GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Wonderful 101

Strength in Numbers Earth is under attack from an invasion of enormous aliens, and the only thing that can protect the planet is a group of unlikely, yet mighty, heroes with special abilities. Unfortunately, the aliens are too powerful for the heroes to fight individually. They must join forces and work together to defeat their common enemy. These uniquely different heroes can morph into powerful weapons to crush the invaders or turn into objects like a giant fist or bridge to interact with and traverse the environments.
Average Customer Rating:
10
10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Wonderful 101
Review 1 for The Wonderful 101
Another Great Title from Platinum Games.
Posted on:11/29/12
Gamersince93
Location: Right here
If you've seen trailers for this, you're thinking to yourself, "These character models look like something from Viewtiful Joe." Platinum Games was Clover Studios, the guys who made Viewtiful Joe, Okami, and other Capcom gems are making this game. This is the closest we can get for Viewtiful Joe 3. this game looks alot of fun, its like Pikmin meets Viewtiful Joe In an amazing action game. Its really cool to see heroes transform into a sword, a fist, a bridge, anything to save people in distress or fight off enemies. This looks like a must own for any Wii U owner. I love supporting developers like Platinum Games, they are doing their best to make new IPs, but get overshadowed by an overrated videogame shooter. Support these people, they deliver what's best for gamers, imagination.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
24 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
California
Picked mine up on release DAY!
Posted 9/16/13
Love love this game! something fresh and new! finally a game that challenges you while introducing a new way to play. Give it a try! you wont be dissapointed!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for The Wonderful 101
Crazy Awesome Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/14
kinggamer41
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is hilarious and Awesome action-packed. Once in a boss battle I was holding a hammer and there was a ship being thrown at me! The hammer guy hit the ship with his hammer and it flew straight into the monster and blew him up! Seriously! Also, it is really funny. The hammer guy that killed the boss in the game actually was at a loss for words when trying to come up with a punch line. Instead he ended up looking like he was an idiot. But it wasn't bad, it was hilarious because of the way it happened. Plus, the storytelling is top notch. I won't give away any details, but the action alone is better than Ninja Gaiden and just as good as Legend of Zelda in almost every way. The boss battles are actually better! Crazy game, well worth every penny!
Get this game NOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for The Wonderful 101
A wonderful game?
Posted on:8/2/13
NintendoHistory
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
The Wonderful 101 is a Wi U exclusive game made by Platinum Games. Since it's Wii U exclusive, it will take full use of the Gamepad in many ways that can help and ruin the gameplay experience. In the game you'll need to draw on the Gamepad to connect things like bridges and stuff like that. It's really interesting gameplay though it gonna be a bit annoying to draw certain things because of the Gamepad's size limitations. The game is very action heavy which is great thing, but also has it's problems. Now when I say "action heavy" that's not even braking the surface as the game is just bursting will giant alien ships and so much chaos taking over the TV screen. Because of this it might be hard for some people to keep an eye on everything, but I'm sure it won't be that big of a deal. Because of all the action, The Wonderful 101 is sure to be tons of fun throughout the whole game. With interesting characters, fun gameplay, and loads of action, The Wonderful 101 is game that I recommend you pick up if you have a Wii U
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
The Wonderful 101 Official Strategy Guide
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FatChocobo
 
Please wait while more information about FatChocobo is loaded.
Additional information about FatChocobo could not be loaded.
System seller
Posted 8/9/13
This one is a system seller and a must have for wii u owners. Don't believe me? Play through the demo in the e-shop now! It makes perfect use of the game pad and its action is satisfying rather than overwhelming. One would swear this was Nintendo first party instead of a 2nd party game. Well done platinum games!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for The Wonderful 101
Wonderful is right
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/13
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Wonderful 101 is a breath of fresh air for gamers everywhere. It's a fun new concept wrapped up in a beautiful high quality presentation.
At its core, it's a beat 'em up adventure game. It boils down to learning enemy weaknesses and scoring high hitting combo attacks. You control a group of superheroes who must defend Earth from an outer-space invasion. The controls are innovative and take a little while to learn, and making that effort is rewarded. The controls are tight and become intuitive after investing a little time to learn and practice them. The Wonderful 101 also utilizes many features of Wii U's unique gamepad controller. The music and sound in Wonderful 101 are top notch. It has an over the top attitude and feels like a high quality animation is playing out before you because of the great sound and graphics. Everything about this game is polished and shines quality.
All in all, this game breaks new ground and deserves a perfect score for taking gamers somewhere unexpected and WONDERFUL!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for The Wonderful 101
This game deserves so much more publicity.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/14
mithical1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love the large team management/puzzling aspect of Pikmin and I love superheroes. This game is an incredible blend of both of those concepts along with a very unique drawing mechanic. You can trace out shapes with your analog stick and then your team unites together to morph into the weapon or tool that the shape corresponds to. I just finished the main story on normal and I was so surprised by the scope of the plot, the dynamic gameplay, and all the unlockables that appear after you beat the game that I just had to write a review. I consider myself an adept gamer but it even took me a little while to get used to how the game is played. After my first couple of hours I definitely had fun but I was thinking that the story was kind of weird and quirky and it seemed that the game was going to be repetitive and not everything I expected. If this happens to you, make sure you just keep playing! The plot gets better and better and the gameplay just keeps expanding as you unlock more unite morphs and fight against all sorts of different enemies. What really pushed me to write this review was the fact that every time I thought the story was about to come to a nice, satisfactory close, it kept on going and became even greater! Even after you beat the game there are many additional surprises! But I won't spoil anything. Such a well polished game in all aspects. The only thing I really don't like is that when I mention the Wonderful 101, nobody knows what I'm talking about. Completely underrated and deserving of more publicity. Wow, I just wrote an essay haha. Seriously, get the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Icereaper93
Harrisburg PA
 
