GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Destiny

Everything changed with the arrival of the Traveler. It sparked a Golden Age when our civilization spanned our solar system, but it didn't last. Something hit us, knocked us down. The survivors built a city beneath the Traveler, and have begun to explore our old worlds, only to find them filled with deadly foes. You are a Guardian of the last safe city on Earth, able to wield incredible power. Defend the City. Defeat our enemies. Reclaim all that we have lost. Be brave.
Average Customer Rating:
7.591
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
10 stars
29
9 stars
22
8 stars
11
7 stars
5
6 stars
4
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
67 out of 9372%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Destiny
Review 1 for Destiny
Awesome.
Posted on:7/20/14
MONTSERDOLLPARTS
Location: Mississippi
The game is beautiful and has a ton of potential to be one of the greatest games for the new consoles. I really enjoyed beta. The only beef I have is I like to play in 3rd person and I don't believe it is an option while in combat. Which sucks. I also know this isn't an issue for others people but i hope there is more options for personalizing you character in the character creation. Any great RPG has a way of making you feel like you're character is your own. For me it makes me feel more of a bond with my character and makes me more interested in the game. I know i'm nit picking but MEHHHH. Overall, It's going to be a great game. I do like the combat system and the gear system. It's going to be a lot of fun when it finally launches!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Destiny
tooo far away !!!!!!
Posted on:6/29/13
gaaraX
Location: the dessert
Bungie fan from the beginning,I'm already tired of the wait....im stoked to play it on Xbox one!!!!!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
40 of 54 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MrBryanR
Murica
 
Please wait while more information about MrBryanR is loaded.
Additional information about MrBryanR could not be loaded.
Like Borderlands...But better
Posted 8/2/13
I am so anxious to play this game. at first I did not like it because I do not like halo but then I saw that one of the devs said there was individual loot which means if you get a shotty the other person gets a pistol or something so everyone will get something. And all the features seemed awesome and im pretty sure there will be elemental guns like borderlands and all the other features seem really nice. Looking forward to this game I loved borderlands but hated all the loot fights
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Destiny
Awesome Game
Posted on:8/1/14
AwesomeABEL12
Location: Miami,FL
I was pretty bummed out that I couldn't get a beta code and then I found out the beta was open so I downloaded as fast as I could and it was the best game I played in a long time and it was only a beta so for sure you are gonna see me play it on XBOX ONE
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Destiny E3 Trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Review 4 for Destiny
The Future of Shooters
Posted on:6/17/14
WillTheAssassin
Location: Inwood, WV
When I first say Destiny back in 2012 I was massively impressed. Now Im hyped! This is a true revolution in gaming. Can't wait time to board the hype train!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Destiny Trailer: The Moon
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Destiny
This game is revolutionizing multiplayer.
Posted on:6/13/13
BungieFanboy
Location: NJ
I cannot wait. Bungie is making a universe 10x better than Halo. I want to play this on my Xbox One NOOOW!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Gameplay
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
20 of 42 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
tallsan
Nashville, TN
 
Please wait while more information about tallsan is loaded.
Additional information about tallsan could not be loaded.
whoa...
Posted 8/8/13
Better than halo? Don't you think that a really bold statement?
Customer Avatar
ShadowdeathCat
MN
 
Please wait while more information about ShadowdeathCat is loaded.
Additional information about ShadowdeathCat could not be loaded.
1 Yr away Better do it right.
Posted 7/1/13
Im looking forward to this game. A new MMO in fact there is a lot of new MMO's coming out on next gen and I say GOOD. Though it will be hard to stay excited for this long. I hope they use the time wisely and really do everything this game has the ability to do. Just imagine the nightmare those on the PSN network have in store for them through the next gens online gaming is the reason im going Xbox1 for all the new IP's My picks so far. Destiny / The Crew / Watchdogs / The Division / Halo 5 / BF4 / ESO / FF15 / KH3 / Witcher 3. Lots of great games coming for us exciting times ahead for us.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for Destiny
New Halo?
