GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dark Souls II

Developed By From Software, Dark Souls II is the highly anticipated sequel to the punishing 2011 breakout hit Dark Souls (9.5/10 Gamespot, 9.0/10 Ign). The unique Old-School Action RPG experience captivated imaginations of gamers worldwide with incredible challenge and intense emotional reward. Dark Souls II brings the franchise's renowned difficulty & gripping gameplay innovations to both single and multiplayer experiences.
Average Customer Rating:
9.111
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 out of 1894%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dark Souls II
Review 1 for Dark Souls II
Not as challenging, but still amazing!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/14
ConradL
Location: Las Vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
While still providing many challenges, mostly when it comes to bosses, Dark Souls 2 isn't quite as rage inducing as the first. Being a fan of Dark Souls, I'm not sure whether to be happy or to be disappointed. There aren't any incredibly frustrating areas (like Blighttown in DS1), and most of the bosses are easily bested by rolling/circle strafing while or after they attack. The true challenge lies in NG+. Some enemies are added and boss fights are different. Either way, this game is still Dark Souls to it's very core. From combat and area hazards to lore and mechanics. You'll find dozens of weapons with a large variety of move sets; some all-purpose, while others with limited usefulness. Upgrading has also been made to be more convenient. No longer will you have to scrounge for green titanite shards for a different upgrade path or traverse back to different areas depending on what you want to infuse your weapon with. This time, you only need regular titanite (6 shards, 6 large shards, 6 chunks, then 1 slab) to fully upgrade most weapons (whether fire, lightning, magic, enchanted, etc) to +10. There are still some special weapons (unique and boss weapons) that require twinkling titanite and petrified dragon bone to upgrade. You need only go to one specific smith to infuse your weapon with an effect and will require a certain stone for the desired effect (boltstone, bleedstone, etc.). The PvP could still use a lot of improvement. A lot of times, you'll find yourself swinging away at your opponent, but do no damage; only to see them finally lose health 3 seconds later.
I would highly recommend this game to Souls players and also to those who may have attempted DS1 liked it, but couldn't finish due to difficulty. I also recommend it to those who are tired of simplistic "RPGs" that focus too much on graphics and story telling instead of the most important aspect of a video game.... GAMEPLAY.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dark Souls II
PRAISE THE SUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/14
motorhed2
Location: Detroit,MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
was so exited for this game and now that its here I love it. The story is great and it offers everything I could have hoped for in a "souls" series game. I feel that having played the first dark souls this one is a little easier due to the fact that im more familiar with the game. And besides who doesn't love to praise the sun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Dark Souls II
Challenging
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/14
ColassalKiller3
This is by far one of the most difficult games i have ever played. Graphics and story line are both good. Overall great action game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Dark Souls II
Fantastic game, best souls game by far.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/14
KrippledStars
Location: BackseatOfYourCar
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game so much, after havin it for 2-3 weeks I've gotten to see nearly everything about it, and boy is it a vast improvement over dark souls 1, they've added more magic, weapons and my favorite, bosses, theres around 25 bosses in dark souls 2 I believe, and for any casual player this game will take quite a while to beat, but some may find it unattractive due to the skill and patience needed to play this game well. Though this is one of my favorite qualities, can't say I'd like a game if it was nothing but easy gameplay, need a challenge. My favorite feature would be its immense amount of shear content. This game took me around 60 hours to beat, and I took my time enjoyably.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Dark Souls II
perfect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/14
jg23
Location: oroville, ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game surpassed all my expectations. it is a little easier than the first but that because the game fighting mechanics have improved and i played the junk out of the first one. as a manager at gamestop and playing a ton of games there is no other games like the souls games. if anyone wants a challenge with amazing gamplay and tons of replay value buy this game. i have four characters each with an average of 30 hours and i have only beaten the game once so far.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Dark Souls II
Even More Sublimely Frustrating Than The First!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/14
MisterTeeny
