GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z

Since its beginning, Dragon Ball Z has captivated fans with the amazing fi ghts between Goku, his friends and their enemies, and once again they are all back for a new rumble. Dragon Ball Z® Battle of Z delivers original and unique fi ghting gameplay in the beloved world from series' creator Akira Toriyama. Focusing on team battles, players will be able to battle online with or against their friends in frantic 4-player co-op or up to 8-player vs.
Average Customer Rating:
6.86
6.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
7
8 stars
4
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
26 out of 4360%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Review 1 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
back to legends
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/14
adianj
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Game is fun but simple. First time playing this during the demo I tried to think what this reminded me of now I know. Game takes you back to dbz: legends. (for those unfamiliar, this what the first dbz game for ps1 Japanese format only no English release) most controls are 2 button basic attacks but can pull off ki moves with some practice. Not too far yet but the character Load out is decent. I'm waiting for the day they put ss kid goku and goku Jr in a game (actual characters not character created)
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 2 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
So getting this
Posted on:9/22/13
thelegendarysupersaiyan
Location: Yuma, AZ
but what if nether realm studios made this if you don't know who they are there the creators mortal kombat 9 and injustice if they made a DBZ game it would look amazing
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lyttlegunner
New York
 
Please wait while more information about Lyttlegunner is loaded.
Additional information about Lyttlegunner could not be loaded.
Where's my Bardock code
Posted 2/3/14
I pre order battle of z i got home opened my game and I had the sage mode Goku code but I look on the receipt and in the case but there's no super sayian bardock code.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
this game is worth it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/14
JaySmith92
Location: Eastside
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Just got the game today and it is fun. i like it so far. even did online battles with friedns.only complaints is need more moves and how to fight other players online insteaed of fighting in story mode?
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Rekindling The DBZ Flame
Posted on:7/11/13
MartialArtsGamer
Location: Arizona
I've been disappointed with DBZ games lately. The biggest let-downs being DBZ for Kinect and DBZ Ultimate Tenkaichi. DBZ Raging Blast 1 and 2 were ok but were lacking a certain flare. DBZ game developers have been putting much focus on flashy, dramatic animations which is what DBZ games need. But I think they have been putting too much attention on flash and not enough attention on player involvement (Best example being DBZ Ultimate Tenkaichi.) Hardcore DBZ fans like myself have been craving a DBZ game creation with the perfect balance of true DBZ intensity and full player skill-use over their characters. Now, it would seem we will get just that and much more. Co-op probably being the most anticipated feature. Now DBZ console gamers will have what we've always been wanting. Maybe now I can take a break from my martial arts training and do a bit of long awaited martial arts gaming.
23 of 31 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KingAwsome
Clarksville,TN
 
