GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shin Megami Tensei IV

The Shin Megami Tensei RPG series began in Japan in 1992 on Super Famicom. Neither this game nor its sequel was published in North America. In 2004 Shin Megami Tensei III: Nocturne was the first SMT game in North America, although "III" was removed from the PlayStation 2 title. The SMT series later spun-off several sub-series, including Persona, Devil Summoner, Devil Survivor, Digital Devil Saga, and the standalone Strange Journey. This new RPG is considered the fourth in the Shin Megami Tensei mainline series.
Average Customer Rating:
9.6
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
4
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1587%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Review 1 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
SMT: IV is TOP SHELF gaming
Posted on:6/19/13
Helel
Location: astral realm 666
The Shin Megami Tensei series is fantastic; with luminous occult themes, charming philosophical dialogue and characters, and respectfully challenging gameplay. SMT IV looks surprisingly beautiful on the 3DS, and the mobile format of the handheld lends itself perfectly to RPG's of this calibre. 3DS owners who are fans of this series or RPG's as a genre would do well to heed this title. I have to praise ATLUS for being the spiritual successors to Game Arts/ Working Designs (Lunar 2: Silver Star Story, Arc the Lad) with their expansive limited edition packages. The limited edition version of SMT: IV promises to be a keeper. Maybe some jewelry in the future, ATLUS? Or at least the dualistic 3DS XL?
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
SMT IV = NO BRAINER
Posted on:4/21/13
MAZE1
Location: San Francisco, Ca.
Those familiar with the Shin Megami Tensei series know that it has the highest level of art design combined with seriously philisophical and psychologically interesting stories and dialogue. The gameplay of this series is strategic yet fast paced and uses a varying turn-based battle system in which attacking enemies with elements/attack types they are vulnerable to can grant more turns, and likewise with enemies attacking your party. For those not in the know but with a love for dark art and rpgs I highly recommend any game in this series. My personal favorites are Nocturne (to which IV is the sequel to), Strange Journey and the Digital Devil Saga.
SMT 4 LIFE!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
freaking out
Posted on:4/2/13
beefsteak
Location: Frisco, TX
The SMT series has always been really good at keeping their series fresh. Every time I watch videos for SMT IV It amazes me about how well it looks on the 3DS. Instead of a wasting your time with a long message about my love affair with SMT, I highly suggest spending that time watching videos for this game. Long story short, this will be one of those top 3DS games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
It's SMT4 Whats not to love?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/14
Kitsunetails
Location: Johnstown, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Shin Megami Tensei IV is a spectacular game, so much so that I bought the Limited Edition and then when my dog chewed it up I bought it again even though I was nearly done with the game. I can't tell you in words how much I love this game. Basically you go to a city and the gauntlet chooses you as a samurai. Soon you learn about demons existing and must kill them or get them to join you. Then the "Black Samurai" is changing people into demons and you must capture her, which leads you to a parallel world in Tokyo.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Shin Megami Tensei = Best franchise ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/13
Anonymous
Location: Snellville, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This would have to be my most anticipated game of 2013, I had dreams about playing this game before it came out but then waking up and being mad that it wasn't real.
First of all, the gameplay. The gameplay uses a press-turn system where you can gain more turns by striking an enemy's weak point or scoring a critical hit. If you have a demon that you don't need to attack for a turn, you can pass that turn to your next demon without losing the turn, however you can't pass extra turns. Sometimes you or your demons will "smirk" making their next attack much more powerful, but be careful, it can be a nightmare when an enemy (especially a boss) does that to you. The dungeon crawling in this game is great, and the out of battle graphics are superb for the 3DS. This game also uses the wonderful demon fusion that previous MegaTen games use, however, there is no triple fusion (except with special fusion).
Like most non-persona MegaTen games, this game's plot involves the forces of God and Lucifer going head-to-head, fighting over whether the world should be filled with chaos and ruled by the strong, or a lawful world of complete peace and order with limited freedom. This is all up to the player to decide, there is no "Good" or "Evil", you take the path that is best for you.
If you want a fast paced RPG with an epic plot and a insanely addicting gameplay, buy this game. Also you should check out other MegaTen games, they're all awesomse.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Limited Edition Announced
Posted on:4/17/13
Anonymous
Location: Jefferson City, MO
If you were wondering why it costs $50, its because of a limited edition. It comes with 100 page book and CD. I was exited before but now I'm super stoked! By the way, Soul Hackers is awesome and has great music. Can't wait!!!
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Get it trust me
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/13
negimaknight
Location: Vancouver WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The reason i am making this so early is to tell people register your fire emblem and smt 4 so you can 30 dollars from Nintendo it is so worth it plus the game is so great I know people will want it. Not only are getting the game but for 1st wave people get Collectors edition which comes with a brilliant well made art-Strargey book and you also get music for i-pods. But soon after words everyone else is stuck with the game and no good stuff. Now for the comments I was very surprised how good the first 4 hours is and very pleased so I would recommended this game to not only new people but also old fans of the smt-Persona franchise so pick up this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
The Reason I Bought A 3ds XL.
Posted on:4/26/13
GoodAgg12
Location: Flower Mound, TX
This, along with the other Shin Megami Tensei games and Fire Emblem, is the reason I picked up a 3ds xl. I love all of the SMT games in the series, favorites being the persona games and Nocturne. I cannot wait to pick this game up and the limited edition box set is a must have for any fan.
