GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Destiny

Everything changed with the arrival of the Traveler. It sparked a Golden Age when our civilization spanned our solar system, but it didn't last. Something hit us, knocked us down. The survivors built a city beneath the Traveler, and have begun to explore our old worlds, only to find them filled with deadly foes. You are a Guardian of the last safe city on Earth, able to wield incredible power. Defend the City. Defeat our enemies. Reclaim all that we have lost. Be brave.
Average Customer Rating:
7.013
7
(216 Reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (216 reviews)
10 stars
35
9 stars
35
8 stars
20
7 stars
14
6 stars
8
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
12
102 out of 15865%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Destiny
Review 1 for Destiny
tooo far away !!!!!!
Posted on:6/29/13
Location: the dessert
Bungie fan from the beginning,I'm already tired of the wait....im stoked to play it on Xbox one!!!!!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
40 of 58 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MrBryanR
Murica
 
Please wait while more information about MrBryanR is loaded.
Additional information about MrBryanR could not be loaded.
Like Borderlands...But better
Posted 8/2/13
I am so anxious to play this game. at first I did not like it because I do not like halo but then I saw that one of the devs said there was individual loot which means if you get a shotty the other person gets a pistol or something so everyone will get something. And all the features seemed awesome and im pretty sure there will be elemental guns like borderlands and all the other features seem really nice. Looking forward to this game I loved borderlands but hated all the loot fights
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Destiny
Awesome.
Posted on:7/20/14
Location: Mississippi
The game is beautiful and has a ton of potential to be one of the greatest games for the new consoles. I really enjoyed beta. The only beef I have is I like to play in 3rd person and I don't believe it is an option while in combat. Which sucks. I also know this isn't an issue for others people but i hope there is more options for personalizing you character in the character creation. Any great RPG has a way of making you feel like you're character is your own. For me it makes me feel more of a bond with my character and makes me more interested in the game. I know i'm nit picking but MEHHHH. Overall, It's going to be a great game. I do like the combat system and the gear system. It's going to be a lot of fun when it finally launches!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Destiny
This game is revolutionizing multiplayer.
Posted on:6/13/13
Location: NJ
I cannot wait. Bungie is making a universe 10x better than Halo. I want to play this on my Xbox One NOOOW!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Gameplay
 
My Product Recommendations
Halo 2
9.1 out of 10(104)
 
 
 
Halo 3
8 out of 10(14)
 
 
 
Halo
9.3 out of 10(71)
 
 
 
 
 
20 of 43 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
tallsan
Nashville, TN
 
Please wait while more information about tallsan is loaded.
Additional information about tallsan could not be loaded.
whoa...
Posted 8/8/13
Better than halo? Don't you think that a really bold statement?
Customer Avatar
ShadowdeathCat
MN
 
