GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z

Since its beginning, Dragon Ball Z has captivated fans with the amazing fi ghts between Goku, his friends and their enemies, and once again they are all back for a new rumble. Dragon Ball Z® Battle of Z delivers original and unique fi ghting gameplay in the beloved world from series' creator Akira Toriyama. Focusing on team battles, players will be able to battle online with or against their friends in frantic 4-player co-op or up to 8-player vs.
Average Customer Rating:
6.818
6.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
6
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
4
27 out of 4461%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Review 1 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Worst Dragon Ball Z Game EVER!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/14
atwchief
Location: New Bern, NC
I've been a HUGE fan of the Dragon Ball Z Anime in the past, and even most of the games. But in the case of Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z, This is one of the WORST Dragon Ball Z Games out there. The First the problem i had with the game is that the story mode did NOT tie in with the anime like all of the other Dragon Ball Z games I've played. And The combat and fighting (IF you can even call it that.) is the worst that i have played. There are no Epic Combos like in the previous DBZ Games and the special attacks are WAY too complicated to pull off. I could go on ranting on how TERRIBLE this game is but i wont. All In All.... DON'T BUY THIS GAME!!! Its a waste of 60 dollars.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 2 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
a good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/14
pookapoo
Location: 226A w 95 st
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i play dragon ball every day will play this gane after school every day
we play this online a lots it a fun game no lie
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
is fun if you play with friends
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
supremedarkking
Location: laredo,tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
and seen many bad reviews about the game,but to me, I thought it was quite entertaining, is somewhat different, but always there to try new things :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Fun, but lacking in features
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/14
XboxLivexXHunterW1999Xx
Location: Verona, Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was really excited to get this game! It has characters from DBZ:Battle of Gods, Naruto costume Goku, and Super Saiyan Bardock. It has a new, unique, and fun battle system, bosses, and it gets pretty challenging. --However, it's pretty short. Commercials say there are over 75 characters, but that's not technically true. There are about 40 characters, and there are about 35 different forms.The is only 4v4 battles, no offline free battles, so it's either missions, fighting online friends, and online missions. The graphics could certainly be much better, and the fighting it's self is pretty simple. Fun, but could be much better than it is.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 5 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Best DBZ Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/14
KenX210
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome!!!!! Best DBZ game ever!!! Lot of action and cool dbz characters. Love This Game Dbz fan now and forever!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Best DBZ game so far for XBOX 360
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/14
SadisticDude
I really thought this game was not good, until I bought the game. The game is highly addictive and very fun. The co-op mode is good and the battle mode is just so fun to play. However, the graphics/ character models are bad. Except for that minor negative comment, this is a must buy for DBZ fans. (PS and I do not like the dlc. Gamestop failed to give me a code, even though I pre ordered. However, this game is still very fun.)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Simply disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
RagingAntibody
Location: Milwaukee, WI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
So I tend to buy the latest DBZ or Naruto fighting games cuz sometimes you just wanna overkill some goons. However, with Battle of Z this is not the case. I was intrigued originally by it boasting a huge roster all the way up into the Battle of the Gods film, and i can't even get passed the first set of "missions" because its just so boring. Even Ultimate Tenkaichi had more exciting battles than this. If only they could somehow combine Burst Limit/UT but vary the moves up per character, and extend the roster I'd actually enjoy it. The show is about ludicrous powers and over-dramatic soap opera moments and yet that hardly ever gets translated into the game. If youre looking for just a fun DBZ fighting game, try any other DBZ game out there, even the terrible Raging Blast. If you wanna play a dumbed down, cards-for-power rpg style dbz, then check this out.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 8 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Only...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
Kolo
Only good thing about this game is the graphics and sound. You can't do any vs unless its online, which for those of us who can't afford it after this game, means we are stuck woth the story mode. It's not that bad of a story, if you don't mind having to button mash, attack is one button, energy attack is one button, flight is two. The "best" part is you only get a 10 min time limit on most missions, and you only have a limited "retry" that is hooked up to your partners too. In other words, if you die or your partner dies you are one step closer to game over. And you never know when they retry is done. It tries to save itself with the chance your partners can revive you and you them, except 9 times out of 10 they won't, so you're left fighting and reviving. Back to the moves, to use stuff like spirit bomb, you need to buy something from the ingame store using the games money, but the money you need is rare to get, and after using the move, the item is gone and you need to buy it again. Some of the missions have multiple fights in a ten min timelimit, wish is annoyng. Good graphics, nice sound, not good gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Not good
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/14
jwing1692
Location: Fayetteville, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There's not much good about this game. As a long-time fan of DBZ I was very sad to see how bad this game really is. It's kind of fun until after the first Great Ape battle. The AI companions was a nice idea, but fails completely. They are more of a hindrance than an asset. There is also no difference between the characters, they all play the same. If you were thinking about getting this game please reconsider.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Not worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/14
E1023
Location: McAllen, TX
