GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shin Megami Tensei IV

The Shin Megami Tensei RPG series began in Japan in 1992 on Super Famicom. Neither this game nor its sequel was published in North America. In 2004 Shin Megami Tensei III: Nocturne was the first SMT game in North America, although "III" was removed from the PlayStation 2 title. The SMT series later spun-off several sub-series, including Persona, Devil Summoner, Devil Survivor, Digital Devil Saga, and the standalone Strange Journey. This new RPG is considered the fourth in the Shin Megami Tensei mainline series.
Average Customer Rating:
9.643
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1486%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Review 1 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Awesome gameplay
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/14
Triforceangel17
Location: Moncks corner, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game really impressed me greatly. When i played this game i was blown away by the graphics of it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
The Best RPG On The 3DS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/13
Dartfires
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
You wont find a game like this everyday. Shin Megami Tensei 4 is the fourth installment in the SMT series, and if you've played SMT 3 Nocturne, you'll feel right at home with this one. This game is also insanely difficult, so be ready to die, alot. Without having this review drag on for hours, to put simply, this game belongs in every RPG lovers 3DS library. Its worth every penny.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Epic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
superhyrulelink
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was my first Shin Megami Tensei game. I didn't know anything about this franchise until I got this game. This game is very fun and now I'm totally into playing more SMT games. This game is fairly difficult and challenging.(well part of it was because I was new) The graphics are amazing. The characters are amazing. The story is amazing. Yea, so this game is simply amazing!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
shin megami 4 shifting to a new generation
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/13
gamestriker
Location: new york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
gamestriker here after a short absence to talk about smt4. we all love samurai and hey you get 2 be one here. join the Mikado kingdoms samurai task force to defend the world from demons. your comrades will try and persuade you to see the events in their light. tons of gameplay and many demons to fuse and evolve. for the first time the 4 arch herald angles and a familiar friend will re-emerge. destroy save or both. whose side are you on herald or demon.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Great RPG, keep you engage for hours
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/13
tmchung26
Location: Elk Grove, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great game, I love atlus and the Persona series which made purchasing SMT a no brainer. This is by far one of the best games for the console up there with the top games like fire emblem!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Why Have I Never Heard of This!?!?!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/13
MrMeanie
Location: Lancaster, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay so I bought this game for the 30$ promotion (Me owning Fire Emblem Awakening already), I got a new copy for 20$ so I thought the deal was a-okay! I got the 30$ and left this game to collect dust because I had no interest in the game I just wanted the money. But one day I said to myself "I should test the game" that was the best decision in my life. This game is truly amazing game! It's so addicting and I haven't been able to put this game down! Get this game, get this game, get this game, get this game, get this game, all I can say.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Definitely love this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/13
Flinders
Location: Woodstock, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first started this game up I wasn't expecting what's going on at first since this is my first time ever playing a Shin Megami Tensei game but after I kept going fighting demons/recruiting demons and completing quests I got very interested in the story-line. This game is by far the most played game from me and my small DS and 3DS collection and gonna keep enjoying it. :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Shin Megami Tensei = Best franchise ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/13
Anonymous
Location: Snellville, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This would have to be my most anticipated game of 2013, I had dreams about playing this game before it came out but then waking up and being mad that it wasn't real.
First of all, the gameplay. The gameplay uses a press-turn system where you can gain more turns by striking an enemy's weak point or scoring a critical hit. If you have a demon that you don't need to attack for a turn, you can pass that turn to your next demon without losing the turn, however you can't pass extra turns. Sometimes you or your demons will "smirk" making their next attack much more powerful, but be careful, it can be a nightmare when an enemy (especially a boss) does that to you. The dungeon crawling in this game is great, and the out of battle graphics are superb for the 3DS. This game also uses the wonderful demon fusion that previous MegaTen games use, however, there is no triple fusion (except with special fusion).
