GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 14

Big hits. Real fights. Unbelievable speed and skill. NHL® 14 brings together the best technology on this generation in the EA SPORTS label to deliver hockey at its finest.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 978%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 14
Review 1 for NHL 14
DO NOT BUY - Worst NHL Game in series history
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/14
EANHLSUCKS
Upgraded from NHL 12 and regretting that I did. This is by far one of the worst sports games I have ever played. I would try to get my money back if I could. The game is completely unrealistic. The cpu scores the most ridiculous goals and is almost impossible to stop on any level. Checking them only results in an interference penalty and often times, a game ejection. I had my best player ejected two times and when I traded for a better player then him, the new player was ejected in his first game for me. It is nearly impossible to complete a pass in the oppositions side of the ice, playing around the boards is nearly impossible as they always come away with the puck. Even if you hit them, they get up and get the puck before your skater even has a chance to get the puck. Making trades in Be a GM mode is ridiculous as they decline every trade that doesn't involve you giving up many skilled players for one. Between the impossible game play and the terrible "Be a GM" mode, you couldn't pay me to play this game again. Do not waste your money.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for NHL 14
1st NHL Game I ever bought...And. It's. PERFECT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/13
DAMOSUPREME123
Location: PITTSBURGH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I never bought an NHL game before because I was intimidated by all the button mashing involved. Please note: I am a HARDCORE gamer. I am disabled, so all I do is take care of my daughter, and pretty much play games. This game is AWESOME!!!!! The graphics are true,in the game-play you are able to customize to your liking, and the music kicks you know what!!!! I will be playing this game for a long time (along with GTA5). Go PENS!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NHL 14
NHL 14 Will Be Good.
Posted on:5/26/13
GP88
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Can't wait. NHL 13 was a very fun & enjoyable game. NHL 14 will be better. Can't wait. I can't wait to check the Snot out of players in 14!! Until then, I'll be jamming out on NHL 13 until its release.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Laxbroftw
 
Please wait while more information about Laxbroftw is loaded.
Additional information about Laxbroftw could not be loaded.
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 6/10/13
Can't wait! Looks really fun. I have NHL 08 and the graphics are unreal! When I saw the trailer Me and My Brother were amazed.Can't wait till it comes out!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for NHL 14
Great Hockey Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/14
Bruinsfan24
Location: Lakewood WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
In short this game is amazing. I loved the new added feature in front of the goalie and taking up for teammates. This game is perfect for anyone who is a fan of hockey. The one thing I've been disappointed with over the last few years that EA finaly fixed with 15, is the commentary. But all in all this game is great.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for NHL 14
CAN'T WAIT!!!
Posted on:7/16/13
KingsFan
Location: Los Angeles,CA
This game is going to be GREAT I can already tell!I hope it has great online as it will have offline gameplay!Also excited for the NHL@94 Anniversary mode because that is gonna be BOMB!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NHL 14
The best one yet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/14
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the best NHL game yet. Good job EA Sports. The only thing I don't like is the cover. Sorry. I am a Flyers fan. Expected right. NHL 13 was fine. (Cover). Anyway, this has a lot more fighting in it so it is more like real hockey. The online shoot outs are really cool. So now you play your friends or somebody you don't even know. It doesn't matter. I really enjoy those. So it is like bring it on boys. Lol. Great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NHL 14
This must be better than NHL 13
Posted on:6/25/13
jhaskhkdhgjkhkgfjghgshgjk
NHL 13 was good But NHL 14 should be outstanding with Live The Life mode replacing Be a Pro !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Quaggy
Dennis MA
 
