GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation 4 Camera

Broadcast yourself in play with PlayStation®Camera. Become a community sensation by adding a picture-in-picture video of yourself in gameplay livestreams. Create and share narrated game walkthroughs in HD video and voice chat through four built-in microphones. Enjoy stunning new levels of immersion as the 3D depth-sensing camera and DUALSHOCK®4 wireless controller's light bar track player movements through space. Log in instantly with facial recognition and navigate PS4 system menu hands-free with voice inputs.
Average Customer Rating:
7.786
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
3
8 stars
5
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1471%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation 4 Camera
Review 1 for PlayStation 4 Camera
Good choice if you want it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/13
Benaiah
Location: Georgia
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I'm really pleased with the PS4 Camera. While I wished that it turned the console on, it is however able to turn the console off with voice commands. Play Room is pretty cool and will have more content added in the future as well. If you are going to play more than a few games, you should definitely pick this up.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for PlayStation 4 Camera
Works, Sort of.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/13
Tabitha
Location: Holtsville, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've had the PSCamera set up all weekend since the launch of the PS4. Currently, the only thing that makes use of it well is "The Playroom" the app the comes installed on the system. While the app is a very good tech demo, shows off everything the new controls can be used for very well, it's not really a game. Besides that the only real functionality you're going to get out of it is the voice commands. They're very nice, similar to the Kinect commands on Xbox, but there aren't as many and it can't be used to control applications. Just return you to the home screen. When they work, they're convenient and make navigating the slightly clumsy PS4 dashboard quicker than normal. But there are sometimes times where it just doesn't want to pick up the key word "PlayStation" Which is what sets the functionality into motion. Similar to the word "Xbox" on the 360 and One. All and all it's nice to have for the future. Hopefully someone will make good use of it later and they will fix the voice issues.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
17 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PlayStation 4 Camera
Gamestop raised the price!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/14
cembury
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought this used from a Gamestop store for $54.99 a little more than a month ago. My kids love it. The camera does have a little trouble tracking my daughter in Just Dance. I have noticed that Gamestop has been out of stock for a long time. Then the manage to be the only company that is restocked and the price jumps by $10...very interesting.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
19 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
PuddinTater
York, PA
 
Please wait while more information about PuddinTater is loaded.
Additional information about PuddinTater could not be loaded.
Lol
Posted 8/11/14
You bought yours for $55 "used". How is the "new" version being 65 a ripoff? It used to be $100 new.......
Customer Avatar
Newhandheldowner
CO
 