Like most non-persona MegaTen games, this game's plot involves the forces of God and Lucifer going head-to-head, fighting over whether the world should be filled with chaos and ruled by the strong, or a lawful world of complete peace and order with limited freedom. This is all up to the player to decide, there is no "Good" or "Evil", you take the path that is best for you.
If you want a fast paced RPG with an epic plot and a insanely addicting gameplay, buy this game. Also you should check out other MegaTen games, they're all awesomse.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
The Wait is Over
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/13
SEALEDKYUUBI
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It has been forever since the release of a main line Shin Megami game following Nocturne but the wait is finally over. As a long time fan I'm happy to report that this game has met my expectations. Basically it is very similar to the recently released Soul Hackers and liked that, you are bound to enjoy this game. The story follows a teenage boy who is chosen as a Samurai and quickly finds himself fighting his way through dungeons, taming demons, and eventually forging a path in his own world. The majority of the time you'll be exploring diverse and impressive looking dungeons from a third person perspective (which is different from the first person soul hackers). The exploration is excellent and so are the battles and customization/menu system. It is turn based combat where you and demons will tackle other piles of demons, making it very similar to past entries. You will also spend time interacting with all sorts of characters. From your fellow samurai, to the demons that you forge fighting contracts with, your choices will impact the story. Though at times mild, you get a say in some things so that makes it all the more compelling. The soundtrack and voices are also stellar which is not new for the Shin Megami series but should still be commended. I can really only come up with 2 things I think would make this game much better. First, though unique, the story was not as strong as it has been in past entries. This could just be me talking, but I did not find myself connecting with characters like in Nocturne and Soul Hackers so I think those things could have been done better. Also, while dungeons and many character models are solid. The demons and battle system has not seen much improvement from the time of Soul Hackers. I expected to see some ferocious animated demon's to do battle with, but I was met with 2-D models in dull backgrounds. While these things are by no means turn offs to me I can see them bugging other people as the 3DS is fully capable of a better system. This is a fantastic addition to the Shin Megami Franchise, and I would recommend it to any RPG, Dungeon Crawler, of Shin Megami fan.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Must have.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/13
Bakaji
Location: Glendale, az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Perfect & addicting. Total of about 10 hours in & I haven't even really scratched the surface of the completion of the game. Must buy for fans of the series. I also got the collectors box - it's so pretty to look at.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Shin Megami Tensei iv
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/13
jking288
Location: lithonia,ga
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
its gonna be cool im gettin it tday!!!! my friends tell me about it all the time it has veyy cool graphics
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Another great addition!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/13
Jenbunni
Location: AR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've always been a huge SMT fan, but this game has been great. My only complaint is that the sound quality isn't the greatest. Even with the volume turned all the way up in options and on the 3DS, it's hard to enjoy all the wonderful voice acting without headphones. However, the setting and plot were a refreshing take on their ideas about demons. It is easy to die early on though, but it's worth it to get back up and continue playing. If you've liked any of their previous games, this is definitely something to check out!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
SMT: @ it's FINEST~! Recommended
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/13
RiRyn
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Wow, this is fantastic. Currently, I'm up to the Gate to the Unclean world, and the gatekeeper there (That's only from one day of play, on the release date). It's great, wonderful. I pre-ordered it from the GS in my town, well worth the extra money for the Guide/Art book and CD. It's great and flawless. A tad bit awkward to move the unit (you, the player) but excellent none the less. 10/10 from me, and I think a 37/40 from famitsu. That speaks pretty well, if you ask me! Plus, I'm dang excited to be able to get downloadable content, both free and with purchase which makes me ecstatic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Get it trust me
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/13
negimaknight
Location: Vancouver WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The reason i am making this so early is to tell people register your fire emblem and smt 4 so you can 30 dollars from Nintendo it is so worth it plus the game is so great I know people will want it. Not only are getting the game but for 1st wave people get Collectors edition which comes with a brilliant well made art-Strargey book and you also get music for i-pods. But soon after words everyone else is stuck with the game and no good stuff. Now for the comments I was very surprised how good the first 4 hours is and very pleased so I would recommended this game to not only new people but also old fans of the smt-Persona franchise so pick up this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
SMT IV. I LOVE THIS SERIES WITH A PASSION!