Posted on:1/6/14
Mastercheeb64
Location: Matawan, NJ
Hopefully Bungie makes this a game I'll play for days like halo. Bungie hasn't disappointed me yet. Every shooter I played is amazing
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
WATCH THIS!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Destiny
Great game but gets repetitive
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/14
InternalLegacy
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My first review because this game deserves it. The game itself is fantastic. Yes I understand it gets repetitive but it's the strive for new and better gear which keeps me entertained. Ive beaten the campaign, and to keep it simple it was basic. Go to point A, hold off enemies. Go to point B, hold off enemies, and so on. It gets boring to say the least but thats not why I got the game. I got it for the crucible, the strikes, the raids, the co-op strategy. Playing a game that leaves you dumbfounded as to how you beat the level is a great way to describe it. Teamwork is key so playing with your friends is best advised to succeed. Yes playing solo is fun, but doing it all with your friends makes it all that much better. Yes the campaign wasn't great, but its the other things that come after it that makes destiny what it is. Now this is only my opinion and I'm sure others will disagree, but if you enjoy a great multiplayer shooter/mmo then this is not a game to pass up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Destiny
NOT WORTH $60
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/14
Werepuffin
Location: DC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Like a FOOL, I pre-ordered and spent $100 on this boring grind fest of a game. Like SO MANY OTHERS I was promised a Bungie designed open world Sci-Fi shooter, with YEARS of interesting things to do. I have finished the main quest in 6 hours of play. The multiplayer is a BROKEN call of duty re-skin with Halo crit shots. All that is left for me to do is GRIND out Strike missions for 2 or 4 reward points per mission. You need 150 and to buy the good stuff. Unless you want to MINDLESSLY kill aliens for 40 hours a week with NO MOTIVATION, PLOT, or EXPLANATION; pass on Destiny. Also, the pre-order ship is JUST A FANCY LOAD SCREEN BETWEEN MISSIONS. Wait for something better.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Destiny
Gets better and better as you play, 10/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/14
Ianga
Location: Washington D.C.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is extremely rewarding for hard-core determined gamers, and tons of fun for casual players who just enjoy sitting back with friends and beating the dickens out of aliens with halo-style combat.
When I first got got my pre-ordered copy of Destiny for the Xbox One, I played it for a while and was disappointing by the lack of depth. I forged through it, leveling up to about a level 3. By then, the game had really hooked me.
This game may seem very shallow and boring at first. Shoot, kill boss, repeat. Once you level up though, you unlock new planets, and a multiplayer competitive mode. Once you beat the first few missions on Earth, the story really starts to evolve, especially if you're playing with friends. I highly encourage buying this game, and actually playing it through a bit before coming to a conclusion.
You can't judge a game by the first full launch version of it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Woodlan
Moreno Valley CA
 
Please wait while more information about Woodlan is loaded.
Additional information about Woodlan could not be loaded.
i like how you partrayed this game in a good way
Posted 10/6/14
thanks for wrighting such a awesome review i like the game a lot as well its fun for me because i am one of the casuale gamers and a little bit of hardcord the game is very fun i cant wait for the expantion to come out for the game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Destiny
Hyped Up and Let Down
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/14
DUHCommonSense
Destiny has been the game to watch since it was first glimpsed in Bungie's 2009 release of HALO: ODST. Most of the gaming community couldn't wait to get their hands on the next big game by such an acclaimed studio and Bungie did their very best to make sure the game got the hype it deserved as their brainchild. But after it's highly anticipated release, this game has manifested a fair share of both confusion, controversy and lackluster.
It would be highly inappropriate to say that Destiny is a bad game, but one could easily make the case that it had been unfairly elevated on a pedestal due to the renown history of the Bungie studio. I for one was a bit puzzled to see a studio that had just finished an immense gaming legacy sci-fi series to say "Hey! Let's make something new!" And proceeded to make...another sci-fi shooter?
But apart from my own disappointment in Bungie's decision not to change genre this would at least mean we should be expecting something truly new and innovative in Destiny since it wasn't breaking so far away from it's predecessors genre mold.
This for me is what has caused so much contention regarding the game. Destiny presents a new universe, characters, and some of the perks and tricks that you could expect from a sci-fi shooter/RPG. But that's about it, and ultimately it seems to fall short of any major innovation regarding the MMORPG market. I would however like to point out how Bungie went out of its way to say that this game is not an MMORPG and instead dubbed it a shared-sword shooter...which seems an awful lot like a synonym in this case.
