GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze

Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze: The first Wii U installment in the franchise comes from Retro Studios. The side-scrolling platformer has beautiful HD graphics that show fine details, such as Donkey Kong's fur. Dixie Kong joins the adventure, which features the Kongs swimming underwater and moving from the foreground to the background. This time, the camera changes perspective on certain levels to enhance the sense of motion and to deliver new experiences.
Average Customer Rating:
9.133
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
7
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Review 1 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Donkey Kong country Returns... In HD
Posted on:8/4/13
rockstar321
Location: Fairfax VA
Yes, everyone, this is the first Donkey Kong game in HD, and it looks great so far. this game has a lot of unique worlds, like a jungle level, an ice level, a water level... WAIT A MINUTE, A WATER LEVEL! NOOOO!!!. just kidding, it's nothing like the water levels from most games, (the sonic series), Donkey Kong can't drown and he can swim. The gameplay, It's almost the same as Donkey Kong country returns, it's your basic side scrolling platforming, you know Nintendo platforming. this game's story, is very small, basically, a group of vikings scare away the people of Donkey Kong island, and donkey Kong, with the help of Diddy Kong of course, need to travel through 5 islands, all different from each other. this game looks like it will be one of Nintendo better games, the gameplay looks great. the story, (while not much of a story) is original, and everything else looks perfect.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
blarghafrlargh
 
Please wait while more information about blarghafrlargh is loaded.
Additional information about blarghafrlargh could not be loaded.
Drowning
Posted 9/30/13
they are adding drowning sadly
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Yo can drowned a Monkey!
Posted 8/9/13
I find the watter levels to be very relaxing & enjoyible in Donkey Kong game. Plus as every one know's it's a fact that Monkey's can breath underwatter. :D:):)
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Great addition to the DKC series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
RetroSkillz64
Location: Clemmons, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Donkey Kong Country was one of my first SNES games and one of my first video games in general. It's one of those games that tell me why video games are awesome. Its two sequels did the same justice as well. When I heard about DKCR in 2010, I went NUTS. It was my top priority for video games that year. And after beating it, I realized how well it brought back memories of playing the original DKC on SNES. In 2013, I was somewhat letdown that Retro Studios' first Wii U game wasn't a new Metroid, or even a new Star Fox (hey, let a gamer dream.) But in reality, I was more than happy that fans were getting an HD DKC game. Now, many gaming sites criticize this game for being too hard. Honestly, after beating this game, I thought this was just about the same as Donkey Kong Country Returns, in terms of difficulty, and that's not a bad thing. Now for the full review: Gameplay - 9/10 - Although DKC: Tropical Freeze's gameplay is roughly the same as DKC Returns', there are some nice additions and modifications. One, the slightly tedious blowing mechanic from DKCR is replaced with a plucking mechanic, making the flow of the levels less interrupted. Two, for the first time in the Donkey Kong Country series, you have three different buddies to choose from to work alongside with DK, rather than just one. And three, you have the option for traditional controls like the Pro Controller, rather than the Wii shake controls. And four, water levels (which were in the SNES games) return. Overall, I'd say DKCTF's gameplay is an improvement over DKCR's. Graphics - 10/10 - I could go on and on about the graphics, but needless to say, the HD visuals really bring the levels to life in this DKC game. The Kongs' fur looks so dang good as well. You have to see it on the TV to believe it. Sound - 10/10 - David Wise (composer of the original SNES games) returned for DKCTF (wasn't involved with DKCR) and let me tell you, he's literally brought some of the best music since DKC2 (heck, you'll even notice some awesome remixes from that game.) Oh yeah, and this game is also in 5.1 surround, and it's pretty sweet. Lasting Appeal - 8/10 - In my books, DKCTF is gonna be a classic just like DKC2. It has an unlockable Hard Mode, Time Attack, and loads of extras to earn in the Extras gallery. Unfortunately, this isn't the game the Wii U needs at this moment because it doesn't show off the Wii U GamePad's potential. Still, if you're hardcore and love the Donkey Kong Country series, get this game. One of my favorite games of 2014 right now.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Not my video (Uploaded by piplupwater). One of DKCTF's best tunes right here.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
HIGHLY Recommended! Super platforming fun!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/14
SFGamer617
Location: San Francisco, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the best 2d platformer I've played in quite some time. The game is comprised of 6 islands each with its own theme - palm beach, woodsy forrest, african safari/plain, etc. Each island is comprised of about 5 stages and ends with a cool boss battle.
