GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness

Celebrating the 20th year of Nippon Ichi Software and 10th anniversary of the Disgaea series, Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness brings back the popular trio from the first game: Laharl, Etna, and Flonne. With a completely new and original storyline, it offers game system refinements that will entice new fans, while still offering the same kind of hardcore, over-the-top, endless gameplay that is sure to please longtime fans.
Average Customer Rating:
9.667
9.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
Review 1 for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
Disgaea D2: Initial Impressions
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/13
lobothesacred3
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Disgaea D2 both returns to the roots of the series and make changes that improve upon, damages, and removes staples from other games in the series.
On the positive side the over importance of mana in improving skills is gone and we have a return to the weapon mastery system featured in Hour of Darkness and Curse of Memories. On the downside the game limits what items are available to you in the shops based on how far long you are into the plot. While the game does retain the old system of passing bills the inability to purchase high level equipment early on is sort of a disappointment.
On the other hand the game also takes away certain functions from the dark senate and places them in the hands of the player in the form of the cheat shop. One of the more useful functions of the cheat shop is that it allows you to increase the strength of the enemies on the maps allowing for easier grinding and increased challenge in the campaign mode while not requiring the player to grind for mana to do so.
The game also makes some changes to the apprentice system that are an interesting twist to say the least and allows a character to become an apprentice to a character that did not initially create them. On the other hand the new system doesn't allow a master to learn new skills from an apprentice so if you want to teach Laharl how to heal you'll have to make him apprentice under a healer. While this change does make sense it also annoys me since it goes against the system that was established in the first two games.
On the whole though, I'd say the game returns to its roots and makes improvement upon the original and some of the systems that were introduced in the later entries.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
OH MY GOD!
Posted on:4/5/13
peace13
Location: Los Angeles, CA
when i saw that this was actually coming out i had to do a double take i just couldn't believe it!! this is a great day to be a Disgaea fan
13 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
D2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/13
BlazingSoul29
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Disgaea Dimension 2: A Brighter Darkness is worth every hour you’ll spend tirelessly perfecting and balancing your team and their abilities. With a RPG story that is somewhat fresh and dialogue that goes beyond tolerable to actually well written and hilarious, each new chapter is a true treat and never becomes just a way to get more battles. There may not be another game out this year that can provide as much limitless fun as Disgaea D2.
 
My Product Recommendations
Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness Official Strategy Guide
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
Oh heck ya I'm game
Posted on:4/10/13
negimaknight
Location: Vancouver WA
Bring on the next Disgaea. They continued from the 1st disgaea for the people who wanted to know what happens after Flonne becomes a fallen angel and before disgaea 2 happened. I am going to get this one big time
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ken2guy
 
