GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn

FINAL FANTASY® XIV: A Realm Reborn is a massively multiplayer onlinerole-playing game (MMORPG) for Windows® PC and PlayStation®3 thatinvites you to explore the realm of Eorzea with friends from around the world.Form a party and adventure with a multitude of players from across theglobe. Forge friendships, mount chocobos, and board airships as you andyour companions create your own unique stories in Eorzea.Set out alone or enlist the aid of friends as you undertake epic quests,battle familiar FINAL FANTASY monsters, and acquire unique abilities andequipment. All the classic elements from the series that you have come toknow and love are waiting!Embark on the adventure of a lifetime to help reforge the fate of Eorzea!
Average Customer Rating:
7.32
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
6
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
18 out of 2572%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Review 1 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Well done
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/13
Dragoondave
Location: Charlottesville, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had alot of doubts when i heard about this game coming out. that was mainly base on my Exp with FFXI for Xbox 360 and how bad the First FFXIV did. so i went at it like if it is a bomb i would only be out $30. but once i got it and log on, i was blown away. the game play is a 10/10 so is the effect with the combat system. the audio is great. i am running it in 7.1 surround sound. the In game graphics are highly done and in 1080p it is just jaw dropping. but in my mind that doesnt make the game is just the look and sounds. i started the main quest line it was over done in a good way. not like in WoW you just get a pop up box you get full cut scenes that are interactive. and that being said it make you feel more in depth to the game. and the only bad thing i can say about this game is that due to it being in high demand that it is have sever problems like DCs and cant log in, but that is Very common with new MMOs on the first weeks of the launch. so i love it and do say you need to buy it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Finally, a true MMORPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/14
RookieP
Location: Villa Park, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I did originally have my fair share of doubts about this game, I was concerned that it might be a disaster like 1.0. But after giving the game a chance, I was able to see what it was, the MMORPG that everyone has been longing for, an MMO with an actual concrete story that makes you want to keep playing, and actually continuing this quest line, the game doesn't require much grinding at all, contrary to most MMOs. The game also does require a good amount of teamwork, not just brute team force. The game's graphics are also absolutely breathtaking, the only downside to this game is the subscription fee. Although, it's well worth the money. And also, there are no microtransactions, no hidden fees. Just the game. The amount of loot and customization are wonderful, the character creator is absurdly detailed and great, but no matter what, your character will look good, really. You can even have the oddest details, although they are nice, such as heterochromatic eyes.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Finally, a true MMORPG
Posted on:7/16/13
Kitra
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Having played a dozen MMOs in the past 16 years, only 3 had that immediate something that told me I'd be playing beyond the honeymoon phase. This is the 4th. It comes down to the difference between an "MMO" and an "MMORPG" in my mind. I've been playing the beta for a while now and I'm incredibly impressed with the experience. Square-Enix has designed their MMOs to force people to work together. Not just in the mass action way that GW2 makes people work together either. I mean actually TALK to each other and get along with each other. And here's why that's a good thing... Example: Nearly every other MMO-> gear up own character, minimally interact with others in a meaningful way other than to use them for acquiring your gear using no real teamwork-> get bored and quit. Square-Enix MMORPGs-> Be presented with a gorgeous world, and character, and a storyline so compelling and immersive that you'll do anything to see it's completion, even being...SOCIAL; Often taking part in an event or boss fight feels like a reward in and of itself. Which do you think makes people actually work together and plan strategies and in the process, make friends who keep you coming back to the game for years? MMOs should be about playing with other people as well as some actual element of Role Play, and outside of mindlessly swinging weapons in each other's presence, most MMOs have forgotten this. FFXIV:ARR makes you feel like more than just "Player Character #1293452". You feel like you have a connection with your character, the way one might with characters in a favorite book series, while at the same time being able to play with your friends and experience the story together. And just to be totally clear, this is not the same game as FFXIV 1.0. This is not an expansion. This is a complete recreation the way it should have been in the first place. A company realized it made a massive blunder and actually did something to fix it. Can't say that about... well pretty much any other game company. Most will just milk their terrible game then move on. SE is giving original 1.0 purchasers this game for free in apology! Class act.
26 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Fun for a first mmo. doesn't really stand out.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/14
Rastan
Location: usa
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is your standard cookie cutter fantasy mmo with low replayability. Nice graphics, pretty world, shallow gameplay. If you're pretty new to mmos and you like the FF series it might be for you. For the rest of us it's 3 months of entertainment.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
5 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wolfmoon
NY
 
