GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Aliens: Colonial Marines

You and your friends against the deadliest killers in the galaxy. Another glorious day in the corps.Buckle up, soldier! Welcome to Aliens: Colonial Marines. Created by Gearbox, the critically acclaimed and fan-favourite developers of Borderlands and Brothers In Arms, this first-person shooter is steeped in the eerie, claustrophobic and terrifying atmosphere that made the Aliens films successful worldwide. You and your friends will become the most badass military outfit in the galaxy - the US Colonial Marines. It's down to you to not just survive but wipe out the Xeno infestation.
Average Customer Rating:
5.667
5.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (128 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
6
8 stars
8
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
10
28 out of 6047%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Review 1 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Good Game Overall
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/13
YesImCool
Location: St.Augustine,Fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I understand this game may have some flaws and lack of sound quality but this game is addicting (at least for me). I don't get why so many people hate this game. the graphics are pretty good and if they came with a new version with no glitches and better sound quality i would definitely buy it. But if you basically want a 30x better version of this game get aliens vs predator
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Brink's twin brother......truly sad
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/13
BorderLandFan2293
Location: Fresno, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you play the video game like Brink then it's that bad the game had so much potential but due to negative decisions pre and post release the game was in no shape to play sure it was but too many issues makes the game either laughable or too frustrating to play the only reason why the score isn't any lower is that:
it's a direct sequel to the movie Aliens
the fact that we get the skins of the movie characters if we pre order it
iconic sounds that we all know and love
and it's Aliens duh
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
I preordered before it was cool
Posted on:6/1/12
Mothman
I seriously jumped in my car several months ago to preorder this game as soon as i saw it in GamePro magazine. I put down five bucks and giggled like a little schoolgirl when i got the receipt.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
ABSOLUTELY HORRENDOUS!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/13
craftyONE
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I'm a huge fan of the Alien series.. so when I shelled out money for this game I expected it to be a lot better than any game of the franchise so far, but I was wrong to have ever believed that. It's clear Sega has never left the 16-bit system era. First off I'll explain why I put for "kid gamers", if you are someone who has played any video games since the PS3 or XBOX360 has come out you should be embarassed to own this game, I know I am. Only a child would believe this game covers any true facets of a fun or interesting game. Plus, they would have to have never seen any of the movies to believe a storyline this awful would be apart of the Alien legacy. One good thing before a go any farther, is the only thing that makes this game playable at all, is the fact that you find the weapons and some random bits from the movie series. That made things slightly bearable. But, when coupled with the fact the graphics, cinematics, storyline, physics, teammate AI, multiplayer, and voices were ABSOLUTELY HORRENDOUS!! For a game that was pushed back so they could improve it.. they have failed miserably. The graphics look like something that was intended for PS2 and had been given a "HD facelift". The graphics would've been par (not excellent by far) if it had only been released for Nintendo DS or the PSP. If you have played Dead Space 3 (or any DS in the series) would have laughed about these graphics all the way the trash can where you'd throw this trash. The cinematics were ridiculous! It was like the animators asked a 5 year old how they would shoot every scene. There was no tie-in at all to Ridley Scott's style of directing or really any directing at all. Not to mention, that every cut scene or cinematic had the worst frame rate ever! It was like watching the worst edited stop motion film. The storyline held no validity either. Someone who had never seen any of the movies could've probably guessed it exactly. No climax. No entertainment. The physics.. well can't really say there was any really. This game must run some kind of randomizer to decide if your actually going to hit your target. Every time there was a taget behind a box (or doorway) I'd have to wait for him to move out from behind it, because I'd have the target's head insight, fire a short burst, and the bullets would hit roughly where his kneecaps would've been behind the box or to directly into the wall of the door way. If you're playing the game solo.. good luck. The AI for your teammates is, well, non-existent, they are a point A to point B kind of intelligence. If they even appear at all! Had several times where my teammates disappeared and wouldn't come back until I had been killed or restarted the checkpoint. It's pretty rough trying to kill sometimes bulletproof, and sometimes not, xenomorphs with guns that make any kind of aiming sights pointless. The multiplayer is about as fun as locking your keys in your car. It's extremely slow to join a match, slow to control your character, and if you're just starting, good luck trying to get anything going at all with the amazingly poor attempt at an upgrading system. Which puts more emphasis on how the marines or xenos look. And last but not at all the last thing wrong with the game.. with all the time and expertise, from what I had heard on interviews, they couldn't get a single word matched up to the character's mouth movement. Seriously, probably one of the easiest things to do and they couldn't even do it. All in all, this game is and never will be worth anywhere near its retai price. As little as Gearbox and Sega has done it should've been a download and never put on disc. If you're looking for a game that you can frankly tell was invisioned and designed for, as well as actually honors, the technology of the time peroid, go buy Dead Space 3.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/14
