GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection

From the critically acclaimed director, Hideo Kojima, METAL GEAR SOLID: The Legacy Collection offers the most complete METAL GEAR SOLID experience ever. Featuring eight complete games, METAL GEAR, METAL GEAR 2, METAL GEAR SOLID 1, METAL GEAR SOLID 2: HD Edition, METAL GEAR SOLID 3: HD Edition METAL GEAR SOLID 4: Trophy Edition, METAL GEAR SOLID: Peace Walker HD Edition, and METAL GEAR SOLID: VR MISSIONS along with two Ashley Wood Digital Graphic, the Legacy Collection offers Metal Gear and stealth action fans a chance to experience all the heroic game play, compelling design and immersive storytelling of the MGS franchise in one complete package.
Average Customer Rating:
9.846
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
Review 1 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
A Collection of Perfection
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/14
ronniedonnie719
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
See, here you have the ultimate collection of some of the greatest games ever released for PlayStation or any home gaming console. Whether its the HD editions of Metal Gear Solid 2, 3, Peace Walker, or the original Metal Gear Solid for PSone in digital form, you cannot go wrong with any title in this collection exclusive to the console brand the Solid series began with. Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection is perfect for any hardcore Metal Gear Solid lore fan or those who are looking to begin it before they dive into the upcoming Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain. Highest Recommendations!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
The Best Collection Ever Made
Posted on:6/19/13
imaStarr
Location: az
My mind was blown that they finally are going to release every metal gear game on one disc for ps3. I preordered right at that moment I found out. Me being a metal gear fan will enjoy this collection forever and never stop. It has Metal Gear, Metal Gear 2, Metal Gear Solid, Metal Gear Solid 2, Metal Gear Solid 3, Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker, Metal Gear Solid Virtual Missions,and Metal Gear Solid 4. It is every thing I dreamed of and more. I hope you will enjoy The Metal Gear Solid Legacy Collection as much as I will.
25 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
RainboWarrioR
 
Please wait while more information about RainboWarrioR is loaded.
Additional information about RainboWarrioR could not be loaded.
they did
Posted 10/20/13
dude they did. its called metal gear solid twin snakes on the GC. looks pretty good too.
Customer Avatar
Nick52w
 
Please wait while more information about Nick52w is loaded.
Additional information about Nick52w could not be loaded.
Posted 6/27/13
This collection is on two Blu-Ray discs, one containing MGS2, MGS3, MG, MG2, and MGS:PW, while the other disc contains only Guns of the Patriots. MGS and Virtual Missions are downloads from included product codes. And it is not the entire Metal Gear Solid collection: there is no Portable Ops.
Customer Avatar
SolidSnake123
 
Please wait while more information about SolidSnake123 is loaded.
Additional information about SolidSnake123 could not be loaded.
Posted 6/20/13
MGS Saga in one buy
Customer Avatar
MidnightShadow
 
Please wait while more information about MidnightShadow is loaded.
Additional information about MidnightShadow could not be loaded.
Posted 6/20/13
Unfortunately, not all of those games are on one disc. Metal Gear Solid 1 and Metal Gear Solid: VR Missions are game for download, while the rest are on disc. And I do believe is two discs. Do wish they would upgrade the graphics of MGS 1 though.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 3 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
WOOOOOOOW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/13
Blizzack
Location: NH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I almost had a seizure when I saw that this collection existed. If I could rate this as 17 stars I would, but alas, the rating system only goes up to 10.
A word to the wise here, DO NOT buy this game used, as 2 of the games in this collection are via download only, and you can be certain that a used game will come with used codes that do not work. My local gamestop was decent about letting me return the used game for the new game, but it was still some effort that I shouldnt have had to do.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
The Greatest Video Game Franchise Of All Time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/13
SolidSnake2314
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Metal Gear Solid:The Legacy Collection delivers us every game in the Metal Gear Saga which is one of the best things Hideo Kojima has delivered to us yet to date. This collection is super awesome which lets us play as Snake and Raiden(Metal Gear Solid 2:Sons of Liberty), and filled with super awesome gadgets, weapons and most of all stealth. This collection will literally take me and whoever purchases this game up to a month(unless you dont sleep and you play it all day and all night it will take you 3 days). I hope anyone and everyone a super awesome time with this game and I hope you enjoy it at the level that I do and i've been following every Metal Gear since the day of its release.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ninku
Newyork
 
