GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Yoshi's New Island

An Island Egg-venture Starring Yoshi - The third installment in this beloved franchise makes its way to the Nintendo 3DS system.
Average Customer Rating:
9
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yoshi's New Island
Review 1 for Yoshi's New Island
Hopefully new and no trucked in sand from the old
Posted on:3/2/14
Reviewer3377
Location: Gamesville
Yoshi's Island DS was excruciatingly hard and although I found all items on the levels I played, I became so disgusted with the game that I literally threw it out. I couldn't even stomach trading it in.... I know that will make some of you cringe, however, that's how bad I felt it was. To the place where that game literally made me want to go back to working on my term papers for college. I think we can all agree that a game should be challenging, but it should also be fun, a component sadly lacking in the DS debut. I have to admit, I hate to even buy the 3DS title, but will probably end up buying it just because I believe in supporting Nintendo and my local GameStop store overall....
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
The Pillows: Kanojyu wa kyou
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yoshi's New Island
Yoshi's New Island prevew. Looks great.
Posted on:7/18/13
rockstar321
Location: Fairfax VA
Yoshi's new island looks like it will be a great game from what i am seeing. It seems to be the successor to the New super Mario bros series. the graphics look amazing so far, and it seems to be almost the same as Super Mario World for the SNES, and am I the only person who thinks that super Mario world should be released on the 3DS Eshop? anyway, it looks like baby Mario is back as well, and we haven't seen him since Yoshi's island on the SNES. but since it's not called Super Mario World 3, Yoshi's island 3D edition, it makes me think that it's just a remake like Donkey Kong Country Returns. I think that they should make a New Super Mario World and release it on the Nintendo 3DS, and Wii u. that would be cool. From the trailer I see that villains like Kemech as returned, but I know nothing about Bowser making an appearance in this game. however this game looks amazing. the game is in side scrolling 2D like super Mario world and Yoshi's island and looks like Nintendo will be putting a lot of work on this game. But I personally want them to make New Super Mario World. that would be cool, but this is cool already.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
E3 trailer- Yoshi's new island.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 1/28/14
Donkey Kong Country returns was not a remake!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Yoshi's New Island
Fun but almost too easy
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/14
Kaiaa
Location: Nowhere
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
For those returning to the series, you may be a little let down. However, if you don't let nostalgia get in the way of what you expect, you will enjoy this game. For newcomers, you may like the game regardless.
In Yoshi's New Island, we follow Yoshi and his friends on a great adventure. The levels are new and exciting and there are a lot of fun minigames to play along the way. Unfortunately, the game is easy, almost too easy. If you rush through you will be feeling let down. Don't be surprised if you have over 100 lives by the end of the first world. There are several collections you can get in each level if you are a 100% kind of person. Some of the collections are difficult to obtain as it requires exploration of the level (which is pretty fun to do!).
If you are looking for a game to relax with, this game would be perfect. If you are looking for a challenge, you may want to skip this title.
Personally, I love the game and hope you will enjoy it too :)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Reviewer3377
Gamesville
 
Please wait while more information about Reviewer3377 is loaded.
Additional information about Reviewer3377 could not be loaded.
Posted 3/20/14
I did end up picking up this title.... Didn't play it yet, but hope it is as easy as you indicate. If so, maybe Artoon listened to the numerous complaints from their first release. Ultimately, not looking for a repeat performance of the DS version.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Yoshi's New Island
Sometimes the old ways are better.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/14
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really enjoyed this game from start to finish. I was a fan of the Super Nintendo version back in the day and I got to say this game brought the same enjoyment the old one had. It has the same feel as the original version for the most part, but with better sound, graphics and smoother gameplay. I've always been a fan of Yoshi and his games (especially Yoshi's Story) so this was no different. If you're a fan of Mario/Yoshi games then I'd recommend this game for you.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Yoshi's New Island
A Tribute To The Older Gamers
Posted on:9/3/13
ShadowOfAtari
Location: Williamson, NY
Those of us who played the original Yoshi's Island know this will be amazing. Yoshi's Island isn't your everyday Mario game. It's so unique and so amazing. My grandma had a Super Nintendo and Yoshi's Island, and I have both of those exact items from her now after she passed. I remember playing it on the GBA. I spent hours and hours trying to beat it. That final boss gave me chills. They haven't really changed the graphics for the 3DS, which makes me immensely happy. Let's hope they can replicate those feelings we got from the original game here with a new game.
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yoshi's New Island
New game, new island
Posted on:6/19/13
NintendoHistory
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
Yoshi's New Island was a surprise announcement for the 3ds. It's been years since we have seen an entry in the Yoshi's Island series and this game seems to have been worth the wait. It will use many different art styles throughout the different levels. Old classic gameplay will be back along with very cool and interesting new gameplay such as throwing a giant egg that destroys everything in it's path. Also the boss battles should be as great as ever with one boss confirmed which is a giant bat. The information on Yoshi's New Island is scarce right now so I'm going to wait on preordering, but I'm really looking forward to all the new information on this game and hopefully you are too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
13 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 1/28/14
was the new boss inspired by Antasma fromMario& Luigi Dream Team?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Yoshi's New Island
THAT WHAT I'M TALKIN ABOUT!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:7/21/13
khoadragon
Location: Orlando
Notice most of the mario, yoshi, etc 3DS games has the word "NEW" in the their titles. Yoshi New Island is better and new from the DS and the GBA. It show new islands, new levels, modern graphic, and of course 3D AWESOMENESS. This 3rd installment of Yoshi Island show much anticipation. I'm gonna get it for sure!!!!! THUMBS UP IF YOU'RE GONNA GET IT AND PLAY IT IN 2013-2014!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
18 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mario77
 
