GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Destiny

Everything changed with the arrival of the Traveler. It sparked a Golden Age when our civilization spanned our solar system, but it didn't last. Something hit us, knocked us down. The survivors built a city beneath the Traveler, and have begun to explore our old worlds, only to find them filled with deadly foes. You are a Guardian of the last safe city on Earth, able to wield incredible power. Defend the City. Defeat our enemies. Reclaim all that we have lost. Be brave.
Average Customer Rating:
7.382
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (221 reviews)
10 stars
41
9 stars
46
8 stars
20
7 stars
9
6 stars
10
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 star
8
120 out of 16573%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Destiny
Review 1 for Destiny
Not worth buying it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/15
GamerHax
Location: California,CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
At first it was great thinking one would have many things to do such as daily events,crucible,strikes,raids,and so on but to my dismay it was just a boring,repetitive,and dull game that was too anticipated rather then to step back and see what it was truly..a failure.The gameplay was repetitive,the graphics were nice but that is nothing that should matter,the music was a few notes in a loop and unimpressive,story was laughable and non existent by playing the game and the loot system is unrewarding to good players and "random" and by random they mean those who don't earn it get it so it leaves a bad taste to those who try hard as for me I casually went on knowing there's no point in trying .The only reason it is being played or even being continued to be played is beyond me,perhaps no game that is that great have come out either and this just happens to be the best of the worst and most people don't want to place their money to waste as for me this game will be going to be a dust collector and people remember if you don't buy the DLC you will be locked out of 80 to 90% of the game and that to me is horrible business so much that activision and bungie are now on my no purchase list.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
There goes my money down a drain.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Destiny
*was* Impressed.
Posted on:8/19/14
MONTSERDOLLPARTS
Location: Mississippi
I was very excited about this game. With stunning visuals and space adventure, how could you go wrong? But then I played the Beta. I was very excited about creating a character but all of the "choices" left something to be desired. The deal breaker for me was the no third person in combat. I hate playing in first person. What's the point in creating a character if I can't see my character in action? Very disappointing. The armor choices were cool. I have to say it was one of the best features of the game, along with the gun customization. But again with the armor, if I can't see my character, what's the point? I imagined this game would be more RPG and less shooter. I was even going to per-order this. I've been planning to buy it ever since it was first announced. I don't see playing this anytime soon.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Destiny
BETA CODE?????
Posted on:6/12/14
ziskinater
Location: Cleveland, OH
I pre-ordered this the day of Sony's E3 conference (in-store), where is my BETA code? This game looks awesome, I better not miss out, not to mention spending approximately $60.00 a week at Gamestop.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mckintay81
North Olmsted, OH
 
Please wait while more information about Mckintay81 is loaded.
Additional information about Mckintay81 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Beta code
Posted 6/16/14
On your receipt it should have a code to type in on a website. Then once you do that you have to wait for the beta code which comes out in July.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Destiny
Repetitive
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/15
RIVERAC
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
At first the game will seem really good like a borderlands type feel. The graphics are pretty good and the sound effects are decent. Striving to level up and find better and better gear, but it then comes down to a point where the level of grinding plus luck you got to have to level up after the first cap is ridiculous. If you don't have a group of people to do certain things with it's almost virtually impossible to climb any higher. I liked the game for a good few weeks, but then slowly started losing interest in the game. Grant it, it may be my own fault for not looking hard enough for a group, but then again who wants to spend a lot of time looking for a group and not play the game anyway? There's barely a storyline to it. You could finish it within one or two sittings if you play constantly. If you don't mind repetitive and extremely grind devoted games then by all means spend the money, but I for one can only tolerate so much of it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 5 for Destiny
Destiny, A True Console MMO
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/14
xShadowHawkx
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When it comes to Destiny, you hear a lot of people saying that you need to grind to get higher in your light levels(these are levels that you gain after reaching lv 20), but if you've ever played an MMO, that's what you have to do in order to set yourself apart from the rest and rise above them. So, when your about to start talking about how you really have to grind to reach lv 30 just remember, in an MMO if everything was given to you it wouldn't be very challenging or enjoyable. On the other side of the game though you have a fantastic online community that is thriving with gamers who've joined up and had great times playing with people who they didn't know before Destiny came out. So what I'm saying is, if you want a challenging game that has a great community with a wide range of experiences for you and your friends to take on together, than look no further because in my opinion this is the best MMO/ Online community game ever to hit console.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Destiny
A very amazing and beautiful game but too short.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/15
Nickolai15
