GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate

Taking place before the rise of Gotham City's most dangerous criminals, villains and assassins, players will meet many important characters for the first time. The game showcases a young, raw, unrefined Batman as he faces a defining moment in his early career as a crime fighter that sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. As the story unfolds, witness identities being formed and key relationships being forged.
Average Customer Rating:
9.167
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Review 1 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Not What You Expect - Better
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/14
MagickBK
Location: Bucks County, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first picked up Arkham Origins: Blackgate, I was expecting a brawler. It wasn't what I expected, but by the end I really enjoyed what turned out to be a Metroidvania-style puzzle-platformer, in which you find yourself thinking like Batman. So often when presented with a room full of enemies, your first thought is to charge in and start beating up the bad guys, but once you settle in, you find yourself moving through the shadows picking off the bad guys one-by-one and sowing fear into your enemies. If anything, the only real downside is spending a lot of time figuring out how to get to something you can see, giving up, and then later finding an item that you realize is required to get there and having to backtrack, but that is the Metroidvania formula at work.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
fun for a handheld
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/13
mightymaggot15
this game is surprisingly awesome, especially since its on a handheld. I would recommend it to any one. It also has tons of unlockables.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lou84
 
Please wait while more information about Lou84 is loaded.
Additional information about Lou84 could not be loaded.
MetroidVania fans rejoice
Posted 12/21/13
If you're a fan of Metroid or Castlevania, or Metroidvania, you need to play this game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Fun But Very Boring
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/14
Jas50
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has terrible graphics, the sound is low EVEN IF YOU TURN IT UP TO FULL AUTO! Not only that but their are a lot of glitches!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 4 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
A Batman Arkham game on the 3DS! :):):)
Posted on:5/7/13
iLoveNintendoFlo
Location: America
Batman Arkham Origins on the 3DS is a 2.5 D Metriodvania game. Made by Armature they are a lot of Ex Retro Studios develpers at Armature. So they oflessly know what they are doing with this as they helped make the outstanding Metriod Prime games. I bet this game will have Bats and great puzzles as well as great comBAT! LOL The Story takes place after the events of Batman Arkham Origins on consoles. The past Batman Arkham games have a lot of atmosphere and great story. Thay were polish and have been some of the most well criticly well received games of the past generation. Needless to say lot's of people will be looking forward to see this game when it comes out this October. Start saving up money. :):):)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Save ur money.
Posted 6/26/13
Start saving money by not eating out so u can buy more video game it's worth it!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
TO ANYONE WHO THINKS THIS IS ARKHAM ORIGINS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/13
EPICLOLCATZ
This game is not Arkham Origins, it's Arkham Origins Blackgate, and takes place about three months into the future after Arkham Origins. It is still really good though, I would recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of the Batman Arkham series of games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Finally
Posted on:4/21/13
xman1998
Location: texas
I have always wanted to play Batman on the go can't wait until this comes out. I am defiantly going to preorder this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Shocked
Posted on:4/10/13
slyfan107
Location: Richmond, Virginia
I'm shocked that this game is coming to handhelds, even more shocked that its coming to the 3DS. Bat-Man on the go is even better. For anyone who wants the game for $20 bucks cheaper, then this should be the thing.
5 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Its good in its own way.
Posted 8/6/13
This is not a port of the console game its take Place after Batman Arkham Origins it has it's own levels & Story. But it is in the same universe & cannon. I am looking forward to the handheld game more than the console one.sence it's made by some of the devs from Metriod Prime one of my fav games! :D Also I am very disapointed about some of the things in Origins on Wii U. But this on 3DS Looks great!
Customer Avatar
DrGrimReaper
Batcave
 
Please wait while more information about DrGrimReaper is loaded.
Additional information about DrGrimReaper could not be loaded.
This isn't the same one.
Posted 4/17/13
This is not a direct port of the console game. This a game designed for the 3ds with its own story and setting. It takes place after the events of the console game so it serves as an epilogue.
Customer Avatar
edrd
pa
 
