GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII

The world of Gran Pulse is sinking into the sea and what remains is now called Nova Chrysalia.With only thirteen days remaining until the end of the world, Chaos reigns in a world that never ages. New life cannot be born. People need salvation.
Average Customer Rating:
8.5
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 1486%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Review 1 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Dem Feels
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/14
ZER0SH1FT
Location: Loveland Co
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Awesome game, that brings an awesome trilogy to a close perfectly.
It had a surprise around every corner. The new battle system was a little unexpected, but easy to learn to use. Dry in a couple places, but the parts that were meant to be emotional definitely hit home. Very well done and leave me with just the right amount of closure, without making me sad that there won't be another. 8.6/10
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Can't wait
Posted on:8/5/13
djblazeapound
Location: salyersville, ky
I can't wait for this one. I hope you can get the godess outfit and weapon from XIII-2. I hope it comes out for new systems also. I would prefer to buy it for my new system.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Lightning Returns! I cant wait for it to come out
Posted on:1/16/14
Gameman2001
Location: USA
Freeroaming open city to Explore , night and day cycle,lots of outfits and Customization and amazing graphics this sounds like the best final fantasy game ever made to me:D I cant wait until feb 11.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Review 4 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Should Play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/14
xXAshe6739Xx
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really love final fantasy and think people should play it. I have been playing final fantasy since i was little.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
It looks like it's the best one yet.
Posted on:7/3/13
Roxas358
Location: Clemmons, NC
I'm not talking about out of all the Final Fantasies, so CLAM DOWN!!! *Ahem* I'm saying it looks to be the best one out of the entire series. Where I have given XII-2 to a friend and traded in XIII, I wish I haven't. Oh well, maybe we can help each other get the game and play it co-op. I really want to get this 'cause it seems to be a real-time RPG, and/or turn-based. I want this game, badly ^_^.
18 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lock2069
 
Please wait while more information about Lock2069 is loaded.
Additional information about Lock2069 could not be loaded.
news?
Posted 7/4/13
Any rumor about this coming out for XBOX ONE? or PS4?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Lightning has returned
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/14
Viper29
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't care what people say, I like Final Fantasy XIII and Lightning is awesome! And that's coming from a long time gamer that played Final Fantasy during the SNES era before the franchise exploded with VII on the PSone. My favorite is IV, then VI, and I consider Cecil and Terra as two of my all time favorite characters. I've come to love Lightning and Snow as well. So I know a thing or two about Final Fantasy and have enough credibility to tell you XIII is a must have. The story in XIII is epic and it finally comes to a conclusion in Lightning Returns. You just have to give it a chance to understand it. Don't believe the negative reviews. On to the game itself. Epic story, smooth graphics, fluent gameplay, and an enormous world to explore with many side quests. One of my favorite features is the ability to customize your schemata. You get to choose up to 3 roles to use for Lightning in combat that varies in style, costume, weapon, and color. Which can provide a unique experience for everyone. If you pre-ordered it like I did, you get a SOLDIER 1st Class role where Lightning is dressed like Cloud from VII, where if you defeat an opponent using this role, the classic victory theme plays.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Different Is A Good Thing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/14
LexMarie
Location: Spira
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Seeing as how I'm a recent 360 owner, I had to cram the first two games in the FF XIII run before LR came out, and I really enjoyed them. However, whether or not you liked the first two games is irrelevant, because LR is a totally different experience from, not just the first two, but ANY FF title before it. As a long-time FF fan, I was really impressed with this one because of how incredibly new it felt. Let me get the cons out of the way first. The graphics aren't as seamless and perfect as the first game, the level-up system(s) are a little bit annoying, and all the mandatory, run-around side quests might make some gamers' gut wrench, in which case, I don't advise you play it. That being said, the diverse voice cast, as with every game from the XIII series, is spot-on, the new humor and tone of the game works well, and there's an awesome sense of competence with each quest checked off the list. The graphics, while not as realistic as the first game, were still very rich and beautiful, this time with a new tone, really suggesting the 500-year time gap. The time limit of a grand total of 14 available in-game days gives a real sense of urgency and keeps the pace quick, although it forces replayability on a grand scale. Again, if you aren't prepared to play the same game over and over to be able to finish it, I would not recommend this game. However, if you were a huge fan of Lightning and missed her in XIII-2, her return will make you feel at peace with the XIII universe. The many ways you can customize her outfits and battles is refreshing and fun, (though I do wish some of the most powerful outfits and weapons looked more aesthetically pleasing together), and the townspeople respond to each outfit with different dialogue, which is very cool. I thought, initially, gameplay would feel lonely playing as one character after being able to play up to 6, but the many interactions with surrounding characters and cutscenes, as well as Hope being able to speak to you as a guide, keeps things fresh and engaging. And not to spoil anything, but I also felt the final boss, was challenging and large enough to feel as though I really was fighting a GOD. Overall, I think this is definitely a game that must be played to be understood. It's a terrific, new experience, though not my favorite of the series. I DO feel, however, that this is truly an example of what an RPG SHOULD be; interactive, rich, engaging, new, accomplishing, replayable, and, most of all, fun. I've really enjoyed this series and if you're an RPG fan, this is a must.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
This is gonna be great!!!
Posted on:12/12/13
faytleingod1989
I'm actually looking forward to this one. After 10-2 i swore off of final fantasy sequels but this one renews my faith in square enix and my hope for seeing final fantasy 7 remastered.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jrock0803
 