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Waste of money all together. A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT to the DBZ fans. One of the worth games I ever played. They rushed it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 11 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
I bought the game. You mad kids?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/14
MvC3Enthusiast
Location: San Antonio, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's a good game. Shut up and stop complaining about it. You're a bunch of whiners who will bit*h and moan about anything YOU don't deem as good or wanted. You want a game like Budokai 3 or the Tenkaichi series? GO PLAY THOSE THEN and get out of here.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
fell sort
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
TJamesX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I thought this game would've been better. I've played ever other dbz game but this one just had so much wrong with it. To start theres a major problem with the ai's not reviving you or just standing around not doing anything for most of the battle this forces you to play online just to get through the game without breaking a controller or two. Next this game have no replay value unless you're going to sit in front of your tv for a couple weeks two try and collect all the cards. Overall this game could've been made so much better if any other company made it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Dont listen to the bad reviews
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/14
DJssjGod
Location: MS
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Seriously dont listen to the bad ones, Im glad i didn't. This games gameplay is actually really fun and not to hard at all to get use to. pros: this game is at its finest when you play with friends, if none of your friends have it, its not hard to meet new people while playing online that are willing to play with you when you want, there is nothing more fun then fighting a great ape with friends,and battle mode is pretty fun to. cons: its very hard to hear character voices over the loud sound effects, and character transformations do take up alot of spots that could be for better characters,and can sometimes be a little to challenging by yourself until you get a good team of cpu. But overall i love this game and highly suggest it to anyone who even slightly enjoys DBZ after all, the only hate reviews are from BT3 fanboys who hate on every game thats come out since then. GOOD GAME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Awful
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/14
InfamousJ7
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
DBZ: BOZ may in fact be the worst DBZ game on 360/PS3/Vita. To begin with, the most obvious thing wrong with the game is the simple fact that there is NO OFFLINE VS MODE! I kid you not. What's one of the most important things about a fighting game? Being able to play in VS mode! The only way to fight someone (other than in the bland, scripted story mode where you can't control who you fight) is to play online. How could they mess this up this bad? What's so wrong with having an offline VS mode against the computer? Nothing, that's what. And that's just the beginning of a long list of things wrong with this game. The next big issue is the limited character roster and not being able to transform (go super saiyan) during battle. Mix that with extremely stale flying and fighting controls, and you have one huge let down. I mean, all the melee moves are controlled entirely by one button (that's what you want in a fighting game, right?). And only 8 characters have ultimate moves to top it off. All in all, this game is a let down by all means of the words. DO. NOT. BUY. IT.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
9 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
InfamousJ7
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about InfamousJ7 is loaded.
Additional information about InfamousJ7 could not be loaded.
Posted 2/17/14
no there isn't
Customer Avatar
ironickiller
 
Please wait while more information about ironickiller is loaded.
Additional information about ironickiller could not be loaded.
Posted 2/15/14
Is this a 2 player game I mean like not online 2 player like an offline 2 player.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Seriously?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/14
SonBlackStarUzumaki
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
You guys are hatting too much, it's a really fun game! It may be hard, it wasn't for be, but it's fun!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Fun but with some annoying things
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/14
masterkiser
Location: York Pennsylvainia
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this review will have no lies it is an honest and truthful review the first thing i will do is the cons: you cant do 1v1 which was a real down grade from the previous games they also removed split screen which is just something they decided to do so they could make more money pros: you can make a team and have certain roles for each character for example gohan is a healer while goku is a melee type. you also wont have to worry about it being to easy it is pretty hard and took me a couple days to beat while the other games i beat in 2 days or less. overall yes i would get the game but it would be alot better if you had a friend who got it as well.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Great DBZ game for old school fans, very fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/14
Dbzfan1992
Location: New braunfels tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I grew up on DBZ and I love this game, the last few games were boring but this one is truly unique with 4 vs 4 battle. Online is fun too. This game can be very long if you use every character in story mode
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Horrible, shallow, dull
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/14
Arkturas
Location: Annapolis MD
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game was supposed to make up for the horrible Ultimate Tenkaichi, instead it's more of what we hated in UT. This game has NO depth whatsoever and many fights are determined by the incompetency of your AI team mates. I strongly urge anyone who is not a major fan of DBZ to not get this game. Raging Blast 3 needs to happen, this game is a joke.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
LOVE IT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/14
Gears323
Location: NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Enjoy the game and addicted too have been playing since I got it and the story had great what if!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z
Awesome Buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/14
RowantheTiger
Location: Newnan,Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As a fan of Dragon Ball Z I absolutely love this game! I picked it up on the day it was released and I could not stop playing it! It has pretty good graphics and the soundtrack is really good! As for characters there are a whole bunch but these do consist of the different forms of characters. Examples include the different forms of Frieza or the different Super Saiyan levels. If your a Dragon Ball Z fan you will enjoy this game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>