GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag

It is 1715. Pirates rule the Caribbean and have established a lawless pirate republic. Among these outlaws is a fearsome young captain named Edward Kenway. His exploits earn the respect of pirate legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built.
Average Customer Rating:
8.97
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (138 reviews)
10 stars
38
9 stars
17
8 stars
1
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
58 out of 6688%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Review 1 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best AC game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
xXCynicalXzisXx
Location: Louisiana, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm a hardcore AC fan and TBH AC3 was a letdown but AC 4 is one of the best and it would make AC BETER is if in AC5 if there making it le us crouch
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
BEAST AF
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/14
totallynotsingle
Location: Arizona
I'm a die hard assassins creed fan. I'm going to be honest AC3 was a disappointment compared to the others. It was still fun but not good. This assassins creed though was so much of an improvement. It brought back what assassins creed originally was with a whole bunch more. I was a little skeptical when I found out the naval gameplay was still involved, but this time it's actually good. You don't have to follow designated coordinates or anything like that. You could anchor your ship anywhere and get out, you could board random ships. I actually had fun being on a ship. Then the story line was a whole massive improvement. The characters were real, and living. The gameplay was awesome, and more realistic. The stealth was improved much. Most importantly, the buildings, the freerunning playground was improved so much, the buildings were awesomely detailed. I can go on and on. If you liked any assassins creed, even if you liked the third, you will love this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Can't wait!
Posted on:5/28/13
Handsome
Location: Virginia
I've been with the Assassins Creed series since day one and I have to say that with each sequel fans have been happy in almost every shape or form. I do have to admit however that the ball was dropped a little because of Assassins Creed 3 ( it's not a bad game by any stretch of the imagination) and this game may seem rushed, but the same can be said for brotherhood and revelations, two great games, and I think this one is going to make up for 3 and even more!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
this looks awsome
Posted on:3/11/13
lonewolf9819
Location: toney, Al
what all of you probly dont know ubisoft has diferent groups working on diferent assassins so each group has a cuple years to work on them. i cant wait.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Assassin's Creed fell off
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/14
sportsguy
Location: D.C
As a fan of Assassin's Creed since the first one, and a person who has beat every single Assassin's Creed (except this one), I absolutely hate this game. I understand that it is pirate themed, but naval warfare in this game just is not fun. It takes too long, is too repetitive, and difficult. It is just straight up boring. And the story isn't as clear as previous AC games. I really want to like this game, but the boats are just over emphasized. There were boats in AC3, but that wasn't so over emphasized, so it was fun from time to time. But in this game it is like all you do. It doesn't even interest me enough to finish the game. Also, the fighting feels a lot clunkier than previous AC games. I will be tyring to fight someone, and when I press X to attack, or B to block, nothing happens, so my guy just dies repeatedly because he just stands there and gets hit, without even hitting back no matter what I press, or when I press it. I really hope the next AC is a lot better, and I really hope they ditch boats.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
the best game I have played in a long time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
barneykiller76
Location: Mobile, AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love the assassins creed series and if i thought the game was bad i would have given it a bad review but it this games brings many things to the table that few others do one example is the naval warfare and the best hand to hand combat in gaming (my opinion your entitled to your own) . so if you've ever played and liked any assassins creed you would like this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
21 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Firebomb
 
Please wait while more information about Firebomb is loaded.
Additional information about Firebomb could not be loaded.
?
Posted 11/3/13
Is this pretty much just all about Being a pirate because to be honest I liked AC3 but this looks completely different. not in a bad or good way. I just liked ASSASSINATING, and I think this is more about the sea, your boat, crew, blah blah. But I'd really like to know because today i got the new madden, but I don't think I'd have time for it because I have Nba 2k14.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
It's Worsening
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/13
skittlezzz
Location: omaha, ne
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love Assassin's Creed. I have every game. Now, I feel like Assassin's Creed is worsening with each release. Black Flag has the most expansive map I've ever played on, but that's a problem. It's too big and too time consuming to find a location you haven't unlocked fast travel for. The game gets boring each time you have to go on the Jackdaw (which is very often). The game has very bad sound, especially during combat. Edward would off somebody, and either the sound doesn't come until a few seconds later, or you don't hear any sound at all. Finding items for crafting upgrades is very frustrating and difficult. It's not like Assassin's Creed 3, where items for upgrading are easy to find. The gameplay is very similar to AC3's, so it kind of feels like you're playing the same game. If Ubisoft waited a few years until the next release and took their time developing it so it won't be terrible, that'd be great. The only reason I'm keeping this game is so I have all of the AC games, otherwise, I'd send it back.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
not good for an assassin point of view
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/14
Flaming101
Location: Dandridge, TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game really shines when you forget the main missions and just be a pirate. the main story is not very good for an assassin's creed game but it more than makes up for it by having very fun side missions. the open world is amazing and very fun pillage as a pirate. this game feels more like a very well done pirate game than a assassin's creed game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
One of the Best games of 2013
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
Beast423
Location: Strongsville, OH
The last Assassin's Creed game left a sour taste in my mouth but this one leaves me walking away with a warm feeling knowing that the series has been rejuvenated with this worthy addition. The gameplay has been improved upon and the graphics are top notch for the xbox 360. The sound and plot are both good but I wouldn't go so far as to say they are best this year. The location of this game is spectacular and the characters are lively and relatable. Honestly this is the best game of this series yet, it takes the good parts from all of the games and puts them into one near perfect concoction of awesome gameplay, characters, setting, content, and more. If you were to buy one game this October this should be it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
The best Assassin's Creed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/14
CapnBenstead
Location: Springville, New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Yes I know for the majority of the game you aren't an Assassin and that sucks but you are a pirate! With so many options of what to do! It's absolutely incredible. The story was great, the gameplay was obviously Assassin's Creed but the experience of sailing a ship around the Caribbean definitely made up for it. It's just a GREAT game! And the thing that ties it all together, is that fact that your crew sings shantys when you're sailing on the open sea. That's just awesome. Just buy it already.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Very cool game, would recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/14
aagerds
Admittedly I didn't know how to take it at first. The controls are very complex and take awhile to get used to, especially the fighting. But once you get the basic fighting controls down it's very fun. The assassinations are epic, and there's nothing like luring a guard toward a bale of hay and dragging him in to stick a knife in him! There can be some frustration with climbing buildings: sometimes Edward will be climbing and then just stop at a ledge, and he'll usually do this when he either needs to be getting to a location stealthily or he's being shot at. Also, when you're trying to sneak through a military compound, occasionally Ed would climb on top of a bunch of boxes so EVERYONE can see him. However, if you've played for a couple hours and have gotten the fighting controls down you can easily take on six+ guards. Anyway, overall a great game and would recommend it to everyone.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best Creed Game yet, how are they going to top it?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/14
Xbox360OrPS3
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Assassins Creed 4 is probably the best game on the 360 right now, ive only found one thing that they could have fixed which is you cant crouch but other than that this game has it all, everything from duel sword wielding, gun shooting,ship sailing that you can control,killing animals for the skin to make your equipment, plus more and everything you probably have done on past Creed games if you have played them. 10/10 Worth the $30 i spent for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Looks Awesome!!
Posted on:3/8/13
jlb2
Location: Canton, Ohio
I've been an Assassin's Creed fan since day 1, I have them all, even have Black Flag reserved... I think its kinda early for another one but, still looks awesome. I just miss the connection like we got with Altair, and Ezio Auditore with Assassin's Creed, Assassin's Creed 2, Brotherhood and Revelations. they made it to where you got so in depth into the life and death of the character... not taking away from 3 I just felt the whole thing was rushed and didn't get a chance to really connect with Conner.... lets hope they take the time so we can get to know Edward like we did Altair and Ezio.....
88 of 97 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Coolcat491
New York City
 
