GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Destiny

Everything changed with the arrival of the Traveler. It sparked a Golden Age when our civilization spanned our solar system, but it didn't last. Something hit us, knocked us down. The survivors built a city beneath the Traveler, and have begun to explore our old worlds, only to find them filled with deadly foes. You are a Guardian of the last safe city on Earth, able to wield incredible power. Defend the City. Defeat our enemies. Reclaim all that we have lost. Be brave.
Average Customer Rating:
6.576
6.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (266 reviews)
10 stars
29
9 stars
18
8 stars
10
7 stars
4
6 stars
5
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
10
64 out of 10660%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Destiny
Review 1 for Destiny
Bungie and Activision Together
Posted on:2/17/13
BlazeTekeshi
Location: PR
Now that Bungie joined up with Activision, I always wondered how their games would come out, then I noticed that they released info for their project, Destiny. I watched the ViDoc and had to say that it has a similar taste to Halo and looks very promising. I'm looking forward to how Destiny will look like when it reaches its release date. The detail looks amazing, and the storyline will give players a chance to experience it first-hand when they get their hands on it. So pre-order now if you're interested.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
22 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nero1915
 
Please wait while more information about Nero1915 is loaded.
Additional information about Nero1915 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/28/13
I'm really looking forward to this game and I'm definitely going to be participating in the beta. When 343 took over Halo my interest in it kinda died with Halo 4 so I'm very hopeful for a new blockbuster from Bungie that will continue to entertain the masses for another 10 years!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Destiny
The Most Eye Opening Game I Have Ever Played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/14
mcfan8123
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Amazing; Bungie, Great job. I was never a person who played video games all day everyday, same with this, but i have worked hard enough to get a exotic hand cannon. Great game.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Destiny
SO MUCH FUN!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
Brendo
Location: Louisiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game so much. If you have played the beta, you will be disappointed that your progress is not saves. :( But, it's a fun game I recommen it for hardcore halo fans. You will have to much fun!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Destiny
Think this game looks fantastic? You'd be right.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/14
MizukiYumeko
Location: Indianapolis, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is fantastic! Despite many people saying they have issues with it (and yes, there are a few, but they are being fixed by patches - such as the one that just came out where Legendary Engrams always give Legendary loot) I have had nothing but good experiences with this game.
Good for anyone who looks at it and thinks "Wow, that looks like a lot of fun".
It is.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Destiny
Bungie won't disappoint with Destiny
Posted on:2/17/13
IAmMelonLord
Location: Bisbee, AZ
I have been an avid fan of Bungie's work since Halo: CE, and have played every game in the series (Including Halo Wars, even though it wasn't done by Bungie). I also tried some other games developed by them, like the Marathon Trilogy, Myth and Oni and loved them as well (even if Oni was a bit choppy, I thought it was fun). So as a big fan of Bungie's work, I can say that I'm extremely excited for Bungie's newest game, Destiny. At this point in time, there's not a lot of preview material out for it, but I don't need a ton of preview trailers and teasers to know that Destiny is going to be amazing. With just Halo as an example, Bungie brought millions of gamers countless hours of fun and entertainment with each entry into this series. I can't think of another series that was that much fun to play, and that made me so anxious for the next game like the Halo series has. And for many fans, this is true. So all I can say is, I can't wait for another awesome ride with Bungie. The attached video, "Destiny Vidoc: Pathways out of Darkness" makes Destiny look incredible. I don't know about you, but I'm looking forward to Destiny. Bungie has yet to disappoint.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 6 for Destiny
the game bites
Posted on:7/25/14
BladeTheWicked
Location: Lenoir,NC
To much co-op and multiplayer ruin a game. Solo is better yeah no idiots. I didn't wont no game like this WOW,COD. $60.00 for this game is to much this gam should be in the 10 dollar ben.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Destiny
My most anticipated of 2014
Posted on:1/12/14
WillTheAssassin
Location: Inwood, WV
I normally prefer swords over guns but this looks like its going to be an epic game. I can't wait for this game. It honestly is now my most anticipated video game of 2014.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Law of the Jungle Trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Destiny
Bungie's finally got a new game!
Posted on:2/17/13
NerdsUnite
Location: Portland, OR
Bungie has been well known as the creators of Halo, but after Reach the company went dormant--or so it seemed! The concept behind this game seems like an intriguing idea, albeit somewhat reminiscent of the Halo universe. From the trailer that's been released, it looks like the environments and character models are very well designed. I can't wait for this next universe that Bungie's bringing to life!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Destiny ViDoc--Pathways Out of Darkness
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 9 for Destiny
"My body is ready"
Posted on:2/17/13
DeathByReach
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Ever since Bungie had announced its new game, im been watching it like a hawk. Now that they unveiled a good chunk of it, i can absouletly say that im ready for this game to happen. Im not sure if i can hold until release!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Destiny
Too much hype
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/14
indozom
Location: WR, Georgia
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game was yes, very much over hyped. It is literally only worth one single play through because the story remains the same no matter what class or race your character is. The fun disappears after the first month or two of play because its all about repetition and grinding, which is no fun. The PvP is superbly unbalanced as well. The highly over powered Golden Gun cannot be beaten by anything other than maybe a rocket launcher. Once max level is reached through either PvP or missions, the game then becomes a grind and a guessing game to whether or not the Engrams you rarely find have 'Light' to continue the leveling 10 more levels, 2 of which can't be gained without raid gear. And the bounties you get daily are much too easy for the main world and the super grind begins to get the best 'Light" offering gear. That's not how it should really be. And defend it by saying its not supposed to be easy to get the best stuff, but it shouldn't be a grinding process either.I love Bungie, but this, this was a failure.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ItsPixel
Look Here Stalker's
 