Please wait while more information about Wolfmoon is loaded.
Additional information about Wolfmoon could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
What?
Posted 8/27/14
There is nothing cookie cutter about the game, it plays more like a FF game than a standard mmorpg. The replayability is extremely high with a VAST range of things to do from Main story to Quests, Leves, Dungeons, Fates, Chocobo raising, Hunting specific animals, Exploration quests, Trials, PvP, Raids, Gardening if you have a house, collecting things to decorate your house, MANY different crafting professions and Classes/Jobs that can be learned on ONE single character... anyone who get's bored with FFXIV should seriously question if mmorpg's are for them, in fact they should question if they even like JRPG's at all. I've been playing mmo's for over a decade and this game is one of the very best out of the dozens i've played. NOTHING about FFXIV is shallow in the least. (P.S.) i only wrote this response in case a potential buyer want's to know the truth.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Veterans Delight.
Posted on:6/4/13
Moroseth
Location: Utah
I've been in the beta for ARR for sometime now. I was in the original release as well. I'm about one of the hardest people to please when it comes to MMO's. And my list of beta tests is very extensive. And I can say FFXIV: ARR is well worth the wait, and the money. This game is everything FFXIV should have been. My wife and I are waiting for phase 3 of the beta. And it can't come soon enough! Get it, you won't be dissapointed!
16 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Worlds different from the original FFXIV
Posted on:6/16/13
Gogatsu390
Location: Maryland
Just finished playing the phase 3 Beta for ARR and it's made significant improvements from FFXIV. The original was confusing and limited players on how many quests they could complete daily. FFXIV ARR is much more intuitive. The controls feel familiar and comfortable, and much more like FFXI. The character customization has been significantly improved, while the game play has become much more dynamic then the previous version. I'm very excited with the changes that have been made thus far and look forward to the release.
14 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Why :(
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/13
Cuponoodle
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played through the entire beta and early access. For a rerelease not a new mmo there is a ton of server issues, things not functioning, and the game itself is very unoriginal to say the least.
The races are just from ffxi, the mobs themselves are also. If you like to level by questing you won't like this structure unless you make a new character for every job/class because you only have a limited number of quests to do and they are far less then needed to level every job or even half.
Instead of making ground breaking advances in mmos they took things from gw2, wow, rift and various other mmos and stuck them all over making a game with a little of everything but that does nothing super well.
It's basically ffxi but made for wow players much like abysea attempted to do with ffxi, that's another subject tho.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
30 of 93 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
A great MMORPG with an amazing questline
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/13
KwanzaBot
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ignore the other commenter bc he obviously has never even played this game. You can actually be all classes with a single character. You level each class individually which is great for people like me who don't like making new toons and starting from scratch (it gets easier to level up new classes as you go on). More classes are unlocked as you play and meet certain requirements similar to how Final Fantasy Tactics did things (job system). The main quest line is actually really good which is astounding bc I never thought I'd play an MMO where I care about the story at all yet it manages to pull you in like its a SP FF game almost. There are quests everywhere as well, especially alongside the main story quests as well as the two leve quest systems and the guildhest questing system. Oh and the GC quests as well. Dungeons are good fun so far but nothing groundbreaking. Essentially this is a good MMO that gets a lot of things right (voice acting sucks, luckily there isn't much of it) while at the same time isn't exactly groundbreaking in the genre. If you're an MMORPG fan you'll probably like this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
The game has been revamped from the bottom up
Posted on:5/28/13
vaxine
Location: Seminole, FL
i have been keeping up with the game since they announced realm reborn and i am very impressed with the amount of work and dedication the team is putting into the game. they are listening and have made the game a lot better and very much worth the 29.99 and the monthly fee
10 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kazm
Astral Plane
 
