GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Fire Emblem Awakening

Fire Emblem Awakening offers a unique blend of in-battle strategy, vast character customization, and lush 3D cinematic graphics that appeal to a wide range of gamers. In this game, you'll join Chrom, brother to Ylisse's empress and commander of its forces, in a fantasy world teetering on the brink of war. It's your duty to guide a team of Ylisse's finest soldiers--knights, mages, archers, and more--against the marauding Plegian bandits. To succeed, you will need to carefully choose the units you take into battle. As you lead your team through battles across maps that span entire kingdoms, your army will grow. Some characters are willing to join you quickly, while others may need more persuasion. Each character earns experience in battle, leveling up and gaining strength and abilities as they do so. It's up to you to guide their moves, choose their weapons, and direct their attacks.
Average Customer Rating:
9.91
9.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (141 reviews)
10 stars
105
9 stars
4
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
109 out of 11198%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fire Emblem Awakening
Review 1 for Fire Emblem Awakening
The Anticipation Builds
Posted on:12/26/12
KazeNinja17
Location: Ohio
As someone who has been a fan of the Fire Emblem series ever since Fire Emblem Rekka no Ken (Fire Emblem internationally), I'm so excited that Fire Emblem: Awakening is coming to the US! Been following news of this series since it was announced for release in Japan. Cannot wait and I hope that this game manages to meet my expectations of the Fire Emblem series!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FireReady
 
Please wait while more information about FireReady is loaded.
Additional information about FireReady could not be loaded.
Nice
Posted 1/29/13
This is the reason im getting a 3ds
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Fire Emblem Awakening
King Fire Emblem Awakening
Posted on:11/4/12
MASTEROMEGA
Location: ROCKY MOUNT NC
HI PEOPLE HERES WHAT I KNOW SO FAR ABOUT THE GAME. Two sleeping dragons - one a sacred ally of mankind, the other is sworn
destroyer, Two heroes marked with the symbols of the dragons, Their meeting heralds the dragons' awakening - and the world's ending!
the story focuses on the prince of the Kingdom of Iris and his companions as they struggle during a turbulent era. Players are said to be able to combine the might of nearby allies to enter dual battles to defeat enemies!New Features:■Dual Battles fighting against an enemy.
■Characters can Cut In Off before they perform a Critical Attack.
The Nintendo 3DS title Will have paid downloadable content, consisting of maps, episodes, and characters from previous games.
■Paid downloadable chapters with unlockable characters. Confirmed characters are:
■Marth from Fire Emblem: Ankoku Ryū to Hikari no Tsurugi
■Roy from Fire Emblem: Fūin no Tsurugi
■Leaf from Fire Emblem: Thracia 776
■Alm from Fire Emblem Gaiden
■Micaiah from Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn.
■Elincia from Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance
■Ephraim from Fire Emblem: The Sacred Stones
■Celice from Fire Emblem: Seisen no Keifu
■Eirika from Fire Emblem: The Sacred Stones
■Cellica from Fire Emblem Gaiden
■Lyn from Fire Emblem: Rekka no Ken
■Ike from Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance
■Eltshan from Fire Emblem: Seisen no Keifu
■Est from Fire Emblem: Ankoku Ryū to Hikari no Tsurugi
■Catria from Fire Emblem: Ankoku Ryū to Hikari no Tsurugi
■Palla from Fire Emblem: Ankoku Ryū to Hikari no Tsurugi
Returning Classes:■Lord (promotes to Master Lord)
■Master Lord
■Cavalier (promotes to Paladin or Great Knight)
■Paladin
■Great Knight
■Cleric (promotes to Battle Cleric or Sage)
■Priest (promotes to Battle Monk or Sage)
■Mage (promotes to Dark Knight or Sage)
■Armor Knight (promotes to General or Great Knight)
■General
■Sage
■Myrmidon (promotes to Swordmaster or Assassin)
■Swordmaster
■Pegasus Knight (promotes to Dark Pegasus or Falcon Knight)
■Falcon Knight
■Troubadour (promotes to Valkyrie or Battle Cleric)
■Fighter (promotes to Hero or Warrior)
■Barbarian (promotes to Warrior or Berserker)
■Thief (promotes to Assassin or Trickster)
■Assassin
■Archer (promotes to Sniper or Bow Knight)
■Bow Knight
■Dragon Knight (promotes to Dragon Master or Griffon Knight)
■Dragon Master
■Manakete
■Villager
■Dancer
■Dark Mage (promotes to Dark Knight or Sorcerer)
■Sorcerer
■Mercenary (promotes to Hero or Bow Knight)
■Hero
■Valkyrie
■Sniper
■Warrior
■Berserker
■Demon Fighter
Unplayable Classes:■Soldier
■Merchant
■Revenant
■Entombed
NO MORE SECRETS FOR YOU KIDS TODAY UNTIL NEXT TIME Big Bang Kamehameha !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
14 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fire Emblem Awakening
Fire Emblem Awakening is Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/13
PokeHolic1
Location: Virginia,VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Fire Emblem Awakening is by far the best Fire Emblem game i have ever played. It has a great story, graphics, and loads of content even after beating the game you have couple of options like trying out the DLC and playing the unlocked difficulty Lunatic+.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fire Emblem Awakening
Best RPG for 3DS yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/14
GummyBearLOV
Location: Hillsboro, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is my first game for my 3DS XL and I love it! I'm a person who likes Anime and such so I love the art style and the cut scenes are GREAT in 3-D! I'm glad I got this game! I WOULD GET THIS GAME NOW IF YOU HAVEN'T ALREDY! :D You won't be disappointed!.....well, if you don't like anime art style and RPGs then STILL GET THIS GAME ANYWAY! There will be sadness in this game and also surprises but FYI their feet look like hoofs of a horse...idk why but oh well the game is still great!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Fire Emblem Awakening
I've played it, and you will all ENJOY it.
Posted on:12/21/12
shadowofchaos
Location: Las Vegas, NV
I know enough Japanese to read the plot and all of the immense character development done in supports. And all of the spoiler related features that will just immerse you in the story and never let go.
This game will take your heart, soul, AND your wallet with the DLC. It's a long game you will enjoy, and the DLC makes it even longer. The My Unit/Avatar feature makes you a part of the entire experience. I can admit that this game made me cry on one chapter. The entire atmosphere created with the music and the emotions of the characters was that intense.
This game, without a doubt is the most polished out of the entire Fire Emblem series released so far. It blows every single one of them out of the water. The gameplay, the music, and the characters. And hey, you don't agree with that? You have the option of recruiting old Fire Emblem characters through Spotpass. (yes, FREE). Got a favorite game from the series? This game is FULL of references to every single member of the series, even the Japanese exclusive ones.
Get hyped, the rest of the world. Because this game didn't sell out 200,000+ copies on its first week in Japan for nothing.
57 of 62 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
fjdrnbgjkbgf
 
