GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Destiny

Everything changed with the arrival of the Traveler. It sparked a Golden Age when our civilization spanned our solar system, but it didn't last. Something hit us, knocked us down. The survivors built a city beneath the Traveler, and have begun to explore our old worlds, only to find them filled with deadly foes. You are a Guardian of the last safe city on Earth, able to wield incredible power. Defend the City. Defeat our enemies. Reclaim all that we have lost. Be brave.
Average Customer Rating:
7.503
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (201 reviews)
10 stars
40
9 stars
41
8 stars
17
7 stars
8
6 stars
6
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 star
8
110 out of 14576%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Destiny
Review 1 for Destiny
*was* Impressed.
Posted on:8/19/14
MONTSERDOLLPARTS
Location: Mississippi
I was very excited about this game. With stunning visuals and space adventure, how could you go wrong? But then I played the Beta. I was very excited about creating a character but all of the "choices" left something to be desired. The deal breaker for me was the no third person in combat. I hate playing in first person. What's the point in creating a character if I can't see my character in action? Very disappointing. The armor choices were cool. I have to say it was one of the best features of the game, along with the gun customization. But again with the armor, if I can't see my character, what's the point? I imagined this game would be more RPG and less shooter. I was even going to per-order this. I've been planning to buy it ever since it was first announced. I don't see playing this anytime soon.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Destiny
BETA CODE?????
Posted on:6/12/14
ziskinater
Location: Cleveland, OH
I pre-ordered this the day of Sony's E3 conference (in-store), where is my BETA code? This game looks awesome, I better not miss out, not to mention spending approximately $60.00 a week at Gamestop.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mckintay81
North Olmsted, OH
 
Please wait while more information about Mckintay81 is loaded.
Additional information about Mckintay81 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Beta code
Posted 6/16/14
On your receipt it should have a code to type in on a website. Then once you do that you have to wait for the beta code which comes out in July.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Destiny
Destiny, A True Console MMO
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/14
xShadowHawkx
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When it comes to Destiny, you hear a lot of people saying that you need to grind to get higher in your light levels(these are levels that you gain after reaching lv 20), but if you've ever played an MMO, that's what you have to do in order to set yourself apart from the rest and rise above them. So, when your about to start talking about how you really have to grind to reach lv 30 just remember, in an MMO if everything was given to you it wouldn't be very challenging or enjoyable. On the other side of the game though you have a fantastic online community that is thriving with gamers who've joined up and had great times playing with people who they didn't know before Destiny came out. So what I'm saying is, if you want a challenging game that has a great community with a wide range of experiences for you and your friends to take on together, than look no further because in my opinion this is the best MMO/ Online community game ever to hit console.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Destiny
Lots to like, some to not
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/14
dirkdemazing
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
My experience with Destiny includes a one sided view of limited play not being able to take part in the crucible as I do not have a PS+ membership. So please take this with a grain of salt but may be useful for fellow gamers who dont see the value of overpriced memberships to a problematic online network that works sometimes and sometimes not. If you are looking for a first person shooter with excellent graphics and endless action Destiny will not disappoint. The gameplay is intuitive and progressive and paired with the top of the line graphics, combine to give you a surreal experince. However, the missions, while full of action, get repetitive fairly quickly. Although the characters change the missions become increasingly repetitive and somewhat boring. The story is also lacking and really hard to follow. And again, no offline play is available so playing any mission is at the mercy of the ever so stable (extreme sarcasm) PS network and servers.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 5 for Destiny
First great game in a while.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/14
Gamercritic13
Location: Whitmore Lake, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Finally has Activision and Bungie made a game that has my minor interest. While the adventurous, free-lance aspect of the game lacks a little and with only a few types of weapons, I still feel Destiny is a good first person shooter for all kinds of people. While you have your PvP battles like Halo series and the COD aiming and character movement aspects to give you a highly dense battle in game. The 3 classes are evenly balanced between special abilities, weapons, and class advantages so no one feels cheated. Finally while I do like the graphics and the story is somewhat interesting the two legendary game creators could have done a much better story, in game strategy, and NPC's battling. Overall I feel this game rates a 8/10 for the two major developers, only because this is their first trial game together. I hope to see many more games from Activision and Bungie that focus less on PvP and more on Co-op and mmo story aspect where they can really thrive.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Destiny
Excellent gameplay, hopefully story catches up
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/14
Taziel
Location: Fort Collins, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Destiny was the game that finally got me to cave and get a PS4, and I haven't regretted it. I come from a PC/ MMORPG gaming background, so maybe that's why some of the flaws of Destiny don't bother me as much. Currently endgame Destiny is a bit repetitive, but no more so than doing the same heroic dungeons/ raids in WoW was. The FPS aspect and mechanics of the game are outstanding and make each run of a mission fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Destiny