Please wait while more information about ItsPixel is loaded.
Additional information about ItsPixel could not be loaded.
Beta
Posted 12/25/14
Well it had a lot of hype because a beta had been place
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Destiny
I Have High Hopes....
Posted on:2/19/13
Nocturniquette
Location: Missouri
I heard that you can "cross realm" onto another person's world, help them out, then leave or continue exploring their world for a while. Basically this game combines elements of WoW, Halo, and Mass Effect into one game. WoW because of the whole cross realm aspect; being able to "jump" into another player's mini universe to help them out or explore for a little while. Halo, because this game is an FPS and what better one to compare it to then Bungie's own little nest egg? And Mass Effect, because you're playing in a rich sci-fi environment complete with flying ships, amazing characters, and a beautiful story that will make you keep playing for years to come. Will this game meet my expectations? I sure hope so. I'm not gonna pre-order yet, as I want to see more information on it before I do, but in the end, I know I'm gonna be getting this game. Not because Bungie made it...but because this game looks amazing and that Bungie is combining several key elements and atmospheres from several other genres of gaming that I think would fit together like a masterpiece.
137 of 161 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TacoMan17
Warren, MI
 
Please wait while more information about TacoMan17 is loaded.
Additional information about TacoMan17 could not be loaded.
"croos realms"
Posted 5/30/13
A game called dark souls exactly what you mention about the crossing realms theme. If that is going to be in this game, I'm already hooked.
Customer Avatar
Howard5657
 
