GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

OUYA Game Console

OUYA: A new kind of game console. OUYA has been built to do one thing: Bring the living room back to life. Ushering in completely new ways to DISCOVER, PLAY, and MAKE games, OUYA offers every game free to try, plugging all that gratís-­goodness directly into your big-­screen TV in beautiful 1080p for old-­school gaming right where it belongs. Once you're in, every game on OUYA is free to try, free to love, and absolutely free to brag about.
Average Customer Rating:
8.625
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
3
8 stars
5
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 out of 2488%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OUYA Game Console
Review 1 for OUYA Game Console
Cheap gaming fun that everybody will enjoy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/14
mrkid460
Location: Big Timber, MT
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The ouya is a cheap and fun console that I find is great to bring to motels when you are on a road trip. I hooked the ouya up to the hotel's LED TV and it instantly took my boredom away. The ouya comes with now over 600 games to choose from and download which is more than enough to keep you constantly entertained. All of the games on the ouya are free to try so you don't have to spend money on a game that you end up hating. One of the traits I like about the ouya is that it is about the size of a rubix cube which means even if around your TV most of your space is taken up, the ouya will most likely fit there. The ouya can also download game emulators from the GBA , PSP, DS, GameCube, and a lot more. The ouya is also one of the more successful android console, when it was being funded by kick starter it had a pledge of $950,000 and made $8,596,474. That is a 905% increase of funds. Which means more funds, better system. Now what people need to know that the ouya will not compete with the xbox one or the PS4 (or Xbox 360 and PS3) and should not be comparing the ouya to them. The ouya doesn't even have the memory or Ram to be compared to the Xbox or PlayStation. The ouya is made to be a small console that is cheap fun and is great for fun old school games or arcade gaming. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that is into gaming.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for OUYA Game Console
The winner of this indie generation!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/13
qwertydanielqwerty
Location: Indiana
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I like the Ouya MORE than i expected. Yes, it has its bugs and kinks, but it has some fantastic indie games that you and your friends will play for HOURS. I highly recommend this console to anyone who plays casual or hardcore games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for OUYA Game Console
oldshool,android apps and video
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/13
RUGER357
Location: Morrisville P.A.
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Ouya can play NES,SNES,SEGA MASTER SYSTEM,GENESIS,NINTENDO 64,ATARI, COLECO VISION,WONDER SWAN AND MAME(WHICH IS ALL THE ARCADE GAMES) WITHOUT A PROBLEM.I HAVE DOWNLOADED OVER 200 FREE ROMS TO USE ON THE SYSTEM SINCE DAY 2 OF HAVING THE OUYA. THEY ALL WORKED FINE, WITH EXCEPTION OF ALTERED BEAST ARCADE WHICH WAS BUGGY. YOU HAVE TONS OF ANDROID BASED GAMES. STREAM MUSIC, AND THE CONTROLLER HAS A TOUCH SENSOR. MOST PEOPLE DO NOT KNOW THAT THE BLACK BOX IN THE CENTER OF THE THUMB STICKS IS ACTUALLY A SENSOR, SO YOU CAN TAP OR SLIDE LIKE WITH A ANDROID PHONE. IT IS A SIMPLE SYSTEM TO USE AND INVITES FOR HACKNG AND MAKES IT EASY FOR YOU TO MAKE GAMES OF YOUR OWN FOR IT. WE MAKE OUYA. THE GAMES ARE GETTING MORE AND MORE IMPRESSIVE AND YOU CAN PLAY ALL THE CLASSICS SMOOTHER IF YOU GO TO SETTINGS AND CHANGE THE D PAD EMULATION TO THE LEFT STICK. ALL IN ALL YOU WOULD SPEND MORE ON BUYING 10 CLASSIC GAMES OR INDIE GAMES FROM XBOX LIVE OR PSN. I DOWNLOADED OVER 200 IN 1 DAY. THINK ABOUT IT AND THEN HAVE FUN WITH IT.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for OUYA Game Console
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/13
Razorepicspaz
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
WELL WORTH THE $99, WORKS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for OUYA Game Console
A surprisingly good game system for under $100
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/13
TwistyMac
Location: Orange County, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I've read a few mixed reviews about this new game system and I have to say -- I'm completely surprised and in a GOOD way! Tons of games can be downloaded for free (over 410 to choose from as of today) and the games range from classic old-school titles like Sonic to newer games like Walking Dead, Killing Floor and You Don't Know Jack, to all-new indie games like Towerfall and Bombsquad. I have to give it up to these guys -- great game system at a very reasonable price if you don't have the $500+ to shell over for a Xbox or PS. Love the OUYA!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for OUYA Game Console
Cost to much
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/13
bluespell
Location: NY state
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Slow over priced android console. don't wast your money on a system that jumped in the console video game world like 6 years to late. The ouya's controller touch pad is bad. the buttons stick and joysticks stick. over all your better off getting a vita or saving your money. hope this helped.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for OUYA Game Console
Fun In A Cube
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/13
RyanFive
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love this cube. It's not a traditional console, true, but the quality of the games and system is better than you may think. Some of the games are really fun. All games are worth checking out. Unlike the traditional consoles, you can demo every game before buying. In fact, they require you demo all games before buying, cool huh.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for OUYA Game Console
Oh, you wanted an XBox or Playstation?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/13
VGROnline
Location: Akron, OH
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Then you shouldn't go cheap and howl about quality and such for a machine that performs beyond expectations for what it is. It's a Tegra 3 smartphone without the screen - in a cube - that plugs into your TV or HDMI-socketed monitor. And as that, it's fantastic. I've had it for a few days and already torn into it more than I expected to be able to. Is it perfect? No. It launched on the skimpy side and has built up from there, for a new company it has to grow like the others have, but it's got a great head start. I've loaded and sideloaded bigger titles on it, even what you can get from their Store and test for free and buy far cheaper than the Big 3's titles cost has some impressives like Shadowrun. I don't feel ripped off, I anticipate what more will be done with it! Good for kids 8+, great for teens to play and mess with, solid for adults even if you don't have big skills to take it all the way.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for OUYA Game Console