wsh72
Location: Somerville, AL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
As an Aliens fan, this game was a huge slap in the face. First off, the E3 Demo Gearbox showed WASNT EVEN IN THE FINAL GAME, the Aliens in that demo looked sooooooo much more fluid and life-like, whereas in the final game, they were just dumb charging enemies where as the demo showed them like TRUE Aliens from the film, stealthy, cunning, and overall DEADLY. Next, the graphics weren't all that great, even on PC. There was major pop-in textures, very bland environments, and major screen-tearing and glitches, like I said, even on PC. Also, the characters were so stupid and lifeless, the one guy our suppose to love you end up hating his guts, simply because he got In your way and didn't even fire his weapon, he left all the work for you, which wasn't very much. Also, there Is absolutely NO SCARY OR INTENSE MOMENTS, like in the film. About the only good thing about this piece of garbage is the weapon and character customization in the campaign and multiplayer, for both the Aliens and the Marines. All in all, I highly advise you to stay as far away from this "game" as possible.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 6 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/13
Joeyc11
Location: Pueblo,Co
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I went into my local gamestop with only one game on my mind:Dead Space 3. I havent had a good scare as far as games go since Dead Space and was really excited for the 3rd one...I picked that game up as well as Aliens:Colonial Marines and i am more than happy i did! The Graphics arent out of this world but seeing some people come out and say the graphics were horrible and the game was horrible MADE me have to write a review of my own. Weapon Customization is a breeze to learn and you are not limited as to what weapons you want as your primary/secondary. Gameplay has given me the scares i was expecting to get from Dead Space 3 as the Aliens are as fast and powerful as what was shown in the Movie. Ive only gotten through about an hour or two of the game but have already made my mind up that this game is a keeper...if you are looking for a scary game that MAKES you feel immersed into it then this is the game for you.I hope this helps.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Not worth the 60 dollars
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/13
ryusan91
Location: Tracy, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was on my way to the nearest gamestop to pick up my copy of Aliens Colonial Marines and being a huge Aliens fan myself, I was so excited to play it in its entirety. As soon as I started to play it had real potential at first, however the game took a turn for the worst when I found there were an abundance of graphical glitches on the ps3 version as well as the graphics themselves not being up to par with first person shooter games of today and now don't get me wrong, graphics don't make the game however it really helps you to immerse yourself into the world of the game you are playing and Aliens Colonial Marines just does not succeed in that. The gameplay is very much your standard FPS however, the campaign itself, we were told by gearbox software that the campaign would last up to 10 hours long, I'm here to tell you that it is not 10 hours long but a mere 4.5 to 5 hours. Multiplayer however has some replay value and actually quite fun. Now I'm not saying that the game is the worst game of this year but it has my vote for the biggest disappointment. The game is decent but it did not live up to my expectations. I am pretty hurt by this being an Aliens fan. I really was looking forward to this.The game looks unfinished. It's such as shame, because this game had good intentions and potential.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
bad game
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/13
zombiekiller123
Location: find_fix_finish
First of all, the story is horrible. Some aspects of it do not make sense with the aliens movie timeline. and the ending is just stupid as well as the final boss fight. If you read comments on the Facebook page there are a lot of player that hate this game. The special weapons that can be found are just stupid. Yeah, we all like easter eggs, but this game does it badly. not only is there not challenge, but the story bores the player. The aiming system is seriously flawed, I was hitting enemies when my recital wasn't even on the target. And the AI is just stupid. The NPC's would enter a room and stand next to and enemy and both would do nothing. The multiplayer is a cool concept, but playing as an alien is clunky, and too difficult to handle. I do not recommend this game, and honestly I want my money back, so I will be trading it back in today. This game is just a half hearted way to make money off of a strong fan base nothing more. Save your money and don't bother.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 9 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Nothing but push back!!!