Please wait while more information about KingAwsome is loaded.
Additional information about KingAwsome could not be loaded.
Looks amazing!
Posted 9/19/13
Facing 3 other people at once is out of this world!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
A Fresh new adventure for fans of DBZ
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/14
thecleaner600
Location: Soperton, Ga
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dragon ball z battle of z is a new featuring the same characters from the series but with a slightly different plot. Stories are shorter than usual and battles includes characters that may not were shown in the original story. Otherwise it's a fun new game for fans of the series or not. Controls are good but not perfect, the camera's lock-on mechanic is a bet sloppy and can often leave you confused and unaware of where you are. The game also features a.i. partners you can bring to battle but often times they were useless. Even with its faults I still had a blast playing the game. Goku's new adventure isn't the best game but it will hold over for the upcoming Dragon Ball z xenoverse.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 6 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
What the heck?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/14
Narutobeast1
Location: Ashland, OH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Alright lets start with the fact yes there is a online co-op but for the first time ever since there has been a DBZ game on a console theres been a local co-op I want to play with the person in the room next to me. Or howa bout the misleading fact that we thought we'd be able to play story mode with our friends locally. Yes the graphics are good but the gameplay isn't that good, they've taken all the drama out of the game, they made transformations separate, they give you no directions in how to play it's just throwing you in there. I cant even figure out how to do an ultimate even though it shows you the buttons do I have to wait for my energy to completely charge ( oh and on that note you can't charge your own freaking ki you can only do it by doing nothing or beating on the guy) or do I wait for the big energy bar to do it. I'm retuning it when I get the chance. I have great respect for Akira but who is ever making these games needs to step it up. Try a Naruto game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
One of the Better Ones, Get it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/14
Kozmar
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The game is very good and requires you to perform good in order to unlock other characters and stages. You should really get your friends to get this game because it has online play and 4 slots including you. The Game doesn't have the system where you pick a character bot and fight against them. It's a 4v4 game, and requires teamwork. Still, It's true to the sagas, and you can play as the hero or the bad guy. Keep in mind that the hero story is easier, and you should complete that first. There's also (Another Age) and (Extra Age) Which you usually get for completing a saga. Once you complete the actual sagas (Saiyan, Frieza/Namek, Cell/Android, and Buu Saga) you get one last age. This is where multiplayer comes in and you really need to work as a team and make a game plan. The Boss Battles are actually decent because they're equally powerful as your entire team. The game wants you to play online with friends or strangers. The Characters from Battle of Gods are also in this game which is pretty amazing. Seriously, get this game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
So Happy ^.^
Posted on:7/9/13
Yonathan
Location: Seattle
Honestly ever since Budokai Tenkaichi 3, I've always ALWAYS! wanted a way to play at the same time. Like imagine playing BT3 or Raging Blast 2 and playing with your friends online and be in the game at the same time. Im just Really excited.
37 of 41 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
dbzfan24
Columbus, Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about dbzfan24 is loaded.
Additional information about dbzfan24 could not be loaded.
PS4
Posted 12/8/13
Its kinda sad this game isnt coming out on PS4 though, once I got one I sold my PS3 :(
Customer Avatar
jordanbro
florida
 
Please wait while more information about jordanbro is loaded.
Additional information about jordanbro could not be loaded.
EPIX
Posted 7/14/13
i have every dragon ball z for gamboy nintodo ps3 and ps2 this is my type of game! =]
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Dragon Ball is back!
Posted on:1/5/14
ricoman99
Location: Jacksonville,FL
This dragon ball z game will be one for the ages. The new fighting mechanics that it introduces are amazing. This game has incorporated more of a skillful fighting style of a over powering one instead. This game is a major improvement from the failure that was dished out 3 years ago Dragon Ball Z Ultimate Tenkaichi. This game also gives the ability to play the dragon ball z story online with friends and other people around the world. Battle of Z has the chain and other combined powered attacks, that must involve teammates. The energy bar also keeps you using team attacks and stops players from spamming the ultimate attack. The ultimate attack (Spirit bomb,Big bang attack Etc.) also can be called ultimate because you only use it as a last resort as if it was the cartoon. The ultimate attacks also kill the opponent on impact. Now for the bad things in the game. Transformations are unable to be done and you can no longer charge your individual energy or ki.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
THEY COULD'VE DONE BETTER
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/14
Vrunks
Location: Jackson,TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dragon Ball Z Battle of Z is great. I've played it several times to make sure I get the least noticeable details out of it. The good part about the game are the four on four battles that never let the action stop. The landscaping graphics look better than any other DBZ game I've played. Each character has their own unique moves, and each one is for a certain objective also. The storyline is good, and they even add cool what if stories that are better than Raging Blast 2. This is what disappoints me though as a fellow DBZ fan. The game doesn't have much a good fighting combo. Also,the way you play the game is what makes people lose the appeal for the game. that's why rates were very low. If they would've kept the graphics for the characters from Ultimate Tenkaichi, the graphics would've looked a lot cool. I feel like the people who made the game didn't refer to the past games they've made for Dragon Ball Z. It's only fair the game got a 7 out ten to me. If I was the judge, I would've gave the game a rate of a 6. They could've done better.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
On a Scale 1-10 i would give it over 9000!!!!
Posted on:8/25/13
DBZFanman
Location: Maine
I always loved the thought of BT3 and Raging Blast gameplay being put together and also its been awhile since a dbz game has come out and especially since this one is not going to have any GT characters because it is not cannon but there will be many characters and many locations to fight and test your strength on and with the new play mode you can play with your friends in a 4v4 match. But the story will be a little altered from the original story to fit its team of 4 vs theme. But i realy hope you can buy this on the psn store so you can also get on the PS4
14 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sabegaz
Grayson,GA
 