Please wait while more information about edrd is loaded.
Additional information about edrd could not be loaded.
shocked as well!
Posted 4/14/13
I thought I was the only one waiting for batman to come out on 3ds, and not be a lego version. what was the hang up?
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 8 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
This is honestly the best 3ds game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/13
ddog987
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is not like any other short lil action game, it has a super elaborate plot with three main bad guys, penguin, joker, and black mask, you choose who you pursuit first, it is incredible, the gameplay is like arkham city, please buy this
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
If you like the Batman games, try this!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/13
TheGamerofThrones
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The graphics are amazing on the 3DS. It has an excellent storyline, smooth gameplay, and an interesting comic book style for the cut scenes. The controls respond well, and the game uses the 3DS features not found on other handhelds.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Batman for the 3ds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and only 9 days
Posted on:10/16/13
khakiharpy334
Location: Montana
I'm so excited for this game and I saw some gameplay and it looks awesome for those who havent played any of the arkham games buy it you won't regret it and it even has the old fashion detective mode
Review 11 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Batman arkham origins black gate
Posted on:6/19/13
Nintendogamer1234
Location: Parkville,MD
Just to let excited gamers know, the handheld version of batman Arkham origins takes place at some place called blackgate, hence the name batman arkham origins black gate...but, I can't judge the game, because I haven't seen any gameplay...the console versions will have better graphics, so lets just wait until a gameplay trailer or the release date to see if the handheld version lives up to be worthy of this awesome batman series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Depends
Posted on:7/1/13
RobotPrototype000
Location: Colleyville,TX
Depends.Because since it is handheld, it obviously isn't going to include free roam.It's unlikely.I sold my 3ds a year ago to get a ps3 and I have made a good choice.I don't care if it is not handheld or you can't take it on the go, I care about quality.Ps3 ot Xbox version:Better graphics, better sound, better story, and free roam.
1 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Wow this is a shocker!
Posted on:8/13/13
DatGamer01
A lady at my local GameStop told me all about this game while I was buying my self Grand Theft Auto Three and reserving Mario And Luigi Dream Team. She said that it was not going to be one of those bad games for the 3DS, that it was going to be an actual gam for once! Just like the ps3! I'm going to buy this game for sure!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
I could get Arkham Origins for 3ds and PS3!!! YES!
Posted on:8/17/13
PlaystationGamer101
Location: NV
I am going to pre order batman arkham origins for ps3 right now. but I am going to wait for gameplay of it for 3ds because the Vita one didnt look that good. But I pre ordered it for ps3 because i saw game play and it looks awsome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
From What I think Its going to be Great
Posted on:7/25/13
NintendoLoverWII
Location: California
This game looks like it might be an on rail platformer because its on a portable system, the game still has a cool cover and reminds me of the WII U cover in a way this game has to be a hit because of all the superhero movies that came out this year
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Hey Bro.
Posted 7/25/13
Its a 2.5D Metrvaina game it looks very cool.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
whats arkham???????????
Posted on:8/4/13
mattt2003
Location: plano tx
what the heck is arkham i dont have any batman games at all at my house is THIS GAME ANY GOOD TELL ME IN THE COMENTS and tell me what arkham is
0 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HawaiiNeGamer
Durant, OK
 
Please wait while more information about HawaiiNeGamer is loaded.
Additional information about HawaiiNeGamer could not be loaded.
Explanation
Posted 8/22/13
It appears you have missed out on a few gems of gaming over the past 4 or so years. Mr. Arkham was a psychologist who founded the original, "Arkham Asylum for the Criminally Insane," in the Batman Universe. Rockstar Studios made two FANTASTIC Batman games based around this institution, which I suggest you pick up and play. The first is Batman Arkham Asylum and the second is Batman Arkham City. Both are available for $20 at Walmart and GameStop on the PS3, Xbox 360 and PC. Arkham City is also available as an "armored edition" for the Wii U, but is about $10 more expensive. Again, I would HIGHLY suggest picking them up and playing them as they are FANTASTIC.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
CAN'T WAIT
Posted on:4/21/13
shadowsora108
Location: andalusia AL
I trust the creators of the Arkham series of Batman to make this title of Batman a must have. I can't wait. Plus I heard it is going to be called Batman Arkham Origins Blackgate.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate
Dark Knight in 3D
Posted on:4/25/13
MGSH
Location: Davie FL
If this game looks as good as the Arkham series, I say buy it already. Just waiting for a gameplay trailer.