GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition

METAL GEAR RISING: REVENGEANCE takes the renowned METAL GEAR franchise into exciting new territory by focusing on delivering an all-new action experience unlike anything that has come before.. Combining world-class development teams at Kojima Productions and PlatinumGames, MGR REVENGEANCE brings two of the world's most respected teams together with a common goal of providing players with a fresh synergetic experience that combines the best elements of pure action and epic storytelling, all within the expansive MG universe. The game introduces Raiden as the central character; a child soldier transformed into a half-man, half-machine cyborg ninja, equipped with a high-frequency katana blade and a soul fueled by revenge.
Average Customer Rating:
8.2
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 560%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
Review 1 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
Good packaging
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
AJCk19
Location: Buckeye State
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I will admit that this is a little pricey for what your getting. Especially if you compare it to other limited editions, but I like that Konami tried something different. What impressed me the most is how well everything was packaged! Very secure and tidy. The steel case should be able to fit into anything that can hold a dvd. If you don't like messing with the plasma, it does have a switch to just glow.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Metal Gear Rising Shirt - X Large
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
beborc4
 
Please wait while more information about beborc4 is loaded.
Additional information about beborc4 could not be loaded.
Amazing
Posted 3/11/13
Amazona game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
A perfectly mediocre hack'n'slash.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/13
Stimulant
Location: Kingsland, Ga
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I did not really enjoy this game at all, I bought it because I am a huge Metal Gear fan. I knew going in that what I got would not be Metal Gear, but I did not think it would be this. The game has no challenge from any of the bosses except the very last on even the hardest difficulty. Really his only difficulty comes from the overly fidgety blade mode sequences that suddenly don't rely on time, but attempts in his boss fight. Nonetheless if that was my only gripe I would be satisfied, but the plot is as thin as tissue paper with no real continuity from previous Metal Gear games. There are a few times when the game suggests you should use 'stealth' except the game doesn't understand the concept and really, there is no reason, it is quicker and easier to just kill everyone. I beat this game without even realizing I could use healing items until the fourth boss, there is no challenge whatsoever, and despite listening to what I assume was every codec conversation none of the characters managed to endear themselves to me. Boring game.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
More PLEASE!
Posted on:11/25/12
ChaosVengeance
Location: Houston, Tx
I think the Limited Edition should come with a special DLC of its own for gamers who are willing to fork over the 149 dollars. The lamp is great but pretty soon it could break or the power gets worn out. A special DLC will definitely increase sale of the Limited Edition for sure. I pre ordered the Limited Edition but feel that there should be at least a special DLC. Europe is getting both the "Gray Fox" and possibly the "Inferno Armor" or the "Commando Armor"
12 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
Great Game, Nice Bundle, Bad Price
Posted on:1/24/13
NinjaRadness
Location: Denver
This LE and game are awesome! My only gripe is that $90 dollars is way over-priced for just a plasma lamp and a video game soundtrack, which will only appeal to the most miniscule segment of the games own fan base . An extra DLC skin or two would have made this a great value, but it looks to me like a bare bones LE if there ever was one. The real value of this, as it is, should be $120 at most. In contrast, though...I am very exciterd about the game itself, and I do think it will be the best Metal Gear to date. I have not ever been so excited for a game that I can remember. I cannot wait to play the full game over and over. It should appeal to fans of the Metal Gear series, Bayonetta, and Vanquish alike. Very, very good video game. Absolutely everything I could ever want in a game so far. I have played the demo extensively and watched all of the trailers I think.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
Great limited edition for a great looking game!
Posted on:12/16/12
CrazyRainbows
Location: San Antonio, Texas
The limited edition looks really good, the lamp is a pretty decent size and for the total price, I'm assuming it's pretty well made. The steelbook and soundtrack are great additions as well, though I'd have loved an artbook like Japan is getting or at least have the steelbook be done with Shinkawa's art instead of rendered art. Regardless, I've had my eye on this game from when they showed it off as a tech demo (Watermelon Slicing teaser) When Platinum was given charge for the combat, I was ecstatic. MGS4 established Raiden as a guy who could destroy things and go nuts all over the place, and I can think of very few developers who could handle that type of combat as well as Platinum Games, combat looks smooth, satisfying, and seems to be vaguely similar to how DMC or Bayonetta was, with the over-the-top action and crazy combos Raiden is able to pull off. Kojima and his group still being in charge of story is a plus as well, so there aren't any worries that things won't fit into the Metal Gear universe, or seem too "out of character" so to speak. Unlike a lot of people, I actually really liked Raiden's character and MGS2 as a whole, Rose was the one who didn't sit well with me, and I'm really happy that he's getting his own game and a chance to really shine. I have very high hopes for this game, and my excitement for it increases all the time. It's going to be a long wait for February!
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
A Must!
Posted on:11/16/12
ART359
Location: La Habra Heights, California
This Limited Edition is a must for any Metal Gear fan, or Hideo Kojima for that matter. This is one of those editions that seem a little too expensive at first, but then you know its totally worth it! I am positive this Limited Edition will sell its pre-orders fast. So, be sure to get your in so you do not miss out! I cannot wait to have the plasma lamp. It will be a nice addition to my other collectibles.
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IXxBossxXI
MA
 