Please wait while more information about mario77 is loaded.
Additional information about mario77 could not be loaded.
yoshis new isalnd yay
Posted 9/3/13
I pre owned it in the store have $13.98 left im gonna get yes it looks good
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Yoshi's New Island
Perfect for Mario lovers!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/14
Kds2012
Location: Rock Hill, SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played the original Yoshi's Island on Super Nintendo back in the 90's and it was one of my favorite games. When this came out for the 3DS I bought it and it has not disappointed. It sticks to the original game in almost every aspect but with modern graphics and just a few gameplay changes. I would recommend this game to new and experienced gamers alike!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yoshi's New Island
Great looking GamePlay! Don't Miss out!
Posted on:7/25/13
iLoveNintendoFlo
Location: America
Yoshi's Island on the Super Nintendo is one of my ALL TIME favorent games, and I have played a lot of games. It had so much personality in it you played as Yoshi & had to save baby Mario & Luigi from Babby Bowser Not Bowser Jr. Bowser was a babby back then so I guss it was kind of a preqale to the Mario franice. That game had graphics were amazing and light years head of it time in fact it still looks amazing to this day the art was a kind like a hand made look and a wonderful seance of joy as well as out standing level design. Plus the most EPIC Baby Bowser boss fight in all of gaming! I loved Yoshi's Story on the N64 as well I thought it had a wonderfuly sweet story & a joyful heavenly feel. I liked the DS Yoshi's Island games they had satifying controls and were fun. This game looks like it has a lot of nature inverments and despite the new efeacts it still has a beautyful detailed, hand made and Nature feel. Baby Mario chearters are back. As well as new power ups. From what i have seen so far it looks like most of the mecanices from the SNES Yoshi's Island game are reaturning. I hope this game lives up to the creativety of is past games & I am happy to be able play it when it comes out. I know they are lot's of games coming out but please try to give this some time & buy it you can tell Nintendo put a lot of work & love in to it. :):):)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yoshi's New Island
YOSHIIII!!!
Posted on:1/31/14
Pikasno21
Location: Twin cities, Mn
Omk (keyblades) Omk Omk!!!! I cannot wait to play this!!! I heard so many great reviews about the previous games and when I saw the game's final boss for the first one (I think, I could be wrong) with Baby Bowser, all I could say was Holy craaaaaap. That is one heck of a boss. I hope in the New Yoshi's Island they'll put a huge twist on the boss just like they did in that game. The game looks really great anyways, and if it gets an awesome review (which it should), I'll get it on opening day! This is like a early birthday present for me (My birthday's on March 17th so it makes it really special!) and I have really high hopes for this game and I trust Nintendo enough for an awesome game experience, since they were there for me since my dad taught me how to play before I entered elementary school.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yoshi's New Island
Mixed Emotions
Posted on:2/4/14
babybadger911
Location: the world
When I saw the game, I immediately thought about renting it when it comes out. When I see the graphics, they are kind of pixelated. I don't know if they are trying to do that to give it an old-school feel or not but I will wait until the reviews are out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yoshi's New Island
Very Fun if you like exploration.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/14
mightymaggot15
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
One of the very first things that i noticed about this game when i first played it was that the levels were supposed to be explored. The game wants you to find all the collectibles and stuff, but if you just speed run every level, you can finish this game in like an hour. It's very fun and i recommend it to anybody, but i would recommend it more to people who like slow paced and exploration type games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Yoshi's New Island
Awsomeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/14
englenin
Location: NewYork,NY
this is the best yoshi game i have played in a long time. this is spectacular. i recoomened this a ten.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Yoshi's New Island
Can't Wait!!!!
Posted on:2/26/14
HOOPMAN123
Location: Old Westbury, NY
From someone who has played both of the previous Yoshi's Island titles, this has been a pleasant surprise. I can't wait to see all of the awesome Yoshi transformations and animations throughout the game. Hoping for a great game in Yoshi's New Island.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Review 15 for Yoshi's New Island
Excited..?
Posted on:12/24/13
Nejifer
I watched the 12/18/13 Nintendo Direct & they released a teaser trailer for this game; it looked pretty cool so I figure, why not try it when it comes out? :D
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yoshi's New Island
Can't wait
Posted on:12/7/13
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
Yoshis new Island seems like it can be very fun my GF loved the old one and the new one sounds like it can be awesome!