are weak.They sometimes also crawl into a spot you cannot go and regain health there. The characters don't speak but there is a box in the corner that tells you what they're saying. It may take 45 minutes to kill one monster! You can make weapons by defeating monsters and turning in the supplies they carry to the wyverian artisan or the blacksmith. Multiplayer is amazing. The players are very kind. This is where to go if you struggle to get better weapons or armor. This was by far the best RPG I've ever played.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Hunting Is Fun for Everyone Now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/13
MasterNuke
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have been through most of the game and have access to its highest difficulties. After all the work and effort I have to say get the game. Wii U or 3DS will keep you happy. If you want online get the Wii U Version, but all DLC (which has been free) is available on either console. You can easily put hundreds of hours into the game, but if you know what you are doing could access to most of the content in less than 100 hours. That seems like alot, but you won't feel satisfied until you play that much. It pulls you in to a concept that is so simple yet so satisfying. And the best part about online is you can use a simple $10 usb keyboard or chat away with the built in mic on the gamepad. (You can use your own headset, but it may require an adapter if you headset is not a 4 pole 3.5mm plug) I left a suggested headset below, but something like ipod earbuds with a mic should work fine too.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
<3 Capcom <3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/13
NAMQ
Location: Puerto Rico, PR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This series are one of my favorite games! The game is well done, would recommend it to everyone I know :-D!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
It's not an RPG!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/13
moosy8
Location: New York,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing. It is by far my favorite video game. You can customize your character as freely as you want. You can choose from 10 weapon types ranging from guns and bows to axes and lances. There are over 50 large monsters to fight from including elder dragons and sub-species. You'll never become bored. There are over 200 quests with a variety of quest-types.The textures on food in the markets are poorly-made. Other than that, BUY THIS GAME. P.S. It is not an RPG!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
World of Warcraft Battlechest
8.2 out of 10(45)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Better than ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/13
Morsk
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Integrating Nintendo's hand held 3DS into the WiiU's gameplay was a great move for this game. As the advertisement show, you can take your epic hunting quests anywhere you go. The ability to transfer one's character across the gaming platform may result in the purchasing of a 3DS and MH3U very soon...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Buy a Wii U, and then buy this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/13
Anonymous
Location: Knoxville, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
MH3U is an excellent reason to own a Wii U. I've had a Wii U since launch and have at times found myself disappointed in the software available to me. The system is wonderful, it just needs the games and advertising to make people aware that it's worth their money.
This is a great start, and this coupled with Lego City: Undercover, march has been a decent month for Wii U games.
This game is exactly as challenging as it needs to be. With enough character classes to satisfy every type of player, online multiplayer that works wonderfully, and the sheer volume of content included in the box (well over 100 hours worth of gameplay here people). This game is an absolute must buy if you own a Wii U.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
EPIC!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/13
Anonymous
I had never played a monster hunter game before, but this game caught my eye right after it came out. i did some research and decided to buy it. i was definately not sorry. It is the best game i have ever played, with the exception of skyward sword and twilight princess. the gameplay is awesome, it has pretty good graphics, the monsters are stunning, the characters are great. i do not have much of an imagination, so i did not expect much from a take-on-any-quest-you-want game. boy was i wrong.its tutorial is very well made, with you feeling like you are going on your own, but getting little nudges of what to do.ITS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Simply an amazing game for any gamer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/13
Guard
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
From the first moment I started playing this game I have been addicted to it. I can't stop playing it and that is because of its amazing replay value and its long play times (already 40 hours and only starting). I play online with my girlfriend ALL the time who mind you is not a gamer but she has a great time playing and its just loads of fun. You have to buy this game, its so worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Best Multiplayer Experience for 3ds and wii u
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/13
musicalmikey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the reason i bought this game is because my friend recommended it for multiplayer, though i was a bit skeptical when i played the demo however those fears were swept away by how well multiplayer between the 3ds and wii u works. single players is fine but this is the best multiplayer experience this year so far.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/13
Nate552
Location: Salt Lake City. UT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the greatest Monster Hunter game to date. Ive played this for a total of 20 hours (offline and online) and I still haven't beaten it. There is so much to do! There are so many new monsters and weapons. Definitely worth buying a Wii U for.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>