Posted on:9/24/10
Scarecrow
This game better be the best Alien game ever due to it being pushed back so much.
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Aliens:Colonial Marines Vs DNF winner... DNF
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/14
star34
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Aliens:Colonial Marines vs Duke Nukem Forever
Story: Aliens:Colonial Marines
Graphics: Tied
Gameplay: Duke Nukem Forever
Multiplayer: Duke Nukem Forever
Most Enjoyment:Tied
Better Reception: Duke Nukem Forever
Total: ACM 3 DNF 4
Winner: Duke Nukem Forever!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Well, at least there's more info on it now.
Posted on:6/5/11
Deathkey3
Location: San Antonio, TX
It's pretty funny that people are relating this to Duke Nukem Forever because it's been in and out of the spotlight for almost 5 years now. Ironically enough, Gearbox Software is the same company that brought that back from the grave, so I've got faith in them this time, too. I've always thought it would be really cool to have an Aliens game that was an FPS that brought in horror and suspense elements just like the movies did. The last couple of games from this franchise were pretty bad, so I can only hope this turns out to be as awesome as it sounded when it was announced way back when. I'll probably give this one a chance, just 'cause I love the movies. And because I like to shoot stuff.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Kill me now!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/14
Golando
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Absolutely the WORST sci-fi game EVER made. Don't waste a dime on this "game".......horrible game play, so-so graphics. The sounds were right out of the movie.......great sound and that's where it ends.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 13 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Aliens: Colonial Marines is better than AVP
Posted on:12/18/12
Wes87
Location: Sherman, Texas
Aliens: Colonial Marines will be even better since Aliens vs Predator, Aliens: Colonial Marines is based on the back story on between of Aliens and Alien 3. Following toward the prequel, Prometheus. As the creation of the game will had a very good store and references to be used in the game from Academy Award winning director, Ridley Scott. Mutliplayer is perfect timing for this game. I had watched all 4 classic Alien films, from Alien to Alien: Resurrection, but I hadn't seen Prometheus yet. Aliens vs Predator is good game to play with 3 campaigns, the game lets you played as Alien, Predator or Marines, on Aliens: Colonial Marines, you because as the Marines to fight against Aliens, Facehugger, and Chestbuster. The game let you to start the mission on the search party to find the survivor, Ellen Ripley in the U.S.S. Sulaco also the missing members of the Marines includes: Corporal Dwayne Hicks, Private Hudson and Sergeant Alpone to rescue them. the game is based on the 1986 science fiction horror classic directed by James Cameron.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
"Remember: short, controlled bursts."
Posted on:3/28/12
JTDOOM
Location: Bay Area
I really hope gearbox does the alien franchise justice. They did really well with borderlands so there is hope, guys. Its exciting to go back to the Sulaco LV-426 and find out what happened to the marines who went on their mission with Ripley. I cant wait to look at the motion tracker HUD and see all those blips moving in on my platoons position. AVP was a decent start but they better blow that one out of the water. Either way if this game is good or bad, i know im buying this. haha
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
seriously?
