GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D

Donkey Kong's smash-hit return to platforming is being rebuilt from the ground up and optimized for portable play on the Nintendo 3DS system. Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D will bring all of the ground-pounding, barrel-rolling, platforming action of the original brought to life with stunning 3D visuals.
Average Customer Rating:
7.5
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
3
8 stars
4
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 888%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
Review 1 for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
babybadger911
Location: the world
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is basically like dk: tropical freeze, just a bit older. This is a great game, and i personally think it is as great as the 3ds classics, such as dark moon, pokemon x, and a link between worlds.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
Classic DK with a twist
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/13
chief556
Although a bit difficult the game is a great title for the 3DS. The game has about 70 levels, some being short and others quite long. You won't be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
Great Oldschool Fun in 3d
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/13
HellRazor
If you liked the donkey kong country games, this is perfect rendition of this popular franchise. Doesn't change the fun mechanics of this platformer and thats the best part.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
Terrible remake
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/13
xdrewsopherx
Location: Fort Lewis, WA
A huge mistake by Nintendo, the gameplay and controls are terrible. Your ability to jump to ledges, over enemies, etc is poorly done. Many frustrated hours of terrible gameplay and aggravating levels that make no sense. Buy at your own risk.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
DK in 3D! (8.5/10)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/13
Diarrhea
I have played a lot of Donkey Kong games, from the Game & Watch, to Donkey Kong Racing, to Donkey Kong Country Returns, and I know that this is a great one for anyone who loves the Donkey Kong or Super Mario games. The retro-inspired platforming is fast-paced, and it tests your timing and reflexes as you cart, rocket, and bound from level-to-level, and from world-to-world. Each level is well-designed and creative, although some can be just a little repetitive, which was a bit disappointing, since there aren't that many levels in the first place. The soundtrack is okay, nothing outstanding, but Donkey Kong does make some ridiculous gorilla noises occasionally. The Wii version's graphics and framerate were a little better, but you have to respect the great 3D visuals and the fact that you can't achieve amazing graphics on a handheld system. But still, I have to say that when Donkey Kong shoots himself from a barrel off into the distance, it can be hard to see him sometimes. The extra levels and easy mode for casual gamers was a nice addition, for people who already played the Wii game, although owners of the Wii version might not be entertained for that long (unless they are a true DK fan). Overall, I would actually give this an (8.5/10).
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
YO
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
Anonymous
Location: california
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
dis game right here is whats up. i give it 2 bananas up. the gameplay is awesome yo, straight out dankville.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
11 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
Classic back with a twist too it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/13
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is a good game for kids and grown ups. it is kinda like Mario games but just a little different in more ways then one. if you want a fun game with some hard parts this is a good game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
He returns..... but now in 3d
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/13
NintendoHistory
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Donkey Kong Country Returns was an excellent Wii game, and is still great on the 3ds. The only problem is that it doesn't look as good as the wii version did, and the controls don't feel as smooth. For a platformer the 3d is pretty good unlike New Super Mario Bros 2. I highly recommend this game for anyone that does't have the Wii version and for all the Donkey Kong fans out there.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D Official Strategy Guide
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
Posted 5/30/13
I liked getting money in New Super Mario Bros 2 also it had fun DLC.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
Nintendo got us again,,,
Posted on:5/3/13
Last2One
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida
Has me wanting as I did not play the Wii version-previews of gameplay look great-This game also has bonuses cause when you %100 the game it unlocks an extra world with more levels!There is a strategy guide coming out for this as well.
Review 10 for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
Donkey Kong Returns
Posted on:4/19/13
iLoveNintendoFlo
Location: America
Donkey Kong Country Returns was one of the greatest Wii Games! It had lively worlds with great animaion on all the animals and amazing game design. It was great. The 3D in this game will look great but i hope it lives up to the greatnes of the Wii verison.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Mario Assortment Plush
3 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
Can't wait
Posted on:4/5/13
Nintendocover
Location: West Chicago IL
I have this game for Wii I can't wait for it for 3ds it donkey kong 3ds can't wait! I just can't believe that there going to have it for 3ds
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
Thank you Nintendo
Posted on:3/24/13
hammerofjustice93
Location: Atlanta, GA
Wow. This is going to be awesome! I'm so glad Nintendo is starting to use Donkey Kong again. We all know about the whole Rare ordeal, but I don't know how it ended. Looks like Nintendo is allowed to us DK again! Whose with me, we need a new DK free roam like DK64!?
10 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Nabbit
 
Please wait while more information about Nabbit is loaded.
Additional information about Nabbit could not be loaded.
Rare
Posted 5/6/13
Nintendo always owned Donkey Kong. He never left.
Customer Avatar
Nintendocover
West Chicago IL
 
Please wait while more information about Nintendocover is loaded.
Additional information about Nintendocover could not be loaded.
Your right
Posted 4/15/13
Your right it is going to be awesome
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
The release date is wrong....
Posted on:3/15/13
KAGUAR
Location: NEW YORK
Ths game is out this month on the 24th not May. Gamestop is always slow to update for some reason....
1 of 62 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Mewtwo32
Potosi,MO
 
Please wait while more information about Mewtwo32 is loaded.
Additional information about Mewtwo32 could not be loaded.
Posted 5/31/13
Check again. I believe you're thinking of Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon or Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity.
Customer Avatar
tyler561
home
 
Please wait while more information about tyler561 is loaded.
Additional information about tyler561 could not be loaded.
dude listen
Posted 4/1/13
the game came out for the wii a couple of years ago but they announced it for the 3ds a couple of mouths ago and the release date is right
Customer Avatar
Andrew02111
 
Please wait while more information about Andrew02111 is loaded.
Additional information about Andrew02111 could not be loaded.
Nope.
Posted 3/24/13
The release date is right. Only thing that is wrong is you and the "Retuns" when it should be "Returns". :/ come on GameStop, spell check is there for a reason.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)