GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers

Never before released in North America, this long-awaited entry in the acclaimed Devil Summoner series takes players into a future in which technology and otherworldly forces meet in a macabre fusion of cyberpunk futurism and gothic horror. A first-person sci-fi RPG epic, Soul Hackers tells of a city held up as a beacon of humanity's triumph of technology, but with an infernal secret. In this would-be utopia, a group of hackers takes on a centuries-old mystic society, and a battle for control over humanity's fate is about to begin...
Average Customer Rating:
6.5
6.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 250%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers
Review 1 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers
15 years late is better than never.
Posted on:12/21/12
FreeRPGer
Location: Troy, NY
Wow, this game came out in 1997 in Japan, on the Saturn, and was later enhanced on Sony's system, but neither version made it to North America. Finally, 15 years later, thanks to Nintendo and Atlus, Soul Hackers is coming here, 3DS style, even more enhanced! Now I'm an even prouder 3DS XL owner!
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
precious!!!
Posted 5/6/13
Shin Megami Tensei is great series. I Can't wait for Shin Megami Tensei X Fire Emblem on the Wii U. PS Great info in your review feel free to read my per-veiws.
Customer Avatar
VamDiva
Los Angeles, CA
 
Please wait while more information about VamDiva is loaded.
Additional information about VamDiva could not be loaded.
OMG!! Can't Wait
Posted 12/28/12
The SMT games are always good and well received by both players and critics alike!!! I can't wait for this one!!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers
Kind of Boring
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/14
xKuroFox
I know its an older game, but there more interesting ones. It's pretty much, crawl through dungeon and then boring cut scene before doing that all over again. It was fun enough to play while I was in between games, but definitely not something I would pick up and play again. I haven't played any of the other games in the series; though, I do plan on it. I hope they have more lasting appeal then this one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers
Well it's about time...
Posted on:12/26/12
Broswagonist
Location: Seattle, Washington
While I'm still waiting for an official release of Shin Megami Tensei and its sequel in America, it's still good to see the spin-offs getting some love, and the Devil Summoner series at that. We got the PS2 Devil Summoner Raidou series some years ago, which was nice, but I think the recent Persona buzz has brought toooons of attention to Shin Megami Tensei in general. This gives me hope yet to see the first two in the SMT series see the light of America; heck, maybe even the original Megami Tenseis will somehow see a release here.
I can't wait for Soul Hackers, and I look forward to maybe seeing a SMT IV American-release (which makes me curious to how we'd go about naming it, since Nocturne wasn't called SMT III in America).
Nonetheless, great to see so much love for SMT nowadays.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Teenkitsune
 
Please wait while more information about Teenkitsune is loaded.
Additional information about Teenkitsune could not be loaded.
So Getting It
Posted 2/14/13
I'm not into Shin Megami Tensei or gothic-horror/occult stuff. But when it comes to stuff that has taken years to release in this great country, I'm too attracted to them. I love playing games that have never released before in the US. Also, as a lite sci-fi fan I love cyberpunk, and this is right up my alley because of that. Even if I'm not into Shin Megami Tensei, since this game never came here on its original systems, I just have to play this one being the only one available here. Plus, cyberpunk rules!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers
If you're looking for some meat, this is it.
Posted on:1/16/13
jbl8199
Location: Johnstown, PA
I never played the original Devil Summoner, but I have played other SMT games in the series Like Devil Survivor Overclocked and Persona 3 FES., and I'll just say the replay value is usually pretty insane on these games. Plus any game from Atlus is one you want to snatch up quick, because they tend to become hard to find later on. I'd highly recommend this one.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers
SMT, best JRPG series ever
Posted on:1/13/13
Vampire13
Location: California
After 15 years of waiting we finally get Soul Hackers, and on 3DS! Here I thought the 3DS didn't have many good games, but with this and Pokemon X/Y coming out this year, I really am glad I got a 3DS. I really recommend this game, and any other SMT games.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers
Awesome!!!
Posted on:12/22/12
Stormcaller
Love SMT games, can't wait for this one. I think this ones gonna be a lot like strange journey if that means anything to anyone.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers
A good dungeon crawler, but not for me.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/13
Raviel89
Location: Washington, DC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am a big fan of the Persona and Devil Survivor series of games. This game, however, did not have a good first impression both story wise or graphic wise (well it is a 15 year-old game). The "Jack Frost" NPCs are also extremely annoying. Although I prefer to see my character, the first-person viewpoint is not much of a big deal.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers
Epic
Posted on:1/20/13
Giancarlo
Location: Florida, FL
I'm really excited for this game. The gameplay looks good and fun. The first person view is still a bit wierd but, it's not too bad.