GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate

The popular action RPG franchise Monster Hunter returns to Europe and North America with Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate launching on Nintendo Wii U and Nintendo 3DS. Players take on the role of a hunter and are sent to explore a settlement within the Monster Hunter universe, completing quests on their journey to seek and slay monsters while improving their skills and earning equipment upgrades. With many challenging monsters and over 200 quests the latest edition to the series is set to be the most expansive offering to date.
Average Customer Rating:
9.308
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
10 stars
22
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 out of 2692%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Review 1 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
we're going to need a bigger sword! ;) :D :)
Posted on:11/19/12
iLoveNintendoFlo
Location: America
This game looks epic. It has a big world to explore. Its full of animals. The Game looks fun. It has a lot of stragly like if you use heavy armor. You will move slower and your character will tire faster. But if you use light armer you may have a faster character but with less protection. The game has a unique combat system. Its all live time. It demands good timing. The graphics look nice. The worlds come to life the lighting is nice and the cut scenes look fantastic. The Animation is very good. When you get hit your character gets knocked back and you have to be carefull. You die easy. Monster have a lot of health. But when you finaly get them low on health thay slowly stumble about and look fatigued. You almost feel bad for killing them. But few things in life are more satisfying than proving you have the patience for a long and some times challenging adventure. You can also play online co-op. This game looks epic and is a must have for Wii U. Take your time and enjoy this one of a kind adventure. ;) :D :)
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Epic joy! :) :D ;)
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Please cheack out my other Per-Veiws
Posted 12/4/12
My other reviews & Per-Veiws are better than this one. Please cheack thim out for good information about Wii U 3DS and all things Nintendo and some other stuff as well.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
The Name Says It All
Posted on:9/21/12
Thegreatmrkid
Location: Clearwater, FL
This is truly an Ultimate collection of everything Monster Hunter. Being a player from the first generation on PS2, I can tell you that they have made many improvements to make this game all that it could be. Some of the monsters are fresh and interesting for American players, because they were only released for a Japanese PSP title called "Monster Hunter Portable 3rd," making all of their tactics new and improved. They've also brought back all the weapons from Monster Hunter Freedom Unite that they took out of Tri: Bow, Gunlance, Hunting Horn, and Dual Swords. With all of this content, we are sure to be set for a long time! Travel, fight, and be rewarded with all new gear in Monster Hunter Ultimate!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Slicedthumb
ND
 
Please wait while more information about Slicedthumb is loaded.
Additional information about Slicedthumb could not be loaded.
One of the greatest games ever!
Posted 10/23/12
Even if you have played MHP3rd on psp or ps3 you are still going to see new things in this new title. I ordered MHP3rd for the ps3 and played it for many hours, online and offline. Just watching the videos for MH3U you will notice new things. They removed the ability to fight monsters under water in MHP3rd and brought it back to MH3U. They have new monsters as well as new sub-species, which means new weapons and armor.
Just so you know the ps3 is not region locked so you can play games in Japanese and even access their servers. You could play the Japanese game without knowing much of their language since it is set up like the other games. and there are online tutorials with the translations for most of the stuff in the game if you don't know Japanese. I would recommend playing them if your a die hard fan of the franchise.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Just bought the Wii U BECAUSE of this game.
Posted on:2/11/13
derekisazombie
Location: Monett, MO
I can't think of any game that I've ever poured more time into and I've played just about every RPG out there. Monster Hunter doesn't have much of a story, But it doesn't have to. It's perfected action skill based combat that tests your mettle and it just gets a WHOLE lot better online. I can't wait to be able to customize my UI with the Wii Us gamepad. On top of that. You don't even have to buy a mic for the Wii U because it's built right into the controller! It'll be interesting to have more of a voice chat oriented MH. In the previous entries everyone mostly opted for a USB keyboard, Which worked just fine except when you were in battle (I remember jumping from controller to KB so fast all the time haha). Anyways I clearly recommend this game to any action rpg fans. Just know that this game has a large learning curve and is very unforgiving. Yet SO rewarding and has in my opinion the BEST co-op I've ever had the chance to play. You'll be sinking hundreds upon hundreds of hours into this game and if you love it as much as us hardcore hunters, thousands easily. See you guys online in Minegarde!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
18 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
This is a must own!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/14
007dogsmail
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing and one of the reasons I bought a Wii U. Every time you fight a monster it's like fighting a boss battle every time. This game has great multiplayer. Team up with 3 other hunters to take on the monsters in all their glory.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Buy used. Positive reviews must be from fans only.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/13
REDDWARF
Location: St. Charles, IL
I made the mistake of buying this game new due to all the positive reviews and I wish this review was around before I made my purchase. The positive reviews you are reading about this game must be from hardcore fans of the series. I'm not saying don't try the game, and just because I did not like it does not mean someone else will, but it lasted 3 days in my house before trading it in for peanuts. The graphics and character animations look like that of a Dreamcast game. The Dreamcast was great, but that was over 10 years ago. The game is crazy boring. 4 hours into the game and no monsters. None, just lame talking cats and critters to hunt. The controls are awful too. Way unacceptable for a game in this day and age. One question I have is, why all the dialog? Who wants to read that much detail about literally nothing. Just tell me what to do and how to do it so I can ACTUALLY HUNT MONSTERS. Anyhow, hate if you want, but I wish there was a review like this out there before I made the plunge.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
This Game Is The Reason To Buy A Wii U
Posted on:11/21/12
coffeedude
Location: New York, NY
Monster Hunter Tri Ultimate is going to be amazing. Its gonna have new graphics, new monsters, new armor, and new weapons. Its gonna be great! Also, its coming out for the 3ds. You can transfer your data from you 3ds to the Wii U or vise versa! You can also play online together with the Wii U and 3ds. This game is THE reason to buy a Wii U.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
55 of 59 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Im Pumped for Wii U as well! :) :D ;)
Posted 11/23/12
To my undertanding the 3DS verson of this game will not have online. Im going to get the Wii U verson of this game so i can play online. Im also really exsided about other Upcoming Wii U games like... Rayman Legends, Pikmin 3 and Super Smash Bros 4! As well as the next Mario and Zelda games! XD :) :D ;)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Excellent 4 Play Online Action RPG For Wii U
Posted on:9/15/12
Plebeianprint
Location: Random Cornfield, In
Expanding on the Nintendo Wii's Monster Hunter Tri (3) by adding more maps, more monsters, weapons, and quests, Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate will be a quality Wii U launch window title for mainstream and hardcore gamers. Monster Hunter is one of the biggest, most successful franchise in the world, and MH3U will show you why. This game has 4 player online co op, which is traditionally a rarity for Nintendo, and allows players to easily invest hundreds of hours questing to defeat enormous, intimidating monsters. Monster Hunter is easily one of my three favorite franchise in 20 years of gaming. MH3U will show you why.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Monster Hunter Tri
 