Each stage creatively incorporates some sort of environmental (wind, fire, water, etc) and some sort of vehicle (cart, barrel rocket, etc) element into its gameplay. It's hard to describe just how well these elements come together to create some truly rewarding gameplay... For example there's a flappy-bird-esque portion in one of the stages where you pilot a barrel that turns into a rocket-ship-thing. The vehicle moves forward automatically, but you have to keep on hitting A to give it gas and maintain verticality. And so you have to control how high or low the vehicle goes to avoid various obstacles like nets full of fish and giant sea monsters!
The graphics are bright and beautiful, and the soundtrack is suprisingly awesome. My favorite being the underwater theme and the strangely epic scorch n torch level them on the third island.
Anyways, highly, highly recommended.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
DK blasts into an all new adventure
Posted on:6/12/13
NintendoHistory
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
Donkey Kong is thrown off his island and needs to get back. Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze is an all new adventure in the Donkey Kong Country Franchise. In this game there will be tons of new enemies, bosses, and features. Donkey Kong must stop evil vikings from taking over Donkey Kong Island. But he won't be on his own as he will be joined by Diddy Kong, Dixie Kong, and another yet to be revealed companion. This will be DK's first game in HD, and from what has been shown off, it looks absolutely gorgeous as the game designers put in tons of detail from the background, all the way to his fuzzy looking hair. Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze will be an amazing plat former and a day one purchase for me and hopefully you too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
25 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Brandon, FL
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Wait a minute
Posted 9/20/13
Isn't this the sequel to Donkey Kong Country returns? because it looks like about a year after the volcano erupted Vikings invaded Donkey Kong Island.
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
More fun than a barral full of monkeys oh wait.
Posted 8/9/13
I am looking forward to this game as well. I love Nintendo & this game looks better than DKCR on Wii,
Customer Avatar
JaxonH
Madison, WI
 
Please wait while more information about JaxonH is loaded.
Additional information about JaxonH could not be loaded.
Best Game Of the Year, BAR NONE
Posted 7/12/13
Anyone who has never played a Donkey Kong Country game is really cheating themselves as a gamer. Not only were the original 3 excellent, but DKC Returns for Wii was quite possibly the best platformer of that generation. But this game? It's looking like it has further ambitions, and from what I've seen might make a running for the best platformer of all time. DKC Returns was SUCH a fun game; if this game is even half as fun as its predecessor, we Nintendo gamers win. But I think it'll be better....
Customer Avatar
legoland1324
you don't need to know
 
Please wait while more information about legoland1324 is loaded.
Additional information about legoland1324 could not be loaded.
Looks OK
Posted 7/2/13
In my opinion, Donkey Kong is one of my favorite Mario characters. Although I can't say that I'll be running like The Flash to my local Gamestop (TM) to get a copy of this game. It looks just like Donkey Kong Country and Donkey Kong Country Returns. I don't see the real purpose in getting this game. I might get a copy of this, but there's a good chance I'll trade the game in.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 5 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
What a Wonderful Legacy You've Got There
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
MisterMelonMan
Location: Zanesville, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Why so negative?
Oh, the game is beautiful.
The music is great and catchy and all that.
But the controls feel so mushy I can barely stand to play it.
It literally feels like they've pinned a Donkey Kong game over what was mistaken for a "modern" physics engine.
I spent the weeks up to release playing the old games attempting to relive the magic before charging headfirst into this title.
But this is just unplayable:
Bouncing off enemies is wrong.
Momentum is wrong.
Jumping can sometimes feel right if the stars align. But, as you never jump the same distance twice, jumping is also wrong.
Level design is atrocious. Obstacles will get thrown at you at random and you will either figure it out immediately or you won't. Then that gimmick is gone, never to be seen again (sometimes thankfully).
This game literally makes me want to sell my WiiU and only even think of Nintendo when the next Pokémon gets released on their handhelds.