Please wait while more information about Kazm is loaded.
Additional information about Kazm could not be loaded.
Gamestop BONUS
Posted 5/29/13
Curious what this is gonna be...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Worth the money
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/13
Shotslol
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Definitely a game worth buying for $30 after the abysmal server mess the first week of launch. Now that it's pretty much solved people are actually able to play. You get a free month upon purchasing so decide whether it's worth the sub fee after that. The sound/music from FF is what all FF fans have known for years, simply amazing. The graphics are up to par with todays MMOs. The replay value is fairly high due to the amount of classes/jobs to do and pure content to farm for now. Gameplay is smooth and easy and everything is explained along the way as you level and venture further into the game. Hardcores and casuals alike will find something to keep themselves entertained and playing for quite some time.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Void000
 
Please wait while more information about Void000 is loaded.
Additional information about Void000 could not be loaded.
Eu or us
Posted 5/30/14
Is this us or eu version?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Best MMORPG I've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/13
Starlightzz
Location: Sedalia, MO
I've played a lot of MMORPG's in my time, like Everquest, WoW, Aion, Rift, Guild Wars, Maplestory, etc and FFXIV: ARR is by far the best I've played. The game offers many layers of content slowly added on as you level. There is a down side to that though. The down side is that it makes the earlier levels very boring to MMO vets. The game doesn't pick up until level 20 to 30. The difficulty of the game was also tuned to be more casual friendly in the earlier levels compared to your usual MMORPG, but gets hardcore late in the game. So MMO vets might automatically write the game off as too easy, and maybe the same with some new to MMOs, but believe me the hardcore factor will come if you're willing to drag through the earlier levels.
No more needing to make multiple characters if you want to try the other classes. You can level every class on the same character, and switching your class is as easy as switching the weapon or tool you are holding in your hand, and you do not need to re-equip all your equipment again every time you switch classes since you can save gear sets. Unlike most MMORPGs inventory space is not as big of an issue here due to the armoury system. Your equipment and items each have their own separate inventory. The Armoury is for your equipment and has further sub-inventories for each part of the body. But even with this system you will still get filled up eventually, but by that time you'll have unlocked retainers to store your stuff. Combat is pretty basic at first until you get to some very interesting bosses with nice mechanics.
Also, do not listen to anyone saying that ARR does nothing new or innovative for the MMORPG genre. The game takes some familiar MMORPG staples and innovates them, like with the crafting and housing, which is more interesting and in-depth than your usual MMORPG. Crafting actually has their own classes in the game. Housing will include player neighborhoods (zones just for housing), and other players can build or craft houses, towers, etc for you. On top of this they will be bringing things entirely new to the genre in future patches (as of the time of typing this) like the Gold Saucer amusement park. Housing, PVP, Chocobo raising and breeding, etc will be added in a future patch, but are things to look forward to.
I should also point out that the graphics are horrible on the PS3 version, but absolutely beautiful on the PC version. Overall the game is excellent, but if you're an MMORPG vet I would recommend waiting until the first major update coming 3 months post-launch as many things like housing, PVP, chocobo raising and breeding, and obvious quality-of-life things like the ability to pick and choose what quests show in the duty finder (aka quest tracker), and numerous other things, will be added. This game is not an MMORPG to miss. It's good for both newcomers to the genre and vets looking for something new while still retaining a familiar feel to it. To sum it up this game is a gem, but to get to the gem you have to dig through the dirt.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
If you buy it, don't expect to play it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/13
NYJN
Quite possibly the worst release ever for any MMO made. Actually, second to worst because the first installation of FFXIV v1.0 was probably the worst. With that said a couple of things that make this a 1 out of 10 in terms of MMO and company customer service. 1) Unplayable in peak hours, 2) Server lockouts, 3) Intentional delay for customer service, 4) No PvP, 5) Terrible beta/early access transition phase. Out of all the MMOs that I've played this one takes the cake in proving to be the most incompetent and disappointing. If you are persistent in purchasing this game and take no heed to the warnings listed, at least try and purchase this game 6 months down the line. The hype and rush to playing this game will make you regret it tenfold.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Similar feel to WoW. New setting
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/13
Salamander22
Location: Utah
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Not going to say the game has any groundbreaking new features, but the game is of a lot of fun. I'm 20+ hours in and I haven't been bored for a second. Only needing 1 character that can level all classes and professions is awesome. + when you are leveling alternate classes from your main you get a 50% xp bonus. It's like legacy gear without needing to farm tokens/seals. The level sync makes it easy to play with friends as well, and when you replace your gear you can use it on your other classes as you level them up. The game does have some major server issues being launch but it is my game of choice for the next year or so. Note: grouping with friends will help you level faster and if you are playing solo I reccommend a tank/healer for your first class, dps dungeon ques are fairly long.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iknowmorethanu
Arrrkannsaww
 