Please wait while more information about Ninku is loaded.
Additional information about Ninku could not be loaded.
Nice that there bringing the collection out BUT!!!
Posted 7/27/13
What happened to the remake of metal gear solid 1 that came out for GameCube.Iwould have rather had that then the ps1 version.the rest are hd or better versions than the ps1 version.they could have at least included it to give people a choice on which one to play.I new they were going to do this when I went to preorder it.I canceled mine till the make the definitive version.PASS!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
I'm new to the series, and I love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
YINGamer
Location: Minneapolis, MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just started getting into the metal gear series, and I would say that I have not regretted it one bit. It's totally worth the money, and I personally would say that this is more than a game, it tells quite the compelling story. Not to mention that it even intertwines with actual history (making it much more interesting). If you like stealth games or games that tell a compelling story, I would recommended it to you. trust me it's worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
There Goes My Summer
Posted on:6/27/13
Nick52w
Location: Harmony,PA
I already own every Metal Gear game ever made, including the collections for the PS3 and the Vita. I even own MGS3 four times on four different platforms. When I learned about the Legacy Collection, two thoughts went into my mind: "I NEED THIS!!," and "How much is it going to cost me to buy a bunch of games I already own?" Luckily $50 seems like a good amount to spend to have another copy of every MGS game, excluding Portable Ops. When this comes out, I won't be leaving my room anytime soon.
13 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
Great!
Posted on:7/7/13
MythReviews
Location: somewhere on earth.
Iv played all of these games and iv liked them all asides from #4. These games are amazing! When I played mgs back in the day and even currently and im still amazed it truely is an amazing game, it's the only game iv ever said wow when iv played it. Mgs 2 is decent aswell but it's not as breathtaking as MGS1. Mgs 3 didn't blow me away like mgs 1 but it is also an great game. All in all i'd recomend this game unless your like me and already own all of these one way or the other.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
Perfect -1
Posted on:6/30/13
recian
Location: New Bern, NC
They're putting all the games in one but they forgot Portable Ops. Or did they not want to try to upscale it like they did in the HD Collection? because they did a great job there.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Nick52w
Harmony,PA
 
Please wait while more information about Nick52w is loaded.
Additional information about Nick52w could not be loaded.
Posted 7/9/13
Portable Ops is not included because this is not technically a Metal Gear collection; this is a collection of every Metal Gear game that Hideo Kojima wrote and directed. Portable Ops, Acid, Acid 2, and Revengeance are not here because Kojima was not in charge of them.
Customer Avatar
Jameron4eva
 
Please wait while more information about Jameron4eva is loaded.
Additional information about Jameron4eva could not be loaded.
MUST HAVE!
Posted 7/9/13
I want this collection, if for nothing more than to have MG1-2. I think it doesn't have Portable Ops because they weren't as well received by fans, and no one even mentions AC!D because AC!D 1 and 2 sucked.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
I am upset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/13
Chanixon1609
Location: Fresno, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I very upset at Gamestop because everyone got there copy of the game but Gamestop forgot Fresno, CA and I have to pick it tomorrow its very rude that Gamestop forgot Fresno, CA. I know its just a game but when people say it comes out today I expect Gamestop to keep there word.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
Great Collection 2 Years Late...!?
Posted on:6/26/13
BIGBoss1972
Location: Cartersville, GA
This would have been even better if it was released instead of the hd collection we recieved two years ago. Granted they probibly needed some time to get this together i still feel as though we were just suckered out of yet another 50 dollars.
6 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
To-be 2nd-best Collection of anything EVER!!!!!
Posted on:6/30/13
PBearBacon
Location: Camden, ME
Aside from The World at War 12-disc DVD collection, this will be my most prized possession. The fact that they're putting almost every canon Metal Gear SOLID game into one package(aside from Portable Ops) is unbelievable, and will bring fans/newcomers of all ages crowding stores in awe of such a monument of success over almost 20 years!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
solidsnake1992
 
