GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

NBA Live 14

Average Customer Rating:
3.4
3.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
5
1 star
22
13 out of 4032%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA Live 14
Review 1 for NBA Live 14
NBA Not-So-Live
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/13
ronniedonnie719
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Since I heard it's announcement, I was pretty excited. That is, until I saw some videos. I wanted so hard for this game to look and feel good. I still had a little hope: until I played the game. It felt like I was playing NBA Live 2003 all over again (and not in the good way). Player models are unrealistic, controls are rather unresponsive, shooting looks and feels awkward, the crowd is very unrealistic and copy-and-paste-like, and the in-game commentary couldn't be worse. The only thing intriguing about this game is the official ESPN scoreboard. This is certainly not the next-generation experience gamers and long-time fans have been wanting and waiting for. Until the developers figure out how to make more realistic fluid motions, unique crowd models, believable player animations, and general gameplay improvements I believe it's safe to say that NBA Live should be locked away safely so no one else has to bare the disaster NBA Live has become over the years. I, for one, prefer they revive NBA Street if they are seriously going to use this silly arcade-ish gameplay. At least people still like NBA Street.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
23 of 29 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NBA Live 14
Stepping Out of the Box!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/14
airwolf34
I really stepped out of my box to get a basketball game!! I played the demo and thought it seemed cool so I figured I should give it a shot.
Well needless to say it totally sucked, ok it wasn't too.... naw seriously it SUCKED!! Many of times when I would call for a pass as soon as I got it... my player would automatically pass the ball away. Many of those passes it made me pass away were wide open shots. I thought to myself maybe I should do a restart since it did just download a lot of updates. So I did but that didn't fix the problem, it still kept on happening.
That being said the next day I traded EA Sports NBA Live 14 for NBA2K14!! Now FYI I have Always been a fan of EA Sports Madden Football over 2K!! So dabbling in to the 2K world for basketball is stepping 5 boxes out of my box!
What I am about to say is really Shocking..... I am totally impressed with NBA2K14!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for NBA Live 14
THE WORST B-BALL GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/13
GamerRealist95
Location: ATL, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been patiently waiting for this game to hit the floor, hoping to see if there was competition with 2ksports, and finally the verdict is in..IT SUCKS!!. Nba2k14 for the new gen is totally different, not the same as the 2k14 for previous gens, with enhanced myplayer mode. But back to live, for the long hiatus you would assumed that it will comeback fast furious, but it kicks rock. The graphics are great, but the gameplay doesn't give much to the imagination. The rising star mode, which is suppose to mimmick the my player mode on 2k14, lacks the involved details that 2ksports put into their products. Bottom line save your money, maybe next year they will figure it out. I was able to take mine back and get good money for it and found out I was the 8th customer to return their copy. If anyone is listening to me, please become the 9th person and save yourself a potential paper weight.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
9 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NBA Live 14
Has potential but still needs work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/14
TP5289