A good game with alot of potoential but lacking
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/14
SargentOMalley
Location: Roseburg, Oregon
Ive played quite a bit of Destiny, and I do have a few problems with the game right now but im hoping they can improve on them later and this is just in my opinion on what ive experienced so far. The loot system is alright but it would be better if loot dropped a bit more frequently and if it actually had a higher chance of being better then what you already have. The only time I ever seem to get anything is mostly from doing strikes and even then only 1 item is guaranteed so it can take a while to get good stuff. The grinding in this game kinda seems a bit over the top at endgame for me, ive only played a few MMO's that I grinded in but even those games did a better job then this game. The single player experience is pretty bland, with alright voice acting and a pretty iffy story it can get kinda boring unless you have someone else there. Overall i still think its a good game but lack of content right now makes the game seem a little worse than it is.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Destiny
game of the year
Posted on:8/9/14
Anonymous
Location: Milford CT
just from playing the beta i can already tell this is gonna be easily the game of the year award its has a halo feel with rpg elements like leveling up system kinda like boarder lands in a way but much better to tell you the truth i wasnt a fan of that game with the cartoon look but thats just me but back to destiny the only complaint i have so far is the co op its only 3 players online i think an even 4 would of been much better but so far that is the only flaw with the game everything else including co op and it has a very smooth frame rate for a beta i didnt see any lag what so ever you also have 3 classes to choice from and can customize your character to look awesome so anyone with a ps4 or xbox one (ps4 is better sorry fan boys lol u cant even run at 1080p 60 frames per second yet) and ps3 and xbox 360 all have access to this truly revolutionary game coming to a store near you 9/9/14 midnight release so pre order now i also heard if you want a collectors version there going extremely fast so hurry up
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Destiny
to many gliches ,
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/15
loremaster12
Location: lincoln ne
This game is perfect for: party gamers
although a great idea the game doesnt make sense how the story works gliches like water reflection glich, were you are shoottin relection of yourself and hurting at the same time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 10 for Destiny
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/15
PinkLightning
Location: Saint Petersburg, Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awful. Do not waster your money. $40+ can be used on another game that will keep your attention for more than an hour. I was very excited when this game came out, but found myself extremely disappointed as soon as I played it. The whole game is you doing the same mission over and over with the same enemies, but with stronger stats...seriously? I can create something thats better than this on my lunch break during the work week. Soundtrack is amazing though.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Destiny
Awsomeness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/15
PS4Craziness
Location: Manati,PR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Destiny is a very entertaining game! If you are looking to buy definitely get Destiny with the season pass and you will have fun for a long time
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Destiny
DANGER STAY AWAY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/15
joshjl
Location: cape may, nj
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
To those mature gamers born in the 80s and early 90s that experienced the golden age of gaming, knew what quality and immersive storylines were, knew what finished bug free games were, knew what real value was and how to spot it...gaming as we know it may be impossible to save now.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 13 for Destiny
Great game all around
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/14
Mckintay81
Location: North Olmsted, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is fun to play, plain and simple. I love roaming the worlds at my own pace and starting missions as I please. You come across a lot of other online players in the game that you can help them or visa versa or you can go about your way and it doesn't even matter. I personally like to play with 2 other friends and attack some missions together and work as a team. Gameplay is solid although I had to turn up the look sensitivity because default was way to slow but I had the option to change it so no biggie. The graphics and lighting are amazing some of the best to date on console. While this game might not hit the perfect mark it is surly knocking on it's door. Great game Bungie I'm enjoying all the hype it got.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Destiny
Great all around
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/15
Hermfbird
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
sure this game didn't turn out to be what everyone wanted it to be, but it is on it's way there, it gets better with every update, and nobody can deny how addictive it is. the graphics are good, but i think they are dumbed down for cross platform use and don't take full potential of the PS4. the music is amazingly on point for whatever situation you are in in game, and the gameplay is flawless, smooth and accurate.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Destiny
Great game but with it's flaws.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/14
49erFan
Location: San Francisco
Destiny is a very good game, the gameplay is great and coop play is very solid. The game's biggest drawback would be the lackluster story, they dont explain anything and it seemed more like your ghost was the galaxy's savior because you had no clue what you were doing half the time. The social aspect is a bit lacking as there's no public chat or even a chat log to type messages. PvP is a little unbalanced but still very fun, you have a good shot at great loot no matter your skill level.The overall loot system in the game is well done but frustrating as well, should you be unlucky enough you could get nothing good after hours of gameplay. The game hits cooperative play on the head though and my friends and I would play strikes all day if we could and graphics are crisp and impressive on next gen consoles. Overall this game is a great experience and I would recommend it to any fan of FPS games, its a great experience and well worth your $60.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for Destiny
