GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII

The world of Gran Pulse is sinking into the sea and what remains is now called Nova Chrysalia.With only thirteen days remaining until the end of the world, Chaos reigns in a world that never ages. New life cannot be born. People need salvation.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
3
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
3
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 1974%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Review 1 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Very Enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/14
jwing1692
Location: Fayetteville, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've had a lot of fun with this game. The combat system is the true highlight of this game. You have so many options when it comes to combat, which helps it from becoming stale. This is also a game where you cannot complete everything during one playthrough so there is a lot of replayability. Another neat feature is that depending on the in-game day, some bosses are tougher and even take on different forms. I thought that was very interesting. The biggest downside is the story, which isn't nearly as good as the first two games, but it's still not too bad. It just feels kind of like a side story to the series. Overall I had fun with this game and would recommend this to people to play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/14
Chelsea
Location: Sitting in front of my computer
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
At first I was freaked out about the time limit but if you use the EP right then it isn't a big deal. Try to do as many of the quests as possible to boost your stats and get items. I loved it and thought it ties in great with the other games in this series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Not bad, but not the best
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/14
Vick07
Location: Houston,TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Playing LRFF13 wasn't as bad as everyone keeps saying it is. Yes, I agree some stories were boring and it seemed that lighting had more meaningful conversation with characters that we involved in side quest versus main party characters from FF13 which I thought was not great. Even during my first play through I skipped cut scenes because they just weren't catching my attention. Best part about this game was the battle system which really if you think about it its just single player with 3 roles and each role only having 4 abilities which I think its a down grade. But hey, if you are a FF fan or have played both 13 and 13-2 , then this is a must for you just to complete the trilogy ..... just wait for the price to go down first then the price will match its value.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Very good story ending but not fun if no grinding
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/14
axel47982
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game story was really good. The only thing is that it's not your usual final fantasy that everyone is used to. doing the side quests to get stronger is different and unique to this type of game. I would like to keep it on being able grind to make my character(s) strong for hard bosses. And i do have to say that time is valuable if you don't have the guide. So it's better to get the guide if you want to finish the game with time to spare.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Gameplays nice, story is too simple
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/14
Patron
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Gameplay is on point. You got free roam, good combat system, garbs, side quests, tough boss fights, transportation etc. The story was kinda predictable and the time system is annoying but you get use to it. You should probably buy a guide book or just go on the internet for help on the side quests because time is not on your side, you could manipulate time a little tho but other than the game does pack ton of hours of gameplay. You'll need to play XIII and XIII-2 to understand the story.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Good but finally the trilogy is over!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/14
PheonixFire
Location: College Park, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me just say that if you are looking to buy this game it is nothing like the previous two. The battle system is different but the whole concept of paradigm shift is still there, with the only thing you really have to do is add attack, defense, magic, and/or status moves to each of the 3 different costumes or whatever. These costumes often have passive abilities and so that is why there are so many of them and to have appeal although you realize that you often stick with the same costumes throughout the game as they generate the desired passive abilities. First FF game where I had to play more than once to get all trophies as this will require at least 2 playthroughs and you definitely need a walkthrough to complete the sidequests in the shortest time as they very from day to day at specific times or once certain story events or other sidequests are completed, location to location (since some areas are huge and scouting people for quests can be tedious), tasks that must be completed within a certain time span which can be overbearing but manageable (you can complete all side quests and still have like 5-6 days left if you use chronostasis to freeze time often). The story is more religious affiliated as I won't spoil the details but be mindful of that and it doesn't make sense or really help with the plot that Square Enix was trying to conclude. The only issue I had with the game are the sidequests. You often find yourself running back and forth across 4 different areas in the game completing tasks for people which can get tiresome. I became frustrated constantly having to revisit the same places and these areas can be huge. While there is sprinting, teleporting, or chocobo riding, it still feels pretty slow and to do that twice for the platinum although the idea is that the more you beat the game and start new game + the stronger you are since you get to keep almost everything including stats increase so if one playthrough i had 10000 HP 325 Attack 500 Magic and I beat the game I get to start NG+ with that and let's say I raise the 10000 HP to 16500 or 325 Attack to 437 or 500 Magic to 635 Magic then on my third playthrough it will start with those stats. Inevitably it gets easier but after awhile it gets boring and nothing really interesting happens except at the ending cut-scene. I'm just glad that SE is done with this because the trilogy wasn't necessary or even 13-2 to begin with, I think they just wanted to stall the development for versus 13 (now 15). Get the game if you want closure to the 13 trilogy but it is not all cracked up to end with a bang and you feel more relieved (not excitement but the concept that i don't want to touch this anymore) once it's over than actually playing it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 7 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Great Story and game play isn't too bad.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/14
turtlemob500
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I always liked it when games actually tell a great story. For this case, I thought Final Fantasy 13 Lightning Returns told a great story and kind of went through all the loose ends in the story! The game play is alright it is just different than your normal battle system. What does suck is the time for the game... Usually this is suppose to be free roam and stuff, but it kind of took it away. In my opinion, it is still a great game to me and you should try it for yourself!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Fun and Enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/14