Location: Philadelphia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the first game I had ever pre-ordered and I had never been more excited for any other game, and I am not disappointed. It took me a couple hours to really fall in love, but Dark Souls II stays so true to the first that it brings a tear to my eye socket. There are so many returning items that the changes really stand out. But the changes really are exhilarating. As if soloing bosses weren't enough of a thrill, now try soloing them with half health (and there are butt loads of bosses)! The game encourages co-op more than ever before as well. So much content packed in here that I've spent hours just noodling around. Also, some immensely cinematic moments, in and out of cut-scenes, can really take your breath away. If you loved Dark Souls, than you almost have to love Dark Souls II. If you haven't played a Souls game yet, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR YA DINGUS? Praise the sun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Dark Souls II
Save Your Money!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/14
IcedEarth
Location: NY
Don't understand all the great reviews, this game SUCKS! Game play is horrible! Graphics really stink! Everything about this game is BAD! It's like going back in time and playing a game from the early 90's and it would of sucked then too. Save Your Money!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dark Souls II
GOTY!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/14
TheBro
Location: Springfield, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is just amazing. The developers made a perfect game for newcomers to the series and returning fans. Yes the first play through isn't as tough as the first one but there's a reason there's multiple playthroughs. The multiplayer is just stupendous. I have always loved PvP games and this one doesn't disappoint. Definitely one of the few rewarding games in a while.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Dark Souls II
A masterpiece for the masochist in all of us.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
Anonymous
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you're new to the souls series, take a moment to read a review, watch a video, and really learn what you're buying. This game strays off of the beaten path from a very early point in the game, showing the player there will be no typical AAA franchise handouts, and forcing the player to explore and learn on their own. Controls are GREATLY improved from the original and it's predecessor, allowing for a much greater connection with the games beautiful and intriguing character appearance system. The soundtrack is absolutely outstanding, but standard game noises leave much to be desired. Multiplayer returns, and better than ever. While it is at some points seamlessly integrated, at other times you may find yourself repeatedly invaded by higher leveled players while just attempting to survive. While this may bother some, the option of offline play is always an option.Graphics may be the only downfall of this game, due to its unplayability at a higher res. Still, neither shoddy sound nor dumbed down graphics end up taking away from the game itself, which is simply outstanding. Above all, Never give up, Praise the sun, and Try Jumping. Sound-7/10 Graphics-7/10 Controls-9/10 Overall-8.5/10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Dark Souls II
Hard but not impossible
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
sps12
Location: eagle, ID
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved the original dark souls, so when i heard dark souls 2 was coming out I got really excited. Something about this franchise just makes you want to come back for more, you get the stuffing beat out of you a ton of times but when you finally do beat that boss or area you were working on you feel so satisfied that you have to keep going. The game punishes you for dying, even though it is pretty much inevitable. I would wager to say that nobody is actually good at this game there are just people who die less than others. That being said, if you are not into playing a game that will kick your tail before you even feel somewhat comfortable about it, don't get this game. On second thought, even if you don't want that get the game and play it just to see if you like it. People have given up on this game too early seeing all the pre-owned copies they had at gamestop when I went to get it and i think more people should give it a chance.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Dark Souls II
A shiny new version
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/14
NephilimRising
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game basically polishes and betters every aspect of dark souls 1 while putting you in an entirely new area with a new story arch. The gameplay is tweaked in a way where, even though I am a non-competitive player, i can take on almost any invader (im level 127 too). The areas are very cool and are drastically different throughout the game. The framerate stays consistent throughout as well. The game deserves a seven though, in my opinion, because there are some game-breaking issues. Graphics could definitely be way better if they used a different engine than Havok. Hitbox (When and where you or enemies hit) is extremely poorly done, enemies reach farther than their equipment and the players doesnt count when it should. Furthermore, the "Dedicated Servers" completely cut out in the most difficult areas of the game (pretty much all areas except for one that are later in the game). This game meets all the criteria of an upgrade but still seriously lacks in areas that shouldnt be lacking in a game at this time. I hope something is done for the servers because i overall enjoy this game, and would like it much more if coop worked consistently.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dark Souls II
