GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Destiny

Everything changed with the arrival of the Traveler. It sparked a Golden Age when our civilization spanned our solar system, but it didn't last. Something hit us, knocked us down. The survivors built a city beneath the Traveler, and have begun to explore our old worlds, only to find them filled with deadly foes. You are a Guardian of the last safe city on Earth, able to wield incredible power. Defend the City. Defeat our enemies. Reclaim all that we have lost. Be brave.
Average Customer Rating:
6.737
6.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (198 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
8
8 stars
4
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
2
23 out of 3861%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Destiny
Review 1 for Destiny
SO MUCH FUN!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/14
Brendo
Location: Louisiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game so much. If you have played the beta, you will be disappointed that your progress is not saves. :( But, it's a fun game I recommen it for hardcore halo fans. You will have to much fun!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Destiny
Bungie and Activision Together
Posted on:2/17/13
BlazeTekeshi
Location: PR
Now that Bungie joined up with Activision, I always wondered how their games would come out, then I noticed that they released info for their project, Destiny. I watched the ViDoc and had to say that it has a similar taste to Halo and looks very promising. I'm looking forward to how Destiny will look like when it reaches its release date. The detail looks amazing, and the storyline will give players a chance to experience it first-hand when they get their hands on it. So pre-order now if you're interested.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
18 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nero1915
 
Please wait while more information about Nero1915 is loaded.
Additional information about Nero1915 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/28/13
I'm really looking forward to this game and I'm definitely going to be participating in the beta. When 343 took over Halo my interest in it kinda died with Halo 4 so I'm very hopeful for a new blockbuster from Bungie that will continue to entertain the masses for another 10 years!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Destiny
the game bites
Posted on:7/25/14
BladeTheWicked
Location: Lenoir,NC
To much co-op and multiplayer ruin a game. Solo is better yeah no idiots. I didn't wont no game like this WOW,COD. $60.00 for this game is to much this gam should be in the 10 dollar ben.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Destiny
Bungie won't disappoint with Destiny
Posted on:2/17/13
IAmMelonLord
Location: Bisbee, AZ
I have been an avid fan of Bungie's work since Halo: CE, and have played every game in the series (Including Halo Wars, even though it wasn't done by Bungie). I also tried some other games developed by them, like the Marathon Trilogy, Myth and Oni and loved them as well (even if Oni was a bit choppy, I thought it was fun). So as a big fan of Bungie's work, I can say that I'm extremely excited for Bungie's newest game, Destiny. At this point in time, there's not a lot of preview material out for it, but I don't need a ton of preview trailers and teasers to know that Destiny is going to be amazing. With just Halo as an example, Bungie brought millions of gamers countless hours of fun and entertainment with each entry into this series. I can't think of another series that was that much fun to play, and that made me so anxious for the next game like the Halo series has. And for many fans, this is true. So all I can say is, I can't wait for another awesome ride with Bungie. The attached video, "Destiny Vidoc: Pathways out of Darkness" makes Destiny look incredible. I don't know about you, but I'm looking forward to Destiny. Bungie has yet to disappoint.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 5 for Destiny
My most anticipated of 2014
Posted on:1/12/14
WillTheAssassin
Location: Inwood, WV
I normally prefer swords over guns but this looks like its going to be an epic game. I can't wait for this game. It honestly is now my most anticipated video game of 2014.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Law of the Jungle Trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Destiny
A great game overall!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/14
Yoyomasterninja
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is amazing. The graphics are stunning in most aspects, the gameplay is just amazing, and the sound is very high quality. It's a great game, however the story is really short and can often be completed within around 7-8 hours for a hardcore gamer. However there still is the option of making a new guardian.
One thing that makes Destiny really stand out from the rest of the games i have played in the past is a really skill-based Gameplay. Even though another player may have a more powerful gun, it ultimately comes down to having a powerful gun, but all sorts of other stats like accuracy, recoil, reload speed, and all sorts of other stats. The gameplay is also very similar to COD and Halo in terms of the controls and dynamics.