alicefan77
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Helps pass the time and is enjoyable. time isnt that big of a factor if you use your EP right all about saving time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Great game but buy the strategy guide
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/14
12gaswd
I am 3/13 game days in and I love this game. The battle style is unique and challenging but at the same time very functional once you get the hang of it. I see a lot of people say there is not enough time to do things, well that's a load of poohy. The use of a ability called Chronostasis gives you as little or as much time as you need as long as you keep fighting monsters to regain EP. (kinda like using TP in the first FF XIII). I will say that the game opens up way to fast and should be a bit more guided in the beginning which is why I would definitely recommend the strategy guide. I have been following along with it but I am always 2-3 side quests ahead of the guide. The Music and Graphics are superb much the same as the first two installments in the series. And the customization that you can put lightning through is fun and useful at the same time with each outfit having different stats and abilities. All together a great game continuing a great story.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
An hardcore game !!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/14
Jbuz
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII is very fun because it has a lot of action. One of the great things about this game is the battle system. Lightning can move inside the battlefield, she can change her amor and weapons inside the game. You can also change the color of the amor. An other fun thing is you can ride and fight with a Chocobo. And yes, you are being time throughout game but the game gives you more time and Lightning CAN STOP TIME. Seeing how FF 13 ends is worth the money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
If you like the Final Fantasy XIII series....
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/14
Jakethehuman
Location: Murrieta, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I would recommend playing this game to finish the story. I was looking forward to this game for multiple reasons. The first being this is the first Final Fantasy game to receive a direct second sequel. Second I liked the fact that square has decided to try out different ideas with their battling system this time around, also I just really like the XIII storyline. This game fell short of my expectations though. The game runs on a countdown clock and if you don't beat the game in the allotted time. You lose. Which takes away from a big part of the original appeal of the final fantasy games. Being able to explore the world and enjoy it at your own pace. Playing this I always feel rushed. I was however, very impressed with the new schema system, I really liked getting to see all of Lightnings different outfits and change her costume and weapons whenever I wanted. So in conclusion, If you really liked the Final Fantasy XIII or XIII-2 I say go for it. Otherwise, I'd save the $60.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 12 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Not bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/14
Willhaxs
Location: MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have no complaints except for the storyline it gets kinda odd here and there but overall its nice. Those of you who say the cloak/time system takes away from exploring the lands should know if you use chronostasis constantly will allow you to explore and collect things more easily without wasting time. Killing more powerful monsters will rebuild your EP quicker to keep chronostasis up all the time and when you need to reach a certain place that's across the map use teleport and keep doing this! (Example): Early in the game you get to go to the Wildlands with 5(I think) EP well use chronostasis to lock the time when you run out kill a Reaver and you will regain around 4 EP and do it again. Yes this still doesn't fix the *world driven aspent of it* but it helps :) atleast is wasn't like 13 right?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Great ending to a great series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/14
ChefKarels
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So i have noticed thus far most people bashing this game for reasons that either are untrue or just the inability to play a game for what it's worth. Is this game timed? Yes, however they give you so much time that i spent the last 2 days at the inn so i could skip to the end. I completed every single side quest minus the Last of Them because it is impossible to complete the first time through the game. With Chronostasis and large enemy battles that reward 4.0 EP with every defeat you can extend the game as long as you need to. I was intrigued by how they were going to tie in both FFXIII games into this final game of the trilogy and i was pleasantly surprised. There is tons of gameplay to lead up to the final battle i spent over 50 Hours total and while it isn't the 200 hours i spent in FFX it was still plenty for me. The replay value seems minimal unlike past FF games where there is plenty going on even after the main story has concluded but i don't think that was the purpose of this game. Those who are FFXIII fans wanted the story line tied up in a neat little bow and that is exactly what this game does. If you are a FF Fan and furthermore a fan of the FFXIII series i highly recommend this game. If you are not, then move on to something more your style. It's not for everyone, but i thoroughly enjoyed this game right to the very end.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
AMAZING!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/14
nathanthegamer59
Location: clearwater fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you loved the other XIII titles you will be in love with this one! Don't listen to reviews and just try it out for yourself! 10 out of 10!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
What happend?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/14
BDG420
Location: Kewanee,Illinois
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I tried FF13-Lightning Returns and wasn't all that impressed. I was excited when I heard that you can explore towns again but then I kept hearing about everything that made me loose interest all together. From playing dress-up to a time limit to complete the game itself. The story is bland and interactions with other characters go unexplained, not to mention that nobody can pronounce the games god's name the same way even if they just said it 5 seconds beforehand. The graphics are sub-par and look like a beta version of our current PS3/360 graphics in a lot of places. If you are a true FF fan then this or any of the ff13 games are not for you.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Was never a Final Fantasy fan until....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/14
Goron1978
Location: San Diego, Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was never a Final Fantasy Fan until I played 13. I really enjoyed 13 and 13-2 which I didn't understand why 13 got so much slack. Anyways, when I heard they were bring Lightning back I was excited and just couldn't wait to play the game, see how Square would end the series. Now the game is here and I am enjoying every min of the game. Yeah the battle system was a little hard to understand and the leveling up is completely different but once I understood it I really get into the battles and side quests. I do agree the time limit is an issue becz I want to complete every side quest to level up and explore the game. Overall gamers need to give this game a chance. Im still playing it and loving every min of it .