Please wait while more information about fjdrnbgjkbgf is loaded.
Additional information about fjdrnbgjkbgf could not be loaded.
Can't wait
Posted 1/20/13
I have played the demo it is freaking incredible its so close to being in my hands.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Fire Emblem Awakening
Best game for the 3DS to date!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/13
Kirahuynh
Location: Quincy, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was hesitant about getting this game at first but then I read the IGN and Gameinformer reviews and I knew I had to get it. The shipping was delayed so I was disappointed but I didn't give up and I finally found it. IT WAS WORTH THE SEARCH AND EVERY CENT I PAID FOR IT. This game just took my breath always, knocked my socks off, and blown my brains. IT IS AMAZING! When I picked it up I could not put it down. My only complaint is that it is too addicting, just kidding, it's not a complaint.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
27 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
I like it to bro! :):):)
Posted 5/3/13
I love this game!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Fire Emblem Awakening
Incredible..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/15
Revlis
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There are multiple games on the 3DS that are fantastic: Zelda Link Between Worlds, Pokemon X/Y, Kid Iccarus, Animal Crossing: New Leaf, and some Nintendo 64 remakes. However, none of them deserve as much praise as Fire Emblem: Awakening rightfully deserves. The plot, characters, music, voice acting, graphics - every single element in the Fire Emblem franchise has been improved immensely. Not only that, but the game difficulty has been much more forgiving as they added in a new feature: casual mode. This allows newcomers to join in a much easier fashion, so do not be afraid of trying this game out if you are a newcomer. As for our veterans in the series, trying out the DLC is a must to see old characters such as Lyn and Ike come back onto the battlefield as well as gaining lots of cash and EXP in the DLC: Golden Pack. With all of that said, there is so much more to experience in the game with endless hours of gameplay and replayability. Without hesitation, this game is the best game on the 3DS that I have played, and I look forward to the new, upcoming Fire Emblem game for the 3DS.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Fire Emblem Awakening
The BEST GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/13
Tactician
Location: AMURICA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is an incredible strategy game with tons to do, heck i would pay 50$ or even 60$ for this game. Everything was nicely done and came together perfectly.I enjoyed every minute of it. Best Fire Emblem hands down, buy it now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
21 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fire Emblem Awakening
Love!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/15
catcrazy
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Best game I've played in a long time! The story and gameplay kept me hooked, the graphics/cut scenes were amazing, character development was great...aaah. I could go on. Now I need to go play the other Fire Emblem games! <3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Fire Emblem Awakening
And...start the wait.
Posted on:12/5/12
PaperMemories
Location: In amazement
I'm sure I'm not the only fan of FE that is DYING for this game to come out. It's been much to long since Radiant Dawn. If you guys haven't seen the videos posted, and all the sneak-peeks,
get on it.
It will be worth the wait, my fellow suffering gamers.
It will be.
31 of 35 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
shadowsora108
andalusia AL
 