Please wait while more information about solidsnake1992 is loaded.
Additional information about solidsnake1992 could not be loaded.
the greatest collection EVER!!!!!!!!!
Posted 7/3/13
This collection is gonna be a blast. Because 1 its every metal gear game there is excluding portable ops but comes with the original mxs2 japanese games from the 80s not those nes games that we got so that is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!. 2 its $50 that's cheap all things considering you get 8 games to play and two graphic novels so that's a steal, and finally 3 It's METAL GEAR why wouldn't you get this. hope this helps have a good day: who dares wins :semper fi :FOOOOOOOOOXXXXXXXXXX!!!!!!!!!!! :LIQUID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :SNAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :THIS IS MY FINAL MISSION relive all the classics :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
Soooo.... no XBox 360 Love?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/13
Kevin197
Location: Richmond, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So how can they explain why there won't be a release for the Xbox 360? True, some games have exclusivity to Sony and Playstation, but for those that have supported the Metal Gear Solid family since day one, there should be a release across the board, and now just for one system. I remember playing Metal Gear at home for hours, and growing with Metal Gear solid, both one and two. I got the HD releases for Xbox 360, but I didn't get that feeling from one, as it wasn't included. I just want that chance. Konami, don't forget about us Xboxxers. Give us MGS1!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
hannabeth3009
 
Please wait while more information about hannabeth3009 is loaded.
Additional information about hannabeth3009 could not be loaded.
Posted 8/25/13
They wanted to make it for the 360, but in order to include mgs 4, they would've had to put it on 6-7 disc, versus the ps3 Blu-ray disc, which only required 1. Also, seeing as how 1 xbox 360 disc can only hold about 2-3 games (just guessing from how many disc were in the hd collection on 360) it would've taken at least 2-3 more disc. That's 8 disc per box, they would've wasted their money doing that since most dedicated mgs fans own a ps3.
Customer Avatar
IronManDante
 
Please wait while more information about IronManDante is loaded.
Additional information about IronManDante could not be loaded.
Posted 7/10/13
It has to do with Metal Gear Solid 4. It would take way too many discs to put it on there.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
Best 50 Bucks i ever spent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/13
Metalgearfangirl1011
Location: Arkansas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This Game Is amazing!!! The HD Is Sooo Good In Person! And The artbook is sooo good to I Played MGS2 but i never beat it but i beat MGS4 almost 3 times and i beat MGS peace walker but i never played the other ones and it doesn't take long to download and install the games the sound is sooo good on it to and if you want a good story line then buy this but i'm playing by the story line which is MGS3 MGS peace walker MG1 MG2 solid snake MGS2 MGS4 :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
Worth it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/13
Wallower
Location: East Stroudsburg, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As someone who has played every metal gear game, I must say that this is the perfect collection for any die hard fan. Not only is the HD collection such an improvement in terms of gameplay/graphics, etc the entire package just feels great to have. It is like a owning a moment in time that will never come again. Having the legacy collection is like being in a bubble where time does not move forward but stays where it is at.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
Metal Gear Solid
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/13
madyeti
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the best collection of games that i have seen in a long time, the second i heard of this collection i knew that i would have to go and get it. Every game in the collection is a great stealth experiance, i dont think i could pick a favorite one, but if i had to i think mgs4 would be right up there. A great collectors item to add to any mgs fans collection.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
perfection
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/13
vapre
Location: lubbock
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Metal Gear is a genre demining series. It has positively impacted the entirety of the gaming industry, and this collection has all of the games we have learned to love. The dlc which is built in is phenomenal. The game gives hundreds of hours of gameplay and it is all worthwile. Not only will the games interest you but the extras are above par.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
A masterpiece
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/13
Willikins
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Solid Snake has always been one of the most iconic video game characters, and this is a fantastic collection of all of his games.
It's a great way to get into the series, or a great collector's item if you're a fan but don't already own every piece-especially the older titles such as Metal Gear, or Peace Walker without owning a PSP.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
Must have
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/13
BigBoss73401
Location: Ardmore, Ok
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This compilation is every MGS fan dream come true! If you're a true fan then I would highly recommend this game. If you're new to the series, make the purchase and you won't be disappointed!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
Why can't this be a multi console game?!?!
Posted on:7/6/13
y0r0
Location: Maryland, MD
I own a 360 and bought the MGS: HD Collection and it was amazing. I have a PSP and owned Peace Walker before any of this. I just wish this was on a 360 as well.
1 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ShatteredRavenX
Abilene
 
Please wait while more information about ShatteredRavenX is loaded.
Additional information about ShatteredRavenX could not be loaded.
No 360
Posted 7/9/13
Only reason they couldn't put it on the 360 is because how big MGS4 is. If it took 3 discs for FF13 MGS4 would be almost 6-7 discs.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
Nice Work....
Posted on:7/7/13
lostsands01
Location: Friona, Tx.
The story line the we all knew for 25 yrs is about to change. I played the first " Metal Gear" on NES ( Way back when). When Ground Zero's and Phantom Limb come out. It will all change. And I am so stoked about it.
1 2 next>>