GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dynasty Warriors 8

As with previous titles in the series, DYNASTY WARRIORS 8 follows the stories of the kingdoms of Wei, Wu, Shu and Jin through the actions of historical military and political figures of the time as they fight to gain control over the Three Kingdoms of China.
Average Customer Rating:
7.125
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 862%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dynasty Warriors 8
Review 1 for Dynasty Warriors 8
Pretty good so far
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/13
Dualbird12
I'm a fan of the dynasty warriors game. I was a little hesitant when buying this one because I heard about the major lag issues on the Xbox 360 version of the game. I did some research and found out they released a patch that helps with the lag issue so I took a risk and bought the game last night. I have yet to get any serious lag issues. At times there is a slight slow down of speed in the game but it's barely worth mentioning. Anyway I'm really liking the game so far.
I haven't gotten too far into the game yet but it's pretty good so far. I've played some of the story mode and it's pretty good so far. I started playing around with ambition mode a little while ago. It's interesting I guess. Still trying to figure it out though. I'm impressed by the graphics of this game. The voice acting isn't all that great at times like others have said. That's fine though. I'd recommend this game to anyone who likes this series and also to just anyone who would like to give this series a shot.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Dynasty Warriors 8
Highly Anticipated
Posted on:6/26/13
Vlen
Location: USA
after the success of 7 I can only imagine how beautiful 8 is going to be, and from everything i've seen and had access to via demos and previews I can only say this: I want it. I expect a masterpiece, incorporating the great features from 7 as well as bringing back some of 6's amazing weapons (Wire claws especially in my case), as well as new elements and characters, the only way i can be disappointed in this game is if they exclude the Xtreme Legends and Empires expansions from Multiplatform again, which i highly doubt after the volume of xbox DW fans expressed their disappointment with 7's lack of expansions.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BAW2837
Ohio, OH
 
Please wait while more information about BAW2837 is loaded.
Additional information about BAW2837 could not be loaded.
Love this series!!
Posted 7/16/13
I have played this game since dw4, and this series only had one bad game out of like 20. And that was dw6 and dw6 empires. Ive seen so many walk throughs/ gameplay that i cant wait till i can get for the Xbox 360. Haven't played it yet but i know there will be absolutely no disappointments.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Dynasty Warriors 8
Ooober Exited
Posted on:7/2/13
DynastyFin1
Location: Hesperia, Ca
Mann i pre ordered my copy about 3 weeks ago! And I am counting down the days. I have played every one even the first one. I have owned all of them and im only 18. I guess im kind of addicted. Every one says they are all repetitive but dont get the concept. But i know I will have mine on the 16th and will be playing it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynasty Warriors 8
Old meets New
Posted on:4/6/13
DW246
Location: Tamriel, Skyrim
I have been a DW fan for about 3 years now and have played 3 games.
This seems to bring back to bring back some characters from past games( Meng hou and his wife). Also, Much to my delight, the character designs are similar to DW 2. Also, a lot of characters who are just random officers in the previous games are now playable( Liu Shan, Zhang bao). So if your a fan of the DW series you should like this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Scardro
Springfield,Ma
 
Please wait while more information about Scardro is loaded.
Additional information about Scardro could not be loaded.
Posted 5/31/13
Dynasty Warriors 7 Brought them back everyone from 5 is in 7 and DW8 brings Zou Ci back
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Dynasty Warriors 8
China is in more peril with more warriors
Posted on:4/29/13
strayrogue
Location: Harrington Park, New Jersey
i have been looking into his game for 6 months now and i knew that it had came out in japan in February. i loved dynasty warriors from the start especially the originals like 3 and 4. Dynasty warriors is one of the longest run video game titles in the world. if i had to either buy the game The Last of Us or Dynasty Warriors 8, i would choose 8.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynasty Warriors 8
By far a awesome Series
Posted on:5/31/13
Scardro
Location: Springfield,Ma
So yep this game and the ones before it are awesome some people say these game are repetitive but those people never sat down to play a whole story\musou mode for someone or a kingdom(Depending on the game) never once have I been disappointed in one of these games and I sure won't be with this one it adds so many weapons and characters no longer have minor cloned movesets(If you played DW7:E you'd know) I actually pulled out my broken ps3(Doesn't read disc) just to download DW7:E but yes the game isn't bad at all by far one of the best games out for it's genre and remember if a game is at it's number 8 then that just means it has many many many fans this is one of the few games alive that actually cares about their fan's opinion they actually had polls for some of the new characters
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynasty Warriors 8
Lazy and a Disappointment
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/14
Malevolent
Location: Orlando, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me first begin by say the previous Dynasty Warriors 7 was an amazing switch to a new direction of gameplay for the Dynasty Warriors series with rpg-like prebattle dialogue and purchases, faster battles with Devilmaycry like flamboyant fighting linking combos together, as well as a much more tolerable and less grind story mode which you don't need to free mode characters and level up to surpass even on the harder difficulties which seemed to scale with your character's level. Unfortunately Dynasty Warriors 8 seems like a rehash, watered down version of Dynasty Warriors 7 where even the prebattle monologue was stripped out forcing you just to read along the small grey text over a picture of a bland map of China as well as the same prebattle conversations with soldiers and generals ALSO with the dialogue stripped out forcing you to have to read the small text yet again... This game was pumped out too quickly and like ROTK 12, Dynasty Gundam 3 was a complete disappointment and lazily done when comparing to its previous title. I'm returning it tomorrow, as I have found very few things that make it better than 7 and a lot of cases where they seemed to take a step backwards. One of the few advancements that seemed good enough to take note of is the body count during battle. Seems like the amount of soldiers allowed on screen to combat doubled, maybe even tripled from the previous iteration. But that alone doesn't constitute purchasing this title. I have been a fan of the series since the original Dynasty Warriors and overall fan of the ROTK series since ROTK 1 on the NES.... believe me when I say this game will be a disappointment to you
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 8 for Dynasty Warriors 8
Best Dynasty Ever!
Posted on:4/4/13
iKing
Location: PR
i've been always a fan of this series since the first on psone and knowing that this game will come overseas and on xbox it gets me very excited that i will get the chance to play and have 10,000 kills of soldiers lol!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DW246
Tamriel, Skyrim
 