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Awesome gameplay
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/14
Triforceangel17
Location: Moncks corner, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game really impressed me greatly. When i played this game i was blown away by the graphics of it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Of course I'm buying it!
Posted on:4/20/13
tri4ceofpowr
Location: Baltimore
Who am I, some guy who isn't a die hard SMT fan? Day one purchase. No if, and or's or but's. Not only do I love SMT, but I am a huge fan of the setting. In fact, it's arguably my favorite setting across all mediums.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Game is looking good. :):):)
Posted 4/25/13
This game looks very epic. It will have a very meaningful story as well. The Graphics looks very good as well. Hope you enjoy it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Next Gen Demon Recruitment
Posted on:4/2/13
takuyayagami
Location: San German,PR
I've been a loyal SMT fan, adding the new feature to the 3ds it will sure make the experience new :D
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Unexpected, but probably worth it
Posted on:6/9/13
Cannibox
Location: Chicago, Il
I've been a fan of the Shin Megami Tensei series for quite some time, I still don't know how this game managed to slip under my radar. At any rate, upon seeing the 50 dollar price tag I was a bit skeptical, until I did a bit more research. Lets start with the game. It has been out for a month or so in Japan, and the reviews have been stellar, Famitsu magazine gave it a 37 out of 40, which is high praise for them. As for the other content, the artbook/strategy guide, cd, etc......you are essentially adding 10$ to the price of a new game for premium goods. I, personally, can live with that and will be putting a deposit down shortly. If you can't, then don't, but if you care enough to pre-order the game, why not?
Review 13 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
The Best RPG On The 3DS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/13
Dartfires
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
You wont find a game like this everyday. Shin Megami Tensei 4 is the fourth installment in the SMT series, and if you've played SMT 3 Nocturne, you'll feel right at home with this one. This game is also insanely difficult, so be ready to die, alot. Without having this review drag on for hours, to put simply, this game belongs in every RPG lovers 3DS library. Its worth every penny.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
SMT IV. I LOVE THIS SERIES WITH A PASSION!
Posted on:7/2/13
PHAILTAR
Location: Vancouver, WA
I have been a fan of the SMT series since I first found out about persona 3 portable. This game is epic, no doubt. You go around fusing demons and collecting demons while running around (It's sorta like a better version of pokemon, considering it's turn based). I love anime style turn based RPG's; this is also no exception because it is my favorite rpg series (Sorry pokemon, I love you too) and I thought this game would never happen. but now it's finally for my 3DS!!!! Cheers to Atlus! Anyone who likes turn based RPG's will love this and many other games in the series. I'm getting it, and so should you.
Review 15 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
SMT: @ it's FINEST~! Recommended
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/13
RiRyn
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Wow, this is fantastic. Currently, I'm up to the Gate to the Unclean world, and the gatekeeper there (That's only from one day of play, on the release date). It's great, wonderful. I pre-ordered it from the GS in my town, well worth the extra money for the Guide/Art book and CD. It's great and flawless. A tad bit awkward to move the unit (you, the player) but excellent none the less. 10/10 from me, and I think a 37/40 from famitsu. That speaks pretty well, if you ask me! Plus, I'm dang excited to be able to get downloadable content, both free and with purchase which makes me ecstatic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Amazing!
Posted on:4/3/13
SilentShadow
Location: california,Ca
ATLUS never fails in giving a great story line and amazing visuals especially if with a SMT game I'm already gona pre order this since it'll be hardto find like alot of the SMT games but why is it 50? Is it a special edition?
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Why Have I Never Heard of This!?!?!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/13
MrMeanie
Location: Lancaster, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay so I bought this game for the 30$ promotion (Me owning Fire Emblem Awakening already), I got a new copy for 20$ so I thought the deal was a-okay! I got the 30$ and left this game to collect dust because I had no interest in the game I just wanted the money. But one day I said to myself "I should test the game" that was the best decision in my life. This game is truly amazing game! It's so addicting and I haven't been able to put this game down! Get this game, get this game, get this game, get this game, get this game, all I can say.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
shin megami 4 shifting to a new generation
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/13
gamestriker
Location: new york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
gamestriker here after a short absence to talk about smt4. we all love samurai and hey you get 2 be one here. join the Mikado kingdoms samurai task force to defend the world from demons. your comrades will try and persuade you to see the events in their light. tons of gameplay and many demons to fuse and evolve. for the first time the 4 arch herald angles and a familiar friend will re-emerge. destroy save or both. whose side are you on herald or demon.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Another great addition!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/13
Jenbunni
Location: AR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've always been a huge SMT fan, but this game has been great. My only complaint is that the sound quality isn't the greatest. Even with the volume turned all the way up in options and on the 3DS, it's hard to enjoy all the wonderful voice acting without headphones. However, the setting and plot were a refreshing take on their ideas about demons. It is easy to die early on though, but it's worth it to get back up and continue playing. If you've liked any of their previous games, this is definitely something to check out!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Epic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
superhyrulelink
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was my first Shin Megami Tensei game. I didn't know anything about this franchise until I got this game. This game is very fun and now I'm totally into playing more SMT games. This game is fairly difficult and challenging.(well part of it was because I was new) The graphics are amazing. The characters are amazing. The story is amazing. Yea, so this game is simply amazing!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>