Awsome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/14
FlyingLama
Location: U.S.A
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Awsome! Just cool dood! I really like the game play, music, boss fights, lore, the online, just about every thing but some minor issues. But really an amazing game, and if another Soul's title comes out, hopefully they will even make it better from any of the Soul's games!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Dark Souls II
Their souls are mine!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
SLTSWAMP
Location: Tahoe, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
In one word Dark Souls II could be described as familiar. All the same basic game mechanics from Dark Souls 1 remain intact, with a couple minor tweeks (mainly to the health system and fast travel implemented right from the start of the game). If you've played previous games in the series then you will feel right at home with the fighting and spell casting mechanics of DS2. It needs to be mentioned that the game graphics look great! The lighting in the game might be the best I've ever seen, with fire playing a pivotal role in your journey it's so nice to see your new armor gleam standing next to a bonfire. Movement feels more fluid, especially rolls and dodges, which is critical for fighting tough enemies. My one gripe with this game would be that this games world isn't as interconnected as DS1. With fast travel available right from the beginning i never felt like the world was very connected. Rather the different areas of DS2 come of more like separate levels rather than an interconnected world. With all that said, DS2 is a fun game and worth the 60 bucks. Praise the Sun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dark Souls II
Perfect Game....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/14
Sudake
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Good history...... awesome game....etc. Nice play, good graphic, hardcore play.... and more action in the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Dark Souls II
Great Game Franchise
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/14
spenceaj
Location: SLC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dark souls 1 was ALOT easier than people made it out to be, with this one being more approachable I hope it gets the game more popularity. PLAY DARK SOULS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dark Souls II
GG Dark Souls 2 GG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/14
smithdigdog
Location: Palmdale, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great game continues the difficulty that is know throughout the soul series. Death is now more threatening than Dark Souls 1 with the player's health going down for every death making every encounter that more tense. Movements are more smooth with an updated graphics system. Dark Souls 2 remembers its ancestry with many old parts returning,( SUN BROS FOR LIFE!!!!). If you are a veteran or a newcomer Dark Souls 2 will break you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dark Souls II
Better than I thought!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/14
TwistMonkey
Location: Seguin,tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I already came into this game knowing it would be great but man it's even better! There's so much I would want to share with you but I can't spoil anything. Great game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dark Souls II
Just Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/14
alwaysright555
Location: Wichita, KS
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is so awesome. I pre-ordered it and got the Black Armor Edition and the swords/shields are awesome. The gameplay is difficult like the last, but is a little bit easier to play. I got frustrated, but still love it. I would definitely buy this for my friends. Lastly, I hope you play it too!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dark Souls II
Prepare to die. Again.
Posted on:3/11/14
iilusions
Location: Pa
Pre-ordered Dark Souls 2 and can't wait to play it. I love the first Dark Souls. It's so addicting. I love how diverse the game is. It never got boring at all. I loved dying just as much as defeating a very hard enemy because it gave you determination. It took me FOREVER to kill the Capra Demon located in undead Burg. Once I got the Uchigatana I reinforced it to +5 and added a charcoal resin and BOOM. Defeat. I cannot wait to see the unimaginable enemies in Dark Souls 2. They did such a fantastic job in Dark Souls. I think all Dark Souls fans are going to be more amazed than they thought they would be. Honestly in my opinion this is one of the most incredible RPGs ever created for Xbox 360. Even better than Skyrim. This game will make you cry tears of joy OR tears of sadness. Either way YOU will fall in love with it. I promise.
PRAISE THE SUUUUUUN!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Review 20 for Dark Souls II
Only game I'll ever buy twice
Posted on:3/7/14
WtheFourth
Location: Brentwood, TN
So, the Xbox 360 version of Dark Souls 2 comes out on March 11, while the PC version comes out on April 25. I've decided that I'll buy the Xbox version on release and, in April, buy the PC version. So I'm going to spend well over $100 on a single game. And I imagine it'll be worth every single penny, judging by how much fun the first Dark Souls was. I can't wait.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 2 3 next>>