Please wait while more information about shadowsora108 is loaded.
Additional information about shadowsora108 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
YOU'RE NOT THE ONLY ONE
Posted 12/28/12
I can't wait I'm trading in all my ps2 games consoles and accessories so that I can preorder this game. My mom says that my love for FE is unhealthy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Fire Emblem Awakening
An actual jrpg
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/13
AJCk19
Location: Buckeye State
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is perfect in every way even down to the dlc. Which doesn't make the main game feel watered down. The only thing I see people complaining about is what usually always plagues rpgs and that is grinding. You don't have to grind in this game, but if you don't then you will get a challenge. When it comes to fire emblem if your strategy is good then you won't have to grind. I would compare this video game to board games like chess or GO. If your good at strategy rpgs or played other fire emblem games then I recommend playing on the classical hard level. If your scared of the series difficulty and don't want to be bothered by perma deaths then go with casual normal level. In all honesty you will get the most fun out of the game from classical mode and you'll feel like you've left your mark on the fire emblem world once you've beat the game. Which took me about 40 hours even though I didn't finish everything including dlc.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fire Emblem Awakening
One of THE most Spectacular Games on the 3DS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/13
Epiphyllum
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you own a 3DS, this game is a MUST HAVE. The story is truly amazing. Oh my. Shocking, heart-wrenching, and touching. Remember, this is a strategy game. If you're looking for a button-mashing, free-for-all... This isn't for you, sadly. This game requires you to use all of your brainpower if you intend for all your units to survive. There are numerous side-quests and extras. I don't know how many times I played through this game now. SIGH. Let's not forget the comic relief. I spend hours after hours on the game just to unlock the extra conversations. Yeah, I'm a huge fan of the fire emblem series now. This game is truly amazing. Maybe I'll go buy the older games now...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fire Emblem Awakening
New release date!!
Posted on:12/8/12
Nani
I hope everyone is excited for February 4th, 2013 because that's when the game releases! It has recently been confirmed. Mark your calenders and be ready for when it comes out. This is an extremely exciting game for those who have played the previous ones.
31 of 37 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
armen1136
los angeles, CA
 
Please wait while more information about armen1136 is loaded.
Additional information about armen1136 could not be loaded.
is the art book available again?
Posted 1/30/13
looks like it says that you can pre-order again and obtain an artbook.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Fire Emblem Awakening
LIFE vs. VIDEO GAME
Posted on:11/1/12
PaperMemories
Location: In amazement
If I don't get a copy of this, my heart might jump out of my throat, go to the moon, find an alien wife, come back to earth, destroy us all, then come back to my body.
So for the safety of everyone. . . I want this.
34 of 41 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
I know how you feel.
Posted 5/6/13
I can't live with out Nintendo video games. :):):)
Customer Avatar
bababanana
chicago
 
Please wait while more information about bababanana is loaded.
Additional information about bababanana could not be loaded.
Posted 2/12/13
fair enough
Customer Avatar
griffinator96
portland,OR
 