Please wait while more information about Quaggy is loaded.
Additional information about Quaggy could not be loaded.
NHL 20th anaversiry
Posted 8/4/13
cool teams that were so cool back then Quebec, Winnipeg, Hartford, Vancouver, LA, and more and the best part there are no rules HAHAHAHA
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for NHL 14
NHL 14= Awesome
Posted on:8/8/13
xxKingsFanxx
Location: California, CA
I've been playing hockey games since it was on the PS2. The one thing you want to know is? is it worth buying?. I've been looking at the trailers on EA and no lie guys EVERY thing looks improved in everyway. If your looking for the typical Be a Pro mode and Be a GM keep on playing NHL 13. NHL 14 has now the new live the life mode no lie it's possible the best part of the game mode, Finally the game gives us interviews, Fan likeability, and now GM's can tell us you suck i'am trading you if you don't play well lol. Anyways don't watch the trailers here. You want to know more about the game look up EA Sports and you will find even more cool stuff. Just saying this is worth the 65$!.. GO Kings GO!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mwhitco91
Largo, FL
 
Please wait while more information about mwhitco91 is loaded.
Additional information about mwhitco91 could not be loaded.
The demo has convinced me.
Posted 8/24/13
I'm the kind of player who skips picking up a new sports game every other year, so for the last couple of years, I've been playing a lot of NHL 12. Although the game itself was halfway decent, it always seemed like there was something...stiff with the gameplay. Freezing issues hindered my playing fairly often, and the game became so simple that it didn't seem like it had any realistic features anymore. The game off the ice was rather slow as well, in that the menus sometimes took ages to load. So, when the demo came out for NHL 14, of course I wanted to give it a shot. I needed an upgrade--and did they do a good job of it! The menu traveling seems a lot smoother and quicker and on-the-ice action is extremely realistic (at least compared to NHL 12's gameplay.) The game felt...so smooth. It's a great feeling. The demo had some fun features, as well, including the classic demo-ish "Play Now" mode with the two Stanley Cup finalists of the previous season in the third period, but they also included an HUT mode (complete with a demo tournament!) and a playable NHL 94 Anniversary mode (set up the same as the Play Now mode, other than the obvious feature, classic NHL 94 gameplay.) There's also a learning curve, which I am actually a huge fan of. If you're being skeptical about dropping $60 on this game, I'd definitely recommend that you give the free demo a shot. If the full game is as good and as promising as this demo is, it'll be a good investment (and I'm looking forward to playing this for--yes--another two years!) :D
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for NHL 14
Is what it is
Posted on:9/2/13
zombiesrreal
Location: pa
Love the new enforcer engine and the smoothness of the game. Look forward to checking out the new "live the life". However, being a checker and love the hitting, playing the demo all I get done doing is fighting. It gets to the point of be ridiculous. Love the concept it's just to much, there's no limit. Also I have noticed people don't step in for their star players. I have fought with Towes, Hall, and other people I have never seen fight in real life and they usually just get crushed. Love the fighting it just gets to much and I can't enjoy the hockey aspect.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
stingrayfan39
 
Please wait while more information about stingrayfan39 is loaded.
Additional information about stingrayfan39 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/9/13
they are going to tone down the fighting once the full game comes out. they were just showing how the fighting and the new enforcer engine works
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for NHL 14
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/13
SKj87
Location: HoughsNeck, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Awesome game. New fights are ridiculous, very fun. Fast pace. great game play. And has nhl 94 on top of it all.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NHL 14
Fix It
Posted on:4/23/13
SpeedItUp
Location: PA
My question is, will it still be slow when you simulate games???? I certainly hope so, it is unbearable....
9 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NHL 14
This is a bad game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/13
pensfan636
Location: albrightsvile, pa
It feels like everything except for the fighting is the same. The cancel pass button is the same button as the new deking button so every time i cancel a pass, i end up doing a deke and lose the puck most of the time. The fighting is more like a boxing game and it happens way too much when you play online. The game is a step backwards from last year.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NHL 14
awsome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/13
manbaby
Location: spokane wa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game this is the best nhl game ever! Last years nhl13 was just alful! I can play nhl14 all day!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for NHL 14
This game is great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/13
Sports4lifegamer
Location: Racine, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great. If you like hockey then this game is a must have, trust me. This game gets a score of 10 for me.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for NHL 14
Hockey is back with a full season
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/13
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is a little hard but when you get the hang of it it gets easier. the fights are pretty cool and they are kinda easy to get into. game is good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10