Please wait while more information about ShadowdeathCat is loaded.
Additional information about ShadowdeathCat could not be loaded.
1 Yr away Better do it right.
Posted 7/1/13
Im looking forward to this game. A new MMO in fact there is a lot of new MMO's coming out on next gen and I say GOOD. Though it will be hard to stay excited for this long. I hope they use the time wisely and really do everything this game has the ability to do. Just imagine the nightmare those on the PSN network have in store for them through the next gens online gaming is the reason im going Xbox1 for all the new IP's My picks so far. Destiny / The Crew / Watchdogs / The Division / Halo 5 / BF4 / ESO / FF15 / KH3 / Witcher 3. Lots of great games coming for us exciting times ahead for us.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for Destiny
Awesome Game
Posted on:8/1/14
Location: Miami,FL
I was pretty bummed out that I couldn't get a beta code and then I found out the beta was open so I downloaded as fast as I could and it was the best game I played in a long time and it was only a beta so for sure you are gonna see me play it on XBOX ONE
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Destiny E3 Trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Review 5 for Destiny
The Future of Shooters
Posted on:6/17/14
Location: Inwood, WV
When I first say Destiny back in 2012 I was massively impressed. Now Im hyped! This is a true revolution in gaming. Can't wait time to board the hype train!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Destiny Trailer: The Moon
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Destiny
New Halo?
Posted on:1/6/14
Location: Matawan, NJ
Hopefully Bungie makes this a game I'll play for days like halo. Bungie hasn't disappointed me yet. Every shooter I played is amazing
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
WATCH THIS!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Destiny
Fun at first
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/15
Location: KY
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I bought this game when it first came out. This game started off great. It seemed like a perfect game for a group of friends to play. The game is centered getting in a party and taking on missions together. Me and my friends did this and loved it for about a month. After playing each mission and beating the same bosses over and over and over and over and over (your trying to get new weapons and armor) this game got old very quick. I would recommend borrowing or renting this game. Do not waste your money on buying it, you will be burnt out very quickly.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Destiny
Bland.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/15
Location: Miramar, FL
After playing this game for over a month now, I feel like I can leave a fair review. Graphics: Great. Not the most realistic or cinematic, but definitely up to par with the current-gen. The gameplay and mechanics are good, as well. Very Call of Duty-esque, which is a good thing, in my opinion. That's.. about it. At first, it seemed so awesome because it's an FPS MMO style game. But after a few hours of play, it started to become repetitive. All the missions are way too similar. The story and universe are very boring. It's kind of like a really bad rendition of the Halo universe. If you know the Halo universe well, you'll see some elements from there. There's very little variety in quests, scenery, and overall content as far as guns, armor, enemies, etc. The guardians (Titans especially), whom you play as, have very unappealing armor. Like they found their armor in a junk yard (Which is my opinion of course). As good as the gameplay mechanics are, it's certainly not worth it. It's pretty much the only game I've owned that I feel so unmotivated to complete, and I've owned a lot of games and have played many MMO's. I don't recommend this game. If you end up buying it, just know: Those first 1-2 hours of you getting into it? That's all there is to this game.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 9 for Destiny
I love it, but you may not.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/15
Location: HTX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I personally am a very big fan of looter shooters or games that require grinding in general to become good. The music in this game is truly amazing and the graphics are just as stunning as halo graphics. I like this game because you have to beat levels to earn rewards and if you get God rewards you can become top of the pack. However as I said earlier that I like to grind for stuff, a lot of people don't. If you are the type of person that likes to play online multiplayer and not grind out the story mission for gear then this is not the game for you. The pvp in this game is pret bad because there are 4-5 guns that if you have them you will reck everybody and if you don't well you have to hope you get lucky. Overall if you want to play pvp don't get this game, but if you want to have a good time with your friends just doing bounties and missions and such then this is the game for you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Destiny
1000 hours in and still fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/15
The title says it all. Every week I come back to this amazing game filled with a great community and gameplay. It has become my favorite game of all time and I would recommend it to friends. However, it may not be for all people. It is MMO based so you can expect some repetitive aspects, but that's what the super fun alien killing is for. To ease the pain of these parts.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Destiny
So much potential and addictive, but for what?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/15
Location: Houston
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've played this game since the day it came out. It's fun, don't get me wrong. I love the shooting and movement mechanics, the variety of places to go, and all the different weapons. The problem is that it all has no point other than getting weapons. You can complete everything there is do actually do in 10-20 hours. While going through all that, you'll notice that other people have much better weapons than you do. The best weapons and armor are randomly dropped through endgame activities (raids, prison of elders) with no promise of ever getting them. So you do them over and over in the hopes of getting what you want. There is no trading (nor should there be IMO). There is a companion app and forum that is used to discuss the game and to find groups to do these activities (and a group is required for almost everything, by the way, and there's very little in-game matchmaking) but it is filled with toxic posts, mostly people bragging about what they have and putting down people who don't have it yet. Bungie/Activision are trying hard to salvage what they can from this, as content is updated every 6 months or so, but it seems like a lot of the game got cut out and not replaced with anything meaningful. I might come back to it later, but for now I'm though. I'm tired of grinding the same things over and over again for a reward that basically lets me do the same things over and over again easier. It just seems insane if you think about it, but I had a great time playing. SIx months ago I would have give this game a much higher review, but it seems like there's no story, and not enough new stuff to keep me going.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 12 for Destiny
Not a game for those who get bored easily...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/15
Location: Buford, Ga
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A great game, with wonderful graphics, audio, and gameplay. NEEDS lore and background writing to connect the player with the characters, however. Could also use some content fluffing by way of missions that your character opts to do, due to their unwritten and unspoken past, as well as more missions to do as secondary missions that deal with the main story arc, and are not bounties. If you like to buy a game on Friday, and spend the weekend to push through the content as fast as you can, then want to be kept occupied with lots of new and interestingly original things to do, this is not your game. If you casually get on with a few friends, hit a mission or three, then this may be the thing you want.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 13 for Destiny
My Favorite Game Out for Xbox One
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/15
Location: alliance,oh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game never gets old and never runs out of things to do. The raids in Destiny are my favorite ever thing to do in video games
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Destiny
Great game to play with friends.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/15
Location: Howesville,WV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Destiny is a great game to play with friends and there is alot to do on it. Such as travel from planet to planet fighting new enemies.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Destiny
Pathetic Story, Fantastic Multiplayer
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/14
The easiest way to say it is that Destiny has no story whatsoever. You meet like 4 different people that all hint at really awesome things in the past, but they don't even really tell you about them. The missions are repetitive, and overall it fails to connect you to the story at all. The loot system in the game is like a slot machine, which is frustrating, also considering you can't trade things with other players. However, the multiplayer gameplay is quite good, despite a low amount of game modes. It's multiplayer is one that could compete with Halo, Call of Duty, or Titanfall. Strikes and Raids can be fun, especially with friends. The game can really last you awhile if you are willing to spend lots of time in it. The graphics are great on the Xbox One and PS4, but on the Xbox 360 and PS3 they don't look as good if you're up close to something. I would recommend this to someone into MMOs, Halo, or if you focus more on multiplayer and don't care about a game's story.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 16 for Destiny
Great gameplay, lacks story, repetitive/grindy
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/15
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The gameplay in Destiny is amazing. There is nothing more satisfying than slaughtering hundreds of minions of the darkness or even other guardians with the many, many weapons and abilities made available to you. The story in "vanilla" Destiny, however, is practically non-existent. Questions are continually brought to your attention and never answered. The backstory is extremely elusive at best. This is not the game for those of you who love Bioware-type storytelling. This is the game for those of you who love the combat of Halo and team play of Borderlands.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 17 for Destiny
Great game but gets repetitive
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/14
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My first review because this game deserves it. The game itself is fantastic. Yes I understand it gets repetitive but it's the strive for new and better gear which keeps me entertained. Ive beaten the campaign, and to keep it simple it was basic. Go to point A, hold off enemies. Go to point B, hold off enemies, and so on. It gets boring to say the least but thats not why I got the game. I got it for the crucible, the strikes, the raids, the co-op strategy. Playing a game that leaves you dumbfounded as to how you beat the level is a great way to describe it. Teamwork is key so playing with your friends is best advised to succeed. Yes playing solo is fun, but doing it all with your friends makes it all that much better. Yes the campaign wasn't great, but its the other things that come after it that makes destiny what it is. Now this is only my opinion and I'm sure others will disagree, but if you enjoy a great multiplayer shooter/mmo then this is not a game to pass up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Destiny
NOT WORTH $60
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/14
Location: DC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Like a FOOL, I pre-ordered and spent $100 on this boring grind fest of a game. Like SO MANY OTHERS I was promised a Bungie designed open world Sci-Fi shooter, with YEARS of interesting things to do. I have finished the main quest in 6 hours of play. The multiplayer is a BROKEN call of duty re-skin with Halo crit shots. All that is left for me to do is GRIND out Strike missions for 2 or 4 reward points per mission. You need 150 and to buy the good stuff. Unless you want to MINDLESSLY kill aliens for 40 hours a week with NO MOTIVATION, PLOT, or EXPLANATION; pass on Destiny. Also, the pre-order ship is JUST A FANCY LOAD SCREEN BETWEEN MISSIONS. Wait for something better.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
23 of 30 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
InfiniteConkeror
 