Please wait while more information about IXxBossxXI is loaded.
Additional information about IXxBossxXI could not be loaded.
SERIOUSLY?!
Posted 11/19/12
from the moment this game was announce last year i was at my local gamestop putting down money on it. i was just recently lookup steelbooks for mass effect 3 and i realized out of all the games i own and plan to own this is the only one i would really love to have a steelbook for (and mass effect 3) so i decided to do some research on editions and pre order bonuses until i found out that europe was getting several steelbooks and along with japan, getting edition bonuses. i thought "like usual americans arent getting anything good except dlc" then i found out about this lol. even though im dropping $90 more on this preorder im willing to do it since i really look forward to this game and its the only game ive ever (or probably will ever) spend so much on. i think its really cheap how theyre skimping on the skin dlcs since were spending ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTY dollars on this lol. but the rest is worth it. hopefully theyll add the dlc before the actual release for people who preordered this (and some for people who preordered the regular edition)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
ALL METAL!!!
Posted on:1/17/13
b34redyuki
Location: Alvaton,KY
I Have All The Metal Gear Games Except For This One I've Already Pr-Order My Copy Have You This Is What I've Been Looking Forward To All Of Last Year And This Year Come On Feb/19th Hurry Up I Want My Game If Your A Metal Gear Fan Then You Can Add Me As A Friend User Name b34redyuki There Is Alot Of Games That Supost To Come Out This Year And I Can't Wait.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
Wow really??? Why are they doing me like this? LOL
Posted on:11/14/12
Goku1984
Location: Macon, GA.
I had preordered the original collector/limited edition for this game but now theres this new Limited Edition with the lamp sword. I am trading more than half my games for it. I got to when I am a broke Air Force veteran. LOL...
3 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
WOW
Posted on:11/28/12
bigbird2591
this game is a most to say it all in one word must its looks super goooddd an i will have it first to god
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
i got mine
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/13
AidsMilkshake
Location: chicago, il
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i got my game on the 17th the lamp is really cool. but like 150 bucks is kinda high for it just wish it came with a DLC but other than that its a pretty sweet game n lamp.. the lamp its self is worth $150 easy so its a good deal.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
Metal gear rising: revengeance limited edition
Posted on:1/20/13
louis853
Location: St. Louis, MO
They should lower the price to $100 because you just get a lamp, the game, the soundtrack, and the steelbook case. But if there was perhaps a action figure then it should totally be $125 at least because if you get god of war: Ascension collectors edition it includes a action figure that look amazing and it's just $80 which is very nice.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/13
Jyp1shot
Location: Fresno,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If u like all metal gears game this one is a really good game good graphic and gameplay. I'm a fan of metal gear also bought the limited edition a must own.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
i'm diffanly getting this.
Posted on:11/21/12
Smoker
Location: Hampton, VA
I love the MGS series. Love that they are going back in to Raven's back story between Sons of librity and the guns of the patriots. it is a must play
1 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Unknown11
 
Please wait while more information about Unknown11 is loaded.
Additional information about Unknown11 could not be loaded.
Correction
Posted 1/17/13
It doesn't take place between MGS2 and MGS4 it takes place after Guns of the Patriots this is a spin-off of Metal Gear Solid
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
I don't normally buy limited editions like this
Posted on:1/17/13
Kaninja666
But this one looks promising, even if the game isn't to my high expectations at least I can play as classic cyborg ninja and have a sweet plasma lamp.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
lowkee33
dayton
 
Please wait while more information about lowkee33 is loaded.
Additional information about lowkee33 could not be loaded.
Love It
Posted 1/26/13
I am a Die hard Metal Gear fan, and since they first started talking about it several years ago I have wanted it. i have now played the demo and have to say I am in love. I love the regular MGS style game play but who would not want to play as Raiden. This brings a whole new style of play to the Metal Gear franchise and it is freakin awesome. Don't look at this game to be the same as the old it is brand new and great.
Customer Avatar
Sam8
 
Please wait while more information about Sam8 is loaded.
Additional information about Sam8 could not be loaded.
Awesomeness
Posted 1/19/13
I CAN'T WAIT!!!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Limited Edition
It's Time To Rise.....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/13
BlackAceZero777
Revengeance is awesome in my opinion. The whole game is cool. Now to make things clear: This is not a Solid title although it was called that in the beginning of its development. It is a spin-off title based around Raiden. So onto the review:
Story: The story is a bit here and there with its concept. The story wasn't really a highpoint for the game. The gameplay was. But anyways, the story is about Raiden fighting against a group named Desperado who wants to start unnecessary wars because of benefits. They want to use children to make more cybernetic soldiers to cause these wars. In Raiden's eyes, this will not happen. But during a bodygaurd mission, he faced a Desperado elite solider that left Raiden completely injured and helpless and brings out his persona: Jack The Ripper. He is then placed in a new cybernetic body (As you see in the cover) and sets out to fight them.
Gameplay: The gameplay is very fast and challenging. The game is based one thing: CUT WHAT YOU WILL AND HOW YOU WILL. This means that you have the advantage to cut cyborgs and objects in anyway possible. The gameplay is similar to Devil May Cry in terms of hacking n' slashing. You fight to move on in the game and use different weapons to fight. The awesome part that they put in the game is the Zandatsu technique (or Stab and Grab technique) which basically gives you the full control of how you want to cut an enemy and take their energy to regain yours. The game is a bit challenging though because as you are injured you lose quite a bit of help. But you have items in the game that give a second chance at continuing before you get a full-on Game Over. So you may want to learn how to play the game pretty well before going further into the game.
Music: The great thing about this game is it has an awesome metal soundtrack that you can bang your head to while your playing.
Graphics: The graphics of this game makes this game look more like a movie. Like a Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children like movie.
Overall Opinion: I know it's been some gripe about the game but it is a great spin-off and is worth the try. The Limited Edition is awesome: it comes with a lamp that looks like electricity is coming from the sword on the inside and when you touch the lamp the electricity follows your finger, a collectable case, the soundtrack, and the game. Be warned, the soundtrack is not the one that has all of the songs from the game; that one is sold separately. I give this a 9; short game, but is very memorable and is really worth your time playing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10