GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tales of Symphonia Chronicles

With Tales of Symphonia Chronicles, players will be able to experience the most celebrated Tales of game to date, Tales of Symphonia, again for the first time with crisp and colourful high definition graphics and additional content along with its 2008 sequel Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World.
Average Customer Rating:
8.973
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
10 stars
24
9 stars
8
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
34 out of 3792%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Review 1 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Return back to the Symphonia!
Posted on:2/24/14
WolfyEinherjarz
Location: Chico, CA
As I remember I played the Gamecube Version Tales of Symphonia on this game, and DOTNW on Wii now it has Extra Skits On the PS2 Version on the Japanese Version, Dual Audio switch to English to Japanese, I Pre-order The Collector Edition for this game Lot of Features, With Trophy Support and Learn the Full Experiences this game!
Blame your Fate!
---- Kratos Aurion
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Tales of Series
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
A Welcome Update!
Posted on:6/22/13
Theeniebean
Location: Chico, CA
At long last, Tales of Symphonia fans will get the complete game! All of the content we were missing on the NA GCN release will be present and accounted for! In the Game Informer article, it was even hinted that we might get a dual audio release! Please, please, PLEASE support this franchise so we can get more wonderful surprises like this in North America!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
HD Release Preview!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tasean
 
Please wait while more information about Tasean is loaded.
Additional information about Tasean could not be loaded.
ER MA GERWD YEESSS!!!
Posted 6/24/13
I cant wait till this comes out! Super excited and cant wait for this to come out! I know my bestfriends will love this game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Downgrades
Posted on:2/18/14
Someone18
Location: Puerto Rico
30 Frames Per Second instead of Gamecube's 60FPS . The game lacks the outlines that gave personality to the game and the textures look mediocre and untouched. Sure its a port of the PS2 Japanese only game but that doesn't mean they couldn't use the GC assets afterall a port like this shouldn't be hard to get it running on 60FPS on this gen and they could have retouched the textures to look decent
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
An HD upgrade well deserved~
Posted on:6/21/13
MinutePunch
Location: TX
Tales of Symphonia was one of the best selling Tales game in the US back in 2004 for the Game Cube. Japan, however, later released another version for the PS2 that had much more content than the original that never made it to the US shores-until now :). Tales of Symphonia being my first Tales game (resulting in me getting hooked on ALL Tales games) I am thrilled to see this come to the PS3! I will pre-order as soon as I know there won't be a special edition, or if there will be, pre-order said edition ;)
All Tales fan should support these releases to keep those Tales goodies coming to the US!
27 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jigoku
California, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Jigoku is loaded.
Additional information about Jigoku could not be loaded.
HD deserved indeed
Posted 7/26/13
But also, there will be a dual-audio!! I've been waiting for that Japanese audio as well as the HD!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
A MUST HAVE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/14
mgreg
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am an avid RPGamer and I cant help but to go into deep deep detail in judging any game I play. I owned Tales of Symphonia for the GameCube wayyyyy back. I went out on a limb of picking up a pre-owned game I never heard about and holy lordy I was glad I did. Seriously if Nintendo made games similar to this and stopped beating their dead horses they wouldn't be struggling the way they are now. The "Tales of" games have made a transition to PlayStation consoles and they couldn't be better placed. Now before I invested into the PS versions of the Tales of games I was still going through my GC version of Tales of Symphonia! I have done 5! FIVE! F-I-V-E! play throughs! The Tales of games have an incredible replay value! There are so many secrets and techniques and special items and summons you can find that are not needed to complete the game! There are also so many more abilities in this version than the old! The gameplay is something like a 3-D/scrolling action fight, it may be something that not everyone is used to but woo is it fulfilling! It forces you to take charge of the fight unless you want to be crammed against the border trapped in the enemy's arms! The game has such an amazing a deeply tuned RPG system that allows a player to tweak everything about that characters style! But if you don't think you will go in depth as a hardcore gamer and try to fulfill 100% everything like I do, DON'T WORRY! The game takes good care of casual gamers! of course the story will grip you like nothing else before and soon casual gamers will find them selves wanting to be hardcore fans! The graphics were something I wasn't a fan of back in the day, the "cartoon-esk" look, but this game pulls them off as well as the Windwaker did, I love this style now! The game may look less at face value to some but believe me the art in this game is great and the graphics here have been even further improved, its marvelous. Ever be playing a game and find your self humming a tune and being "ugh thats so annoying! I cant get that annoying bland loop out of my head!" guess what that doesnt happen in this game! The only thing I can take away from the sound score is that the voices are rarely out of sync, but hey it was originally Japanese so get over it! But wow every thing sounds crystal clear!
Look this is a game that should not be overlooked it's immense and the story is something that many have never encountered! talk about refreshing! Get this game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bloodshed113094
Kansas
 
