GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

New Super Luigi U

With Mario nowhere to be found, it's up to Luigi to save the day in a brand-new adventure that takes place in the world of New Super Mario Bros. U. Experience new gameplay challenges as you guide Luigi, complete with his high jump and unique slide, through all-new courses. Enjoy high replayability and satisfaction from mastering each course, and then share your triumphs via the Miiverse feature. Up to five players* can jump into the fun, with Nabbit taking the place of Mario as a playable character. Help Luigi finally prove he has what it takes!
Average Customer Rating:
7.9
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 1080%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for New Super Luigi U
Review 1 for New Super Luigi U
Looks Awesome
Posted on:6/17/13
slyfan107
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Luigi finally gets his own game outside of a haunted mansion. I love the way this game looks, and the beautiful box art. The game will be more challenging then Super Mario Bros U is. The game is only $30, which isn't bad at all. The box art is below.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for New Super Luigi U
It's Luigi's turn in the spotlight
Posted on:6/11/13
NintendoHistory
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
New Super Luigi U will be a mostly new game from New Super Mario Bros U. Everything but the world map, bosses, and power ups will change. The levels are all new and more difficult than Mario Bros U. This game will almost be like a challenge mode for New Super Mario Bros U with the harder levels and less time you have to beat the levels. You will be able to play as Luigi, Blue Toad, Yellow Toad, and for the first time ever, Nabbit, who will be invincible but won't be able to collect power ups. Overall New Super Luigi U looks to be a great game, and for only $30 this game is a great deal for everyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
New Super Mario Bros. U Official Strategy Guide
 
 
 
 
 
22 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for New Super Luigi U
one tough cookie
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/13
txwill
Location: Richardson, Tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Welcome to Mario's big brother Luigi, this game is on steroids. I would not recommend this to the beginner or casual gamer, this thing is hard. Having said that allow me to give two thumbs up to the creators of this one. This thing will make you pull your own hair out, but it is fun. You have to be fast and your skill level has to be on top to beat this thing. You only get 100 seconds to clear each level, the challenges are abundant and come at you fast. So if your into Mario Bros. games and love a good challenge. Wimps need not apply.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for New Super Luigi U
A great year for the lean, mean, green machine.
Posted on:8/10/13
Gurlukovich
Location: The Mushroom Kingdom
Luigi has always been my favorite character in video games. There's no doubt about that. Ever since I was little, I've played as him as I possibly could in every Mario game he was in. Always, overshadowed by his brother, I empathized with Luigi. However, before the violins start playing, let's get on a lighter note. Playing off of last year's New Super Mario Bros. U's gameplay and levels, New Super Luigi U takes the that game's formula, gets rid of Mario, adds immense amounts of difficulty, and puts you in the overalls of Luigi. Based on gameplay videos I've seen, it plays like the Mario platforming we've come to love and expect. As much as I wish there were more original levels in the game, I will appear at my closest Game Stop on its release day. Color me green. Thank you, Nintendo, for allowing Luigi to shine this year.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for New Super Luigi U
What They Don't Say....
Posted on:6/17/13
Pavex
Location: San Marcos, California USA
The info not listed here is that the game will be available as DLC on 6/20/2013!!!! For ONLY $20!! Check out Nintendo's website for info. You MUST own Mario Bros. WiiU game to get this. So ......heads up THIS THURSDAY!!! Grab this add on to a great game!! I'll be getting it .
7 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Zacteria
 
Please wait while more information about Zacteria is loaded.
Additional information about Zacteria could not be loaded.
Posted 8/1/13
You do NOT need New Super Mario Bros. U to play this game. That is only required for the downloaded version. This disc is completely standalone, warranting the $10 increase in price.
Customer Avatar
ds33
28311
 
Please wait while more information about ds33 is loaded.
Additional information about ds33 could not be loaded.
Why on Disc
Posted 7/29/13
Why is this game coming out in a school day when you can download this vesion for $20,00 when the disc is coming out in 8/25/13 for $30.00
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for New Super Luigi U
It's nice to have some challenge
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/13
SuperNumnutz
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
New Super Luigi U is a decent game. First off, it's not necessarily a stand-alone game. It's more of an addition to New Super Mario Bros. U. The map is the same, the music is the same, and the graphics are the same. Heck, even the cutscenes are the same from New Super Mario Bros. U just minus Mario. But the innovative part comes in the controls and inside the levels. The controls for Luigi are similar to that of New Super Mario Bros. 2. He can run faster, jump higher and longer, but he doesn't have very good traction. I've found that controlling Luigi has put in some challenge to this game. I've found myself constantly over-jumping gaps or slipping off platforms. But, that's not a bad thing! It's a nice little twist to the classic Mario 2D side-scrollers. But, the controls is just one part of the added challenge to this game. In each level you are given 100 seconds on the clock and each level just feels like an overall challenge. This is a very nice thing to see as each Mario game seems to be getting easier and easier (Or maybe my skill level is just developing more). So this game is more towards the experienced Mario players. I wouldn't really recommend this to really young kids as you may find your Wii U Gamepad broken one day. Anyway, the tough challenges throughout the game is something I really like. New Super Luigi U is a solid game that feels very similar but also somewhat fresh. This game definitely seems like a throwback to the classic, tough, intense games on the NES. Definitely worth a spin for any classic side-scroller fan.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for New Super Luigi U
Just downloaded
Posted on:6/20/13
ncpanthersblue
Location: aMaine
Just downloaded this for my son. The game looks just like the Mario version but it is set up for Luigi. The only real major difference is the 100 second timer on every level. It makes exploring the levels impossible. You have to race through every level. I would not purchase this if I had known about the time limits.
6 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TrancePacifica
Luverne, MN
 