Please wait while more information about griffinator96 is loaded.
Additional information about griffinator96 could not be loaded.
interesting description..
Posted 12/18/12
that might not be the way I would use to say I want this game
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 15 for Fire Emblem Awakening
My FAVORITE Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/15
TheSolaceGamer
Location: Westlake Village, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let me preface this by saying until this game, I had never been a huge fan of tactical strategy RPGs. I was even late on playing it, only grabbing it a few months after it's release solely because I'm a sucker for RPGs where you create your own avatar, but after getting into the first couple minutes of the game, I fell in love with it instantly. I loved the music, which could make any emotional moment that much more emotional, while it made some of the toughest, teeth-grinding fights that much more epic. I loved the gameplay, how you could pair up certain units together in order to form occasional combos that would take down strong foes that normally could not be done alone. The level-up system was superb, letting you choose a different class once you achieved your maximum potential in one class and still gain higher stats like Strength and Magic without feeling like a weak unit again. But by far, the best part of this game was the story and the character interaction. When fighting near friendly units or when you're paired up with them, these units will grow more friendly with each other, unlocking some touching, funny, and just enjoyable dialogue with each other. Some units will even grow so attached with each other that they will get married. Toss in a time-travel mechanic that lets you recruit the child/children of the married couple from the future, who have shared skills and stats from each parent and you have hundreds of capable options for playing this game. It's been over a year since I got this game and I STILL revisit it every now and then. I'm currently on my fifth play through of it. Overall, if I could EVER recommend any game to someone who's looking for something to play, it would be this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Fire Emblem Awakening
I honestly can't wait.
Posted on:11/14/12
Shiggy
Location: Strattanville, Pa
The date for this game cannot come any sooner. One of the main reasons I bought a 3DS is because I heard about the new Fire Emblem game. This is the first Fire Emblem to hit the states since Radiant Dawn in 2007 and I guess you can count the remake of the first Fire Emblem, Shadow Dragon, in 2008. Still, I am not letting this opportunity to get such a great looking game from one of my favorite series get away. Counting the days.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AGamerWhoCares
 
Please wait while more information about AGamerWhoCares is loaded.
Additional information about AGamerWhoCares could not be loaded.
Can't wait.
Posted 12/20/12
This game is going to be amazing. The art book looks awesome, too bad I have to give my money to a terrible company (a.k.a. GameStop) to get it. I guess maybe I'll just pass on the art book...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Fire Emblem Awakening
Fire Emblem: Awakening is a great JRPG for gamers.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/15
NicknameAlreadyTaken
Location: N/A
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Fire Emblem: Awakening is a great JRPG for casual and hardcore gamers. The story line for the game moves at an even pace where there is always something to do (including free DLC characters to fight and extra enemies that spawn daily).
Awakening is a turned based strategy RPG. The player can recruit numerous units in the game, but he or she cannot use all of them in one battle. Instead, the player can select a certain number of units depending on the map that the player is fighting on. The units can wield swords, axes, lances, bows, staves, tomes, and (only certain units can hold these) stones. The game includes a weapon triangle that lets the player know which weapons will be effective against other weapons. Whenever the player decides to attack an enemy, a “stats” screen can appear to help the player determine if he or she is at an advantage or a disadvantage. When battling an enemy, the player and the computer take turns in each round. First, the player moves his or her units on the map, and then the computer will control the enemy units. If the player loses one of the two “special units” (no spoilers here!) or if the player loses all of his or her units, then it is game over. Another option of fighting the player can use is the Pair Up system. The units that are paired together can fight enemies as a team and combine their strengths. The Support System can build unit bonds which can help the units fight better when they are paired together.
Fire Emblem: Awakening also includes different options that the player can take such as the option of marrying a character/unit of the opposite gender through the Support System or deciding not to marry at all. (This is actually a small part of the game, but many people over exaggerate it by calling Awakening a “Waifu simulator”). There is also another feature called the Hubba Tester. This has no effect on game play, but it is something the developers put in for fun. The Hubba Tester will rank the units’ feelings of each other and the outcome can be quite humorous.
The controls are simple. There is a weapon triangle that is introduced in the first part of the game which is incredibly useful (I would recommend trying to base your strategy on which weapons the enemy units use). The player, in battle, can select each unit and move it next to or towards an enemy to attack (the placement depends on which weapon the player’s unit is using). However, once a unit is moved, he or she is stuck there until the end of the turn when the player can move the unit again.
There is a Casual Mode and a Classic Mode. In Casual Mode, if a unit “dies” he or she will move off of the map so the player cannot use that unit anymore in that certain battle. (The player can use the retreated units in other battles). In Classic Mode, once a unit dies, he or she stays dead forever and cannot be resurrected. In addition to Casual and Classic Mode, the player can also set the difficulty of the game. The order from easiest to most difficult is Normal Mode (the first chapters are tutorials for new players), Hard Mode (“For experienced players.”), Lunatic Mode (“For expert players.” The enemies get forged weapons that are considered better than the player’s regular forged weapons), and Lunatic+ Mode (“For Fire Emblem masters.” The enemies are given forged weapons like the ones in Lunatic Mode and the enemies are given skills that are incredibly powerful and/or enemy exclusive). There is a lot of variety of challenges in Fire Emblem: Awakening.
I personally have had a lot of fun with this game that I have not had with a video game in a long time. Even now, I still crack open my Nintendo 3DS to play Fire Emblem: Awakening. The variety of things to do in this game kept me from being bored and made me determined enough to create two extra save files just to see how other options can affect the game. The only true complaint I have about this game is that there are only three save files.
Fire Emblem: Awakening is truly a great game. Since I have not played other Fire Emblem games, I can only review Awakening with no expectations of what this game should have been. The characters may be slightly one-dimensional, but they are lovable all the same. The game play is easy to pick up, and there are different modes that target both the casual gamer and the hardcore gamer. Fire Emblem: Awakening is a game that I will hold onto for many years to play again and again.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Fire Emblem Awakening
Why Stop Pre-Orders?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/13
Thetis
Location: New jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Very excited for the game, really bummed pre-orders are stopped.. Was really hoping for the art book *sigh*
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
20 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Devilmoor
Peoria, IL
 