Please wait while more information about InfiniteConkeror is loaded.
Additional information about InfiniteConkeror could not be loaded.
THIS GAME IS WORTH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 12/13/14
I might be getting this game but my friend has the game and I cant wait to play over at his at some point in time!!!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Destiny
My whole reason for XBOX One
Posted on:6/17/13
Location: Irving, TX
Nuff said. Even though it's gonna be on both consoles everybody I know will be playing it on Xbox One so it's a no brainer. Bungie has never let me down so this will be the game that will bring me back to serious gaming (I only play a few hours a week currently). :D I love everybody who supports this game :3
128 of 157 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Butta510
 
Please wait while more information about Butta510 is loaded.
Additional information about Butta510 could not be loaded.
Freakin Psyched!!
Posted 7/16/14
Its been a while since i've been this excited for a shooter, probably since black ops 2, but this game is gonna be the truth. this one is definitely for the next gen console. kinda shocked its coming out for 360. Can't wait to play it on XBOX ONE
Customer Avatar
CoolGamer86
SC
 
Please wait while more information about CoolGamer86 is loaded.
Additional information about CoolGamer86 could not be loaded.
Looks great
Posted 3/17/14
I share your impatience for this up coming and most likely epic game for the xbox one. I just wish they'd give us a more detailed date of when the beta comes out instead of just saying, "early 2014".
Customer Avatar
Verdict
Tri-Cities, TN, USA
 
Please wait while more information about Verdict is loaded.
Additional information about Verdict could not be loaded.
Even better for playing with friends/family
Posted 1/31/14
Bungie recently also announced that they are structuring the game such that regardless which system you or your friends and family choose or even if they may not have gotten to upgrade to a next/new gen system. Xbox 360, PS3, Xbox One, PS4, or even PC if they release it for that will all be playing on a common server.
Customer Avatar
Azmodon
Flat Rock, MI
 
Please wait while more information about Azmodon is loaded.
Additional information about Azmodon could not be loaded.
Bungie, enough said
Posted 1/23/14
They created the Halo universe, a story line I love. I know very little about Destiny but with Bungie at the helm, like the title of my post says, Bungie, enough said. Pre ordered and waiting.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 20 for Destiny
Did Destiny Fail?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/15
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There are a lot of people who say, bad things about the game, and I think their reasoning for this is because, they felt let down. Now they feel let down because Bungie is the same debs that created the Halo series a massive success. And that a lot of people thought that destiny would be a lot like Halo but what everyone got was an entirely different game and i think thats why everyone thinks that it is a huge let down. So did destiny fail graphic wise? No, Did Destiny fail in lasting appeal wise? Depends on the player, so did destiny fail gameplay wise? Debatable. So i leave you with this very question, Did Destiny fail? That is a question, you must find out for your self. Anyways I'll see you star side Guardians.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>