GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Destiny

Everything changed with the arrival of the Traveler. It sparked a Golden Age when our civilization spanned our solar system, but it didn't last. Something hit us, knocked us down. The survivors built a city beneath the Traveler, and have begun to explore our old worlds, only to find them filled with deadly foes. You are a Guardian of the last safe city on Earth, able to wield incredible power. Defend the City. Defeat our enemies. Reclaim all that we have lost. Be brave.
Average Customer Rating:
6.461
6.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (249 reviews)
10 stars
23
9 stars
15
8 stars
8
7 stars
4
6 stars
4
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
9
52 out of 8958%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Destiny
Review 1 for Destiny
The Most Eye Opening Game I Have Ever Played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/14
mcfan8123
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Amazing; Bungie, Great job. I was never a person who played video games all day everyday, same with this, but i have worked hard enough to get a exotic hand cannon. Great game.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Destiny
Bungie and Activision Together
Posted on:2/17/13
BlazeTekeshi
Location: PR
Now that Bungie joined up with Activision, I always wondered how their games would come out, then I noticed that they released info for their project, Destiny. I watched the ViDoc and had to say that it has a similar taste to Halo and looks very promising. I'm looking forward to how Destiny will look like when it reaches its release date. The detail looks amazing, and the storyline will give players a chance to experience it first-hand when they get their hands on it. So pre-order now if you're interested.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
19 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nero1915
 
Please wait while more information about Nero1915 is loaded.
Additional information about Nero1915 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/28/13
I'm really looking forward to this game and I'm definitely going to be participating in the beta. When 343 took over Halo my interest in it kinda died with Halo 4 so I'm very hopeful for a new blockbuster from Bungie that will continue to entertain the masses for another 10 years!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Destiny
Think this game looks fantastic? You'd be right.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/14
MizukiYumeko
Location: Indianapolis, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is fantastic! Despite many people saying they have issues with it (and yes, there are a few, but they are being fixed by patches - such as the one that just came out where Legendary Engrams always give Legendary loot) I have had nothing but good experiences with this game.
Good for anyone who looks at it and thinks "Wow, that looks like a lot of fun".
It is.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Destiny
SO MUCH FUN!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
Brendo
Location: Louisiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game so much. If you have played the beta, you will be disappointed that your progress is not saves. :( But, it's a fun game I recommen it for hardcore halo fans. You will have to much fun!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Destiny
the game bites
Posted on:7/25/14
BladeTheWicked
Location: Lenoir,NC
To much co-op and multiplayer ruin a game. Solo is better yeah no idiots. I didn't wont no game like this WOW,COD. $60.00 for this game is to much this gam should be in the 10 dollar ben.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Destiny
Bungie won't disappoint with Destiny
Posted on:2/17/13
IAmMelonLord
Location: Bisbee, AZ
I have been an avid fan of Bungie's work since Halo: CE, and have played every game in the series (Including Halo Wars, even though it wasn't done by Bungie). I also tried some other games developed by them, like the Marathon Trilogy, Myth and Oni and loved them as well (even if Oni was a bit choppy, I thought it was fun). So as a big fan of Bungie's work, I can say that I'm extremely excited for Bungie's newest game, Destiny. At this point in time, there's not a lot of preview material out for it, but I don't need a ton of preview trailers and teasers to know that Destiny is going to be amazing. With just Halo as an example, Bungie brought millions of gamers countless hours of fun and entertainment with each entry into this series. I can't think of another series that was that much fun to play, and that made me so anxious for the next game like the Halo series has. And for many fans, this is true. So all I can say is, I can't wait for another awesome ride with Bungie. The attached video, "Destiny Vidoc: Pathways out of Darkness" makes Destiny look incredible. I don't know about you, but I'm looking forward to Destiny. Bungie has yet to disappoint.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 7 for Destiny
Too much hype
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/14
indozom
Location: WR, Georgia
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game was yes, very much over hyped. It is literally only worth one single play through because the story remains the same no matter what class or race your character is. The fun disappears after the first month or two of play because its all about repetition and grinding, which is no fun. The PvP is superbly unbalanced as well. The highly over powered Golden Gun cannot be beaten by anything other than maybe a rocket launcher. Once max level is reached through either PvP or missions, the game then becomes a grind and a guessing game to whether or not the Engrams you rarely find have 'Light' to continue the leveling 10 more levels, 2 of which can't be gained without raid gear. And the bounties you get daily are much too easy for the main world and the super grind begins to get the best 'Light" offering gear. That's not how it should really be. And defend it by saying its not supposed to be easy to get the best stuff, but it shouldn't be a grinding process either.I love Bungie, but this, this was a failure.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Destiny
My most anticipated of 2014
Posted on:1/12/14
WillTheAssassin
Location: Inwood, WV
I normally prefer swords over guns but this looks like its going to be an epic game. I can't wait for this game. It honestly is now my most anticipated video game of 2014.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Law of the Jungle Trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Destiny
Bungie's finally got a new game!