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BDG420
Kewanee,Illinois
 
Please wait while more information about BDG420 is loaded.
Additional information about BDG420 could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Posted 2/21/14
FF13 got so much flack cause it wasn't Final Fantasy, heck Bravely Default is more final fantasy then final fantasy. FF has always been about a rich story, an expansive world to explore, characters that have their own story that you find out about in side quests. FF13 took all that away, there's no character in FF13 that not that many people who grew up with FF that care about the characters in the ff13 world. IMHO FF13 is the unwanted child of the FF franchise.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Okay but not very great
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/14
Macrov
Location: Kentucky
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I will start this out by saying that I absolutely love Final Fantasy 13, and 13-2 was pretty good too. I am one of those few that loved 13 and found it extremely fun and enjoyable. I say this because the way I review this game has nothing to do with the series hate that a lot of people have for the 13 Trilogy. This game is beautiful, as were the last two. However, the new battle system is a complete mess. You still have an ATB gauge, but it is more of an action game this time around. You don't que commands, or strategically burn ATB, no, you just end up spending the majority of your time blocking in real time. This may seem great, but in terms of how the game plays it isn't very well done. I love the God of War series, and so I am not opposed to very action type games, but it is still set in an RPG frame set. You cannot manually dodge or run around enemies while in battle, but it seems they want to punish you with either bouts of extreme aggressive fighting, or extreme cautious blocking, where one false move sends you one hour into the future. That brings me to my next point, the clock is stupid. You have 13 days to finish the game, and anytime that you escape a battle after defeat it is a 1 hour penalty, so you are all the time fighting to beat the clock. You cannot explore as you get worried about the clock running out, and it just becomes a huge hindrance. Overall I would say stick with 13 or 13-2 and forge this game exists.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
mmmm
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/14
W0LF561
Location: west Palm beach fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great game great battling only one small problem why did they turn a free roming game into a time line the whole point of final fantasy was exploring this game you really don't have time to do anything I'm just adding it to my list of final fantasys and that's it
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
A Great Conclusion to the XIII Series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
Gamergirl2310
Location: Downey, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have loved the Final Fantasy XIII series since the beginning. The story, the characters, the fast passed gameplay and the beautiful graphics have always made me love this series. I was excited that they were making Lightning Returns to continue where XIII-2 left off. I think that a lot of fans were left sad, confused and wanting more. Now, on to Lightning Returns haha. The overall story is interesting and the gameplay has improved from the last two games. I guess you can say that it is less confusing to others. I never found it confusing but I know that some people weren't used to the fast paced gameplay. It's nice because, in the real world no one would wait their turn to attack lol. Everything is much more darker in this game but it fits the theme and the story. I don't want to give away too much but this game is amazing and the ending makes everything that happened in XIII and XIII-2 worth it. Final Fantasy XIII is an underrated series that deserves so much more praise. I have played Final Fantasy 7, 8, 9 and 10 and to be honest the XIII series is my favorite. I just love it! Lightning Returns has absolutely no flaws. It's perfect!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Thoughts after playing the demo.
Posted on:2/6/14
FaytesEnd
Location: PA
I've been revisiting the first game in anticipation for this game, but after playing the demo, I'm going to cancel my pre-order. Man I was so excited too.
1. The graphics in the demo were terrible compared to FF13. It really stands out after playing 70 hours over the past 2 weeks on FF13.
2. The leveling system is weird. No sphere grid or chrstalium, it seems the only way to level is via side quests.
3. The whole game is timed and required multiple playthroughs to see everything.
4. Every costume in the demo isn't much more than a panty shot and giant sword. Its more fan service than anything else....
5. I hate lightning. She's a boring, shallow character. She enters the series by murdering a bunch of innocent people on a train....
6. Lots of planned DLC..... 2-4$ for a costume, which in this game grants powers....
At least bravely default seems like its going to be awesome. Also its demo wasn't 45 minutes long, and what felt like 30m of cut-scenes and 15m of game-play...
If you really loved the rest of the series, I honestly hope you enjoy this. I'll hold onto hope that the FF series will get better.
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>