GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rune Factory 4

Rune Factory 4 marks the return of the popular Harvest Moon' spinoff that combines farming with dungeon adventuring. For the first time in the series, the player can select to play as a male or female hero, and potential suitors of either gender are also available in order to pursue love, marriage, and possibly a child. As the newly-appointed prince or princess, you can fulfill your royal duties of protecting the town from invaders, or take a more rural approach to governing by raising your own fruits and vegetables and helping townsfolk. Should some dungeon adventuring be on the day's itinerary, you can select from the castle's vast armament of swords, spears, and staffs along with magic for battle against dangerous foes, or even bring along a companion or friendly monster to aid you during your travels.
Average Customer Rating:
9.75
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rune Factory 4
Review 1 for Rune Factory 4
Utterly addicting!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/14
Victini5589
Location: Tacoma,WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I can't stop playing! Everything was well done, right down to the tiniest details.One of the best games I've ever played!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Rune Factory 4
Amazing graphics, amazing storyline, amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/14
Shayda
Rune Factory 4 is probably one of the best games of the Rune Factory series, and also one of the best that I've played for the 3DS. If you love RPG-like games, or have played one of the previous Rune Factory games, I would definitely recommend playing this game. WARNING: You may never want to stop playing after you start. ;)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rune Factory 4
Absolutely Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
NikkiJ9108
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you loved previous rune factory games you will definitely love this!, and if you like harvest moon games and have never tried rune factory, then you should definitely try this, in my opinion it's even better than harvest moon because it's even more involved, I have played all RF games and almost all HM and this game is amazing! it's not something you should miss out on if you have a 3DS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Rune Factory 4
lengthy, awesome plot, lame girl characters
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/13
underbears
Location: Seattle, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I spent hours playing this game, much more than the other Rune Factory games. A few times I found myself wondering if it was actually going to end. There are 3 different acts so it takes a bit to accomplish them all, but pretty awesome.
The only thing I was disappointed with throughout the entire game was the bachelorettes. Pretty much every one of them is the same ditzy, cute girl and that was pretty lame. Much unlike Rune Factory 3, which was filled with lots of different personalities. The character designs are fine and dandy, and as for the boys I'd say there's some various personality. I'd say the characters are definitely lacking in variety. I ended up marrying Forte, the strong sweet-loving knight, but I found afterwards she had only become a blushy, dependent housewife. The game needs stronger females, and not the same mary sue character over and over.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rune Factory 4
Really cool game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/13
blz96
Location: ofallon mo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Off the bat you will find your self connected to various characters in your town and i really felt like i was apart of the town while making other people quite angry by giving them stones and making other people in the town love me i grew attatched to the town every day that passed. the gameplay is pretty solid the combat is smooth and the mechanics to the game are quite clever. awesome game buy it now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rune Factory 4
Amazing game for a ds!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/13
okaythen
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is seriously the biggest game I've ever played on a 3ds. It's very diverse and the plot is great. The characters has a lot of nice attitudes that differs from one another and they always have some quirky dialog. Not only the main characters but the travelers as well. The fighting mechanics of this game is great, I like the fact that you can control your character how you want her/him to move. Being able to choose who you marry is great too, though waiting for an event to trigger can be a bit frustrating especially when you want to play the next arc. This game is long for a DS game, something I hadn't experienced before. Since it has random events triggered, the game itself won't bore you. They have very interesting descriptions for characters, items, and monsters. It's seriously a great game and it was worth the money. I am now hooked and it's been weeks since I've gotten the game but I am not tired of it yet, and that is surprising.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Rune Factory 4
I have never been so thoroughly entertained!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/13
Margot
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been a proponent of the Rune Factory franchise since its beginning, from all three DS games to the two on the Wii. For people looking for a new game- for those who are standard Harvest Moon fans- for those who are as big a fan of the RF series as I am- no matter what, this game is for you. While the continuity of Rune Factory 4 to its predecessors is remarkable, you don't need to have played any of the other games to enjoy this one. I have never been so thoroughly entertained by a game as I have with RF4, from the graphics, the character interactions and/or relationships, and the extended plot (more than just '4 dungeons then a final boss') reminiscent of the original Rune Factory game. This game deserves 10/10 every time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rune Factory 4
Absolutely beautiful
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/13
MrHollywood
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you played Rune Factory 3 and loved it, you will be absolutely thrilled when playing the latest release in this fantastic series. The game essentially is a perfect copy of rune factory 3 core mechanics with a brand new hyper polished story line and game play system.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Rune Factory 4
2nd best entry in the Rune Factory series
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/13
AlbinoGerbil