Please wait while more information about sabegaz is loaded.
Additional information about sabegaz could not be loaded.
Hallelujah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 11/15/13
Finally, a dbz game on psvita. But I'm starting to get worried because I checked websites for stores that sell games(ex:Walmart.com,Amazon,Best Buy,etc....) and they only show the game for Ps3 and Xbox :(
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Where is the PS Vita version?
Posted on:9/28/13
RON420
Location: New York, NY
Hey gamestop I was wondering when is the PS Vita version of the game is coming out, because in the trailer it said Ps Vita it was coming out for it. So my question is when is coming out and where is the pre-order opition?
22 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
adianj
 
Please wait while more information about adianj is loaded.
Additional information about adianj could not be loaded.
Posted 1/17/14
They do have Ps vita. It's a download and already available
Customer Avatar
BigRadWolf
 
Please wait while more information about BigRadWolf is loaded.
Additional information about BigRadWolf could not be loaded.
Posted 10/27/13
In NA It Will Be Digital Download Only. But The Game Comes Out On January 28th
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
A step down from earlier games.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/14
Wehe
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There is no reason to like or want this game. It is missing many features from older games. It has no 2 player mode in the same room, if you want to play with someone else you need another ps3 and another copy of the game. That's right, they removed the biggest staple on fighters, they removed the ability to play in the same room, so in a few years when the online is dead and they remove the plug you have to deal with the second problem. This would be that the AI is the worst of any DBZ game. The roster is also pretty small compared to other games. In short, save your money, this is something you pick up for 15 dollars, not 60.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
10 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
THE GAME IS'NT BAD BUT NEEDS IMPROVEMENT
Posted on:12/31/13
bloom
Location: LA
Dragon Ball Z Battle Of Z is pretty nice but the down side to the game is that you no longer have local co-op T_T. So you can now only play multiplayer co-op, that's not half bad and all its just when you can no longer play with friends and family a home i takes away from he fun. My family never really played the game with me that much, but with this new game im pretty sure they would like to try it at least once lol.
and it would be nice o have more stable combos like on DBZT3. One character that can go super sayain, Goku for example, we should be able to unlock goku from when he can go super sayain, liike in DBZT3, to where we will be able to use super sayain when we need/want to, not to where you pick if you want super sayain Goku or just Goku. i dont know if its like that or not, one the demo you can only get to the fourth mission. All in all the game is really nice!
YOU CAN DOWNLOAD THE DEMO AT PSN STORE
Review 15 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Just a though on story mode
Posted on:1/22/14
LordOfDeath
Now I love dragonball z, huge fan....but the raging blast series story mode I don't think I cared to much for it and how it is set up. it is always a game breaking thing for me....I didn't even like how Tenkaichi's story lines where set up and the only one I liked there was the 3rd in that series because the gameplay surpassed the terrible story mode. this is what id like to see, Id like to see them start at least as far back as the saiyan saga leading up to the battle of the gods...excluding gt if they feel like it....but in a more creative way to get the story across instead of clicking on a scenario and going in to play the one scene. also id like to see the animated toons act out most of the scene's if not all of them....so I am hoping to hear good reviews and if anyone has a link to anything about how it might be set up or how story mode is played let me know or post It here please
Review 16 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
PLEASE READ IF YOU PLAN ON BUYING
Posted on:12/18/13
Matheusela
Location: Westmont, NJ
In case you haven't done enough research to figure it out, I have played hours of the demo and here is what you must understand;
1. THIS GAME IS NOT LIKE ANY BUDOKAI TITLE.
The fighting is not arcade style, nor is really very similar to the Tenkaichi style. The fighting is very much geared toward team battle. Assist attacks, combinations, and even techniques that heal or give energy to team mates. This is a SQUAD BASED fighter, something very unique.
2. THIS GAME IS BUILT FOR ONLINE PLAY.
You will be able to play by yourself, and it is still pretty fun, but there is no LOCAL TWO PLAYER. You must play online to play with friends. Also, I can tell you from experience, the game is VASTLY more fun when played online.
IF YOU ARE UNSURE whether these drastic changes to the form suit you, please, wait until the game comes out pre-owned and buy it. Then you have a seven day return window. Peace out.
Review 17 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
DBZ BOZ
Posted on:7/3/13
SONYGAMER
Location: CHICAGO,illinois
This will be great they bring us back the budokai graphics on dbz tenkaichi tagteam style gameplay JUST SHUT UP AND TAKE ME MONEY ^_^
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
supernova220
Land of Nunya
 