A Solid Shooter
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/14
Wolfmoon
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The hype surrounding Destiny has not done the game any favors, it's lead to a lot of terrible scores around the web, but i'm here to tell you it's a solid shooter and worth a purchase. It doesn't innovate and reinvent the genre like so many people thought it would but at it's core there is a lot of fun to be had, the controls are what you would expect from a FPS game, everything is tight and there are no issues, some people claim the game is clunky to control but i don't see how they came to that conclusion. The graphics are very nice and what i would expect from a PS4 title. The Sound is right where it needs to be for a scifi style shooter and so far the story is decent. I find the game challenging enough and the AI competent enough despite what other reviews might have you believe. The game feels like a blend of halo and borderlands with a touch of mmorpg. Now obviously it's not a perfect game, the world should have been more wide open and allowed for more players to be in each area at a time, it's not as seamless as i thought it would be and is mostly instanced and mission based which is a let down for me. You will find yourself going through the same areas several times and the game can feel grindy. But the combat is fun so i don't see myself getting bored soon. I wish i could openly communicate with people around me but they have to be in my party/team before that can occur (an odd decision) the events are fun but i've had trouble with no one being around when they occur and you really can't solo them. I haven't tried PvP but it looks solid from the videos i've watched (i'm more of a co-op player) honestly i feel it was worth the asking price and i think it's ridiculous that it's getting such a low score on certain websites, the negatives seem to be coming from Halo fanboys who somehow feel threatened by a new Bungie IP and PC elitists who are mad they don't have access to the game yet. If you like borderlands, halo or even mass effect you are going to like Destiny, just don't expect a revolution in gaming and enjoy the ride!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
15 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Destiny
One of my most looked forward to games of 2014
Posted on:7/11/13
MrSpas12
Location: New Jersey
Other than Elder Scrolls Online, I can't say there's any game I'm as excited to play in 14' than Destiny. This game reminds me of Borderlands a lot. They both share gameplay elements such as co-op, customization, and first person shooting, but this game takes it a step forward with its singleplayer and multiplayer running in sync. The worlds are beautiful, full of life, and packed with tons of areas to explore. The visuals are stunning, with it not being too realistic and not too cartoony, but instead hitting a sweet spot in the middle. Every little thing has detail, whether it's the weapon effects, grass blowing in the wind, or even that cyclops eye that keeps moving on the mask of the green hooded character.
52 of 60 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nikiooo2323
Bend, OR UNITED STATES
 
Please wait while more information about Nikiooo2323 is loaded.
Additional information about Nikiooo2323 could not be loaded.
CANT WAIT
Posted 6/10/14
Already pre ordered it cant wait for this huge open world game and im just as exited as this with far cry 4 and witcher 3
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Destiny
Don't let all the negative comments get you
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/15
RCF2015
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i guess the reason i like the game so much is you're always grinding for the next best thing. The story is very short and there isn't much to it. The game play does make up for this and the fact you and your buds can have hrs of enjoyment destroying boss and other players in team death match.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Destiny
Above Average game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/14
Pimpi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A lot of people have written a lot of bad reviews on this game for example its not entirely an MMO. It is one its just that you cannot communicate with players by chatting. You can do actions for example dancing pointing or even waving. Other than that you can use a mic and chat with a group or play with friends on it. The game itself is very good for a shooter its a mix with halo and cod. The variety is OK, there is only 3 selectable classes, but the weapons and armor, theres a lot more options, there is also a skill tree which is very good for classes so there is huge differences between the 3, the game is very much open world and it is extremely fun, you can find a lot to do for example finding loot chests or materials to craft weapons or armor. The multiplayer is fun, but there is not that many modes so if your more of a multiplayer guy you can get pretty bored fast. But overall this game is very above average and worth playing
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Destiny
This Is NOT an MMO
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/14
ShadowArcanist
Although they didn't market Destiny as an MMO they did hype up the co-op, social aspect of the game and it is that in what my overall score is based on. As others have said, the core shooter game itself is really nice. But unfortunately, Bungie gimped just about every aspect of multiplayer. There is no easy way to find groups for missions. And, the few maps that have matchmaking, do not automatically put you in a fireteam so there is no voice comm unless you do it manually. If your a casual gamer like me without a huge list of friends it means you basically gaming in a vacuum. Also, there is a severe lack of content. There's really only 5 maps you play over and over and over in all game modes. This has not broken any genres. It is simply an above one player shooter with a few co-op features and a mediocre multiplayer. And that is sad because the core gameplay is truly awesome with potential. Time will tell the destiny of Destiny.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>