Please wait while more information about DW246 is loaded.
Additional information about DW246 could not be loaded.
Posted 4/6/13
Playing as Lu Bu on Gwan Du in DW 6 was always fun. Can't wait to get this. If you want to play it together my Gamertag is Sparten494. This will be my second time playing a online DW game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Dynasty Warriors 8
Just pre-ordered my copy.
Posted on:6/6/13
Alzor
Location: In my mom's basement, eating hotpockets.
I've been playing the Dynasty Warriors game series since I was 9, when Dynasty Warriors 2 came out, waaay back in 2000. I've always enjoyed the series, tho I wasn't fond of DW7. I'm glad their bringing back Free Play, and adding in such a massive amount of story modes, the likes of which we haven't seen in several games. Now if we could just get them to bring back bodyguards and custom characters!
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BAW2837
Ohio, OH
 
Please wait while more information about BAW2837 is loaded.
Additional information about BAW2837 could not be loaded.
Best one yet
Posted 12/26/13
I don't know why people said it was horrible I heard about all the glitches and the slowness but it actually was not slow for me at all. The characters fight the exact same speed as the seventh one. Although they could've improved the graphics
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Dynasty Warriors 8
Someone has same my problem?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/13
Geniex
Location: New Haven
i just bought DW 8 ENG at Gamestop this afternoon, after i copy game to my Xbox360 HDD, when I played the first game status occurs frequently stutters, slow motion phenomena throughout the game, the game is broken image, I try to bring to the new Xbox 360, but still occurs, so I have read on forums and game situation that many people like me they have returned to the game and Gamestop refund.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynasty Warriors 8
Best one in the franchise yet go pick it up.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/13
NewGeneration
Location: United States
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If u never played a dynasty warriors it is a great way to learn about the Chinese kingdoms of the past,plus it s tons of fun. If played or even u skipped some of the last few then I still think u should pick this one up. I have but only one complaint it can be laggy at times but I think an update will probably fix that. If u like dynasty warriors pick it up because this one was really good and the franchise sees more support we can see an even better one in the future.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynasty Warriors 8
Slowness and No Commentary = Disappointed
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/13
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The slowness of motion and no English commentary turn the game down completely. That's not worth the waiting time and my expectations for a professional game-maker like Techmo Koei. I still totally disappoint about this version unless they release a statement to explain why they didn't pay attention to these basic matters of a big game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynasty Warriors 8
My favorite one yet, but the lag is unbelievable
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/13
Timeinit
Location: Tulsa, OK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been following this series since I was a kid and they've never let me down. A part from the voice acting gradually getting worse, it can be easily over looked for the most part because this game is just so awesome. The worst thing about this one is the lag, I noticed it from DW7 but it seems to be incredibly bad in this game. Usually when you're around huge mobs everything just starts slowing down, A LOT. I hope it's something that gets fixed sometime soon.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Dynasty Warriors 8
a game to bring those memories back
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/13
megaman45258
Location: Fort Worth, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game in a whole was one of the best in the series next to dynasty warriors 3. Other than the lag, that will probably be fixed in a update, this game combines all that we loved in the best of the best parts of all of dynasty warriors. For those that may say the series is the same each game. I say they are fools for not fully understanding the game that is in front of them.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Dynasty Warriors 8
"A new and improved dynasty warriors"
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/13
rengokum
Location: north carolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
To tell the truth i just recently got into this amazing franchise and let me tell ya im glad i went to gamestop and picked up a random game (dynasty warriors 7) after playing it for hours on end i realized how great the game truly was. it had a deep engaging story that keep me begging for more all the way up to the jin campaign. a fun and addicting fighting mechanic and the characters were great to look at and fun to play as.
so it was a no brainer that i was gonna pick up number 8 and here is what i thought of it.