Please wait while more information about Coolcat491 is loaded.
Additional information about Coolcat491 could not be loaded.
This Is The Most Under rated game of the year
Posted 8/6/13
First of all i want to ask you guys questions y do we love assassin creed 2 to so much because of all the locations and the customization of the villa right so this game should be one of the most Anticapated games of all time it features more customization and alot more locations also there's so much you could do The only one worthy to be a sequel to assassin creed 2
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
I have been a fan since the beginning.
Posted on:4/22/13
oracleoforigin
Location: Chandler, AZ
As good as AC 3 was, which was breathtakingly good, an important part of the story was missing: the connection and emotional attachment to the protagonist. I loved the first three games as we got so connected, so immersed in the lives of Altair and Ezio where as with the time we had in AC 3 we were unable to get as deep with Connor. I hope that Black Flag addresses this. I also miss the amount of extra things to do that Brotherhood had aside from the main story arc. It would seem, according to official description, that there will be more to do in Black Flag than in AC3 and I am very excited for that.
The combat promises to be the best yet in the franchise and the dual wielding of Edward's cutlasses should prove to provide very intriguing combat experiences.
All in all, I am very glad that I have pre-ordered this game.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Words can't describe
Posted on:10/25/13
AVPronger
Location: Illinois
I'm an absolute AC fanatic. I've watched the trailers, seen the gameplay demos, and I've already been look at all the paraphernalia. Some people say AC3 was a downfall, and I completely disagree. It brought the game out of the cities, and let you see the wilds, and the seas, to allow for more flawless game play. Before you were somewhat constrained to be within city limits, but now with AC4 the cities are simply one part of the whole thing. Words CAN NOT describe how excited I am.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Pirates and Assassins needs I say more!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/13
darkerthanblack
Location: phoenix, az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Assassins creed 4 has a feel of 1 & 2 with a lot more to do. The ship battles are epic, treasures hunting always fun. It has a feel of Far Cry 3, with the beautiful islands and animal hunting to upgrade your equipment. Pirate/ Assassin take just AMAZING, couldn't ask for more. All in all 4 exceeds in all area's, a must for any assassin creed fan.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great awesome assassin creed game this year and so
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/13
Dizzy247
Location: Miami, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a rate 10 all the way I love this game its fun thrilling and enjoyful this game is fill with so many surprises.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Assassins Creed 4
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/13
Hookblade101
Location: US
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is by far the best game I've played in 2013. I actually enjoyed this more than i did GTA V, and that was a fun game. Its graphics are top notch, and the stealth just had one flaw which is the inability to crouch. If that's added in Assassins Creed V (if there's gonna be one), this game could be a GOTY
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
AWESOME!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/14
ac4fan
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Amazing storyline and great gameplay . I was a little dissapointed that you run out of pasttimes after about 3 months but its a good game to replay.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
My Favorite Assassin's Creed game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
Jaing
Location: Terre Haute, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Maybe this has something to do with my love of ships and pirate lore, but I loved playing this game. Although there are still a lot of random chests and animus fragments to collect, I found it more bearable than in previous Assassin's Creed games.
I loved the opportunities presented at attacking ship after ship and pillaging their cargo after a successful boarding party raid.
I highly recommend this game for those who don't fear hours of gameplay spent on sailing and searching.
You can, of course, breeze through the campaign quickly and call it a day, but the full 100% synch is worth all the extra time and effort. I have logged over 30 hours of gameplay and am just now finishing the campaign because I have found so much entertainment in the side quests and just all around pirating.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>