Posted on:7/2/13
PHAILTAR
Location: Vancouver, WA
I have been a fan of the SMT series since I first found out about persona 3 portable. This game is epic, no doubt. You go around fusing demons and collecting demons while running around (It's sorta like a better version of pokemon, considering it's turn based). I love anime style turn based RPG's; this is also no exception because it is my favorite rpg series (Sorry pokemon, I love you too) and I thought this game would never happen. but now it's finally for my 3DS!!!! Cheers to Atlus! Anyone who likes turn based RPG's will love this and many other games in the series. I'm getting it, and so should you.
Review 16 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
SMT: IV is TOP SHELF gaming
Posted on:6/19/13
Helel
Location: astral realm 666
The Shin Megami Tensei series is fantastic; with luminous occult themes, charming philosophical dialogue and characters, and respectfully challenging gameplay. SMT IV looks surprisingly beautiful on the 3DS, and the mobile format of the handheld lends itself perfectly to RPG's of this calibre. 3DS owners who are fans of this series or RPG's as a genre would do well to heed this title. I have to praise ATLUS for being the spiritual successors to Game Arts/ Working Designs (Lunar 2: Silver Star Story, Arc the Lad) with their expansive limited edition packages. The limited edition version of SMT: IV promises to be a keeper. Maybe some jewelry in the future, ATLUS? Or at least the dualistic 3DS XL?
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Unexpected, but probably worth it
Posted on:6/9/13
Cannibox
Location: Chicago, Il
I've been a fan of the Shin Megami Tensei series for quite some time, I still don't know how this game managed to slip under my radar. At any rate, upon seeing the 50 dollar price tag I was a bit skeptical, until I did a bit more research. Lets start with the game. It has been out for a month or so in Japan, and the reviews have been stellar, Famitsu magazine gave it a 37 out of 40, which is high praise for them. As for the other content, the artbook/strategy guide, cd, etc......you are essentially adding 10$ to the price of a new game for premium goods. I, personally, can live with that and will be putting a deposit down shortly. If you can't, then don't, but if you care enough to pre-order the game, why not?
Review 18 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
The Reason I Bought A 3ds XL.
Posted on:4/26/13
GoodAgg12
Location: Flower Mound, TX
This, along with the other Shin Megami Tensei games and Fire Emblem, is the reason I picked up a 3ds xl. I love all of the SMT games in the series, favorites being the persona games and Nocturne. I cannot wait to pick this game up and the limited edition box set is a must have for any fan.
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
SMT IV = NO BRAINER
Posted on:4/21/13
MAZE1
Location: San Francisco, Ca.
Those familiar with the Shin Megami Tensei series know that it has the highest level of art design combined with seriously philisophical and psychologically interesting stories and dialogue. The gameplay of this series is strategic yet fast paced and uses a varying turn-based battle system in which attacking enemies with elements/attack types they are vulnerable to can grant more turns, and likewise with enemies attacking your party. For those not in the know but with a love for dark art and rpgs I highly recommend any game in this series. My personal favorites are Nocturne (to which IV is the sequel to), Strange Journey and the Digital Devil Saga.
SMT 4 LIFE!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shin Megami Tensei IV
Of course I'm buying it!
Posted on:4/20/13
tri4ceofpowr
Location: Baltimore
Who am I, some guy who isn't a die hard SMT fan? Day one purchase. No if, and or's or but's. Not only do I love SMT, but I am a huge fan of the setting. In fact, it's arguably my favorite setting across all mediums.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Game is looking good. :):):)
Posted 4/25/13
This game looks very epic. It will have a very meaningful story as well. The Graphics looks very good as well. Hope you enjoy it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>