love ouya
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/13
a3961lk
Location: ca
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
if you like to develop games with and/or ouya its awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for OUYA Game Console
Great Value!.... Great Console!... Honest Review!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/13
JR713
Location: H-Town, TX
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Ouya definitely won't replace any major PC or Gaming Console, but it is a great way to kill time and play Retro games on the big screen. I'm playing Zelda: Ocarina of Time as I'm typing in this review. Early reviews were mixed, but most problems have been fixed with recent firmware updates. There are also adding things like changing the color of the wallpapers, friends list, achievements, and other great things very soon. The controller resembles the one of a Xbox 360 and handles just as nicely. The mouse pad on the controller is nice, but isn't really useful as of now. The problems with the buttons sticking have now been fixed and there is no more lag from game-play. For those of you who are not fans of the 360 style controllers, you could easily use PS3 controllers via Bluetooth. Ouya does require a credit or debit card in order to be used, but you could use a pre-paid card if you don't feel comfortable giving out your info. Paypal will be also added as a form of payment option soon, which I'm looking forward too. A lot of games are free and all are free to try, but not all games are great. There are some that are really worth playing like Chronoblade and Shadowgun among others, but they need more exclusives for us to enjoy. Also, being able to develop your own games and upload them is pretty sweet. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase and would highly recommend it to anyone with an extra $100 to spend.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for OUYA Game Console
love to develope
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/13
a3961lk
Location: ca
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
soon I am going to be a developer for ouya and get paid hello early retirement!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for OUYA Game Console
Really good for emulators
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/13
Mecronecro64
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Very good for emulators. Side-loading apps somewhat works. My only complaints are that you have to enter a credit card and there are not many media apps. Most of the games are free but the most expensive they'll get is around $5. Definitely worth $99 and wired x360 controller work along w/USB hubs and flash drives.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for OUYA Game Console
good cheap portable
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/13
distroyer
Location: la junta, co
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i think the ouya was a very good idea for people who dont have enough money for a ps3 or xbox. it is very compact and the games are free! i also like to practice writing games on it to and you can wright your own mods to
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for OUYA Game Console
Cheap And Fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/13
Chillygoblin
Location: Az
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a very solid console.. i love plaing this. Its Diffrenet and awesome i will tell all to buy this
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for OUYA Game Console
Great console for the price!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/13
LordConrad
Location: Jupiter, FL
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I just got my Ouya pre-order (which was supposed to arrive pre-release) on the 28th, four days after the release date. I'm actually glad they sent it to me later, because all of the glitches and hiccups from earlier pre-release versions have been fixed. There are already some good games for it. Some have good graphics, some have good gameplay, and a few of them have both. ALL GAMES ARE FREE TO TRY, so you don't have to buy a game only to discover you don't like it. A very impressive system for the price.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for OUYA Game Console
Love it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/13
MarineTuck
Location: Oceanside Ca
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Got the last one on base at camp pendleton and i love it. so much fun great for parties and play older games. i really got it to play old roms and works perfect and a lot of the games it came with are a lot of fun. Added batteries because you will be playing it a lot :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for OUYA Game Console
decent console
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/13
Kent12525
Location: New York
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I wasn't a kickstarter but when I heard about the console being release in retail, I was quite excited. I use this mainly for gba and gbc games I'm addicted to those games) and it works great aside from minor sound issue.I did sideload some other apps like youtube, facebook, netflix etc, it works good but not the best experience on the planet. Bottom line, still the best thing on earth if you want decent video games on tv.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for OUYA Game Console
not bad for the price
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/13
markspartan
Location: IN
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its an all right machine it isnt slow its small and very portable it does need internet all the time though all together its good for the price
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 19 for OUYA Game Console
Great Value!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/13
catch2030
Location: Accident, MD
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I use this mostly for emulating my old retro consoles that just dont look the best on my HDTV! My nintendo 64 games have never looked better on my HDTV than they do with this! Cant wait for more homebrew games and for added support for other accessories and games later
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for OUYA Game Console
Great console
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/13
123listentome
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Great console, all the complaints have been fixed, or people that are comparing it to the Xbox 360 or ps3. Come on people this on lynx cost one-hundred bucks, therefore it's hardware should be only have of the Xbox, ps3. Actually the hardware is about 75 % of Xbox and 70% of ps3. So stop hating on this console.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>