Please wait while more information about Icereaper93 is loaded.
Additional information about Icereaper93 could not be loaded.
Don't Believe the IGN HATE TRAIN
Posted 7/31/14
The last time I checked Reviewing Games for a living should mean that you are not ulitmately biased towards a particular system/company/genre.....The Wonderful 101 was beat down by critics and fans quickly followed suit with the same arguments that the "experts" complained about...This game pays ultimate tribute to gaming....Platinum and Nintendo did not sell you a glitchy....FPS....that looks wonderful but is only half completed for $60 but that's ok because you can spend another $60 on all of this great DLC...NOOOOOO Nintendo and Platinum gave you an in your face, fast paced, hold on to the seat of your pants action game....the gameplay mechanics are soild and flow fluidly.....if you take time to master the mechanics of the system then the combos that you can achieve are insane...and you will need them as you progress into the Harder Difficulties....The Story Mode is awesome...the character interaction is light, serious and most importantly HILARIOUS....you literally crack up laughing during some of the cut scenes.....The trophies achieved in this game ACTUALLY MEAN SOMETHING...as finding all 101 gives you access to play as some other charcters in the main story mode...I.E. Wonder Reds Dad and Bayonetta....that's right she's in there if you have the skill to get her....This game gets 10 across the board from me and another set of 10s for all of the hate thrown its' way....If you want a seriously fun and challenging game then you must add this to your collection....Wonderful 101 ROCKS...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for The Wonderful 101
It's here
Posted on:9/16/13
AdmanAbou
Location: Omaha, NE
This game is so fantastic! I heard mixed reviews, but I loved the demo. It has very little tutorial and a knock back animation that makes you feel terrible. But once you figure out you need to buy a guard attack AND learn how to do it, you won't be able to stop. I bought it at launch, got home around two, took a two hour break to watch the new episode of breaking bad, and rushed home to continue. I played until 2 AM. Here I am in bed googling the game and reading reviews and, you know what, I can't sleep. I'm going to go play more! Oh and a lot of people complained about drawing on the Gamepad. I didn't even know you could do that, I just use the right stick.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Wonderful 101
the wonderful 101
Posted on:4/10/13
Eliseo10266
Location: Mt.pleasent, TX
I can't wait for this game. It reminds me of viewtiful joe. It has a great mechanic I never seen before and its exclusive to wii u, which makes it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Wonderful 101
love it!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/13
Babyboy210
Location: San Antonio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game this game is so awesome love everything about the game the colors the game play its just fun its the best hope they make #2 of wonderful 101
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Wonderful 101
an instant classic!
Posted on:12/31/12
etutguy
Location: Milwaukie,OR
every game these guys work on becomes a hit... and this one looks like it will live up to their reputation.
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Wonderful 101
This game is insane
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/13
carlosdanger007
Location: NewJersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Sorry for taking so long to write a review, i bought this on day one and just started playing it yesterday. Wow this game is very intense and crazy, do not let the kiddy cover fool you! This game does not hold your hand and all. Its very fast paced. I am playing it on easy and its kinds tough for me. If you are looking for a insane challenge with some good humor, look no further. This game is super overrated! They made a mistake releasing this before GTA V ! Beware the controls do take a little time to get use to!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Wonderful 101
THIS GAME IS OUT NOW!!!
Posted on:9/15/13
carlosdanger007
Location: NewJersey
Come on Gamestop! Nintendo supplied the released date over a month ago! I am picking up my copy tomorrow and follow up with a review!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.