One of the more alarming issue about Bungie's new game though is that rather than attempt to achieve the same open world feel as games in the Elder Scrolls Series with a multitude of options and choices to be made, Destiny seems to have taken an approach more similar to that of Borderlands with a shoot, loot, repeat formula. This grinding may even be fun enough to warrant the attention of some gamers, but I quickly got frustrated and bored while spamming enemies with bullets and then running away to heal my shield only to repeat the process until victory. That seems like a HUGE issue to me in a game where fighting seems to be the main gameplay mechanic and it turns out to be tiresome, tedious and unskillful.
I would like to say that among the MMORPG genre Destiny is a must-have, and for many that may be the case. But Destiny's true crime is looking better and promising more than it actually delivers with it's content, which is drastically limited compared to several other MMORPGs. As far as looking better than your average game Destiny does a remarkable job at looking graphically beautiful but this frustrates me as well, because I don’t want to play a game just for the eye candy and the truth is since most of Destiny is fictional creations, we have no real reference points as to what something should look like. While the game has some truly stunning landscapes and ambience that's certainly not enough to keep me satisfied with it and quite frankly I would've rather had a worse looking game with more innovation than this good-looker with no personality.
It's true that Destiny also sports a few competitive multiplayer modes to be played online. But again, though solid features, they really don't bring much new to the table. All the game modes you’d expect are there with your standard run-of-the-mill deathmatch games and what not, but as we already have a wide array of studios constantly dishing these shooters out, I don’t believe this is truly what people were looking for.
In summary Destiny has no major flaws as a game, but it's creators choice to play it safe has led it be just less than we'd hoped for and all too similar to things we’ve already seen again and again. If you're looking for a solid and polished non-subscription MMORPG, then Destiny fits the bill. But if like me you're on the search for the next big game that truly leaves a groundbreaking mark on the industry, then we my friends must fulfill our destiny elsewhere.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
21 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Destiny
Repetitive
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/14
Gamer557460
I didn't like how every mission was basically the same. Fight some people, find your objective, and fight some more people but here's the catch ( if you die fighting the second group of people, you have to re-spawn before you initially make contact with that swarm and fight them again.) The fighting style seemed a little slow to me which is not what I expected. Also, I feel like the characters lacked any emotion. To me, the game was just really hyped up. Again, that's just my opinion of the game and I'm sure others may disagree. I would honestly rent the game and try it out first before paying full price.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
20 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Destiny
Good, Not Great
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/14
TNGo2325
Location: Indianapolis, IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I probably fell into the trap of being overhyped about this game, and while I'm not disappointed, I'm not thrilled either. I bought this game for the story, and that department seems to be lacking at the moment (I have not completed the story yet). Combat is fun, but not as enjoyable as Borderlands (probably the closest comparison). The UI is good and clean, the gunplay is above average (comparable to Call of Duty), and the graphics on the One are astounding. The score for the game is also exceptional. The only thing I feel is lacking is user engagement. I'm not hanging on my seat's edge for the next story point. The competitive multiplayer is, in a word, awful; it is plagued by balance issues. This is not a game to be player solo, either. Getting a few friends together to run missions is about the only way to have a lot of fun. In short, it's really just an average game. Nothing Earth-shattering
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Destiny
Serious let down
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/14
Vyvian
Location: IL
Destiny is beautiful! That's all I feel is great about this game. From repeating the same "daily" quests to serious level difference difficulties, this game needs a lot of work. Even though it's a "shared" world, grouping has to be done outside of the game and there's no chat unless in a previously created party. For the weekly challenge, you have to group outside of the game to go as a group, otherwise, you zone in solo. Bungie, I can't stress enough how let down I feel as a fan of your Halo series.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Destiny
If you don't mind a shallow plot
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/14
YAYAHORSIES
Location: Branson, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Many reviews of this game mention how this game lacks a compelling and sensible plot. I agree with this sentiment. I tried to appreciate what little plot there was but between the lack of plot explanation and the mediocre voice acting, I found myself only interested in what gear was waiting for me in the next mission, raid, pvp match, etc. That being said, the controls are solid, the visuals are gorgeous, and the desire to upgrade your gear by playing another mission or pvp match is certainly present. However, once you play through the same raid, or complete missions on a planet where you know the initial locations and kind of enemies in most of the map, it can grow dull. The concept of grinding comes to mind, which doesn't interest all gamers. The multi-player is fun, and the variety of modes is interesting too. I think the game can lack variety as far a weapons go. It would be nice to have a needler or sword equivalent from the halo series, something different. If you have plenty of friends to play this game with I would suggest buying it, if you don't have friends to play it with I would pass this one. I hope this review helped!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for Destiny
Good, but not great.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/14
MmkayKyleMmkay
Location: Indiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As a long time "Halo" fan, I was very excited for Destiny.That being said I do really enjoy the game, I just think that it is not quite the game everyone expected it to be. The core gameplay is very solid and very addicting. It is easy to get lost in the game and spend hours at a time. Destiny is meant to be played with friends, as more of a solo gamer I found this a little disappointing. I found myself getting annoyed going through the story, having my own moments being interrupted by a passerby in the game. For people who love being connected and playing with friends, it is a rather ingenious design.