God knows they've driven all sense of charm out of every other once-beloved series they have to their name...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
awsome! Cant wait.
Posted on:8/30/13
PsychoMantis99
Location: atlanta,ga.
Im 40 years old and im getting this. Brings back great memories DC Country. What a great game that was.
22 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NowhereMan37
 
Please wait while more information about NowhereMan37 is loaded.
Additional information about NowhereMan37 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/19/14
It's good to see that there are people your age who understand video games. There are some people even younger than you who just don't understand, and have pre-conceived ideas about video games being "just for kids". Their loss. I am 34, and the Donkey Kong Country games bring back great memories for me as well. They have always had creative level designs (which is what I like best about them), and this one looks like it could be the best one yet.
Customer Avatar
coollobo29
 
Please wait while more information about coollobo29 is loaded.
Additional information about coollobo29 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/24/13
cant wait
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Makes you smile.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/14
americanprez73
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze may not be what we expected or wanted from Retro Studios this time, yet Tropical Freeze is a fantastic contemporary rendering of Donkey Kong and his comrades. Graphics and visuals are stunning, rivaling Super Mario 3D World and presents itself as a 2D platform that looks like a larger 3D environment. Game play is smooth and Donkey Kong performs well along with his cohorts and their respective abilities that complement the level design and challenges very well. One thing indicative of Nintendo is their ability to create infectiously catchy soundtracks, and Tropical Freeze is no exception. Don't be fooled, as this is a challenging platformer, and you will find yourself falling off cliffs many times over, yet it's the challenge that keeps you coming back for more. Level design is well done, beautifully designed, and loaded with secrets to find. Having played the original Donkey Kong Country series as well as Donkey Kong Country Returns, Tropical Freeze is an excellent sequel that I believe raised the bar of the series comeback. As someone that has grown up with Nintendo since the days of the NES, you won't be disappointed with the quality of Tropical Freeze.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Retrio stodio's presents DK Tropical Freeze
Posted on:7/19/13
iLoveNintendoFlo
Location: America
Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze is a Wii U exclusive action platformer from Nintendo & Retrio Stoudio's. The graphics at first glance look a bit simple but they are lot's of little detales like being able to see Donkey Kongs fur and the little animations and details and on all of the Animals looks great. I really like the Nature feel of the game. Also awesome news the music is done by the same guy that did the SNES Donkey Kong games to I can't wait to see what he can do now with full octrated music! The level designs that were at E3 looked amazingly fun & the levels seem to be much bigger than in past Donkey Kong games! The camra is looking amazing as well aways letting you see what your doing and following you to make the game even more exciting to watch. Perficed controls and smooth 60 fps the game plays very well and they added a lot of interesting new things. Every one is happy to play as Dixiey Kong for the first time sence Donkey Kong Country 2 on the SNES, But I am exsiced for the bad guys the vikking look much cooller than the lame Tiki guys from the first game & I can't wait to deafet them at get my jungle back when this awesome game comes out. See ya on Miiverse. :):):)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
DKC Tropical Freeze.
Posted 8/9/13
Thanks for reading my pre-view. Happy to hear your looking forward to this.
Customer Avatar
ds33
28311
 
Please wait while more information about ds33 is loaded.
Additional information about ds33 could not be loaded.
I can't what
Posted 7/29/13
This is going to be my first donkey game
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Platforming at It's Greatest
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/14
SegaReviewMan
Location: San Jose,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When thinking about a game to buy for the Wii U (if you have one, because god it's not selling and I don't know WHY!!!), this is a game to buy. It is one of the greatest 2D platformers in the Wii U. It has great music, beautiful graphics(you can see Donkey Kong's fur!), and isn't afraid to give you a challenge. Multiplayer isn't a problem, well if you have a good partner. One problem (which is in most Wii U games) is how it doesn't use the game pad.....at all. It is pretty much just a control. They could have used the game pad like how Rayman Legends did. But overall, it was a great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Have to have
Posted on:10/16/13
Delima05
Location: Buffalo,New York
I've been a die heart DK fan since I was little. It is my childhood game so this game screams nostalgia. I prefer DK over any other Nintendo franchise including Mario. Now the next generation of gamers will be able to enjoy the same way I did 15 + year ago. I played the WII version and love it, challenging, unique levels. Expect the same but only more, have to have.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Master piece, but challenging
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/14
Tivoo
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is nothing short of a master piece. I bought for me and my kids to play (3, 4, and 6yrs old) and have enjoyed every minute of it. As a veteran to donkey king country games I have been waiting for this for years now.i have been playing video games since I was 2 years old. I'm now 26 but do have to say it is a bit challenging. My kids can't get past the first 1-etc chapters. Let alone boss fights. Which is a little odd for me since I figured this game would appeal to the younger generation. But all in all it's a great game with the whole kong gang and old scenarios like riding the rhino, mining kart, etc. def a must have for old school gamers but be warned for new generation gamers I feel they will struggle right off the start
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
CAN'T WAIT!!