Please wait while more information about iknowmorethanu is loaded.
Additional information about iknowmorethanu could not be loaded.
this game is not a 10..
Posted 9/3/13
to many Fanbois try to out rate what this game is. it is at Best a6 in all facets. the graphics are mid range, the voice acting is terrible, flow of the game is average, UI is good but still not friendly nor effecient. I wont even get into the debacle of Sony flopping worse than any other MMO in history with this launch date server problems. In the end its what the game should have been years ago but sadly it still is behind the times and doesn't do anything really new. If your burnt out of Wow, Guildwars, Rift, tera ect it is a good filler but this game wont last 2-3 years before its dead unless they do some more overhauling.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Great and Expect Excellence to Follow
Posted on:7/3/13
Shido
Location: Taunton, Ma
I've played the Beta for a few months now and I can tell anyone who played the first one , You will not be disappointed the game is much faster pace, Friendlier environment, More-In depth, User-Friendly, Overall its just a thousand times better than its predecessor. They have promised more classes to come and this is such a great mmo to hop into.
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
A Combination of all Final Fantasy games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/14
Wraithwalker72
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The world of Eorzea has a little bit of everyone for everyone. Hardcore and casuals, the focused and the easily distracted. Tons of nostalgia factor if you're a fan of the Final Fantasy series, servers are stable, classes/jobs are all fun to play. Lots of long term goals and short term ones too. If you're looking for a solid MMO, get this game :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wolfmoon
NY
 
Please wait while more information about Wolfmoon is loaded.
Additional information about Wolfmoon could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Well said
Posted 8/27/14
I agree 100%. It's one of the very finest mmorpgs i've ever had the pleasure of playing in the 10+ years i've been a mmorpg gamer!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
better then v1.0
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/14
bthun
Location: indianapolis , in
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
better then v1.0 but far from being a good game. the majority of the fights are dependent on dodging incoming attacks , with laggy connections from server to users end you think your clear from danger only to be dead. the game play of dodging dodging dodging is just dumb and its not even the players fault when more then 50% of the time you die from lag issues.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
it's good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/13
Zero06
Location: Russellville. AR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
every mmo has its problems when it is first released. that's all i needed to say thank you for your time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kayfire
avenel, nj
 
