GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag

It is 1715. Pirates rule the Caribbean and have established a lawless pirate republic. Among these outlaws is a fearsome young captain named Edward Kenway. His exploits earn the respect of pirate legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built.
Average Customer Rating:
9.8
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Review 1 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Can't wait for this!
Posted on:5/1/13
dunric
Location: Lodi, CA
Been knee deep in AC3 for the Wii U and loving it. Now with pirates involved, this next game looks like great fun and glad to see Wii U support, something Wii U owners like!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LucasTodd
 
Please wait while more information about LucasTodd is loaded.
Additional information about LucasTodd could not be loaded.
Posted 10/16/13
I'm glad this coming out for Wii U because Nintendo players don't get that much good games on their system's, Nintendo is getting better.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great Game, Great Graphics, Great Performance
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/14
kinggamer41
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A lot of reviewers on Gamespot, IGN and Gameinformer have been talking about low framerates in the game, and I think they are completely wrong! The framerates are great! It looks like an actual film! The only place it actually has a small framerate issue is on a few of the islands. The game runs at a smooth 30fps and is displayed in 1080p. Aside from the amazing graphics, the game has a story that is boring from the start, but ends up awesome in the end, and also there are so many things to do like hunting for treasure chests and diving underwater to search for hidden loot. Stealing from Warehouses for materials to upgrade your ship and Suger and Rum to sell to make more money. Really good game!, the gamepad use is actually really cool. It doesn't make use of the gamepad as much, but off TV play is good, and the map on the gamepad makes it easy to see what's going on at see when your sailing because it's bigger. It makes it really easy to dodge enemy ships in danger zones. The best part of this game is definitely the exploration because there is so much stuff to do. You can even capture forts! That's insane! Get this, You'll be glad you did!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
This is going to be insane!
Posted on:3/7/13
sportman101
Location: Earth
I thought Ac3 and it's cononial time period couldn't be any better, but this is going to be the same time period except your a PIRATE. For those of you who are wondering, you are going to play as haythams father. I also loved the navy battles in AC3 and hope they make it even better because you know there are going to be a lot of riding boats and looting other peoples ships. Maybe they will add navy fights to the multiplayer, that would be cool. CAN'T WAIT ( :
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
msyg
 
Please wait while more information about msyg is loaded.
Additional information about msyg could not be loaded.
oh yeah
Posted 3/7/13
this looks sick cant wait but i cant deside inbetwen wach dogs or this
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/13
Riker
Location: Las Vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
just played this game on wiiu. surprisingly i will be buying this for wiiu now instead of ps4. love the way it played out on the wiiu gamepad. great setup ninendo.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Pirates?
Posted on:5/29/13
aco612
Location: Future wetlands of Louisiana
I've dabbled in the Assassin's Creed series - the first one was an interesting storyline with unexceptional gameplay, the next three all bled together, and the third one (proper) felt as if it squandered an important point in world history by forcing the story - but none really struck me as essential. This one, however, appears to have struck upon a fascinating time period and equally fascinating gameplay. Who doesn't like pirates? It seems for such a popular idea the last essential pirate game was Sid Meier's Pirates!, and all we've had is disposable and confused games since. If this game can capture half of the innate fun to swashbuckling - the devil-may-care attitude, the free flowing swordplay, epic and violent naval collisions, total debauchery - it will be THE must play game of 2013. My pre-order (and my money) are already gambling in the true pirate sense that it will be.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Amazing
Posted on:5/1/13
BryanX
Location: Deltona FL
I'm so exited for this and think it a great addition to the Franchise it's connected to AC3 & Conor Kenway.......already Pre-Ordered and got the amazing poster..... P.S if you get the poster and want to put it in a poster frame it 24x36.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Already
Posted on:3/10/13
slyfan107
Location: Richmond, Virginia
I'm still play AC3, but I guess the more notice the better. I knew after playing the sailing mode that it was going somewhere. I didn't expect pirates though. This looks really good, I just hope it doesn't turn into another COD where a new game comes out every year. Games need time to update. Really glad ubisoft is releasing this on the Wii U. Ubisoft has been a strong Wii U supporter, and for that I'm looking forward to this game.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phzdout
 