Posted on:9/9/13
JenYvonne
Location: Ponce, PR
I want this game, can't wait for it. This is one of the reasons I bought a Wii U, and so many others.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TiniTinyTony
Bloomsburg, PA
 
Please wait while more information about TiniTinyTony is loaded.
Additional information about TiniTinyTony could not be loaded.
Delayed - February 2014
Posted 10/3/13
Per the latest Nintendo Direct (10/1/2013) this game has been pushed to February 2014.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
DK is an amazing platformer
Posted on:2/10/14
9tendoguy
Location: MA
Donkey Kong country on the snes was one of my favorite platformers. This game looks to bring back all those fun levels and music of the original. David Wise is composing the music for this one,he did the original games.
The platforming in this game is one of the best in the industry if not the best.The game looks like a Saturday morning cartoon graphic wise. This is the type of game that can only be found on wiiu and no other system has it. This is the reason for my purchasing a wiiu,it will be an amazing platformer.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Dat Fur
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/14
NintendoHistory
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let's jump right to it; Here are 7 reasons to get Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze! 1. Soundtrack- Personally the soundtrack for Returns wasn't amazing, but this game has top notch themes that will get you into the mood to play. It's really important that the soundtrack fits the game as it emerges you into it, and Tropical Freezes soundtrack does just that. 2. HD Glory- This is the firs time we get to see DK in an HD adventure, and it looks glorious. The environments really make the graphics shine and all the characters look amazingly detailed (DK's FUZZY FUR!!) 3. Difficulty- We can all agree that over the years Nintendo has lost their title of having tough games. Luckily much like Retruns, Tropical Freeze is a very tough game. I'm not saying that it's impossible, but you will loose the occasional life. 4. Partners- In Returns you could play along side Diddy Kong, but in this title you can play as Dixie Kong and Cranky Kong as well. All three partners have their own unique skills, such as Dixie's very usual hover and Crank's super jump using his cane. 5. Level Diversity- Each level in this game is completely different from the last. For example, One level you'll be riding though a saw mill factory and the next you'll be in a beautiful savannah with music that sounds like it came strait from the Lion King. Retro Studios went all out on creativity in ALL of the levels in this game. 6. Enemies and Bosses- To put it shortly I didn't like the enemies in Returns. In this entry, I love all of them, from a fat fire breathing pig all the way to a sniping penguin. As for the bosses, they are pretty difficult and are much better than the ones in Returns. You will remember these fights and will most likely cry during them... I did... 7. Long Lasting- With every Donkey Kong title, there will be tons of collectibles in order to 100% the game and Tropical Freeze is no exception. You will need to search every nook and cranny to find all the Kong and puzzle pieces in each level. This brings a huge amount of replay-ability. Now that I'm done with my 7 reasons, your probably wondering if this game is worth buying a Wii U for. The answer to that question is... Yes. This game is incredible and is an extremely good time! Every Donkey Kong and Nintendo fan should play this game. You will have no doubts after you do so. Retro Studios has completely outdone themselves and I'm glad that I got to play this amazing game and you should definitely play too!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
BEST DONKEY KONG GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/14
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
Donkey Kong Country Freeze is by far the best donkey kong games of all time. The story begins with donkey kong, diddy, dixie, and cranky all sitting around a table eagerly waiting for Donkey Kong to take his first bite of his banana cake. But all of a sudden a group of wintery enemies known as snowmads invade the island and start freezing everything. It is up to donkey kong and his friends to put a stop do their plans or they will freeze the entire island. The gameplay is similar to country returns. you platform on 2D stages, solve puzzles and do many other things as you go for the goal. One of the biggest features is the dynamic camera angles during some of the launching sections. This leads to some epic escapes and falls. This is one of the best looking games on the Wii u. The textures of incredible and the nature effects like water and grass look amazing. The other kongs aren't left out, Diddy can float with his jetpack, dixie is similar to diddy, using her hair to float slower for safer landings and cranky uses his cane as a pogo stick to jump higher. the stages in this game are jaw dropping to say the least. none will ever beat the amazing silhouette stage from country returns but they are still great. my favorite stage sees you jumping on different animals as they dance to the music. the soundtrack in this game rocks. many new songs and awesome remixes are in this game and are very enjoyable. so overall this game comes highly recommended by me and if you love DK you must get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Like a Huge expansion to DKC:R