Please wait while more information about jrock0803 is loaded.
Additional information about jrock0803 could not be loaded.
Posted 2/16/14
Final Fantasy 13 was Not good at all the battle system sucked so much it made me so mad that they would do this to a final fantasy game 7 was the best and will always be the best final fantasy the turn based battle system is the best way to play a final fantasy game or bring back final fantasy 12 battle system
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
An Utter Travesty concluding an utter travesty.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/14
Grannidas
Paradoxically the worst and the best in the Final Fantasy XIII Trilogy, Lightning Returns Final Fantasy XIII gives you both nothing and everything fans of these games could want; retroactively changing once more the events of the prior two volumes, giving no explanation to lore or the greater mythology (the datalogs these games are known for are worthless), and repeat the exact same character arcs for everyone involved in the previous installments. You feel absolutely no emotional investment for anyone that is a main character, and you will HATE The new character of Lumina. The Eventual reveal of her identity is the ultimate insult to the characters that started off the first XIII game which you could have once liked. at this point, it's a mercy killing, as like the prior two titles, the only winning move is not to play at all. Nothing is new, everything is worse. You will enjoy some of the sidequests for their diversions from blatant idiocy, which are mandatory to survive this world as you gain no experience from battling monsters with the ludicrous battle system which is a downgrade in every way from the prior two's paradigm and crystarium systems. In fact, you may feel this is the ultimate end result of such, removing all pleasure from Square Enix's older combat systems. Very few of the garbs (this game's variant of Jobs) are even useful, none of them coming from DLC. most of them are cosmetic changes and fetishwear. Coupled with the ease of battling thing using only one hand on the controller, it's obvious what many of these were made to be for. The gameplay is constantly riddled with bugs and the visuals have so many render errors and first year cinematic mistakes it's amazing to learn this was made by veterans of the industry. Item drop rates and currency game are as horrendous as ever, adding literal days of mandatory resource farming. Made worse with The game giving you a limited window to save the remnants of the world, but the time limit is not one of the days before the world ends, it's the minutes you race back to the store counter to return or trade in this Horrible, horrible entry into one of gaming's longest running and beloved RPG franchises. Play Final Fantasy VI, VII, X, crystal chronicles, Kingdom hearts, the .hack series, Star ocean, mass effect, Persona, Xenogears, Xenosaga, Xenoblade chronicles, the Last story, or any number of other RPG's. You will have a FAR superior time. I would rather play Sonic The Hedgehog 2006 to completion than touch this title again. The only praise I will give is to the localization team, who clearly put far more effort into performing their parts than the development and writing team did.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 10 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
First FF in my life I'm not buying
Posted on:1/25/14
Beauski
Location: MA
I can kinda see the angle they tried to take here to cap the series off, but honestly the game looks awful (gameplay/story wise.. aesthetically it looks beautiful as always) I played the 360 demo & the PAX Prime demo, I was not impressed at all.
I feel they strayed away so much from what the franchise represents and what people love. Change is good, but IMO XIII 1/2/3 was a black mark on the franchise. I know there are a lot of XIII fans who will hate on this, but many more will agree. I've played every FF/spinoff since 1 on NES, even XIII 1+2 but this is the first game of the franchise I'm not buying at launch.
I really hope I'm proved wrong and it turns out to be fun. My opinion, as of now, save your $ for FFX HD Remaster
5 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Ups and downs
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/14
SephirothAE86
Location: Boise, ID
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Im very torn on this game, I love the battle system, one of the best so far, however the entire game is timed and have pretty much run, run, and more running in order to complete some quests before the time runs out. There is no time to take in the graphics and explore to much without wasting what little time of the 13 days you have left. Im not too far into the game, but the story is very edge of the seat and keeps your attention, too bad you cant go back in time and do some of the quests you already completed to give yourself an extra hour or so.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AxelSaysRawr
Mesa, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about AxelSaysRawr is loaded.
Additional information about AxelSaysRawr could not be loaded.
Chronostasis
Posted 6/5/14
You know, you can freeze time as much as you want as long as you save your EP from battles. I felt by the final day that I had thouroughly explored everything the game had to offer and completed almost every single quest.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Gonna be great!
Posted on:10/2/13
NiiNTYSiX
Location: Canton, MI
So far it looks like it's going to be a very good conclusion to the final fantasy XIII trilogy. The big changes in the gameplay will only work in this game as its the end to the series and because Lightning will be the main character. Hopefully there will be some kind of limited or collectors editions released in the US, the usual $80 and $150 editions would do fine. I'll be getting the most expensive one!
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
RinLeonhart
 