Please wait while more information about Phzdout is loaded.
Additional information about Phzdout could not be loaded.
It already is...
Posted 11/2/13
Yeah... AC is already a yearly release series. Ac2 had 2 pseudo sequels a year apart, three came out a year or so after the third ac2 title, and now here we are with 4. Not to mention the various mobile editions, there are around 10 or 12 games in the series in just 7 years. The difference is that AC continues to evolve and try new mechanics every year or so.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Awesome!!!!
Posted on:10/13/13
xJetfirex
Location: Rock Hill, SC
I just reserved my copy last night, Cant wait to play it. Just started AC3 on Wii U. So far, so good:) Hope AC4 is just as exciting. I could care less about DLC not coming to AC4 on Wii U.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Very Excited for AC4
Posted on:8/4/13
Videogamelover12
Location: Murrieta,CA
I only played the third assassins creed game on Wii U, and i loved it! The time period was very interesting and once i discovered AC4 i watched a few videos and i was bewildered! I love the graphics, the story, and the different ways you can kill someone. For example if you want to assassinate two targets. You can kill one and the other will run. Then you can either shoot the running target, let him get on his/her boat and kill them, or follow them in your boat,and plunder them. I find this very fascinating because it helps with the fact that you are a pirate. In a video someone said that they changed the targeting system so now its a free aim targeting system so you can do head shots/ knee shots, or where ever you like. So that concludes this review. I hope you like the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nintendofan007
 
Please wait while more information about nintendofan007 is loaded.
Additional information about nintendofan007 could not be loaded.
No season pass?
Posted 10/11/13
Why is the season pass not coming to wii u. I really want to play the "Freedom Cry" DLC.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Thank U Ubisoft!!!!!!!
Posted on:3/7/13
LinkSlayer
Location: Wilburton Oklahoma
I'm so grateful for the third party support Ubisoft is giving Nintendo with there AAA games. I played AC3 for the Wii U and it was awesome. Wii have one big screen HD TV in our home and being able to play the whole game on my Wii U gamepad when my wife wanted to watch TV was just genious, Ubisoft knows what they are doing I loved the AC3 time period and in this your a Pirate... THATS AWESOME. The story in AC3 was super fun and the open would was beautiful. Ubisoft goes above and beyond with there games and them bringing them to Nintendo consoles is just the more fun. Thanks Ubisoft. I will be buying Rayman even though U delayed it.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
That's not all.
Posted 4/11/13
Thare is contless more 3rd part games coming to Wii U so follow Nintendo News online and be on the look out. :):):)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/14
Darwin
Location: Elgin, Il
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I just started playing AC IV a couple weeks ago after spending a couple months playing AC III. Both games I love in different ways. I like the crafting feature in III better than IV, but am glad they kept it as part of the game. I do like in IV that they have a much larger selection of upgrades to purchase. It is harder to earn money in this game and it forces you to space out your upgrades, whereas, in III you could buy all of the available upgrades in no-time. Overall, amazing game....Very addictive!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
AWESOME GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/14
MidcoreGamer
Location: Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
All I can say is... PLAY THIS GAME. It is definitely worth the time and money. Graphics are excellent, as is gameplay, I've owned this game since around christmas time, and it's all I've been playing ever since.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Black Flag brings Pirating to Wii U
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/14
Acepilot
While the Wii U version doesn't get all the perks of the other consoles. The game itself is still great. Despite the Wii U's slight frame rate issues it has, the game itself is amazing on the Wii U. A short review of this is... Assassin's Creed and Pirates of the Caribbean had a kid and made this.
First off the overall gameplay is really good. You are Edward Kenway, a fierce pirate who not only goes through a story to realize what's right and wrong. But the game itself is also is a nice pick up and play pirating game. You can battle enemy ships, board them for better rewards, and take your ship from a simple ship to a war vessel that can terrorize the seas. The story is also quite entertaining and is nice to do and pirate on the way to your next objective if you can. The only small warning is you don't get a ship right away, being an Assassin's Creed game do remember it does start slow, but after a while you get your ship and that's where it gets really fun. Just have patience.
The music itself is great and fits right on in with the game. It's almost as if you are playing Pirates of the Caribbean but really is Assassin's Creed. The sound effects are also good and some used from past games of Assassin's Creed but are still great and add well to the game.
Finally we talk visuals, the game itself is beautiful. The islands look nice, the ports you visit are good looking, the ships you encounter look very well made as well as your own. The only slight downfall is the Wii U version has a slight frame rate drop, not all the time but in some areas where the visuals get really intense. Other than that though it is still a playable frame rate, usually between 20-30 FPS.
Overall the game is amazing. I am a big person for pirate stories and this game allows me to play as a pirate like I've always wanted. If you are a Wii U owner or any other console owner looking for a new game for your current/next gen console this is the game to pick up!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
BEST OF THE SERIES !
Posted on:8/1/13
theassasin12
Location: CA
this game must get game of the year cause it is the best of the series and gotten 5 or 4 awards already so everybody must pre order it cause I did
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Gonna Be Great
Posted on:4/13/13
reagan
Location: austin,tx
I think this game will be awesome. I can imagine having ship battles and boarding other ships and attacking them. DEFINETELY BUY