Posted on:2/17/13
NerdsUnite
Location: Portland, OR
Bungie has been well known as the creators of Halo, but after Reach the company went dormant--or so it seemed! The concept behind this game seems like an intriguing idea, albeit somewhat reminiscent of the Halo universe. From the trailer that's been released, it looks like the environments and character models are very well designed. I can't wait for this next universe that Bungie's bringing to life!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Destiny ViDoc--Pathways Out of Darkness
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 10 for Destiny
"My body is ready"
Posted on:2/17/13
DeathByReach
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Ever since Bungie had announced its new game, im been watching it like a hawk. Now that they unveiled a good chunk of it, i can absouletly say that im ready for this game to happen. Im not sure if i can hold until release!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Destiny
Always on the grind.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/14
TalonKarrde
Location: Liverpool, UK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Destiny has potential, don't get me wrong. However, it is blatantly lacking competent storytelling, & immersive combat right from the beginning. The only time the story begins to get interesting is in the last few missions. But they soon end as a clear set-up for DLC later on. After the poor story, the only thing there is to do is constantly grind on doing bounties in Patrols to earn Exp & Reputation.
The mulitplayer can be fun, but that fun quickly turns sour, when a person you've been shooting for the last 2 minutes suddenly kills you & then he drops dead seconds later. That's the laggy Crucible for you.
Really the only thing the game has going for it is the array of weapons & armour you can upgrade. The level design is beautiful, & you can't help but look at the landscape for hours (because that's the most fun you'll have after a while).
All things considered, Destiny has the potential the be a great game, but in it's current form, you'll enjoy it for a month & be bored with all the monotony.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 12 for Destiny
Succeeds and fails in many ways.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/14
thefrewb
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Destiny is the first and only major game developed by Bungie partnered with Activision. Now like the summary says this game hits some major highs but some majors lows too. Campaign: The game's campaign is by far the worst part about this game. Story is non-existent and each mission plays almost exactly the same each time. I was thouroghly dissapointed with this game's story mostly because it was being developed by Bungie the masterminds behind HALO CE,2,3,Reach,Wars,and 3 ODST the FPS franchise that redefined FPS in terms of story and arena based multiplayer. 5/10. Gameplay: Now just because I said this game's story sucked do not for a second think this game is no fun. Mechanicaly this game works like a charm while repetative story missions are extremely fun. And this definately made to be played with a friend. While there is matchmaking for most things I found myself hoping two or three of my friends with Destiny were online and ready to play. The Crucible however is just another one of this game's problems. While they say it's all far nomatter what rank you are it really does matter. I found myself repeatedly being killed by someguy with a gun I couldn't unlock yet because I was 3 ranks away. Oh and speaking of unlocks how you actually unlock something is a major problem. Once again I repeatedly find myself having a good match and finishing first place when I don't get anything but 1 or 2 of the worst players get two items(that's the most you can earn in a match. These are simple problems that can easily be fixed. 8.7/10. Graphics and Sound: Finally something about this game where there are no complaints. This game is absolutely gorgous on any console or platflorm you play on with next gen looking just a bit better than last. And sound is great too. Firing a weapon feels awesome and all the other sounds to be heard are fluid and wonderfull. 9.5/10. Overall a 6.5/10.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Destiny
I Have High Hopes....