Please wait while more information about supernova220 is loaded.
Additional information about supernova220 could not be loaded.
"First game in 2 years"
Posted 11/21/13
Notice how they said first game in 2 years. They don't even count Ultimate Tenkaichi, DBZ Kinect, or Budokai collection (I guess the latter makes sense) as real games.
Customer Avatar
DracoNova
 
Please wait while more information about DracoNova is loaded.
Additional information about DracoNova could not be loaded.
The main thing
Posted 7/14/13
I love everything about dragon ball z the anime and the games ever since i was a kid. so with this said this game has to be better then their last one, dragon ball z ultimate tenkaichi was the worst dbz game ever made you barely can do anything and it did not feel like i was playing. their was also a lack of playable characters and their was NO SSJ4 goku or vegeta which really was a let down. If they really want this game to be selling like crazy make it like dragon ball z budokai tenkaichi 3 but with better graphics. Dragon ball z budokai tenkaichi 3 was the best dbz game in my opinion it had all the characters awesome gameplay and the story mode was fun.
Customer Avatar
Techdude227
 
Please wait while more information about Techdude227 is loaded.
Additional information about Techdude227 could not be loaded.
Shut up and take my money!!!!
Posted 7/8/13
Game looks awesome four on four combat is sweet ha ha this game is gonna kick so much i just hope it doesn't go to ps4 right away.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 18 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
sucks
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
Aceice
Location: homewood AL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
you cant have supersaiyan 4 at all you cant play with gogeta or omega the cut scenes are freaking horrible. The last game was way better do not buy waste of money. You only have like 3 moves for every charachter if you want to play with super saiyan god you should rent it from gamefly but it sucks you have no side missions you cant use the dragon balls or nothing the biggest thing was no, in game transformation every one has there on charachter for example if you like goku you can not go supersaiyan at all in a battle it is freaking nuts. Waste of money
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
THIS LOOKS A BIT TOOO...........
Posted on:12/30/13
quality
Location: Silver Spring, MD
THIS LOOKS A BIT TOOO ............AWESOME!!!!
i am a naruto and dbz fan and i know when somethings good and bad this is none of them its awesome a bit too awesome good quality good quantity of fighters and i espicially like how u can battle up to 8 players at a time it looks so awesome i will get this game no matter what even if i have to buy a xbox version when i dont have xbox i will find someone who has xbox and play it there it looks so good
OH AND GAMESTOP IT SAYS THERE IS A PS VITA VERSION BUT I DONT SEE IT ONLINE PLEASE GET THE PS VITA VERSION CAUSE I AM GETTING A PS VITA AND REALLY WANT THAT PATICULAR GAME WHEN I GET IT SO THANK YOU FOR READING THIS I APPRICIATE YOU GIVING UP YOUR SCROLLING TIME AND READING THIS AND ALSO PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE GAMESTOP GET THE PS VITA VERSION
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
I love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/14
KenwayXlll
This game is just to much fun I have it and I can't seem to put it down!!!!!! It pre ordered it and it just blew my mind when I first played it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>