Another one of the things that is amazing about this game (at least on xbox, not sure about PS) is that this game basically says "Screw xbox live". Yes, you can't do competitive multiplayer or form fireteams without it, but you can still meet other players in the online world with both the tower and the battlefield.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Destiny
Bungie's finally got a new game!
Posted on:2/17/13
NerdsUnite
Location: Portland, OR
Bungie has been well known as the creators of Halo, but after Reach the company went dormant--or so it seemed! The concept behind this game seems like an intriguing idea, albeit somewhat reminiscent of the Halo universe. From the trailer that's been released, it looks like the environments and character models are very well designed. I can't wait for this next universe that Bungie's bringing to life!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Destiny ViDoc--Pathways Out of Darkness
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 8 for Destiny
Cool game but not Wi-Fi friendly
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/14
Blackthunder125
Location: Albany, New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A very cool and ambitious game from Activision/Bungie but has a couple of issues you should be aware of. First, its one of those always on-line games and if you don't have a fast internet connection you're probably going to get the "centipede" error. This happens when the game looses connection with the server. I've had times when I was almost finished with a mission and had the centipede error pop up at which time I was thrown back to the very beginning of the game. (start game screen) You then have to restart that mission. Very annoying. Please note that this will most likely happen to you with a DSL internet connection. Secondly, I prefer to turn off any in-game music and as far as I can see, this is not possible. The game play itself is fun and there's a ton of goals and content to keep you busy for months but I'm not a fan of the "always on-line" games and unfortunately, that seems to be the future of games.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Destiny
"My body is ready"
Posted on:2/17/13
DeathByReach
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Ever since Bungie had announced its new game, im been watching it like a hawk. Now that they unveiled a good chunk of it, i can absouletly say that im ready for this game to happen. Im not sure if i can hold until release!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Destiny
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/14
cal88005
Location: Beaufort, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Traditionally, I have not been a big fan of FPS games, but not too long ago I decided to give halo 3 a shot when Xbox was giving it away for free. I liked it and also got 4, Reach, and ODST. I also picked up Titanfall, and my interest in FPS games has grown. I pre-ordered Destiny, which I don't normally do (the last game I pre ordered was Dragon Age Origins: point made...). The game is great. Being made by Bungie automatically makes it Halo player friendly, and you definitely get a little bit of the Halo feel in the game (not too much to make it a clone though). With Activision on board, many of the more modern FPS game features shine through. Now not only do you get a great story and great FPS gameplay, there is also an MMORPG aspect to the game. Many other people may be running around the same areas you are. You can choose to team up or do your own thing, or even hang out in the safe city tower and meet new friends to team up with. So that's what's great about the game. However, I did take a couple points off of the "gameplay" aspect on the review. This is only because the PvP part of the game, I think, needs some serious work. The matchmaking seems to be very unbalanced. I entered the PvP matchmaking at level 7. I didn't expect to do all that well anyway, because I am not all that great at FPS PvP. However, my team consisted of myself at level 7 Three other people at level 7 and a level 10. The other team had a level 21 a level 20 and a few teens... They were one shot killing all of us and beat us by double the points... this continued through a few rounds and I decided to give up on the PvP for the time being. Other than the problem I have with the PvP feature, the game is awesome, and well made. I have a feeling I will be putting a lot of time into this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Destiny
Extremely fun!
Posted on:8/5/14
RoboNite
Location: BikiniBottom, BB
I played beta to this game and it was awesome. I personally like it better than Halo or COD. The character customization is detailed and fun to mess around with, the weapon system has a variety of different kinds of weapons from the charging fusion rifle and the plain burst fusion rifle. This is obviously already my favorite game. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
19 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Human1232
 
Please wait while more information about Human1232 is loaded.
Additional information about Human1232 could not be loaded.
AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 8/19/14
I played the beta and it was amazing!The graphics were outstanding on my 360 and there was no frame drop at all in multiplayer.I hope the full game is the same!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Destiny
I Have High Hopes....
Posted on:2/19/13
Nocturniquette
Location: Missouri
I heard that you can "cross realm" onto another person's world, help them out, then leave or continue exploring their world for a while. Basically this game combines elements of WoW, Halo, and Mass Effect into one game. WoW because of the whole cross realm aspect; being able to "jump" into another player's mini universe to help them out or explore for a little while. Halo, because this game is an FPS and what better one to compare it to then Bungie's own little nest egg? And Mass Effect, because you're playing in a rich sci-fi environment complete with flying ships, amazing characters, and a beautiful story that will make you keep playing for years to come. Will this game meet my expectations? I sure hope so. I'm not gonna pre-order yet, as I want to see more information on it before I do, but in the end, I know I'm gonna be getting this game. Not because Bungie made it...but because this game looks amazing and that Bungie is combining several key elements and atmospheres from several other genres of gaming that I think would fit together like a masterpiece.
115 of 130 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TacoMan17
Warren, MI
 
Please wait while more information about TacoMan17 is loaded.
Additional information about TacoMan17 could not be loaded.
"croos realms"
Posted 5/30/13
A game called dark souls exactly what you mention about the crossing realms theme. If that is going to be in this game, I'm already hooked.
Customer Avatar
Howard5657
 
Please wait while more information about Howard5657 is loaded.
Additional information about Howard5657 could not be loaded.
Forgotten Comparison
Posted 4/21/13
I'm not entirely sure how much you've heard of this game but they also compared it to borderlands due to weapons. Don't quote me on this as the fact that they haven't released any weapon info yet but there's been a roomer that there are already have over one thousand confirmed weapons yet to be released to the public. They claim "1,000" mostly because they have multiple weapons with multiple attachments that can be meshed into one gun to create thousands or millions of possibilities. Just a fun theory that I figured I'd run across you.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Destiny
Game of the Year for me
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/14
Bxlks
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is way better than it is being given credit for. It is easily the best game I have played in a long time. The missions could be more difficult to add a challenge to the game but I have been playing on normal and not hard. I easily have ten hours of gameplay and I have only played a few of the game modes. The multiplayer is difficult at first but once you reach level 10 (about) you can buy or find guns that are more effective. Being a fan of Call of Duty fan, Destiny is a good change of pace from repetitive multiplayer that Activision continues to deliver every year. The game is smooth and graphics beautiful. The worlds are not as open as they appear. Most of the mission have one path that has to be followed, which was disappointing but leveling up and gaining new guns, armor, vehicles and the dlc that will be coming out in December will keep the game interesting.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Destiny
Misleading Product Description
Posted on:9/7/14
Devlant
The listing for the Xbox 360 version of the game has an option to pre-order the game digitally, but this is NOT what you're buying. GameStop is actually selling you $60 in Xbox Live currency, which can't be redeemed for the Xbox 360's digital version of Destiny until September 9th.
To put that into layman's terms: If you use GameStop to pre-order the digital version of Destiny, then you will NOT get access to the Vanguard Armory pre-order bonus. This isn't a big problem since the Vanguard Armory's benefits will be lost as soon as your character hits level 11 (something that will happen within the first day or two of the game's launch), but it is an issue that they need to address nonetheless.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Destiny
Mix Halo, with Star Trek Online, and Fable
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/14
50YearOldGamer
Location: Greenville, S.C
If you were to mix Halo, with Star Trek Online, and Fable, you'd have Destiny. To me, that sounds like a great mixture for a game, but it doesn't deliver. It's a shooter with very similar landscaping and action as Halo, you have to keep going back to your base, like in Star Trek Online, and you go around looking in hidden places for treasure chests, just like Fable.
Part of what I didn't like though was the vehicles. I could steal a Fallen's Sparrow that had guns, but I couldn't put guns on my sparrow. I could buy a Jump Ship with guns, but I didn't get to Dog Fight with it. There should be a place in the game to Dog Fight the Fallen or other players!