Posted on:2/19/13
Nocturniquette
Location: Missouri
I heard that you can "cross realm" onto another person's world, help them out, then leave or continue exploring their world for a while. Basically this game combines elements of WoW, Halo, and Mass Effect into one game. WoW because of the whole cross realm aspect; being able to "jump" into another player's mini universe to help them out or explore for a little while. Halo, because this game is an FPS and what better one to compare it to then Bungie's own little nest egg? And Mass Effect, because you're playing in a rich sci-fi environment complete with flying ships, amazing characters, and a beautiful story that will make you keep playing for years to come. Will this game meet my expectations? I sure hope so. I'm not gonna pre-order yet, as I want to see more information on it before I do, but in the end, I know I'm gonna be getting this game. Not because Bungie made it...but because this game looks amazing and that Bungie is combining several key elements and atmospheres from several other genres of gaming that I think would fit together like a masterpiece.
128 of 149 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TacoMan17
Warren, MI
 
Please wait while more information about TacoMan17 is loaded.
Additional information about TacoMan17 could not be loaded.
"croos realms"
Posted 5/30/13
A game called dark souls exactly what you mention about the crossing realms theme. If that is going to be in this game, I'm already hooked.
Customer Avatar
Howard5657
 
Please wait while more information about Howard5657 is loaded.
Additional information about Howard5657 could not be loaded.
Forgotten Comparison
Posted 4/21/13
I'm not entirely sure how much you've heard of this game but they also compared it to borderlands due to weapons. Don't quote me on this as the fact that they haven't released any weapon info yet but there's been a roomer that there are already have over one thousand confirmed weapons yet to be released to the public. They claim "1,000" mostly because they have multiple weapons with multiple attachments that can be meshed into one gun to create thousands or millions of possibilities. Just a fun theory that I figured I'd run across you.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for Destiny
Cool game but not Wi-Fi friendly
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/14
Blackthunder125
Location: Albany, New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A very cool and ambitious game from Activision/Bungie but has a couple of issues you should be aware of. First, its one of those always on-line games and if you don't have a fast internet connection you're probably going to get the "centipede" error. This happens when the game looses connection with the server. I've had times when I was almost finished with a mission and had the centipede error pop up at which time I was thrown back to the very beginning of the game. (start game screen) You then have to restart that mission. Very annoying. Please note that this will most likely happen to you with a DSL internet connection. Secondly, I prefer to turn off any in-game music and as far as I can see, this is not possible. The game play itself is fun and there's a ton of goals and content to keep you busy for months but I'm not a fan of the "always on-line" games and unfortunately, that seems to be the future of games.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Destiny
A great game overall!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/14
Yoyomasterninja
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is amazing. The graphics are stunning in most aspects, the gameplay is just amazing, and the sound is very high quality. It's a great game, however the story is really short and can often be completed within around 7-8 hours for a hardcore gamer. However there still is the option of making a new guardian.
One thing that makes Destiny really stand out from the rest of the games i have played in the past is a really skill-based Gameplay. Even though another player may have a more powerful gun, it ultimately comes down to having a powerful gun, but all sorts of other stats like accuracy, recoil, reload speed, and all sorts of other stats. The gameplay is also very similar to COD and Halo in terms of the controls and dynamics.