Please wait while more information about Newhandheldowner is loaded.
Additional information about Newhandheldowner could not be loaded.
some things bug me too
Posted 3/26/14
Bummers from my point of view are you have to hold the controller for it to even know your around. When the children start to dance I just hope the controller does not go across the room and break. LOL. Just count how many mic or speaker it has( hint 1 ,1 ,other 3 beleave, ) , I think that why trouble with having to say voice commands very well and then some times it just does not like the word playstation. It seems to really only be good for online gameing . It wont moneter a heartbeat which I think is very important. Now Sony says it will be able to do much more and I hope they prove me wrong. Im just saying it has problems doing the basics and they raise it 10 more $ and im only speaking about the sony camera, the controller is really a good item. I got this info from a lot of PS4 owners that had at least 2 concerns with the camera. I hope they post this because, it just is not worth 10 more bucks at this time and its may be time to let sony know that many people are not happy.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for PlayStation 4 Camera
MUST HAVE FOR ONLINE GAMERS
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/13
ShankNBurn
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Why I like it - Voice commands are nice to use(limited but more will come) one of the Biggest reasons I love it when I play split screen online COD with family my wife and i can easily talk with my bro and his wife with out having to wear headsets, plus the ability to share and comment on clips is awesome, would much rather use this vs the mono headset that came with ps4 and for only 60 bucks it definitely increases functions and with more to come...cant wait for more voice controls to come out for ui and games
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PlayStation 4 Camera
Gets the job done.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/14
MJR10
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
There was only one reason why I bought this. That was the twitch streaming service available. I wasn't looking for the same quality as the kinect. The kinect for the Xbox One is much better, and has many more features. The PS camera has some voice commands, and other features, but, in the end, it is faster to just navigate the XMB with the controller. The mics in the camera are pretty good, however. I watched myself playing Battlefield 4 on twitch, and the audio was perfectly clear, and the video was good enough. The only game functionality you will probably get from this is the playroom. It is a neat tech demo, and would be fun with kids, but unless you want easy trophies, there isn't much of a reason to play it. Overall I am happy with my purchase because it works well with what I wanted it to. Streaming functionality is great. Actual practical use is alright, but needs some patching.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PlayStation 4 Camera
You Should also note
Posted on:10/17/13
Jijibob
The PlayStation camera is supposed to have a lot of functions for many of the next gen FPS games such as COD, Battlefield and Killzone, according to Sony it will allow your screen box while playing multi-player to move in accordance with you to a better vantage point, which is a focal selling point for people who have COD and Battlefield parties. Just imagine not having to worry what screen you are because you moved in the round robin play, this is awesome and has been something needed for a long time. It will sell out initially but shipment 2 and 3 should still hit before Christmas and you should be able to snag one. If you want to pre-order go for it if not wait its simple as that, this actually should be a must have for even hard core gamers because of the added functionality that is planned for the future and longevity of the system.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PSNjesgan
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about PSNjesgan is loaded.
Additional information about PSNjesgan could not be loaded.
what lol
Posted 3/24/14
Theres no use for the camera on pretty much any of the games you mentioned. Stop posting things you herd from your friends and saying sony said it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for PlayStation 4 Camera
This is a joke really,
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/14
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is very terrible I do not know why this is so rare and is selling for over 100 on many other sites as well on here the price went up I bought this for $59.99 MSRP to record while I play games and the pixels are terrible and the other features aren't good as well as the voice commands. I own both the xbox one and this ps4 I love the ps4 but the xbox knect is a million times better even the original Knect is better than this camera. If you have the xbox one and ps4 then you don't need this camera if you have just a ps4 you still don't need this camera it does noting special and there are no fun games like the eye toy games from ps2 or ps3 move games and none have been announce this is really just junk and a joke how it is selling out every where.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
8 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PlayStation 4 Camera
Not fully used yet.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/13
TekJreview
Location: Delavan Wi.
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love it !!! Do you really need it rite now. No !! It's really cool looking tho sitting on the top of my HDTV's and it's small. Not like the big Xbox one camera that's a big detraction. But its not used to its full perinatal yet. I can do voice commands like Playstation power. Turn off or go to stand bye. Not as many voice commands as Xbox one. But at least it will listen to me and I don't have to repeat myself like Xbox 1. It's got facial recantation log in. So it will log into my account with just seeing my face. I have not been able to use it in party chat witch sucks. It's got four speakers on it and two camera's in it. I would recommend another controller and charger station before a camera.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PlayStation 4 Camera
The PS4 Camera is a Must!
Posted on:8/11/13
LegendaryScarfo
Location: Detroit, MI
If you're a gamer who loves gaming online, then the PS4 camera is a must! I'm aware the PS4 comes with a headset, but it only has one mic to speak into. This camera has 4 mics built in for high dept audio quality! For gamers who are eagarly anticipating playing Battlefield 4, Call of Duty Ghosts, and Killzone Shadow Fall, then you can't go wrong with buying this item! Better pre order it now, because when the PS4 launches, the camera, and the dual shock 4 controller will be very hard to find!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
16 of 30 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rcflex
Palm Springs, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Rcflex is loaded.
Additional information about Rcflex could not be loaded.
Response
Posted 9/3/13
It's pretty cool it has 4 mics, though i'm not sure why you think that many will be better for those games??? (unless your confusing it with surround sound? As It will just pick up every background noise that's audible in your room and area and be kind of annoying when playing and hearing all this background noise coming from you while playing...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for PlayStation 4 Camera
Acceptional..Does the Job
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/14
EliteTrendsetter
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this camera about a month ago for myself. I was looking to replace the need of having turtle beaches because of the built in mic. Come to find out that its basically impossible to in game chat with the camera because it's always going to be positioned very close to the speaker of the TV, therefore reflecting back the game noise I hear to everyone else playing. Besides that everything else as far as camera view, lighting and essential functions work a little bit better than expected. Just dissapointed that I cant use the mic part of the camera the way I wanted to.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for PlayStation 4 Camera
Pre order
Posted on:6/15/13
Juskicks
Location: Brooklyn
I think everyone who wants the ps cam should pre order cause I was told in the store its only a limited amount just like the controllers plus I hate waiting on back orders so I pre order an extra controller and the cam with my system plus the other games.
16 of 31 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PlayStation 4 Camera
A Must-Have for PlayStation 4 Owners-To-Be
Posted on:10/21/13
ronniedonnie719
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Having the ability to record yourself and your gameplay without the use of a PVR saves a lot of money. Having PlayStation's new 3D camera will certainly revolutionize how people play, share, and boast online with friends and enemies alike.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PAPAJUSTICE
MASS
 
Please wait while more information about PAPAJUSTICE is loaded.
Additional information about PAPAJUSTICE could not be loaded.
ps4,ps4 camera/mic,BF4,GHOST.
Posted 11/9/13
I recieved my copy of ghost (ps4)in the mail this past week but still have to wait for the release date of the system... I also pre-orded BF4, and the camera..I'm really looking forward to gaming with the new ps4.....Now i will just have to wait for my new gun to arrive, its called the DELTA-6, I would recommend any FPS Gamer to look into this gun,....and .its already getting great reviews by critics !! its by David Kotkin(avenger elite)...I'll .see you all on the battlefield + game-on !!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for PlayStation 4 Camera
its no Kinect 2.0 but...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/14
GOWtr83
Location: NEW YORK, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
first off you can't expect a world of iron man like features it works perfectly fine when you speak clearly into it, i got this at launch and have been using it for various in game features like in Tomb Raider:DE it works fine calling commands for lara the only thing i'd complain about is the command prompts at the XMB 2.0 on the PS4 its kind of worthless but works occasionally its no miracle by any means but it works, for what its worth i'd recommend it to anyone who just wants to get some extra enjoyment out of the PS4 games that actually use this device, as i said its no kinect so don't get this device if you want something that works like the kinect does, but it works
 