At it's core "Destiny" is first-person shooter, but it is also much more. It blends RPG like elements into an always connected, always online world. You have the option to play the game solely by yourself, but the real experience is meant to be shared with friends.
The game's sound design is excellent. The score ranges from being powerful and uplifting to down right spooky, it adds an extra layer to the game that was very much appreciated. Visually the game is gorgeous, "Bungie" excels at great world building in game. But as great the game and it's many locations look, it often felt barren. I found myself exploring for long amounts of time without ever seeing another player or enemy.
I have three big problems with Destiny: The story, or lack thereof one. You play as a Guardian who wields "The Travelers" light. You have been dead for a very long time, but have revived by a "Ghost." These "Ghost's" we're created by "The Traveler" to help and guide you to stop "The Darkness" from destroying the galaxy. It sounds great on paper but it was poorly executed. I never cared for any other the characters let alone remember any of their names. The story missions often felt very repetitive, seemingly going from one location to another to scan an artifact and shoot the aliens in the way. This may be a common standard for most video games these days but I know from past experience that "Bungie" can and has done better.
My second complaint with the game is in the games competitive multiplayer mode called "The Crucible." Simply put "The Crucible" is Destiny's version of competitive multiplayer. There are several different modes that all have their own offerings of fun. But my complaint is with the actual mode or gameplay, it is the matchmaking process. Unlike most first-person shooters online modes, Destiny doesn't have a separate ranking system. So your overall rank from the story mode and "The Crucible" are one in the same. Which means you could be playing your first game at level 5 and be playing someone who has 100+ hours into the game be already be at high level. To me this doesn't seem fair and for 2014 seems downright lazy. Coming from a studio who invented "The Hopper" for the Halo series's multiplayer, it doesn't make sense.
My last gripe with the game is currently the overall lack of content. The games campaign mode will last anywhere between 15 and 20 hours which sounds like a lot, but the reason why I say it's a problem is because we were promised something much more. There are four different locations to visit in Destiny: Earth, The Moon, Venus, and Mars. There are also four different species of enemies to fight that all fight differently. While this may sound like a lot of content, it did not seem like it as I played through the beautiful worlds of Destiny, mainly because they felt so empty. It seemed like every mission I would hop on my "Sparrow," which was basically just a fancy land speeder bike, and then drive it until I found some enemies and then kill them.