Please wait while more information about RinLeonhart is loaded.
Additional information about RinLeonhart could not be loaded.
Posted 1/16/14
There is a collector's edition offered on Square Enix's website. Just not on Gamestop.
Customer Avatar
babybadger911
the world
 
Please wait while more information about babybadger911 is loaded.
Additional information about babybadger911 could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
If i only i had kept my 360...
Posted 1/15/14
I just got an xbox one and disposed of my 360. I f i had kept it, along with skyrim and 2k14, i would have definitely gotten this. I have not played ff in a while because they started to go downhill for a bit. This game shows hope. I would suggest saving your pre order money until the reviews are out.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
I cant wait
Posted on:8/2/13
HALOCREEDWARFARE
love the final fantasy series! cant wait to try it. But I kinda think that 2 sequels is a little much.......
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LOLRFO
 
Please wait while more information about LOLRFO is loaded.
Additional information about LOLRFO could not be loaded.
:)
Posted 12/27/13
For once I agree with you and I think 13-2 was unnecessary butttt the 13 series is still my fav
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
My New Favorite Final Fantasy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/14
EpicNerdFighter
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The words that are about to appear on the screen before you, I never thought I would say about a game in the Final Fantasy XIII series. I was wrong. This is my favorite Final Fantasy game. granted I have not played all of them, this is my favorite Final Fantasy game of the ones I have played. I even like this one better than Final Fantasy VII. But, One warning to you, USE A GUIDE! If you don't use some kind of guide, odds are, you will not finish with enough time to do the optional dungeon which unlocks a secret ending. I did not use a good day-by-day guide. Also, in the end, when you are faced with the final boss or, fur trials, then the final boss, DO ALL FOUR TRIALS. The Final Boss is no pushover, and will be so much easier with the Ultima weapon and shield.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
If you've stuck with the series thus far, enjoy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/14
Jarrlee
Location: Raytown MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
*THIS REVIEW IS SPECIFICALLY CENTERED TO THOSE WHO HAVE PLAYED THROUGH XIII AND XIII-2 and/or long time players of the Franchise* -Story= The Story is the best ending i could want from the Trilogy and couldn't have been ended better! -Game play= The game play is addictive due to the mix of Active Time Battle and Real Time action -Music=........If you've played the trilogy then you already know the music was simply glorious then, and the new songs are still glorious now -Replay Value= The Replay Value is high, due to you able to play through with different setups and the infinite amount of New Game+s
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
An hardcore game !!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/14
Jbuz
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII is very fun because it has a lot of action. One of the great things about this game is the battle system. Lightning can move inside the battlefield, she can change her amor and weapons inside the game. You can also change the color of the amor. An other fun thing is you can ride and fight with a Chocobo. And yes, you are being time throughout game but the game gives you more time and Lightning CAN STOP TIME. Seeing how FF 13 ends is worth the money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Inexcusable.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/14
Nidav3
Location: Baltimore, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is nothing more than a pathetic attempt to milk an already sour series known as Final Fantasy XIII.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Perfect ending to the FF-XIII Lightning Saga!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/14
KoolAidPJPants
Location: Illinois
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was skeptical upon learning that this was going to be the conclusion to the FF-XIII saga. The Schemata system seemed to be reminiscent of the FFX-2 job system. Just playing dress up. However, it turned out to be one of the most thorough job systems I have run into. The graphics are superb, the new battle system is beyond anything I could have hoped for in this game. The soundtrack is good, but is not my favorite in the Final Fantasy universe. Lastly, the story is wonderful and I can see myself replaying this game many times! Wonderful job Square-Enix!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
the best of all......but
Posted on:1/4/14
Youngfreezy14
with the new story it sounds like Lightning is the grim reaper, taking all the souls into a new world. and 500 years?! the only people still alive are Lightning, Snow, and Hope. So.... the fal'c can't age? In that case where are everyone else?
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
DemonicRiddler
 
Please wait while more information about DemonicRiddler is loaded.
Additional information about DemonicRiddler could not be loaded.
Posted 2/11/14
this picks up after the events of XIII-2, where Snow and Hope both went forward through time to help resolve the paradox. So Lightning is the only one that didn't age, due to her being in Valhalla.
Customer Avatar
ThatChristmasKid
 
Please wait while more information about ThatChristmasKid is loaded.
Additional information about ThatChristmasKid could not be loaded.
Characters
Posted 1/26/14
In the characters, it shows Fang and Vanille with their full names. The only person not mentioned, was Sazh. I'm hoping he's just an unannounced character.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 20 for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
Different
Posted on:1/27/14
Twotones
Location: Danville VA
I have played the demo and I for one did not like the change they did. One is you have a clock counting down forcing you to run and not explore. 2 is the battle system Lightning can switch jobs (reminds me of FFX-2). What the need to do is combine everything from the first 2 games together and it would been perfect.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>