Please wait while more information about Bloodshed113094 is loaded.
Additional information about Bloodshed113094 could not be loaded.
Calm down, already!
Posted 5/19/14
This game is another one of those games that people praise when they haven't played it in years, just like Final Fantasy VII. It is not the best game ever. It's honestly pretty bad for a Tales of game, only saved from the "Worst I've played" title because Abyss ended ten hours late. At the end of the day, the game is just good, but suffers from a horribly boring first five hours, terrible camera control on the world map, and a plot that feels blatantly copied from Final Fantasy X. I honestly recommend the game for the sequel, which every one bashes. I liked it better than the first. The characters aren't boring, the combat is faster paced, and the story is original, twisting the ending of the first game in a believable way. That's not to say it's perfect either. The more linear plot and lack of a over world might turn people off. I would give Symphonia a 5/10 and Dawn an 8/10.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
first Xillia now THIS?!?! CAN'T WAIT!!
Posted on:6/25/13
Thrillseeker039
an HD remake? Didn't expect namco to do something like this... but hey new content that Japan had for PS2 is now coming to the U.S. in PS3... plus costumes from tales of the abyss will be in it too (lol guy lloyd & luke genis XD)... namco sure knows how to make a fan spend money.... but first need to get xillia ;P hope xillia 2 will come out soon... so buy this game for more Tales of games to have western releases :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
I... I'm speechless
Posted on:10/16/13
Nichirasu
I don't know how to react to this. Part of me wants to break down crying tears of pure joy, and another wants me to build a shrine to Namco-Bandai. I'm so glad I bought a PS3 bundle recently... I've logged over 400 hours between ToS AND ToS:DotNW. If you want a solid JRPG which will make you feel for the characters, get lost in the story, and not want to ever turn the background music off. Get this
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
BRILLIANT GAME TALES THE BEST
Posted on:2/25/14
NDGODSNOOBREBORN
Location: 11236
THIS GAME IS WAYYY BEYOND NUMBER 1. I STARTED PLAYING IT A WEEK AGO AND IM STILL INTO THE GAME, HAVENT BEATEN IT YET, ITS REALLY LONG. THE GRAPHICS ARE SOO AMAZING AND THE FIGHTING STYLE WILL KEEEP YOU GLUED TO YOUR SEATS... HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT. 1000000+ THUMBS UP..
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NDGODSNOOBREBORNN
Uncharted 3 NY
 