Location: Charlottesville, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought the game then traded it in for Tomb Raider, I later found myself a week later going back and buying it again. Yes I agree with most everyone else that the game can get frustrating to control at times. At the same time, however, the more I've played the more I've actually gotten the hang of it. The ease of rebounding needs to truly improve and the overall dribbling needs to be a little more sensitive to create a similar feel to Live in it's hey day in the early to mid 2000s. Other than that I believe the shooting is easy, playing defense is a little foreign until you adapt. Another bright spot is the graphics and presentation. The graphics show a lot of quality detail the only issue is some players arms look a little long like an orangutang and the ESPN broadcast is quality, obviously you want to hit Jeff Van Gundy in the mouth sometimes but you feel that way in real life too when he starts talking tough. Jalen Rose brings some added depth to the presentation with the halftime and post game reports. Overall NBA Live has an OK foundation laid out but it's not what you expect after a 4 year hiatus. If you're a hardcore Live fan like myself and just don't like 2k I suggest if you love basketball go ahead and try it and if Live is fortunate enough to drop a new game this fall you'll be ready for what is hopefully more like NBA Live 2005.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 5 for NBA Live 14
Not as bad if you get the hang of it
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/14
TP5289
Location: Charlottesville, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought the game then traded it in for Tomb Raider, I later found myself a week later going back and buying it again. Yes I agree with most everyone else that the game can get frustrating to control at times. At the same time, however, the more I've played the more I've actually gotten the hang of it. The ease of rebounding needs to truly improve and the overall dribbling needs to be a little more sensitive to create a similar feel to Live in it's hey day in the early to mid 2000s. Other than that I believe the shooting is easy, playing defense is a little foreign until you adapt. Another bright spot is the graphics and presentation. The graphics show a lot of quality detail the only issue is some players arms look a little long like an orangutang and the ESPN broadcast is quality, obviously you want to hit Jeff Van Gundy in the mouth sometimes but you feel that way in real life too when he starts talking tough. Jalen Rose brings some added depth to the presentation with the halftime and post game reports. Overall NBA Live has an OK foundation laid out but it's not what you expect after a 4 year hiatus. If you're a hardcore Live fan like myself and just don't like 2k I suggest if you love basketball go ahead and try it and if Live is fortunate enough to drop a new game this fall you'll be ready for what is hopefully more like NBA Live 2005.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 6 for NBA Live 14
Nba Live is going downhill
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/14
Ballinizthelife
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Dont get me wrong i have been playing nba live for a long time but its just been horrible ever since 2k started getting better and better. Yes I have switch from Live to 2k because its just much better than Live now. 2k has been the best basketball game since 2008 i fell in love with it ever since. Every single year nba2k has sold hundreds of thousands or even millions than nba live. I honestly think Nba Live should just give up and leave nba to 2k. EA Sports should keep there NFL Madden and 2K Sports could keep the NBA games.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 7 for NBA Live 14
Live vs 2k
Posted on:6/24/13
Anonymous
Location: Kentucky
The thing about 2k is that is does look realistic and is fun to play to a certain extent, the problem with nba 2k is the animations , spin dunks that are un guardable by defense and also the shot stick is good idea but kind of useless, you can have a very early release and still hit the shot, in 2k13 for instance if you play teamup you can hit fade away 3s more easily than you can hit a spot up 3 it just doesnt make sense. NBA live has a chance to redefine the basketball world, but lets face it nba live 10 was pretty much awful, live just needs realistic gameplay without all the horrible animation 2k has, no move should be a glitch where u can constantly score, and no exploit should be un guardable. i played the live franchise all my life and grew up playing and having hours of fun with it. they have a chance to make it right this time just hoping they do cause im tired of 2k's garbage animation exploits.
7 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BIGDFOOTBAL97
 