 
 
 
 
18 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alurous
Puerto Rico
 
Please wait while more information about Alurous is loaded.
Additional information about Alurous could not be loaded.
Only Reason Why To Buy a Wii-U
Posted 3/16/13
This game will be amazing, new monsters, old monsters from when it was on ps2 and psp. plus Online? Amazing. I read comments here and decided to clarify something. 3DS version CAN NOT play online. You can however transfer your save data to the wii-u play online in the wii-u and then transfer it back, but the 3DS will not be able to play multiplayer, only LAN.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Holds up to hype (for a MH fan)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/13
voljinn
Location: ohio
I was very skeptical about this "remake" of tri but it has turned out to be an incredible game so far. I adore that you can take your character on the Wiiu to the 3ds and play on the go. The graphics are gorgeous on both consoles (i got both) and the sound and music is the same from tri just more clear. This is a legit reason to own a WiiU it will hold its playability for an extremely long period of time. HIGHLY RECCOMEND
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Great Series
Posted on:1/20/13
Hasaki
Location: Columbus,OH
I got a Wii u just to play this game.For anyone wanting more info go to Camcom website then forums for Monster hunter and check out the blog section
15 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Haysan
 
Please wait while more information about Haysan is loaded.
Additional information about Haysan could not be loaded.
Mh3u
Posted 3/1/13
It's one of the best game I have ever played
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Excited but how will it work between 3DS and WiiU?
Posted on:11/25/12
marchingbandt7
Location: Arizona
FINALLY!!! I've been waiting for the American port of Monster Hunter 3-g on 3DS for a looong time now, and Capcom even made me happier announcing it would also be available for the Wii U. I am really excited for the data transferring options between the Wii U and 3DS, for I have both and am planning to put hundreds of hours on this game between them. I am also excited for the incredible increase in monsters, playing time, and depth, not to mention that it will be in GLORIOUS HD!! My only concern is, will we have to buy a separate copy for both versions? I know for Playstation All-Stars, if you buy it on PS3, you get a download code for the PS VITA copy. I really hope Nintendo plans to do something along those lines. I do not want to pay 90$-100$ for the same game. Otherwise, SOOOO PUMPED!! Amazing game series!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Great Reason to Own a Wii U
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/14
SillyHunter
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There is a lot to learn in order to get the most out of this game but it is Pure fun to do so. Having Played over 400 Hrs so far on this game and have opened up 99% of the game I can say I could easily play another 600 hrs plus and still not achieve all that there is to achieve. The game is just a blast and there is so many was to play the game. Must admit the game is its most fun when played with others.
If you Like a challenge and you are a patient individual then this just might be the game for you. If you played Monster Hunter Tri on Wii take note that there a whole lot more content in the Wii U version.
In my opinion this game is good enough on its own to Justify the purchase of a Wii U.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Tons of content
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/13
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
My favorite game on the Wii U and one of my all time favorites. I've never put over 500 hours into a game (except for WoW maybe) and this game just has it all. Unique crafting for weapons and armour, very challenging gameplay, TONS of content, 1080p visuals, and a blast when playing with friends. The must own game for Wii U.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Worth Buying the System For
Posted on:2/12/13
SomeDinDin
Location: Lone Tree, CO
Definitely a game that you would buy the system to play it. The difficulty reminds me of Dark Souls in a way. The collecting of minerals and monster parts to make gear and weapons has a pokemon-esque feel. Not only is this a fantastic game, the Wii U has many other amazing releases coming out this year.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
FINALLY CAPCOM......
Posted on:9/13/12
MushroomGuru
Location: Hoschton, GA
I am so going to pre-order this game! Now all Capcom needs to do is bring Fontier to the US! CAN'T WAIT!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Buy a Wii U, and then buy this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/13
Anonymous
Location: Knoxville, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
MH3U is an excellent reason to own a Wii U. I've had a Wii U since launch and have at times found myself disappointed in the software available to me. The system is wonderful, it just needs the games and advertising to make people aware that it's worth their money.
This is a great start, and this coupled with Lego City: Undercover, march has been a decent month for Wii U games.