The game was too easy and the story was too short for the money. I should have known I was buying half a game when they offered to sell me 2 Expansion Packs on the Release Day.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 16 for Destiny
Ambitious all in one
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/14
kbozz71
Location: Florence, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off, this game is not without some major flaws. But it is unique. It's an FPS at the core with MMO elements. To some degree there's even a little RPG sprinkled in as well. Bungie has done absolutely nothing to revolutionize any of the three genres mentioned above, but they have successfully blended them into a cohesive game that has a little something for everyone. The Call of Duty crowd will throw this game down and trash it after about 30 minutes due to the lack of instant gratification. If you're patient enough to make it to a decent level though, you will be rewarded. As mentioned above, there are flaws. First, PVP is an unbalanced nightmare. No need to try before level 15 unless you want to be slaughtered. Second, the story is bland and difficult to follow. Third, the grind. MMO players are used to this, but it could be tedious for FPS types. I could go on, but this about sums it up. Destiny is not for everyone. It is different and it is a solid starting point for how more games could be in the future. It has single player, pvp, and co-op all integrated seamlessly into one. It's worth a look. Just don't expect to press A and something awesome happen instantly....This game takes to to progress.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Destiny
Gets boring really fast
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/14
Chubssssssssssssss
Location: Ga
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
All the mission are the same because all you do is fight off a hoard of really hard aliens over and over and it gets really boring !!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Destiny
Okay, but not what I expected from Bungie...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/14
nucleartaco
Location: Orlando, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've played a lot of Destiny. I played all the three of the classes, but in my opinion they all feel the same, I couldn't tell the difference if I was playing as the Hunter or the Titan. The story had no emotion. I only really heard Peter Dinklage throughout the game and that was it. It felt like your stereotypical SyFi story. But it dosent really matter because the game play is fun, especially with friends. But every story mission felt the same. You go to some place trying to do something, but you end fighting waves of enemies until you kill them all or you fight some big boss that just eats your bullets. I honestly felt the missions all felt same and cant the difference. Strikes are just really big mission and weren't that fun, the best part of a strike was finishing it. I still haven't played any raids yet, but from what I heard they are just bigger strikes. In my opinion the best part of Destiny is playing PvP, because it has the most action for me. I love competitive FPS and Destiny is a good one. But best the PvP mode is Control(kinda like domination from COD). Customizing your character is okay, but isn't that complexed compared to other games, but that good for this type of game. Destiny is a really good game, but I had high standards for Destiny since Bungie was making it. But compare to Bungies other games, Destiny falls short. But again, this is my opinion and you might believe differently.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Destiny
Over-hyped
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/14
natekeklen
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
What is there to say about Bungie, solid gunplay, and story telling, vast back story and lore, reinvented the first person shooter genre, and made Halo. None of these present in their latest game. From the lackluster story and pacing, forgettable moments and characters, and the complete lack of entertaining multiplayer ,this game was waaay to hyped. While the graphics are polished and the gunplay was top notch, as expected from a AAA game developer, it clearly isn't enough to keep a hardcore Bungie fan, like me, from exploring other developers and games. So I would have to give it, on a scale of 1-10, a sold in 5. Just another FPS that offered promise of so much, but left me with a poor experience.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 20 for Destiny
Early Promise, Early Failure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/14
Spartas
Location: Kissimmee
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Think of this a game many years in the making, ALREADY has two expansions, not one...or a small side dlc, but two big expansions READY before the end of the year? Can I smell EA somewhere. The game honestly is great, but you can smell, taste and see that the game has been butchered and broken up into different pieces to be sold differently. I mean they aren't even trying to hide it anymore. Usually an expansion takes a year to make to get right...but its ready to be delivered by this year? 2-3 months from now?Sorry but I don't feel like being squeezed for every penny. This has to stop and well luckily I borrowed the game, and I'm not picking up brand new.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>