Please wait while more information about BIGDFOOTBAL97 is loaded.
Additional information about BIGDFOOTBAL97 could not be loaded.
I agree 100% Anonymous
Posted 7/2/13
NBA Live has to redeem its self because I have grown tired of nba 2k's terrible mechanics and overall gameplay. It is not intirely realistic.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for NBA Live 14
It's EA's last shot to make a good Live game.
Posted on:6/21/13
Shamus
NBA Live 14 better be excellent. Pure and simple. It will be the series' first release since NBA Live 10, which was back in October 2009. NBA Elite 11 and NBA Live 13 were two cancelled titles due to their unappealing visuals and poor quality. This is why NBA 2K has become so good. They're willing to reinvent the entire game just to make it 10 times better than the previous year. NBA Live got very repetitive and inconsistent in their last few games (their last few releases that is.) The player model for Kyrie Irving looks good, the others not so much. Their new dribbling system is supposed to be the newest edition to the game. If EA wants to please its NBA fans again, they better keep their promise this time. Otherwise, they'll never make a good NBA Live game again. Ever.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
19 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Whywhy
sacramento
 
Please wait while more information about Whywhy is loaded.
Additional information about Whywhy could not be loaded.
WHY EA
Posted 7/19/13
NBA LIVE 10 is the best basketball game ever. the "New" options from 2k12 & 13 have just been features that LIVE 10 already had. From freestyle control to created player online features. Live 10 already had all this .2k's off ball control is not even close to accurate as EA. and the best feature of them all was a dedicated button for shot, layup,or dunk it was perfect. but For some reason they decided to start all over ?!?!? All they needed to do is upgrade from 10. Anyways now are they fans been adapting to 2k, now its iffy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for NBA Live 14
Great sports game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/14
Leo1Dude
Location: United States
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The graphics are pretty cool. They got a demo of the game downloadable for PlayStation 4 also. Basketball fans would like this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for NBA Live 14
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
BirlandBenji8
This game would be okay if it came out in 2010 but for next gen consoles this game is terrible. It has awful graphics and the commentary is boring and plain after the first few minutes of a game. Offensive rebounding is non-existence. When you push triangle to rebound it is delayed. This is just a terrible game. The only good thing I can say about this game is the Big Moments mode where it lets you play moments from the season. Other than that this is just an awful game.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NBA Live 14
Trash.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/14
Chawk14
Location: ny,ny
There is not one thing about this game that is enjoyable, so bad in fact that when i sold it back to gamestop, i told them i would have paid for them to take it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 12 for NBA Live 14
WHY EA WHY?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/14
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
NBA live 14 is just garbage in disc form. The graphics are hard to look at. and they look like im back on the PS2. the career mode is where things start getting worse. NBA live punishes you for every little thing. Missing a shot makes you lose points. And unlike NBA 2K14, they don't reward you for making free throws or drawing fouls. the player movement is beyond unreal. players look like they have seizures at some points and the warping animations are shown in full force. blocks and dunks happen all the time regardless of the player. this has plagued the series for a while. I remember back in live 08 I blocked Shaq with Steve Nash. so overall this game is complete garbage and don't waste your money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 13 for NBA Live 14
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/14
jlindow
It's actually a piece of junk. Never, ever buy. Stick with 2k. The graphics on it look like a first grader drew them.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NBA Live 14
Make a vita VERSION
Posted on:7/6/13
LiLWreckless
Location: VA,Chesapeake
Especially since 2k isnt making a move onto the best portable game system ever and this game out blow up on the vita there would be no competition so ppl would pick this up theres no b-ball games on vita
22 of 29 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
swoogie
 
Please wait while more information about swoogie is loaded.
Additional information about swoogie could not be loaded.
I agree
Posted 9/19/13
if you make this available for the vita it would make some money
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for NBA Live 14
I truly think this game is a 10 good for 1 or 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
tborn
It's a very fun game that is good for 2 people and for 1 person. I rated it this high because I have had so much fun with it and I honestly think it is a 10 in everything. I recommend getting this and 2K. DEFINITELY GET THIS GAME, IT IS VERY FUN.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NBA Live 14
I Got the Game so no worries
Posted on:11/15/13
jaychitown312
Location: Chicago
I havent had alot of time on it but the game is on point. I was trying to play Live 14 like it was 2k. It plays totally different and it will take an adjustment because we have been away from the series. No sliding, dribbling is real and passing and blocking are good. Stealing and even taking and drawing fouls are good. I have yet to play 2k next gen but if it plays like current gen I made a good decision. Live is back and it will only get better. Go cop it if your a fan of the series.
9 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NBA Live 14
Pretty nice!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/13
WiiURulz
Location: kentucky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am not sure why it has gotten bad reviews. If you actually play it, it is really fun. The graphics are really not bad at all. I have both this and NBA 2k14. Both had great features. The half time show is nice. Plus instant updates to players is cool.
Tons of people are playing this and loving it and don't post about it. They just play NBA Live 14 and enjoy it. Try the demo on psn network and see for yourselves.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NBA Live 14
Not as bad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/13
TheUnknownGamerx
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is not as bad as people are making it out to look like, the graphics are bad since it's next generation, but 2k did nothing except add cut scenes to my player, the gameplay in this is really good, I'd say rent, borrow, or buy a used copy to try it...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NBA Live 14
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/13
iluvassassinscreed
Location: Excelsior Springs, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Good game, very fun. Dynasty mode is very exciting and entertaining. The rising star mode is fun as well.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NBA Live 14
Try NBA Live Demo
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/13
sunnyanks
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really want to thanks to who wrote reviews of this game I was thinking buying this game after having fun playing on ps4 I try NBA Live Demo to me it was not bad at all I really did not think about how everything look like I was just playing game like I never played it and in some way it does look like u are playing on ps2 or ps3 system. But I was really having great time playing Demo on ps4 then I look at this page of people wrote reviews then it change my mind. Thx for saving my money lol I could just wait till used game goes down to $30-40 then buy it or just play for free demo not bad just start over lol. I had NBA 2k for ps3 I get bored after few days so I might be bored again with NBA Live after I buy it so better off playing as demo which free :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>