STORY: it should be no surprise to returning dynasty warriors fans, the story for the game has been the same for every franchise excluding the empires games of course but if you haven't played any of the games ill give you a rundown of what your in for. in dynasty warriors you play 4 campaigns. any of them can be started at anytime so no tedious unlocking is needed here (but i would recommend going in order wei wu shu jin.) the story is about three warlords cao cao of wei sun jian of wu and liu bei of shu.who in which main goal is to unify feudal china under one rule but in the end the country is split into three wei in the north wu to the east and shu to the west. all of them win and lose in the fight for power and some warriors die for their dream of unification. its a story told many times before but unfortunately i thought dynasty warriors 7 told the story better but this game succeeds in giving you the story and then some. if certain requirements are made in battle a alternate path can be chosen to play through giving the player a alternate look of dynasty warriors and experience a "what if" scenario which i thought was thought provoking and very inspiring.
GAMEPLAY: dynasty warriors 8 takes the old formula and amps it up for a more fast paced and overall FUN dynasty warriors experience. the critics weren't kidding when they said "this is the dynasty warriors game we've all been waiting for" it truly delivers on all aspects of fighting. it truly makes you feel like a true unstoppable juggernaut on the field though, some characters are slower than others they still pack a punch.
THE RAGE SYSTEM: the newest addition to the combat is the rage meter.. when full your warrior can unleash a fury attack that just annihilates everything in your path. your practically a tornado of unstoppable awesomeness, not to mention your combo's multiply like x10 so if you plan on executing huge combos this is the way to play. also each character has his or her own weapon unique to them and them only., of course you can always change your weapon if your getting tired of using the same weapons.
STORM RUSH: another new addition to the fighting style of the game is a new juggling mechanic. when you choose your weapon right before the start of the battle you can alter the element of your weapon. heaven earth man. say you equip heaven and your on the field and you see a enemy officer with a blue orb above their head this means you weapons element is stronger than the opponents and once you deplete the blue orb of its health you can initiate a juggle which sucks everybody in within the juggles radius. its a great way to charge your rage meter as well. if you are facing an officer who has an exclamation mark over their head this means your opponents weapon is stronger. which means you can counter his attack, when you see a blue flash (which is the enemy's sign for a charge attack) you can quickly dodge out of the way and attack him/or her with your weapon and then switch to your second weapon.
AMBITION MODE: if you decide to take a break from the story or have overall finished it go and check the game mode "AMBITION MODE" here your objective is to build a town and a tower to impress the fleeing emperor of china. if successful he will join you in your quest for power. you objective is simple. get the building materials to build the town and tower. once that's completed you can participate in three types of battles
skirmish: which are small scale battles that allow you to roam the open levels to find materials
Unconventional Battles: these battles give the player multiple objectives which help increase your fame
great battles: which helps the player recruit officers and other allies
duel: if you complete three consecutive matches a duel will appear, here you can capture a famous officer to help fight with you.
SOUND: the Soundtrack to dynasty warriors 8 is awesome from the rock n roll soundtrack to the amazing voice acting everything is on par. Each character has his or her own personality which draws you to them almost immediately, from the cheerful sun shangxiang to the noble and courageous liu bei, to the scheming sima yi. they all have there moments and they are all truly unique. the soundtrack is pretty much the same Dragon ball Z type music a mix of hair rock/METAL which isn't a bad thing in fact this time around they have taken some of the older songs from previous games and added them to the soundtrack. the only negative thing i have to say about the games soundtrack is the weak enemy generals voice acting. you begin to hear the same tired old sayings over and over. to the point where you mute the audio altogether.
THE VERDICT: Dynasty warriors 8 is the mindless fighting game we've all been waiting for. it tells the timeless tale of the three kingdoms and adds a well though out what if scenario for veteran players. the game adds more to the combat than it ever has in any of there games and the soundtrack is still fun to listen to with the stellar voice acting we've all come to know and love. its fun its addictive and if you have never heard of the three kingdoms drop what your doing and get this game. and if you are strapped on cash you dont need to wait long, dynasty warrior games never stay expensive for long.
DYNASTY WARRIORS 8 9/10 A true butt kicking experience
+Addictive gameplay
+new mechanics add to the already amazing formula
+new "ambition mode" adds more replay value
+over 80 characters to play as
-the story isn't nearly as fleshed out than previous installments
-can get repetitive if played for long periods of time (TAKE BREAKS)
-enemy voice acting can get annoying
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynasty Warriors 8
going back to their roots
Posted on:6/30/13
inno
Location: san diego, CA
I've played every dynasty warriors game (including the 3 orochi games) and this looks like it would be just like the old games, such as skirmishes, a story line for the "other" category, every character has their own moveset, a few more characters, a way to change the story in gameplay so every gameplay would be different (to an extent), and etc.
 
My Product Recommendations