Please wait while more information about Howard5657 is loaded.
Additional information about Howard5657 could not be loaded.
Forgotten Comparison
Posted 4/21/13
I'm not entirely sure how much you've heard of this game but they also compared it to borderlands due to weapons. Don't quote me on this as the fact that they haven't released any weapon info yet but there's been a roomer that there are already have over one thousand confirmed weapons yet to be released to the public. They claim "1,000" mostly because they have multiple weapons with multiple attachments that can be meshed into one gun to create thousands or millions of possibilities. Just a fun theory that I figured I'd run across you.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 12 for Destiny
Always on the grind.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/14
TalonKarrde
Location: Liverpool, UK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Destiny has potential, don't get me wrong. However, it is blatantly lacking competent storytelling, & immersive combat right from the beginning. The only time the story begins to get interesting is in the last few missions. But they soon end as a clear set-up for DLC later on. After the poor story, the only thing there is to do is constantly grind on doing bounties in Patrols to earn Exp & Reputation.
The mulitplayer can be fun, but that fun quickly turns sour, when a person you've been shooting for the last 2 minutes suddenly kills you & then he drops dead seconds later. That's the laggy Crucible for you.
Really the only thing the game has going for it is the array of weapons & armour you can upgrade. The level design is beautiful, & you can't help but look at the landscape for hours (because that's the most fun you'll have after a while).
All things considered, Destiny has the potential the be a great game, but in it's current form, you'll enjoy it for a month & be bored with all the monotony.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 13 for Destiny
Frustrating
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/15
PapaLee
Location: Delco
First, I hate games that do not give you a "save game" option. Second, I really do not care for games where you need to constantly beat bosses to advance. And thirdly, I really, really hate games that need you to be connected to Xbox Live to play and then, for whatever reason, in the middle of gameplay with, as I said, no option to save, battling through a particularly tough spot to reach the next checkpoint you become disconnected from Xbox Live and have to start all over again from the previous checkpoint. How frustrating is that? VERY!!! This game was a gift. If it weren't, I'd be demanding my money back. It is nothing more than a lot of hype with old reworked gameplay from various other older games. Save your money. Save the frustration. Save the need to buy a HDD for your box if, like me, you have the 4GB Xbox. Finally, the fact that this is really an online multiplayer game isn't my cup of tea. I'd much rather have the option to play solo with at least a fighting chance of winning without having to depend on a team to accomplish my goals. That's just my personal preference.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 14 for Destiny
Succeeds and fails in many ways.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/14
thefrewb
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Destiny is the first and only major game developed by Bungie partnered with Activision. Now like the summary says this game hits some major highs but some majors lows too. Campaign: The game's campaign is by far the worst part about this game. Story is non-existent and each mission plays almost exactly the same each time. I was thouroghly dissapointed with this game's story mostly because it was being developed by Bungie the masterminds behind HALO CE,2,3,Reach,Wars,and 3 ODST the FPS franchise that redefined FPS in terms of story and arena based multiplayer. 5/10. Gameplay: Now just because I said this game's story sucked do not for a second think this game is no fun. Mechanicaly this game works like a charm while repetative story missions are extremely fun. And this definately made to be played with a friend. While there is matchmaking for most things I found myself hoping two or three of my friends with Destiny were online and ready to play. The Crucible however is just another one of this game's problems. While they say it's all far nomatter what rank you are it really does matter. I found myself repeatedly being killed by someguy with a gun I couldn't unlock yet because I was 3 ranks away. Oh and speaking of unlocks how you actually unlock something is a major problem. Once again I repeatedly find myself having a good match and finishing first place when I don't get anything but 1 or 2 of the worst players get two items(that's the most you can earn in a match. These are simple problems that can easily be fixed. 8.7/10. Graphics and Sound: Finally something about this game where there are no complaints. This game is absolutely gorgous on any console or platflorm you play on with next gen looking just a bit better than last. And sound is great too. Firing a weapon feels awesome and all the other sounds to be heard are fluid and wonderfull. 9.5/10. Overall a 6.5/10.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
16 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Destiny
A great game overall!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/14
Yoyomasterninja
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is amazing. The graphics are stunning in most aspects, the gameplay is just amazing, and the sound is very high quality. It's a great game, however the story is really short and can often be completed within around 7-8 hours for a hardcore gamer. However there still is the option of making a new guardian.
One thing that makes Destiny really stand out from the rest of the games i have played in the past is a really skill-based Gameplay. Even though another player may have a more powerful gun, it ultimately comes down to having a powerful gun, but all sorts of other stats like accuracy, recoil, reload speed, and all sorts of other stats. The gameplay is also very similar to COD and Halo in terms of the controls and dynamics.
Another one of the things that is amazing about this game (at least on xbox, not sure about PS) is that this game basically says "Screw xbox live". Yes, you can't do competitive multiplayer or form fireteams without it, but you can still meet other players in the online world with both the tower and the battlefield.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Destiny
BEING THE BEST GAME EVER IS THIS GAMES DESTINY!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/15
LurkingAnt0935
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game rocks!!! I could play it for hours!!! In fact, I did !!! You won't believe how red my eyes were!!! This game is awesome for kids who's parents don't let them play mature games, even though they LOVE shooting games! Because this rated at Teen not Mature, so you can out smart them when you go to gamestop!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Destiny
Amazing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/15
Timelord85
When I first got this game, I didn't know what to expect. As I have progressed in the game since December, I have grown to appreciate the game more and more. Although the campaign is disappointing, the overall gameplay is amazing. The crucible can be a bit unfair as most people that are a higher level can kill me in one shot even though I am a level 25. Overall though, graphics are amazing, gameplay is amazing, and the appeal for the game never really goes away.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Destiny
A fun and challenging game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/15
Neckros100
Location: Allen,TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is extraordinary, you can be a Titan, Hunter or Warlock. There are hundreds of weapons and gear, four different planets to explore and lots and lots of enemies.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Destiny
Either not Finished, Or Not Interesting
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/15
Forzajunkie
Location: Raleigh, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I got this I was very excited. Then after a few hours I got bored. I even tried playing with friends, but that didn't work. You can't join multiplayer matches until you get pass a certant number of annoying and almost repetative missions, and the multiplayer is nothing special. Don't get it twisted, though. It's just a bably executed good idea. The whole game was just over-hyped and underwelming. I do respect the game itself just not the gameplay. Let's just turn on our consoles, cross our fingers, and hope Bungie knocks the next one out of the galaxy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Destiny
Cool game but not Wi-Fi friendly
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/14
Blackthunder125
Location: Albany, New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A very cool and ambitious game from Activision/Bungie but has a couple of issues you should be aware of. First, its one of those always on-line games and if you don't have a fast internet connection you're probably going to get the "centipede" error. This happens when the game looses connection with the server. I've had times when I was almost finished with a mission and had the centipede error pop up at which time I was thrown back to the very beginning of the game. (start game screen) You then have to restart that mission. Very annoying. Please note that this will most likely happen to you with a DSL internet connection. Secondly, I prefer to turn off any in-game music and as far as I can see, this is not possible. The game play itself is fun and there's a ton of goals and content to keep you busy for months but I'm not a fan of the "always on-line" games and unfortunately, that seems to be the future of games.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>