Location: Olympia, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been looking forward to this game since it was first announced for Japan well over a year ago. As a hardcore fan of the series I was more than excited to hear when they announced it for the U.S.. I've played the previous games, the 3rd one twice. As the series was getting better with each iteration and the 3rd one being one of my top 5 DS games, you can imagine my expectations were pretty high. In most regards I was not disappointed but I do have a couple of issues with the game, one of which is making it hard for me to continue. I will speak on that one first. I have well over 20 hours into this game and I've yet to develop any connection with any of the characters. The story feels hollow and forced and there hasn't been any type of bonding or growing events yet. In the 3rd game I not only felt a connection to many of the players at 20 hours in I also felt a real connection to the village and to my home (the Sharance Tree). Much of the game feels mechanical and empty and the missions feel more like fetch quests. It almost feels life in passing a Harvest Moon game with a small dungeon aspect. It's not a bad game but I've put it down for Pokemon and Valhalla Knights 3 and I'm not sure when I'll pick it back up.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rune Factory 4
In doubt? Just get it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/13
moonbites
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am a newbie at the whole rune factory series but I got this game even though I was a little doubtful at first and have had a hard time putting it down. It is filled with all the things you could ask for, romance, fighting, farming, friendship, and great graphics. I am so enamoured with the game I would definitly buy games to come. Don't let doubt stop you, it is totally worth the buy, you will be hooked with plenty of hours of game play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Rune Factory 4
new romance options
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/13
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Rune Factory 4 adds new romance options, the ability to select a male or female character at the game’s start, and has endless crafting, farming and cooking opportunities. The player becomes Selphia’s prince or princess and can manage the village, explore the countryside with townsfolk, or tame monsters in the wild to aid them in battle or help out in the fields.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rune Factory 4
Best RPG You Will Ever Play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/13
BestRPGEverCreated
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Rune Factory is the best RPG you will ever play, it has tons of things to do that you will never be bored when you turn on your 3DS and play. This game has SOOO much dialogue that it feels like it will never run out. Game mechanics have been majorly improved from the last Rune Factory, you can arrange furniture where ever you like, for example, you can place your calender and or crafting table anywhere in the game. This game is worth the $40, it will be your favorite game.. if not one of your top favorite games. You will find yourself playing this game for hours on end, not putting your 3DS down because of that one last thing you want to accomplish. This game is recommended for both veteran and beginner players, you can choose the difficulty in the game which is great. Trust me, if you have a 3DS, BUY THIS GAME. You will NOT regret it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rune Factory 4
Best Game Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/13
Felrasa
Location: Sc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love the Rune Factory series and this one is just amazing! I have not been able to put it down. I keep on wanting more. One of the great factors is that you can finally be a girl and pursue a guy. :) I can not complain about anything about the game. You just have to play it~
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Rune Factory 4
Rune Factory 4~
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/3/13
NinjaNikkia
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm a bit biased as I've been a fan of this series since it came out and have played all the games. I must say however compared to Rune Factory 3 I definitely think they have outdone themselves in this game. The graphics have improved but are not great, for instance when you zoom in on your character he/ she does appear pixelated but that does not show unless your looking in your bag and equiping/ dequiping armor etc. The art in the game is as always beautiful as well. Now as far as gameplay goes I love it, granted I haven't gotten very far into the game yet. In the game itself is a way to adjust the difficulty setting so that those who have no luck battling monsters can easily overcome them and those who find they're picking off the monsters to easily can have more of a challenge.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Rune Factory 4
worth almost every penny
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/13
noobshi
Location: san jose
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Half way through the game and I got to said it as expected. It have the same concept as all the other rune factory, with a few changes here and there. Add on to the 3d effect things like falling flowers in spring make the environment much more fun to look at. Gameplay Is pretty much the same. Farming is almost the same.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Rune Factory 4
Great Game Play.... Hard to Put Down.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/13
Maere
Location: Riverside, CA
Rune Factory continues to be a great series with this addition. I am really loving the new options of being a "prince" or "princess" to this series that allows you to create holidays and such, I have been using my princess powers quite often. That new element is very fun. I highly suggest this to anyone who loves Harvest Moon or any previous Rune Factory!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Rune Factory 4
I can't wait to play this game.
Posted on:9/27/13
barbwy
Location: cheyenny, wy
Rune factory has become my favorite game. It has everything! I can't wait for tuesday so I can play this game for days.
Review 18 for Rune Factory 4
one of a few reasons
Posted on:9/17/13
Robin0
this and pokemon x & y are the main reasons i bought my 3ds well them and animal crossing New leaf and the likely more pokemon games to come
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 19 for Rune Factory 4
Rune Factory 5 Confirmed
Posted on:9/16/13
vortexshinobi
Location: florida,FL
This game did so great that they are already working on rune factory 5!
GO Marvelous entertainment!!
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rune Factory 4
REALLY????
Posted on:8/6/13
EvE90
Location: Garden Grove, CA
I cannot believe the date got pushed back AGAIN this is getting ridiculous! It's pushed back by almost 2 months now! Are we ever going to get this game??? What on earth are they doing over there???? I've been waiting a few YEARS for the next RF game and this is what happens..?? Its like manga books all over again!
12 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Margie
MI
 
Please wait while more information about Margie is loaded.
Additional information about Margie could not be loaded.
The reason.
Posted 8/8/13
The date is being pushed back because that is a placeholder date. There has been no official release date yet. All we know is summer 2013 , although, honestly it will probably be fall before we get it. They just want to make sure everything is as good as it can be before bringing it over.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>