Please wait while more information about TrancePacifica is loaded.
Additional information about TrancePacifica could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Posted 6/27/13
This is why you do your research before buying, good sir.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for New Super Luigi U
Perfect for true gamers of Nintendo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/13
BSAJB24
Location: San Antonio, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The idea of bringing back Luigi's flutter jump and every thing from new super mario bros. u is the perfect combo for epicness
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for New Super Luigi U
Seriously Disappointed
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/13
darkdutchess04
Location: Hopkinsville, KY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game for my 6 year old daughter and tried to play with her. After about 30 minutes of screaming it ended with me throwing a controller at the wall. This game is horrible! You only get 100 seconds to play and the worlds are insanely hard. It's like they tried to pack all of a world's content into a quarter of the world. And the little purple guy you can play is useless. He can't attack, nor can he be attacked. He just runs along, collecting coins. I would not recommend this game to anyone. I feel like I wasted $29.99
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BattleNetPhood
Georgetown, KY
 
Please wait while more information about BattleNetPhood is loaded.
Additional information about BattleNetPhood could not be loaded.
throwing a controller? really?
Posted 9/14/13
starters: this is not meant to be hostile. 6 years old sir? the term "kid's game" is just used to describe how non-graphically violent a game is - has nothing to do with being for kids. Might I suggest you yourself not play games when your daughter is around, don't want her to copy full rage mode - as for her playing games: get her some older games on virtual console - less graphically overwhelming: super mario world, kirby, original zelda - also that 4th player in super luigi U is supposed to try to make the other 3 players lose
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for New Super Luigi U
What's The Point?
Posted on:8/19/13
elephantlover01
Location: Macomb, MI
Why on Earth is Luigi rescuing Princess Peach and not Daisy? Why celebrate Luigi's 30th on a similar game compared to Mario U? The levels are literally the same thing with little differences starring Luigi. Poor Mario had Bros. crossed right off! That's just hurtful to the red plumber.
3 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for New Super Luigi U
one word: HORRIBLE
Posted on:7/1/13
legoland1324
Location: lawrence,MA
its impossible to explore the game, you have to race through every dang level and you can't get any star coins. it's the only mario game where it's humanly possible to actually lose on the first level. even though its pretty dang cheap, I wouldn't waste my time or money on this piece of crud.the only difference between this game and the mario version is its about luigi.
4 of 31 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Zacteria
 
Please wait while more information about Zacteria is loaded.
Additional information about Zacteria could not be loaded.
Posted 8/1/13
It's easily some of the best DLC I've ever played. the base game was great, but too easy. NSLU is a great throwback to classic Mario platformers, and I would like to see a "Luigi" mode in all future releases. I've gotten loads of Star Coins, because even 100 seconds isn't that crazy of a time limit. Definitely make sure you can handle NSMBU before you get this though.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for New Super Luigi U
This is The Year of Luigi
Posted on:7/12/13
supremegamer8000
2013 is Luigi's year. Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon and now this. I'm so excited for it. It will be more difficult than New Super Mario Bros. U. I love how the rim of the box is green to represent Luigi. I probably will pre-order it. If not, it will be on my birthday list.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for New Super Luigi U
A fun add on to a fun game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/13
mightykamina1
Location: Findlay
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A fun game, but boy is it tough! You get less time in levels than in Super Mario Bros. U, so you can't mess with trying to get all the coins in the levels. Luigi's big jump from the classic Super Mario Bros. 2 has returned, and you REALLY need this to advance in the game. If you're getting this for your children, you should reconsider, because it would be too hard for them to play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for New Super Luigi U
NSMBU but way harder
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/13
ZRacer710
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Take the assets from New Super Mario Bros U, give Luigi his classic control characteristics, ramp up the difficulty and you get New Super Luigi U. The 100 second limit makes the challenging levels frantic but also extremely fun. 2D Mario games haven't had this caliber of level design since Super Mario World.
In addition, The green case makes this a great collector's item.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for New Super Luigi U
Worst Mario game yet
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/13
chaoticlown666
Location: Laramie, Wy
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Same Mario game but only gives you 100 seconds for each level and added an insane amount of enemies and other difficult obstacles. Even the most dedicated Mario fan should be disappointed with this game. Nintendo needs to try again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TotallyNotSarcastic
Here?
 
Please wait while more information about TotallyNotSarcastic is loaded.
Additional information about TotallyNotSarcastic could not be loaded.
Same besides the different levels and more
Posted 9/30/13
This is exactly the same as the Mario Bros. U. They only added harder difficulty, more stages, a new character, different map, different enemies, and basically barely anything! I think you should all play Madden, where they change tons of things each game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for New Super Luigi U
I can't wait for this to Come Out!!!!
Posted on:6/26/13
Gilkinator
Location: Houston,TX
I can't wait for this to come out in 2 months. I have always admired and loved Luigi Since I was 9 years old. I read from one of the Previews that the Levels might be more Difficult But I hope they won't be Hard to the Point Where I'll have to sell it for Cash.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for New Super Luigi U
Extremely entertaining!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/13
enderboy221
Location: az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
New Super Luigi U is one of the most challenging yet fun platformers in recent history. It has wonderful gameplay and a good length for the price. It also has 5-player coop, and features Luigi's strange control scheme. Definetly a must buy!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for New Super Luigi U
this game is awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/13
pikminrules
Location: Pennsylvania PA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
New super luigi u is a great game for all gamers but more for kid gamers the graphics are great, sound is ok, but gameplay is amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for New Super Luigi U
Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/13
jeremih
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This Game is fun i kinda like it more than the mario game.I would recommend this to anyone.............
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for New Super Luigi U
hmm could be good
Posted on:8/20/13
mattt2003
Location: plano tx
well well well i love mario games but this is luigi and it looks very different but good also so idk
0 of 1 found this review helpful.