Please wait while more information about kayfire is loaded.
Additional information about kayfire could not be loaded.
fabulous
Posted 10/11/13
when I bought and installed ffxiv, the first time around. it was pathetic I played it for maybe 5 minutes and that was it. I just didn't like the whole feel of it. but this re-release ffxiv arr is just fantastic. I play a lvl 50 monk and its just great. the graphics are fantastic, the sounds and music bring me back and should to any FF fan. it is worth the 30$ and the subscription fees. the problem with these free to play games is that they become pay to win... and when a game becomes pay to win it is over for me. I will not sit there and buy my character the best gear in the game or whatever. I have been an avid mmorpg player for years. since vanilla wow to rift, aion, swtor. I have played them all honestly and this one just surpasses them all!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
sad
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/13
Abdulhakim
Location: Denver
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Horrible for a relaunch. Good luck even playing. With great free games Rift, GW2, Tera, etc can't believe they charge for this.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
18 of 55 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
fenris1989
 
Please wait while more information about fenris1989 is loaded.
Additional information about fenris1989 could not be loaded.
Forced subscription fee?
Posted 8/23/14
Really?you have to have a subscription?I was thinking bout getting it but never mind now I'll stick to my F2P MMORPG's
Customer Avatar
MMORPGjunkie
California
 
Please wait while more information about MMORPGjunkie is loaded.
Additional information about MMORPGjunkie could not be loaded.
Not worth a sub fee
Posted 9/28/13
Got to agree with Abdulhakim here, this game is not worth any sub fee whatsoever. It hardly even counts as an MMORPG, the world is perpetually separated by loading screens. You can't even change locations in the SAME city without a loading screen which is...stupid. I have never played with such a poorly designed world map in any game, MMORPG or not, ever. The whole FATE system is an unimaginative cookie-cutter rehash of what already exists in GW2 and RIFT, both of which are free-to-play. There is no voice acting support so any notion of full immersion in an RPG universe (for those who want that sort of thing) stops right there, and the story line is so painfully generic that all I want is the ability to hit an 'accept' button for my quest so I can move along without spam clicking through a boring, garbage story line I want no more of, but you can't even have that as the game expects you to sit there and click through the painfully generic Final Fantasy chat sequences for every. single. mission, which, again, is not supported by any vocal dialogue. It's like a big Gameboy game adaptation except they let you run around with other players so they could label it an MMORPG and charge you $15 a month just to play this drivel. Beyond that the combat, for those of you familiar with a fast and rewarding MMORPG combat interaction style like RIFT or WoW, is painfully sluggish and yawn-inducing. Combat inches along in the worst way possible leaving you very unsatisfied with the (lack of) strength/power/ability your character possesses as you sit through the tragically lengthy global cooldowns between each attack. It's a unilateral disappointment and failure. Oh, and to seal the deal, good luck getting in touch with Square Enix customer service if you have any problems as they make you jump through flaming hoops just to contact them (no in game support exists either and their FAQ section can hardly be called accurate). The only thing worse than the final product of this game, is the way in which Square Enix prepared for it's launch. They clearly spent all their budget on TV ad's and none of it on buffing up their customer service in preparation for launch. Don't waste your time. Other than looking pretty, this game fails to deliver on every single front.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 19 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
Great MMO!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/13
Ventus903
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
hey everyone I needed to right this review to raise the rating on this game a bit. I feel a lot of people didnt give it a chance because of Normal log-in issue when the game first kicked off. To date the problems with the 1017 error and 90000 are over. I have no more problem getting instantly into this amazing game. All the parts of a Great MMO wraped up together with a compelling classic Final Fantasy story-line. This game already has loads of content with plenty more coming soon. I already have like 40 hours in and I've barley scratched the surface.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn
The Game Noone Could Play
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/13
deadrealm
Just stay away from this game. You WILL NOT be able to play it. There are more error codes than i think anyone can keep up with. PS3 owner's were issued faulty registration codes that completely locked them out of their service accounts. Sounds like an easy fix? Wrong, Square Enix has 0 plans of fixing those accounts. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 16 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>