GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate

Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City's most dangerous criminals, villains and assassins, players will meet many important characters for the first time.
Average Customer Rating:
7.556
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 978%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Review 1 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Honest Review
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/13
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
With the vita not having alot of games for it since its launch, this is one they did not need. You hear batman (my personal favorite hero) and ps vita you think wow with this powerful system this game is going to be amazing and it failed. I had high expectations for this I wanted this to be like the assassin creed game that came out last year then I seen the demo and it looked bad but I love batman so I had bought it (now I regret it). This game feels like the 1990s game comic zone only with upper scale graphics it feels more like a DS game or iPad or a smart phone game ported on the ps vita I like the motion comic it has for its cut scenes but the game play is Blah I played a little over 2 hours the day It came out and haven't played it since, nor do i care to. (probably going to sell it) the only thing I like about this is that its batman and fits well with Arkham origins on the consoles story wise other than that This is game has noting to make it special.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Beware not a 3D game!
Posted on:6/18/13
TooHuman
Location: Canada
I got the chance to play batman origins at 2013 E3 Event on the PSVita, and I was very surprised when I saw that it was not a console port, it was actually a 2D side scroller. ( more like 2.5D ) The game looks very detailed and is puzzling at times. I am however disappointed that the developers went this route with the hand held versions. It is too my knowledge that the 3DS is going to be the same as the VITA version. Just because it is a side croller does not mean it is not a fun and enticing game though, it just isn't what most people were hoping for. I recommend watching some videos on youtube of gameplay so you can get a look for yourself, because it is hard to describe how the 2D and 3D physics mold together, to make a more 2.5 dimentional game. Thanks for reading my review and have a great day.
42 of 53 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
ok
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/14
skyguy16
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was really excited when i heard about this game. When i started playing though it reminded me of a sonic game. Its kinda flat and there is not many combos you can string together in the gameplay. The story line is great though I just wish there was more.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Something to keep in mind...
Posted on:6/8/13
devilray10
Location: California
Something for people to keep in mind, is that this isn't the real, full game. This is a different game called Batman: Arkham Origins: Blackgate. It is a 2D fighter in the vein of Metroid. You may not want to pre-order it thinking that it is the console version.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
This game is great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/14
alexboss17
Location: Fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I actually enjoy this game on my spare time I give it a 8.5 the graphics are great and its really enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Addicting!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/14
SneakyPhantom
Location: Bunker Hill,WV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It is a very addicting game.It is challenging at some points in the game.It is a very fun game to play.I love playing this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Where is my DLC?!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/13
Kougen
Location: Worcester, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As much as I enjoyed the game, there was NO dlc for the psvita but for the other consoles they all received it. The story mode is extremely short you can beat it in 3 hours if you take you're time. I felt so jipped it's the whole reason why i preorded this was to get extra content but all i got was a standard copy. I was better off renting this had a known what i do. Go for the ps3 version or the other console version that this is on. Stay AWAY from the psvita version. No multiplayer mode, just a new game plus once it's complete. I'm still in shock i just traded it in this morning. I really hope that next time they do this, they don't rip out so much of the content. Overall my frustration and dissappointment is all i can offer in terms of a "review". have a good one guys
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
I wish it was a 3D game like the ps3.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/14
Theotherguy2
Location: Nowhere
Worst game ever, not like the ps3 Batman Arkham Origins and I will not recommend this game to a friend or person.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
DO NOT BUY
Posted on:10/14/13
ldkdarkknight
Location: THE US
Please dont waste your money. I watched a video on youtube about this game at ign, they said it was TERRIBLE! you may seem to like from gameplay but if u watch the video im sure u will change ur mind.
3 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Possibly The Best Looking Game on Vita
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/13
ValiantNow
Location: Indiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing, and possibly the best looking game on the Vita. The visual and artistic style is just a fresh of breath air for those of us who have been waiting for a title worth fighting for. Combat is fast, accurate, and realistic. It sounds great with headphones on. As a side scroller, it's reminiscent of NES and SNES Batman titles, but it's not always in that dimension, which i was surprised to find. There are some 3d parts too. It is a little difficult to get used to certain parts and actions, luckily you can start back up at your last checkpoint if you die. Overall, probably the best Vita game so far.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
batman goes ps vita
Posted on:4/9/13
assassin28
Location: Orange Cove
wow batman is now going to vita man hope its as good as arkham city!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KnightTime
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about KnightTime is loaded.