Please wait while more information about Devilmoor is loaded.
Additional information about Devilmoor could not be loaded.
Pre-orders
Posted 2/7/13
Not really sure what's going on with this one. GameInformer said it was coming out on 2/4 tried to pick up my pre-order on both the 5th and the 6th with no luck.
At least it's not just gamestop though, I've checked two wal-marts, a best buy, and then amazon.com, no one got any in. I'm losing my mind here, i want this game sooo bad
Customer Avatar
YoshiAngel
FL
 
Please wait while more information about YoshiAngel is loaded.
Additional information about YoshiAngel could not be loaded.
Posted 1/30/13
Well Gamestop probably only had a limited amount of art books. They usually stop when its very close to Fire Emblems release. Good thing I preordered early this year XP But still maybe u can buy the art book separately from someone.Good Luck. :(
Customer Avatar
DrakeF
Louisville, KY
 
Please wait while more information about DrakeF is loaded.
Additional information about DrakeF could not be loaded.
Posted 1/28/13
It's still kind of bologna that a game company such as Nintendo of America would limit such a fine game. Especially for online purchasers too. Granted I could care less about the artbook, I just wanted the game at launch. :P
Customer Avatar
KazeNinja17
Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about KazeNinja17 is loaded.
Additional information about KazeNinja17 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/26/13
I think the reason that GameStop has stopped allowing pre-orders for the game alone is because they have exceeded the amount of pre-orders for Fire Emblem: Awakening that they could have. Sometimes the pre-orders will start up again in a few days, but I think it depends on the game. Nintendo of America probably only had a small number of pre-orders allowed for this game.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 19 for Fire Emblem Awakening
Fantastic Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/14
PhoenixZephyr
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had heard good things about this game and decided to buy it and try it out. After starting it, I played for several hours and couldn't put it down. The storyline is beautiful and the gameplay is wonderful. There are so many options that I'm playing through it for the fourth time and still enjoying it as much as the first time I played. You can build different supports, change the class of your characters and just have fun with it.
Whether this is your first Fire Emblem game or not, I highly recommend it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fire Emblem Awakening
Honestly the BEST handled game i have ever played!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/13
OPPTY
Location: Gilbert, Az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Fire Emblem is such a very good game. The Graphics, sound, and reply value are exquisite . The gameplay and story touches your heart and pulls on your heart strings. The cutscenes are few but awesome. This proves quality not quantity.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
LEGOFan11
California, CA
 
Please wait while more information about LEGOFan11 is loaded.
Additional information about LEGOFan11 could not be loaded.
Posted 6/26/13
handheld*
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
DLC
Posted 5/6/13
Have you got the DLC for this?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>