My Product Recommendations
PlayStation 4 inFAMOUS Second Son Bundle
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PlayStation 4 Camera
This is essential for PS4 owners
Posted on:10/10/13
Riker
Location: Las Vegas, NV
I have this pre-ordered along with my system, extra controller, and 3 launch titles. What really sold me on this is not the eye camera itself but the fact that I dont have to wear an annoying headset to play online with friends. The camera has 4 mics so it should have crystal clear audio. I've never been disappointed with playstation products in the past so this should be no different.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WiiURulz
kentucky
 
Please wait while more information about WiiURulz is loaded.
Additional information about WiiURulz could not be loaded.
Awesome!
Posted 10/15/13
But not for the reasons you may think. The Play Room is included on the PS4. There is trophies that you can earn. You have to have the camera to play it. Also they are going to have added on content for the Play Room too. As a bonus it gets you used to using it for the next 7 years of games. It is a must have for day one buyers.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for PlayStation 4 Camera
Impressive .. better than kinect
Posted on:7/17/13
Frank7
Location: you dont need to know ..
yes i said it .. its probably even better than Xbox one kinect , the *PlayRoom* video really impressed me , loved how the controller's light bar can interact with the Eye .. loved the apps i can use on my tablets and smartphones for the eye demos .. its really amazing,fun,innovative .. i feel that its better than the kinect 2 .. i see a lot of potentials for the creative indie games developers
 
My Product Recommendations
 
13 of 41 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
arm13
 
Please wait while more information about arm13 is loaded.
Additional information about arm13 could not be loaded.
arm13
Posted 2/27/14
This camera is supposed to 59.99 is it not Gamestop?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for PlayStation 4 Camera
Yeahhhhhhhh!
Posted on:6/13/13
tonygames
Location: Carteret, NJ
I cant wait till this comes out with the ps4 and the ps4 controller. Im going to preoder all that stuff right now
8 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Notyouraveragebatman
Portland,OR
 
Please wait while more information about Notyouraveragebatman is loaded.
Additional information about Notyouraveragebatman could not be loaded.
Yeah you don't need it
Posted 6/28/13
Ever wonder why the price was lower than the Xbox one was this. They dropped the eye from the bundle making it so just like today, optional.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for PlayStation 4 Camera
Worries
Posted on:6/14/13
Arodnizzle
Location: Jersey
Wondering if the camera eye is going to be hard to find, I'm concerned that if i don't preorder the camera eye I wont be able to get one because of it being back ordered ... Do you recommend preordering it?
7 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Pholl
 
Please wait while more information about Pholl is loaded.
Additional information about Pholl could not be loaded.
Yes get it
Posted 7/23/13
When I went to preorder my ps4 the guy there said that Sony had to double the amount of ps eyes cause so many people have preorder them. Anything that you can ore order get it ASAP or your going to wait till 2014 to get it
Customer Avatar
windowstool
 
Please wait while more information about windowstool is loaded.
Additional information about windowstool could not be loaded.
Posted 7/3/13
yes defiantly you'll regret it later
Customer Avatar
HalfCooked
US
 
Please wait while more information about HalfCooked is loaded.
Additional information about HalfCooked could not be loaded.
You might wanna...
Posted 6/16/13
You might want to pre-order if you really want one (PS4, camera, extra controllers). Not sure if you had the same issue, but when I got my PS3, I had a hard time finding one. I didn't get one on the realease date. I personally feel that, other than the people who preordered the system/accessories, will have a hard time trying to get them when it's realeased.
Customer Avatar
Swaqqasofrezzh
Connecticut
 
Please wait while more information about Swaqqasofrezzh is loaded.
Additional information about Swaqqasofrezzh could not be loaded.
Wow
Posted 6/15/13
You kidding right? Even the ps4 wont be back ordered u be able to get it day one . Same as xbox one
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 18 for PlayStation 4 Camera
only for toying around like the rest
Posted on:8/25/13
dog1
Location: Illinois
definataly not a must buy for the hardcore gamer just for the casual gamer or it will just sit in the box with the ps3 eye and the xbox kenect but just one guys opinion that has been gaming longer than a lot of the other reviewers have been alive !
5 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PlayStation 4 Camera
MUST HAVE FOR PS4 USERS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/14
game98killer
Location: Dinuba,CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
The PlayStation Camera is outstanding no lie its very small fits anywhere you put it the voice commands work good the PLAYROOM IS ALSOME NOOOOOOOOO LIE :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for PlayStation 4 Camera
Awesomeness! Love this product
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/14
Tanker6789
Location: Little rock, AR
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Love this product so much! Can't wait to see what the future holds! This camera is so much better that the ps eye! Don't be fooled by the xbox one. MY samsung tv can do more than my xbox one.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>