Additional information about KnightTime could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Posted 11/10/13
Its not it sucks
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
OMG!!! CAN'T WAIT!!!!
Posted on:4/13/13
doreese
Location: Jacksonville, FL
If this turns out to be just as or even more amazing than arkham city, other developers might finally start making more games for vita. Bioshock maybe?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
The Dark Knight on the Go?
Posted on:7/28/13
itachiuchiha17
Location: sandiego
The Dark knight finally is going to be released for its portable counterparts... Remember folks its going to be 2d not 3d as my original thoughts were its going to be a 3d looking game... My thoughts personally is I might not get it as I'm skeptical on how well it will turn out... Sometimes somthing new into the mix is a flop or a success in my opinnion it might look too much like the nintendo version and not have the originality that the playstiation games have promised as far as the graphics... I recommend to check it out and see how it looks before buying it... Thanks for reading my review have a good day!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Portable batman experience
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/13
kennyasaw
Location: Kennesaw, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Good game overall fighting mechanics are a lot like arkham asylum, only 2d, only negative thing is the map. It's pretty much useless you will get lost for hours at a period of time. But while your lost you can find a lot of the goodies they have hidden everywhere. Boss battles are pretty decent not that challenging nor easy. Overal a good batman portable experience and if you can afford it get it on the vita much better looking
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Good and Bad = Average!!!
Posted on:7/26/13
slyguy43
Location: severance,co
Armature, stay on the Nintendo side of things with Metroid, Sony is more than capable of handling things themselves, especially with the vita, you make this "2.5d Batman adventure" for us, and give us an after story on the game, with catwomen in it AGAIN!!! Hey, I love my superheros, especially on the DC comics side of them, but I would rather WB's other team to make this game, and instead of this 2.5d stuff, they make it open world 3rd person like the other arkham games.....if this actually happened, Im fine with possible framerate issues, just as long as we get another awesome arkham game!!!
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
I have a compeatly different point of view.
Posted 8/7/13
Metriod Prime is one of the BEST GAMES EVER MADE! I Armature is a very good company & I think they will make a out standing Handheld Batman for the Vita & 3DS. With great level designs and combat. I think this will have a good story and turn out great. Plus it looks kinda 3D even if its kinda 2D. I enjoy side scrollers. And yes it would be nice to have a realisic 3D Batman on handhelds but we already have that on the Home consoles so I think its nice that they are doing somthing different. I am looking forward to the handheld game even more than the console one honistly. God Bless
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
SO GETTING THIS
Posted on:4/20/13
MGSH
Location: Davie FL
I'm a huge fan of Batman and I just loved the past few Arkham games, they were just great. It really is great to know their going to make a Batman game for Ps Vita, I'M SO GETTING IT, NO QUESTIONS ASK.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/13
Spiderboy123
Location: ffr
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i bought this game the day it came out. played it right away not dissapointed. but at some pints its hard and boing but mostly really fun. it will last you atleast 3 months. The voices are amazing and so r the garphics. it uses the touch contrals and sensors for somethings. i think u should buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Looks Promising
Posted on:7/10/13
NFLFANBOY365
Location: McDonogh,GA
Even though its not like the console games it looks good as a side scroller and a 2.5 D game one of the first promising vita games :)
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ENreeX
 
Please wait while more information about ENreeX is loaded.
Additional information about ENreeX could not be loaded.
Very Metroid like game... I love it! Can't wait!
Posted 10/25/13
This game is actually very proimising, simply due to the fact that it is made by the team that made the Metroid Prime series. That alone is reason enough. It is a side scroller-type game but the environment and the characters are all in 3D. If you loved the Metroid Prime series then I guarantee you will like this! I know I'm getting this for my Vita.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Blahh
Posted on:10/11/13
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
this game looks terrible hopefully I'm wrong but watching the demo on youtube its noting like the console game it looks like a stinky game why do that to this beautiful vita that can stream ps4 games but make a game that looks like its coming out on the old Sega system
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Batman on Vita
Posted on:5/1/13
mattyicegeorgia
Location: Savannah, GA
When I first found out that Arkham Origins was coming to Vita as Batman: AO Blackgate, I was so pumped up for it. Then, I found out it would be a 2.5D game, and I was a bit let down, feeling that most likely crummy developer would be making the game, like BO: Declassified, but then I found out that the Armature Studios is developing the game and the director of the game is the same one that made the all of the Metroid Prime games, so now I'm really stoked to see what they could do.
1 2 next>>