I really like Destiny, every time I sit down to play the game it is for at least several hours. It is very addicting and very fun. But it also feels incomplete, while there is planned DLC for the game I excepted more out of the game that was shipped. With a few small additions, like a better story and some small tweaks like better matchmaking, this game could have been truly great, which is sad because all of the hype about this game leading up to it's release and from the work from Bungie's past.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Destiny
Excellent Game so far!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/14
Jordie
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am giving the lasting appeal a 5 right now. The game is a lot of fun right now, but I cant see my self playing this game in 5 years due to the fact that is an Online only game and there will probably be a 2 or 3 by then! Aside from that, I walked into my local gamestop, traded in my old 3DS(I have the new one now) and picked up Destiny, I was sure it was going to be a great game with beautiful world design and fun gameplay because it was by Bungie. Sure enough, I was correct. The game is simply amazing, lots of fun and so many things to do its hard to get bored. Sometimes it can be a frustrating game, like when my internet decides to take a poo and it will say "headshot" kill AFTER I am already dead!!! But that doesn't take away the enjoyment i have playing this game. The campaign mode runs pretty good on my internet, I rarely have problems playing it. I am pretty excited for the future of this game. Now Normally I trade in games after a few plays through's or i complete the game, but I am pretty sure I am keeping this game in my library. I love it :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 17 for Destiny
Over hyped...but not a Bad game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/14
ArchAng3l
Location: Space
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Destiny, a lot can be said about this game. It's not a bad game, it's not an amazing game. It's an average game. It's a game about grinding, facing waves and waves of enemies to level up your character and the weapons and armor for said character. It has fun factor, but it's also repetitive. The story is disappointing. It lacks length, depth, story, dialogue, cut scenes, immersivness. It's not engaging, it's a after thought. The mutiplayer is nothing special, it's no different than any other. It's fun at times, but lacking at other times.You'd get bored of this game fast and find yourself wanting to play something else because once you get to level 20, you feel like there isn't anything else to do. Sure you can go beyond 20, but the light leveling system isn't based on gaining experience. It's based on updating and unlocking. It's not worth $60 but if you have nothing else to play, then I'd say try out Destiny.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 18 for Destiny
500 MIllion for a boring game
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/14
Bobyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
Location: jjj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Like others was waiting for an over hyped game. I don't see where 500 million went. The story takes no time at all even on hard. you can go back and do it harder but its pointless. Strikes are boring and repetitive along with the same bounty's over and over. the Queens strike is just a normal strike with different bounties. Graphics are amazing though. each location only allows for 16 people max. So when your at the Tower you can only see another 16 people on the roster. same for planets. The one Raid they have was broken and just got fixed. like someone else said you have to join up on the forums to even do the raid. so you have to wait for someone to reply and then send out invites and keep waiting. You can create up to three characters but with the same missions and no option to skip the cut-scenes it gets boring. The only way to get to level 30 is by constantly raiding and hoping you get the gear you need to waste shards on to hopefully get it high enough. If you get it i recommend to wait for a price drop or sale. for a Casual gamer it will take you a while to complete. but if you play it on a weekend type thing you'll beat it.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 19 for Destiny
Not perfect, but a blast.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/14
alumbra84
Location: Vermont
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First of all, I never played Halo, so a lot of this is "new" to me. The bad, as you've heard, is true. A bit repetitive, the character/storyline seems a bit flat right now, and the fields of play feels a bit restrictive. (A little imagination on your part will go a long way)
On the flipside, know this is just the beginning of a game that will constantly grow. Maybe not a true MMO in the WoW sense, it is a bit more casual.
Despite the "fly here, kill things, find loot, repeat" it never seems boring. The scenery is excellent, the gameplay is fun, and enemies do get challenging. I bought this game last minute when I was going to completely skip it, and I am glad I did.
Overall, it may be slightly overhyped (but maybe not depending on the growth of the game) but I've spent 60 dollars on games that were far far worse! If you are a fan of first person shooters, buy it!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OldSkoolFPS
1984
 
Please wait while more information about OldSkoolFPS is loaded.
Additional information about OldSkoolFPS could not be loaded.
say wwwhhaaaaatt
Posted 9/16/14
I agree the game is awesome but needs a lot more storyline and I'm really hoping they decide to go the extra mile with some expansions and dlc in the future to do just that...rather than just add a mission or 2 with a new area or whatever. Games like this and Titanfall have such potential if they just had great storylines! Like real stories...like KOTR or one of the old FF stories. Or wth, just do a KillZone type story and really beef it up. Anyway, agrees with ya...except...never played halo??? what?!?! son, when the collection comes out you need to get it post-quick! Halo is that great game plus a really good story, but just fantastic gaming, even campaign alone
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Destiny
Destiny is one of the best sci-fi games out there!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/14
Beeflord
Location: Maryland
Destiny is a very open world, multiplayer/MMO-ish, type of game. It does its job for entertaining gameplay, beautiful graphics and worlds, and very competitive online multiplayer. Also, when go to a planet, whether alone or with some friends, you'll see that the planet will have many other players scattered around, close and far. Speaking of that, random players are not the only visitors. Inhabitants and Enemies are also close. Another thing, is that it has a similar vibe to, Borderlands 2, borrowing the loot system and gaining great rewards! The only weak point I found was the story. But I won't spoil it for you. Overall, the game is an outstanding game and should be given a try. Trust me, you don't want miss out on this awesome adventure!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>