Posted on:2/26/11
Needles
this game is turning into another Duke Nukem Forever deal. it's been in production since I first bought my ps3 in 07. it's been going on 4 years now. this game better blow my face off with awesomeness cause with this long of a wait, I really don't care anymore
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
simeancagemonkey
 
Please wait while more information about simeancagemonkey is loaded.
Additional information about simeancagemonkey could not be loaded.
Posted 3/5/11
dude needles i completely agree with you. when aliens vs. predators came i thought it was taking the place of alien colonial marines.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
STILL?!!
Posted on:1/12/12
omenater1
Location: FL
I remember a gameinformer coming out when i was in 6th grade and i first heard of this game, and im in 10th heading to 11th grade and this game still hasent came out lol i think ima grad before it comes out, let me know when your gonna release it.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
One of the Biggest Let-Downs
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/13
kashe
Location: Baltimore, MD
I remember reading about this game a few years ago near the beginning of PS3 and 360. AVP was a fun game - a little cheesy, but fun and jumpy; not to mention the graphics were pretty on point as well. However, this had so much potential to be a bonechilling FPS and with the extra time the company kept buying, it had no room for excuses. However, the chopping motions, cartoony graphics and downright poor AI makes this a bust. It reminded me of the Alien Trilogy game for PS1. Which at that time was not a terrible game, but this has certainly fallen behind its time. I bought the game, played it for a few hours and returned it the next day. The controls are horrific and the characters, dialogue and story are a disgrace to the films. I would only buy this game when it is going for $9.99 used and you need something new for a weekend. Bottom line - expectations were set and never met.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 18 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
By far the WORST game ever
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/13
Stealth13
Location: Orlando, Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Honestly this will be nice and short. We've seen lots of great games this year. Bioshock Infinite, Tomb Raider, Last of Us, Saints Row 4, and Injustice all seemed to go above and beyond. However this year started off poorly with a game that disappointed me and lots of people. That game is Aliens: Colonial Marines. The story is pretty bad, the marines are way over powered in multiplayer, and it just wasn't interesting. Graphics weren't that great either. A disgrace to gaming, to the Aliens franchise, and very poorly made especially compared to the other games this year.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Cannot wait!!!
Posted on:10/1/11
DemonicOne76
Location: Granby, MO
I've been waiting for this game for a while now. It's a definitely pre-order, first day buy for me. It'll have to be on the Wii U though because I heard you'll be able to use the Wii U's controller screen as a motion detector just like in the movie.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Valient
Ludington, Mi
 
Please wait while more information about Valient is loaded.
Additional information about Valient could not be loaded.
when they say 4 player co-op...
Posted 10/23/11
Do they mean having splitscreen capability for up to 4 players on ps3 and xbox 360 orare they going to tdo it by system linking or something similar?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Finally Feel like your part of the movie!!!
Posted on:9/3/11
Freedomfighter199
Location: Orlando, FL.
Can't wait to get this! This is the game we all wanted them to make when we heard they were making an Aliens game. And game after game they have failed to live up to what it could have been. This will hopefully be that game that will redeem the franchise in the gaming world. I can't wait to go down a dark corridor and feel like I'm in the Aliens movie. And to be able to do it with up to 3 of your friends in 4-player co-op is going to be awesome!!! I can't wait!!!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Warhammer
North Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about Warhammer is loaded.
Additional information about Warhammer could not be loaded.
Calm down...have some dip
Posted 2/19/12
People just need to accept that some studios work a long time on games. Is it Gearbox Software's fault Game Informer wanted an early preview? Was it their fault Sega wanted them to delay development of this title so Sega could publish Aliens vs Predator first? Is it their fault that Sega decided to predict when the game would be ready for release? I have been playing Gearbox games since their Half Life Expansion packs and their Brothers in Arms release in 2005. I loved them all. I have bought every BiA game and enjoyed them. One thing you can count on with Randy Pitchford is that the game will be out when it is completely done. I was so excited this studio was selected to do an Aliens game. So all the kids just need to calm down...have some dip...and tell your parents that it is not time for them to buy them your next 'M'-rated game just yet.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>