Another one of the things that is amazing about this game (at least on xbox, not sure about PS) is that this game basically says "Screw xbox live". Yes, you can't do competitive multiplayer or form fireteams without it, but you can still meet other players in the online world with both the tower and the battlefield.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Destiny
Fantasticular!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/14
ChildishGaming
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game pleases me and my brother so much! It has multiplayer all throughout the story, and a PvP area as well. There is no team killing on story mode, so people(jerks) can't "troll" you. When you die, you don't drop you items, which prevents problems like "_____ disappeared!" or "_______ took _____ from me!". Item drops can only be seen by you and picked up by you, so no one can steal your hard earned equipment. Using your" super" generates "orbs of light" which can be used by the players in your game, to use their super. This helps give players the push they need to get better at team work. Raid and strike missions are normally harder than regular missions, giving you a challenge, which is rewarded with good, and sometimes great, gear. The overall game play of the game is like Borderlands and Halo had a baby and it is BEAUTIFUL!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Destiny
HUGE Server problem with Bungie.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/14
tnderfoot
Location: Virginia
This is a great game but many (and by this i mean thousands upon thousands) of us have not been able to connect to the Bungie servers to play the game. This has been going on for weeks now and for a game that was just released that means many of us only got a few days of play in before being shut out. Be warned, after plunking down 60 or 80 dollars you very likely will not be able to play this game. Go take a look at the help section at Bungie before you buy. You will see what I am talking about. The error codes all have the name of animals such as bee/caterpiller/baboon etc. You will note that there is very little the folks at Bungie have done to communicate with the gamers about this problem. I think that posting an apology would probably hurt their sales so they have been mum on the issue. Lots of complaints and lots of unhappy gamers. It is your money...spend it wisely.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Destiny
Extremely fun!
Posted on:8/5/14
RoboNite
Location: BikiniBottom, BB
I played beta to this game and it was awesome. I personally like it better than Halo or COD. The character customization is detailed and fun to mess around with, the weapon system has a variety of different kinds of weapons from the charging fusion rifle and the plain burst fusion rifle. This is obviously already my favorite game. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
28 of 35 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Human1232
 
Please wait while more information about Human1232 is loaded.
Additional information about Human1232 could not be loaded.
AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 8/19/14
I played the beta and it was amazing!The graphics were outstanding on my 360 and there was no frame drop at all in multiplayer.I hope the full game is the same!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Destiny
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/14
cal88005
Location: Beaufort, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Traditionally, I have not been a big fan of FPS games, but not too long ago I decided to give halo 3 a shot when Xbox was giving it away for free. I liked it and also got 4, Reach, and ODST. I also picked up Titanfall, and my interest in FPS games has grown. I pre-ordered Destiny, which I don't normally do (the last game I pre ordered was Dragon Age Origins: point made...). The game is great. Being made by Bungie automatically makes it Halo player friendly, and you definitely get a little bit of the Halo feel in the game (not too much to make it a clone though). With Activision on board, many of the more modern FPS game features shine through. Now not only do you get a great story and great FPS gameplay, there is also an MMORPG aspect to the game. Many other people may be running around the same areas you are. You can choose to team up or do your own thing, or even hang out in the safe city tower and meet new friends to team up with. So that's what's great about the game. However, I did take a couple points off of the "gameplay" aspect on the review. This is only because the PvP part of the game, I think, needs some serious work. The matchmaking seems to be very unbalanced. I entered the PvP matchmaking at level 7. I didn't expect to do all that well anyway, because I am not all that great at FPS PvP. However, my team consisted of myself at level 7 Three other people at level 7 and a level 10. The other team had a level 21 a level 20 and a few teens... They were one shot killing all of us and beat us by double the points... this continued through a few rounds and I decided to give up on the PvP for the time being. Other than the problem I have with the PvP feature, the game is awesome, and well made. I have a feeling I will be putting a lot of time into this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
20 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Destiny
Mind-blowing. Hard to believe it's current gen.
Posted on:2/18/13
Clarkey
Location: Florida
From what I've put together and surmised myself, this game (From the creators of the Halo and Marathon series) appears to be:
Part Borderlands
Part Halo
A DASH of MMO (no subscription fees, however)
Perhaps a PINCH of Privateer (if you haven't played it: you should)
There are probably more comparisons, but you'd be VERY well served to check out the Destiny reveal videos and vi-docs that Bungie has put out there.... It appears to be something LIKE Halo but with an open-world, space-travel to other planets in the Solar System, a constantly evolving universe (like changing world-events, time-specific missions and events, kinda like Demon Souls and MMOs like World of Warcraft), loot and money gathering a-la Borderlands. It's a LOT to get excited about..... but if this all sounds neat I'd really check out the vids Bungie has put out. This wasn't even on my radar until today and now it's perhaps 1 or 1a on my Wish List.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
14 of 19 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>