Well the story is sort of bland you lose interest easily but the combat is very nice the guns are cool the classes are really cool i have played as them all, the enemies are really cool too. Its also really interesting to be on planets and sort of get a new perspective of what planets that we have never been on are like(a little off topic but its one good thing about the game). I think the dlc should have already came with the game or at least been free because the game is way to short and it sucks because this game has so much potential but it has some major flaws such as the story being bland but I will say the bosses can be hard at times and the strikes are really fun. Another flaw is the raids you HAVE to have friends to play the raids.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 7 for Destiny
Too repetitive
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/15
KingniK
If you don't mind doing the same mission 1000 times then this game is for you. If you don't mind running around in circles for 3 hours at a time to collect "spirit bloom" to upgrade one piece of armor one level then this is for you. All you do is play the same mission 50 million times and farm resources. Feels too much like a job. This game is an absolute time waster. Too hard to find ppl to play with, you have to go to a 3rd party website and spam rooms for an hr just to find someone.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 8 for Destiny
One of my most looked forward to games of 2014
Posted on:7/11/13
MrSpas12
Location: New Jersey
Other than Elder Scrolls Online, I can't say there's any game I'm as excited to play in 14' than Destiny. This game reminds me of Borderlands a lot. They both share gameplay elements such as co-op, customization, and first person shooting, but this game takes it a step forward with its singleplayer and multiplayer running in sync. The worlds are beautiful, full of life, and packed with tons of areas to explore. The visuals are stunning, with it not being too realistic and not too cartoony, but instead hitting a sweet spot in the middle. Every little thing has detail, whether it's the weapon effects, grass blowing in the wind, or even that cyclops eye that keeps moving on the mask of the green hooded character.
52 of 60 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nikiooo2323
Bend, OR UNITED STATES
 
Please wait while more information about Nikiooo2323 is loaded.
Additional information about Nikiooo2323 could not be loaded.
CANT WAIT
Posted 6/10/14
Already pre ordered it cant wait for this huge open world game and im just as exited as this with far cry 4 and witcher 3
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Destiny
Good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/15
Jul343
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Destiny is so addicting, but it was missing a story, repetitive missions, and frustrating loot system. Still the soundtrack is amazing, the graphics is gorgeous, and exotic weapons and armor.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 10 for Destiny
Excellent gameplay, hopefully story catches up
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/14
Taziel
Location: Fort Collins, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Destiny was the game that finally got me to cave and get a PS4, and I haven't regretted it. I come from a PC/ MMORPG gaming background, so maybe that's why some of the flaws of Destiny don't bother me as much. Currently endgame Destiny is a bit repetitive, but no more so than doing the same heroic dungeons/ raids in WoW was. The FPS aspect and mechanics of the game are outstanding and make each run of a mission fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Destiny
Very fun game, but it starts to get repetitive.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/15
HuskyGinger
Location: Maryville, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Destiny is a very fun game, and it will entertain almost any fps player. Playing is a blast and you will be on the edge of your seat while you're playing. The soundtrack is amazing and it has great graphics. However, the longer you play, you'll slowly start to lose interest. You will have to farm a TON if you want to get Legendary and Exotic weapons. The completely random weapon drop system puts your chance of getting a decent weapon up to pure luck. It just turns into constant grinding to get a good gun. There is also PvP, and that adds more experience, but like the story will become dull and boring. A fun game, overall.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Destiny
Destiny
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/15
mike02144
Location: Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was disappointed overall in Destiny. I had looked forward to playing this one for quite some time. The good aspect of the game is the character role and weapons/armor management upgrading. The player can go into significant detail in choosing which way to go with the profile. The downfall is clearly the dull storylines and quests, along with the major lack of environment. It's certainly a game you wouldn't feel bad avoiding.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 13 for Destiny
game of the year
Posted on:8/9/14
Anonymous
Location: Milford CT
just from playing the beta i can already tell this is gonna be easily the game of the year award its has a halo feel with rpg elements like leveling up system kinda like boarder lands in a way but much better to tell you the truth i wasnt a fan of that game with the cartoon look but thats just me but back to destiny the only complaint i have so far is the co op its only 3 players online i think an even 4 would of been much better but so far that is the only flaw with the game everything else including co op and it has a very smooth frame rate for a beta i didnt see any lag what so ever you also have 3 classes to choice from and can customize your character to look awesome so anyone with a ps4 or xbox one (ps4 is better sorry fan boys lol u cant even run at 1080p 60 frames per second yet) and ps3 and xbox 360 all have access to this truly revolutionary game coming to a store near you 9/9/14 midnight release so pre order now i also heard if you want a collectors version there going extremely fast so hurry up
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Destiny
Lots to like, some to not
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/14
dirkdemazing