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/14
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
And that isn't a bad thing. Donkey kong games aren't known for their story, they excel in gameplay. This one does it better than any before it. Using the gamepad feels completely natural, better then the wii mote or snes controller. The graphics and art design are incredible. I have never seen so much detail in hair/fur in any game, including xbox one/ps4 graphics. The frame rate is perfect, no drops. It's also hard, especially if you are trying to get 100% Good luck trying to find everything without having some kind of help. A great buy overall and only 50$
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Sold by the end of Level 1-1
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/14
Fmarin83
Location: Pensacola, FL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Just as the title says. Bought the game to play with the wife. From the start one person controls DK and the other can pick from cranky, diddy or dixie. I thought that was awesome. Funky Kong is back selling items. The graphics, sound, and character design are amazing right from the start. The game is a lot harder than Mario but that's how these games have been. Great abilities to play two people or when a part of a zone is easier to solo you can have the other player jump on DK's back. Either one can take turns doing barrels or the mine cart levels. I just finished world one and already i feel like it was money well spent. Hope for more DLC!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Don't judge a book by its cover..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
THEDEVILNOSBEST666
Location: louisville,ky
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When i bought this game i thought it would be just like the first one except a new concept and villains, I was totally wrong this has got to be the best plat former iv ever played. This game is super difficult and a lot of fun! And going back getting all of the letters and puzzle pieces is harder than you think. So it has a tone of new replay value. The only thing i dont like is no new animal buddies but other than that if you have a Wii U buy this game because it might be the best game next to Super mario 3d world for the system!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
Trento70
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze does not fail to bring us a challenging yet addictingly fun game. The graphics are amazing and i was really pleased with that. The game is yet another success by Nintendo and i highly recommend this game for anyone interested.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
This game is a challenge
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/14
Twistedvirgo0913
Location: Lansing, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
*flashback* to the 80's playing the original Mario Bros. there's that one friggin' jump with the little sliver of bricks to land on and you had to time your jump just right, or else face a myriad of pit falls and lives lost. Nintendo I think has HAD IT with people classifying their games as children's fare. They have ramped up the challenge and brought back the classic characters from the Super Nintendo days of Donkey Kong Country Returns!!! Basically Dixie Kong joins the group. This game is a real challenge, and is fun to play co-op. The level builds are gorge, and the sound track is bumpin'. I wish you could pick which Kong character you play as, instead of always having to play as Donkey Kong through out each level, unless you play multiplayer you're stuck as Donkey Kong, who's a frickin' brick. The only thing that would make this game better is Trophies, because it's so hard! I feel like I should get a trophy upon completing some of the feats. I think Nintendo should integrate the Sticker book collection in Super Mario World 3D for all of their games, and allow you to use stickers to make posts to the Wii home. I think that would ramp up the addiction to playing Nintendo, because anyone who knows a Nintendo game you're going to be collecting something of some kind, and that's the real charm, collecting.... C'MON NINTENDO you're killing me with this no trophies thing, you have this wonderful bragging space, and YOU HAVE NOTHING TO BRAG ABOUT!!!!! ok anyway, if you have a wii U pick up Donkey Kong Country Topical Freeze, because it's a real game, not appropriate for small children due to difficulty. Have fun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>