This game is exactly as challenging as it needs to be. With enough character classes to satisfy every type of player, online multiplayer that works wonderfully, and the sheer volume of content included in the box (well over 100 hours worth of gameplay here people). This game is an absolute must buy if you own a Wii U.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
EPIC!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/13
Anonymous
I had never played a monster hunter game before, but this game caught my eye right after it came out. i did some research and decided to buy it. i was definately not sorry. It is the best game i have ever played, with the exception of skyward sword and twilight princess. the gameplay is awesome, it has pretty good graphics, the monsters are stunning, the characters are great. i do not have much of an imagination, so i did not expect much from a take-on-any-quest-you-want game. boy was i wrong.its tutorial is very well made, with you feeling like you are going on your own, but getting little nudges of what to do.ITS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
Hunting Is Fun for Everyone Now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/13
MasterNuke
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have been through most of the game and have access to its highest difficulties. After all the work and effort I have to say get the game. Wii U or 3DS will keep you happy. If you want online get the Wii U Version, but all DLC (which has been free) is available on either console. You can easily put hundreds of hours into the game, but if you know what you are doing could access to most of the content in less than 100 hours. That seems like alot, but you won't feel satisfied until you play that much. It pulls you in to a concept that is so simple yet so satisfying. And the best part about online is you can use a simple $10 usb keyboard or chat away with the built in mic on the gamepad. (You can use your own headset, but it may require an adapter if you headset is not a 4 pole 3.5mm plug) I left a suggested headset below, but something like ipod earbuds with a mic should work fine too.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
3 hours felt like 2 minutes.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/13
KyleXL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game never ends! Even after you complete story mode, you can go into free hunt mode and hunt monsters with no reason. But it's even better that way because you don't have to struggle with an objective. You get to do what you want to do. The game has a large variety of noticeably bright colors on the monsters and the land. The monsters are fairly smart. They run when they are weak.They sometimes also crawl into a spot you cannot go and regain health there. The characters don't speak but there is a box in the corner that tells you what they're saying. It may take 45 minutes to kill one monster! You can make weapons by defeating monsters and turning in the supplies they carry to the wyverian artisan or the blacksmith. Multiplayer is amazing. The players are very kind. This is where to go if you struggle to get better weapons or armor. This was by far the best RPG I've ever played.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
ITS FINALY HERE!!!
Posted on:11/23/12
TheMonsterHunter
Location: America
I really hope that capcom comes out with the 3ds version but anyway... I am a person who absolutely LOVES MH So as you can imagine i am exited but i you have ever played the japenese title Monster hunter portable 3rd (i have and completed it) You would be interested to see how monsters such as Dobo And Jinouga Have evolved (i know i am).So basically only three words can explain what happens after i buy this game those words being: Play Sleep Repeat. Peace out And Cant Wait!!!!!!!
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ARecklessHunter
 
Please wait while more information about ARecklessHunter is loaded.
Additional information about ARecklessHunter could not be loaded.
Posted 1/17/13
Don't worry, Capcom is releasing the 3DS version, you'll have to buy it from the E-Shop or look somewhere else for it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate
A Must Buy Game For The Wii U (Period)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/13
Blackstrings
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is probably the best game so far for the Wii U if you want a game that will last you for a long while. This game is filled with so many features that makes a game fun to play for 100+ hours. I'd say the best game on the Wii U console compared to all the other games. If you like RPG style games that fights in real time, where every button execution has to be timed and managed in a timely manner during battle, this is it. the game comes with some cool gameplay systems/mechanics: complex and well balanced weapon and armory crafting system, farming for ingredients, online multiplayer up to 4 max (Wii U only), Boss battles that have multiple striking points and weakness that reflect different elements like, ice, fire, water, etc. Each monster fights differently so you have to study and learn how to fight it with strategy. Some require less strategy than others.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jashawn
chicago,il
 
Please wait while more information about jashawn is loaded.
Additional information about jashawn could not be loaded.
awesome
Posted 2/26/14
really good get it want to be hunters
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>