GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Strategy Guides or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide

ABOUT THIS BOOK...
Average Customer Rating:
6
6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 540%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
Review 1 for Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
Needs huge improvements
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Detail: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Accuracy: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/13
GamerStrife
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Here are the pros and cons of getting this guide.
Pros:
Has a good guide for beginners
Shows what character you will get depending on what answer you choose.
Pictures of the furniture that can be collected and pictures of clothing that could be bought at the Able Sisters store.
Gives info on how to upgrade or how to unlock shops.
What day a event happens and birthdays on a miniature calender
and more.
Cons:
Guide shows
Prices for fossils and fish of only how much it would cost if bought instead of how much it would be if sold.
Says the wrong months for when certain fish can be caught.
Doesn't show how to place designs as furniture in your home.
Doesn't say how to tell the difference between the fake and real painting from Redd's tent.
Claims that the silver axe is unbreakable which is incorrect.
States unclearly that if exotic fruit is planted in your town that the value would be decreased if sold.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Detail: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Accuracy: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
Could be improved
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Detail: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Accuracy: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/13
GamerStrife
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Alright so I noticed somethings that seems confusing in the guide and some errors. One of the errors are under tools for the axe. It claims that the silver axe can't break which is incorrect. The pricing for the fishes and fossils only post the amount it would be if bought and not how much it would be if sold. It doesn't explain how you can use your designs as furniture either as well as how to tell apart the fake paintings from Redd's shop from the real ones. I forgot to mention that the time of day or time of the year for fishing a certain fish is somewhat wrong as well for some fish said it can only be caught in November but I have caught it in June.
The book does claim that it isn't for sure if the book is completely accurate or complete. (read in the last page of the book under important)
So those are all the cons.
As for pros it holds some pretty good information like when a event will start. What kinds of activities you can do. All the designs from the able sisters store and much more.
Sorry if this is to long I just wanted to point things out. Hope this helps in your decision in buying this product. Has a ton of good info in it, but not saying this is a perfect guide.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Detail: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Accuracy: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
Silver Shovel hint in description!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Accuracy: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/13
evan12320
Location: Columbia
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This guide is helpful for the gameplay and colorful too. The only reason I gave it a 9 was because the prices for buying or selling we're not exactly right. But if you love Animal Crossing New Leaf then I would get this guide. P.S. if you want a silver shovel you have to donate at least 20 things to the Museum of all four categories bugs, fish, fossils and art for Redds tent, but it has to be real. After doing that donate 15 fossils or however many you need but the total is 15 to get silver shovel. After that the next day you walk in the Museum Blathers asks you about the Museum remodeling and then the second floor which is a shop is available as a public work project and the silver shovel is for sale for 500$ bells.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
6 out of 10(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Accuracy: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
The first and last time I'll ever buy a Primaguide
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Detail: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Accuracy: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/13
Anonymous
Location: California
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Absolutely terrible guide. Information regarding how to upgrade stores is vague, for example, in order to upgrade from Nookling Junction one must have paid the down payment on their house(10,000bells) and have spent at least spent 12,000 bells in the store. The guide only advises to "spend lots of bells" BUT THE REAL REASON THIS GUIDE IS SO HORRIBLE IS: The listed prices for every item in the guide (fish, furniture, bugs, clothing, EVERYTHING) are wrong. All of the prices are for some reason MULTIPLIED BY 4 causing things like black bass to be listed as being worth 1,200 BELLS and thing like the horned hercules being listed as BEING WORTH 58,000 BELLS. It's absolutely pathetic that ENTIRE 336 page catalog of EVERY ITEM IN THE GAME is so wrong. My only consolation is that I got this guide for free using my power up rewards points. I STRONGLY ADVISE AGAINST GETTING THIS GUIDE. PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Detail: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Accuracy: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
Lots of Errors
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Detail: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Accuracy: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/13
awesome0clock
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought this for my sister yesterday for both of our copies of the game and we immediately noticed a huge error by all of the prices in the price guide were 4 times the actual prices in the game. Also in the fossil guide, the repeated many pictures for different fossils. Overall though aside from those errors its a great guide for the game, though I wish that they head proof read it before sending it out with such big mistakes /:
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Detail: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Accuracy: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
justanotherbuyer
california
 
Please wait while more information about justanotherbuyer is loaded.
Additional information about justanotherbuyer could not be loaded.
You need to read section headers
Posted 6/17/13
At the beginning of the price guide there is a guide to the many aspects of every item. If you notice, the word value is shown and described as suggested retail price. This being there to let readers know how much is the max you will be able to sell an item. It clearly states that the items real selling price is 1/4 of the suggested value listed. The fossils as well aren't repeated if you compare them in game. If you do not believe I am more than happy to mail you a screenshot via email of the exact page: p333 for clothing in the middle. p179 for furniture.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
A must have!
Posted on:6/6/13
Maere
Location: Riverside, CA
Animal Crossing guides are great. I highly recommend them to anyone who plans to get an animal crossing. With them you can look at the complete lists of items and go "shopping" for what you want to collect, sell, etc. It's kind of like a magazine in a way! I am excited for the smaller size, it's really cute! I am going to be looking through this book just as much as I play the game! Plus the checklists of every item (which I am sure are accompanied with pictures again) are so nice for a completionist OR just for fun. =) Happy Gaming all!!! CAN'T WAIT UNTIL SUNDAY!
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
Count Down
Posted on:6/5/13
Zelda63
Location: Sunny Florida
4 1/2 days until THE NEW ANIMAL CROSSING New Leaf!
I always purchase the guides to go with my favorite titles. Must have!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
6 out of 10(11)
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
Oh....my....grawd....
Posted on:5/13/13
FoxyKeiko
Location: Michigan
I am SO EXCITED for this game to be coming out! And even more so that I may actually be able to get the guide!! Im 21 but even my dad (who is turning 50 this year) loves to play Animal Crossing for the fishing! Animal Crossing is great fun for everyone and I feel the guild will help me to play the game to the MAX!!
-Keiko
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
CAN'T WAIT!!!
Posted on:5/8/13
NibblesForever
Location: California
I always get the starteggy guides for animal crossing even though some have mistakes. I can't wait to get this one along with the gaame =D Only 1 month left ^^
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WhoopWhoop
Minneapolis, Minnesota
 
Please wait while more information about WhoopWhoop is loaded.
Additional information about WhoopWhoop could not be loaded.
$$$
Posted 5/29/13
I'm planning on getting the guide along with the game, because theres no way I could play without it. But 20 dollars worth.... a little over priced... o.o
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
Looks like another great Animal Crossing Guide!
Posted on:4/30/13
sealboy
I am definitely getting the game, but I need a strategy guide to help me and give me all the helpful hints. I got the one for ACCF and it was great. Informative, helpful and interesting. If you are getting the game, certainly get this with it. I'm sure it will be great!
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
Getting Through
Posted on:4/7/13
tkdninja
Location: Mesa, AZ
I for one can't get through a game satisfied without looking up how to do things on the internet. Cheats and walkthroughs are pretty lame because the fun of the game is figuring it out yourself but these guides help answer the questions that arise when playing. Definitely getting it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 12 found this review helpful.