Please wait while more information about ken2guy is loaded.
Additional information about ken2guy could not be loaded.
FAN-TASTIC
Posted 6/28/13
Im soo getting this, wished it was on Vita like Disagea 3
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
Once I got wind of this It was up to Gamestop.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/13
IsseiGremory
Location: Palm Coast, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I originally heard of this game in 2012 while I was making my daily trip to the disgaea wikia and saw a small footnote about it that I had to click on. After reading about the new game every trip to my local gamestop I got the same answer of them not even getting word of it. Eventually until it announcement they new the question I would ask every visit until there was an official localization announcement. It took six months of asking but the hard work paid off as I was the first in my area to pre-order and even know. Unbelievably there are few that even know about disgaea as a series within a 20 mile radius of my house. On to the main point a very refreshing story that takes the original into consideration and then adds a bunch of new stuff while keeping true to the glory of the series. A great sequel with very witty remarks. The absolute joy of Laharl's laugh every time I hear it makes me feel all giddy. Even though the game is so fantastic, I will in the end, leave the opinion/choice to the players (unless they say the game is no good then you're opinion is stupid/wrong and you don't deserve one).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
Disgaea D2 Will Own!
Posted on:7/3/13
Doc4000
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Being a huge Disgaea fan, I so can't wait for this game to release. The great thing about Disgaea games is that you get more than your money's worth with near endless hours of replayability, and this installment will be no exception. I've always liked the original Disgaea a great deal and I'm glad to see that Laharl, Flonne, And Etna are in the spotlight again. This game will undoubtedly eat up most of my free time like every other game in the series before it, and if you like this series as much as i do, the same may just happen to you.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
I'm SUPER EXCITED :D!!
Posted on:6/13/13
Timbone86
Location: Illinois
Ten years ago I feel in love with Disgaea. Since Final Fantasy Tactics wasn't doing much, I was needing my fix for that battle grid genre. Since then I've loved this series and I'm super excited that they are going to use Laharl, Etna, and Flonne again. They are so far the best characters of the game series and I cannot wait to see what types of shenanigans this trio gets themselves into this time :D!
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
Disgaea D2: A Big Disappointment
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/14
MrCatsaber
Location: San Pablo, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been hyping for this game since it was announced, mostly for it's main cast and it's continuation of the first Disgaea. The gameplay is the same thing but with the ability to mount a monster, but that ability is flawed, the combination skills with the monster mounts are underpowered and useless and you can't even use it after you move. The story isn't as good as the first, it tries to bombard you with different situations while progressing through which makes it annoying. The new characters aren't interesting mostly because some of the characters are just generic class recolors, they're kinda just there except for Laharl's sister. The post game isn't worth playing, since it reuses the main characters from 4. The only thing worth that's worth looking at is the "Cheat Shop" for newcomers or casual players, which has increase/decrease enemy levels; the amount of money/EXP/Weapon Mastery/Mana, and the insane customization which includes: music changing in the hub world, main character/sub character switching and different colors/voices for characters, etc..
But in a nutshell, Disgaea D2 is good for those who wish to start the series, mostly because of it's "Cheat Shop" to change the gameplay. But it's okay with regular Disgaea players such as myself, I was expecting an awesome sequel to the first, but all I got was a major disappointment of a game with it's casual gameplay, awful story(It has typos too, eww), and it's small content. I do recommend Disgaea 4 with it's large amount of content, same with 3 for Vita.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
The Disgaea 2 fans always wanted
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/13
DeadSpaceMarine52
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One decade ago an unknown games company in the U.S. released the perfect SRPG Disgaea Hour of Darkness. It was hilarious, the character development was great, the battle systems complex, & best of all insanely high level caps reaching into the thousands. It was more than worth it's price of admission. Everyone loved the original trio. Laharl, Etna & Flonne were like the three stooges of anime always getting into one goofy situation after the next with Laharl's goal to claim his place as heir to overlord of the Netherworld. The story left you happy & chuckling all the way through, but it was over too soon, sure the post game had tons of content but I personally wanted more of the trio. Then several years later came the first sequel, with great improvements on the gameplay...but a cringe worth cast of characters & plot. In a way it killed the series for me so I skipped the 3rd & 4th entries, although I have heard the 4th was a great game, I just had no interest anymore. Then came news of a direct sequel a few years back. My inner fan boy went crazy. I couldnt wait. I even bought a ps3 just to play this game! As soon as the date was set I pre ordered the limited edition. I couldn't have made a better choice as a gamer. This is everything I ever wanted for a true DIsgaea sequel. Every moment of the game leaves me laughing & smiling. Seriously the humor is top notch this time around. Then comes the gameplay. Well it's familiar but from the last three games (plus NIS plethora of other SRPG') it's fine tuned to near perfection. This is literally everything I wanted out of a Disgaea game & I could even dare say tops the original. RPG fans : play this. Strategy fans : play this. If you havent played a Disgaea game : start here. Many who jumped into the series after the original dont seem to like this entry, the reasons why I wouldnt understand. Stay clear if youre one of those or if you cant stand anime (especially if you cant handle some subtle fan service). But otherwise this is a phenomenal game in my eyes, my favorite game of 2013. Play it, love it, sink a good 100+ hours into it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
Worth every penny
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/13
Larfleeze
Location: MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Being a fan of the original PS2 series and all of NIS America, I have every Disgaea game but was really happy to see this released and more so to play it.
If you haven't tried Disgaea, pick this game up and enjoy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
This game is the best!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/13
Kamakiri
Location: Raceland, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It is the best of the Disgaea series, and can take a casual or beginner player; and make them master strategical rpg gaming!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
ITS AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/13
Kamakiri
Location: Raceland, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It is the best game series that I have discovered recently and have spent 80+ hours in each game up til now!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness
best game in the series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/13
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Intelligent additions and refinements make the true sequel to the original Disgaea the best game in the series yet.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.