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
My experience with Destiny includes a one sided view of limited play not being able to take part in the crucible as I do not have a PS+ membership. So please take this with a grain of salt but may be useful for fellow gamers who dont see the value of overpriced memberships to a problematic online network that works sometimes and sometimes not. If you are looking for a first person shooter with excellent graphics and endless action Destiny will not disappoint. The gameplay is intuitive and progressive and paired with the top of the line graphics, combine to give you a surreal experince. However, the missions, while full of action, get repetitive fairly quickly. Although the characters change the missions become increasingly repetitive and somewhat boring. The story is also lacking and really hard to follow. And again, no offline play is available so playing any mission is at the mercy of the ever so stable (extreme sarcasm) PS network and servers.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 15 for Destiny
Beautiful graphics and intense multiplayer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/15
hplkush90
Location: South Dakota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game to play with online friends. The graphics are intense and the story line is intriguing. gameplay is very balanced and the strikes and crucible keep the game constantly fresh. The lack of a trading system is balanced by the multiptude of merchants. Character creation is smooth and actually noticeable during gameplay, with additional customization available for armor, weapons, your ghost, and your ship.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Destiny
Completely Overhyped
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/15
666Zombifyed
Location: Sandy, UT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is probably the most overhyped game I have ever played. I got bored of it very quickly. The high point of the game is it's presentation. It's graphically amazing and looks beautiful. The story is not intriguing and once it starts to get good, the game ends and you have to buy the DLC. The game is extremely repetitive as well.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 17 for Destiny
DESTINY POST GAME REVIEW
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/15
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So you hit level 20 the max level looks like your done right? far from it my friend, you still have another 10-12 levels to go before you are truly maxed out. So after reaching level 20 you will be able to acquire legendary and exotic gear, take place in the iron banner, the weekly nightfall and heroic and the ever popular raids. The way you go beyond level 20 is earning armor with a light level. blue armor can hold between 2-21 light, legendary armor can hold between 18-33 and exotic is between 21-36 depending on if you have the DLC. Iron banner is an exclusive crucible event where your skills will be put to the test. The level disadvantage is turned on so the lower level the bigger the challenge. Weekly strikes are harder level strikes that have incredible rewards. heroic strikes guarantee strange coins and engrams to open and nightfall strikes can give you anything from strange coins to exotic gear. The raids are the biggest part of the post game. Huge multi part PVE missions with tremendous rewards like exotics, raid gear and upgrade materials. Tackle Atheon in the vault of glass or go down into the moon and kill a hive god. Overall the post game is really where destiny shines and the replay is amazing because every Tuesday the rewards reset.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Destiny
First great game in a while.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/14
Gamercritic13
Location: Whitmore Lake, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Finally has Activision and Bungie made a game that has my minor interest. While the adventurous, free-lance aspect of the game lacks a little and with only a few types of weapons, I still feel Destiny is a good first person shooter for all kinds of people. While you have your PvP battles like Halo series and the COD aiming and character movement aspects to give you a highly dense battle in game. The 3 classes are evenly balanced between special abilities, weapons, and class advantages so no one feels cheated. Finally while I do like the graphics and the story is somewhat interesting the two legendary game creators could have done a much better story, in game strategy, and NPC's battling. Overall I feel this game rates a 8/10 for the two major developers, only because this is their first trial game together. I hope to see many more games from Activision and Bungie that focus less on PvP and more on Co-op and mmo story aspect where they can really thrive.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 19 for Destiny
It's okay.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/15
Nikole2424
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game looks amazing, and is really cool for about an hour. It is beyond repetitive also if you do not have a friend to play it with you really can't play it because you will constantly die.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 20 for Destiny
A good game with alot of potoential but lacking
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/14
SargentOMalley
Location: Roseburg, Oregon
Ive played quite a bit of Destiny, and I do have a few problems with the game right now but im hoping they can improve on them later and this is just in my opinion on what ive experienced so far. The loot system is alright but it would be better if loot dropped a bit more frequently and if it actually had a higher chance of being better then what you already have. The only time I ever seem to get anything is mostly from doing strikes and even then only 1 item is guaranteed so it can take a while to get good stuff. The grinding in this game kinda seems a bit over the top at endgame for me, ive only played a few MMO's that I grinded in but even those games did a better job then this game. The single player experience is pretty bland, with alright voice acting and a pretty iffy story it can get kinda boring unless you have someone else there. Overall i still think its a good game but lack of content right now makes the game seem a little worse than it is.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>