Please wait while more information about NDGODSNOOBREBORNN is loaded.
Additional information about NDGODSNOOBREBORNN could not be loaded.
Tales Of Everything
Posted 3/24/14
AWESOMEEE GAMEEEE!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Calm down! It's not that good!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/14
Bloodshed113094
Location: Kansas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Everyone is praising Tales of Symphonia as the greatest game ever. It's not. The nostalgia is blinding fans from the dated gameplay, weak first five hours and horrible story that feels like a desperate attempt to recapture what Final Fantasy X did three years earlier. The reason to buy this game would be the sequel ,which has better characters, solid gameplay, and a story that brings up issues the first game ignored. The lack of an overworld might bother some, but that was the worst part of the first game, so I'd say it's a good thing. I'd give Tales of Symphonia a 5/10 and Dawn of a New World a 8/10 ,averaging out to a 7/10 for the whole package. If you have to choose between this and Final Fantasy X, I would say to pick up FFX, but look back on this game in a few months.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 10 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
10years later & still one of the best RPGS played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/14
InuNaruPokeAlchemist
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I picked up Tales of Symphonia years ago after a former friend showed it to my brother and I. I still have a copy of the Gamecube version. Symphonia was my very first Tales game and the hype surrounding it to this day is well deserved. I found the characters memorable, the story compelling, and journey to be one that I still cherish to this day. I have so many fond memories. Symphonia is even better to play if you have friends or family to play it with. I played both games all the way though with my brother. To this day, when ever we can my brother and I will just sit down and play these games together. We did mange to play Dawn of The New World (the Wii era sequel) at some point, but I will admit the game was not nearly as memorable as Symphonia. I enjoyed the characters and all, but it had its flaws. I will also confess, where I enjoyed the sequel, it was also not necessary. Even after 10 years, this game (the first Symphonia) remains my favorite game of all time. I recommend this to anyone who wants t get into the Tales series in general or anyone who likes a good and long RPG. :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Two GREAT Games!
Posted on:6/23/13
Dragonstomper
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I'm really excited to see these two games revived. I've been gaming for 20+ years now and ToS is the best casual RPG I've ever come across. The story line is light enough to keep the game from dragging with characters that really grow on you. The combat system is fast paced and pretty easy most of the time and switching out skills abilities and party members keeps it fresh and fun despite the relative simplicity. There are tons of little Easter eggs and hidden titles gear and quests (even an entire hidden world in the first game) so these games have really high replay value, and the grade system allows you to restart after clearing the game with new perks which makes replays even more fun. Really fun games overall, and really long too; deffinately a good buy getting both together.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Great Remake
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/14
Kirai
Location: FL
This game was a pretty great remake. The original on Gamecube was a pretty good story and a lot of game play hours. The sequel on the Wii was no different, even though it was a much more shorter story than the original. As far as graphics, if you looking for jaw dropping, realistic visuals this game does not have it, it is AGAIN a remake of the original so hints of it still show that it is a game that was on Gamecube but it is still a awesome game and they fixed some of the camera issues as well. An example would be if you play Genis, how it is really difficult to even see him at all, so if an enemy goes over there to him, you can't tell what he is doing. The camera now shows the entire battle field. Basically, great story, awesome characters, lots and lots of side stuff and hours of gameplay to do. Would recommend this game to anyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
AWSOME!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/14
darkpaladin41
Location: conneticut
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the best two rpg in one disc just for 40 dollars is a steal and they keep it original that is the best part
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Return to Old School Symphonia!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/14
Adrihime
Location: Hyrule
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I noticed this game had nothing but bad reviews left for it, so I had to put my input in. This game is definitely worth the play because it is an HD remaster of the old gamecube game "Tales of Symphonia" and Wii game, "Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World". Anyone that mocks the graphics and game play doesn't know that it is only the 5th entry in the "Tales series" and was an old game to begin with, For a remaster it is fantastic! Granted Symphonia: Dawn of the New World gets bad reviews, but I enjoyed that game personally, it isn't as good as it's predecessor though. I say if you never played Symphonia or its sequel, pick this game up. It's a classic Tales game and one of the most loved, if not THE most loved Tales game in the series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Totally worth the wait! ^-^
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/14
Adanarys
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I LOVE this GAME!
I own symphonia for the GC and when i heard the announcement for a remake after Xillia came out i was so excited.
I can see alot of changes in the game HD wise and all around.
I love the REMOVAL of the FAT BULKY lines around the characters that the GC version had the characters looks so much smoother and sharp in this game you can actually appreciate the details in the face and weapons.
i like the added on Titles as a Tales of symphonia fan i love this Remake and i would recommend it to ANYONE who played it for the gamecube [=
and is looking to replay it with a new added bosses new titles meaning new possible side quest? and bosses =] and who doesnt love earning trophies playing something fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Nostalgic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/14
Personwhois
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I loved playing this after so long. It almost felt like I was playing a new game in a way. All of the music felt like it was very refreshed and all the cut scenes look gorgeous. I haven't gotten to the end of the game yet far from it, but I am looking forward to getting there. The only small downside from this game is literally that I was transported back in time to the weird style of four dimensional movement, though once I got over that small hurdle I fell right into stride with the game play. Super plus about this game is that I can now play it through with Japanese voices and have all the little sub scenes voice acted as well. Both voice casts are nice but I am sticking with Japanese for this run through.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
childhood memory returns in HD :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/14
speedybolo
Location: miami
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
my childhood returns in HD and i couldn't be happier i love the series and this is one of my favorite games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Avoid if you value your memories...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/14
Shift
Location: Cudahy, WI
This was supposedly an HD remaster but its clearly just a higher resolution port. When I played this as a kid I didn't really remember the voiceless skits but now they stick out like a sore thumb. I find myself skipping over the skits and voiceless cut scenes entirely. It breaks up the flow of the game and honestly should have been done. I'm really wishing I would have not picked up this game. Its kind of like going back and watching the early Voltron dubs. You realize they suck now but as a kid you didn't notice. Same goes for Symphonia I guess...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 19 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Wii U
Posted on:1/21/14
AzureXero
Location: Providence, RI
I played and Beat Tales of Symphonia on Gamecube Twice, And Played and Beat Tales of Symphonia 2 on Wii Twice, Now I own a Wii U and like many other Rpg Advanture Gamers would love to see this game released on another Console, Why do you have to break the chain Namco Bandai? Release a Wii u Version Please even if it means you have to sell less copy's the nostalgia is with Nintendo.
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mgreg
NJ
 
Please wait while more information about mgreg is loaded.
Additional information about mgreg could not be loaded.
tales of games
Posted 3/4/14
Your not getting your full worth of gameplay on those systems! The tales of games have always been in love with sony! There's more content in the ps versions of the games that were released on the others! If I were you I would consider getting them to play all those amazing artes that werent included in the GC version of symphonia! :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Long wait was worth it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/14
Leba2822
Location: Utah
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This review is based on only Tales of Symphonia and not its sequel, while the sequel is not all that bad, Tales of Symphonia 1 is the real star here. This game was amazing when it first came out in 2003 and if you loved it then there is no reason why you wouldn't love it now. What we have here is the icing on the cake with extra icing and toppings. Nothing is more fun in the "tales of" series then to play real time, and enjoying one of my all time favorite stories, while at the same time enjoying all of the new extras that have been put it. To those who have never played the "Tales of" series this is THE place to start.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>