GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Thief

Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron's Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach.
Average Customer Rating:
6.319
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
12
8 stars
12
7 stars
7
6 stars
9
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
4
39 out of 6957%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thief
Review 1 for Thief
Don't let the bad reviews fool you!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/14
thunderball5001
Location: Bethlehem, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing. I have no idea why the reviews are so bad. I love replaying levels just trying to get 100% completion. It's very challenging. The plot is phenominal, the graphics stunning, and the game is surprisingly witty. If you like Tomb Raider (reboot) and Dishonored, you'll have a blast playing this game! My only complaints are no fast travel, no tranquilizer arrows like Dishonored, and certain powerups are very expensive. That, however, doesn't make the game bad. Just more challenging ;)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Thief
something to try
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/14
addictivegamer13
its an interesting game thats fun to play but you spend way to much time try to dig through things looking for gold and things to take that it sometimes gets boring, i wish that it would have had a crossing between a third person and first person view when toggling between crouching to steel and get through different places vs. to stand and run (just a thought).
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 3 for Thief
Could be a great game
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/14
GuamSauce
Location: Brooklyn, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game and later that day I realized I made the wrong decision. The plot is very confusing and the gameplay is very rough. The idea is great, I would give the idea a 10 of 10 but the way the game was carried out was poor and could have been done way better. I would not recommend it and I hope you don't buy it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for Thief
great fun
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/14
sidthesloth
Location: ogden,utah
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
game was fun the campaign was fun. there was some missions on it that were aggravating but fun going through the game buying things to make u a better thief and sneaking around
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Thief
Thieft took my money :)
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/14
GamerX87
Location: Arkansas
Just like a lot of others, I was extremely excited for this game to hit the shelves. But after playing this game, I was a little disappointed. I'll admit, the stealth portion of the game is great and I enjoyed the overall idea of this game, but the weak story and very annoying loading screens kill this game. It just felt "ok". I know it's based on stealth, but the combat portion was terrible. With some tweaks on fighting, a better story & cut out the loading screens......I would give this game a 8, instead of a 6. But that's just my opinion. Try the game, you may enjoy it more and think it's great.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 6 for Thief
Lots of potential, doesn't live up to it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/14
Detizo
Location: Portland, OR
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There is so much potential with this game and it just falls short. The repitition gets old early on. The load screens are annoying and feel lazy. The story builds up to something potentially really great just...well, ends. No conclusion to any of the main plot points that they built up so well. It's disappointing. The good things: Graphics look pretty good. Nothing overly awe inspiring but well done. Controls are smooth and precise. But these things don't make up for the negative things. I leave disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thief
Clunky at best
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/14
BagOBeans
Location: SF
Very average gameplay, lack of storyline, weak characters, terrible movement between game locations and stages, without any real integration with tools or weapons. Same old unreal engine with no real enhancements. This is the first game in a long time that I would prefer to watch TV instead of playing.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 8 for Thief
Has potential but missed IMO
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/14
sm964
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great concept, but the game was more of the same throughout. If it had more of a first person shooter aspect to it as well as what it had going for it now it would of gotten a better rating. It's a lot of sneaking around in front of guards 3 feet in front of you but who cannot see you because you are in shadows. You do not have to take guards out but in order to do so you club them with a blackjack or shoot them with various types of arrows. Sounds great in concept but there are too few guards so basically you can walk up to them all and hit them with the blackjack which gives you no reason to sneak around. Swing and a miss.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 9 for Thief
The game was everything I expected.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/14
Akromo
Location: Middletown, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great graphics, great sound(especially with the gold headset), Great Story line, It's everything a hardcore gamer could want in a stealth game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Thief
An Easy and Fun Game To Keep You Busy
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/14
KiDDecepticon
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I want to start off by addressing the combat system. People complain about it, but that is probably because they haven't upgraded their characters enough for it to actually be fun. Combat is great when your character gains all of his abilities from focus points. But regardless, the game is Thief, and the experience is much more fun if you attempt stealth to complete your missions. The trophies/achievements are very easy to get, and the companion app is worth the money if you desire to get the platinum trophy because it has everything you could need. I have noticed an issue on various systems with game crashes, most recently being on the PS4. Upon reaching Chapter 6, I had a random save file corruption that forced me to delete my saves and any other data from the game and start new. However, the game is easy enough that this only took me a couple of hours. Hardcore gamers will blow through the story in no time, giving plenty of replay value because of the numerous collectibles and side missions. Casual gamers will probably take a lot longer but will definitely get their money's worth. In all, it is a good game, and if played how the developers intended, it is a very enjoyable experience.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for Thief
really a wonderful game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/14
kellllo
some of the components are very hard like being a ghost, but overall, the game is really great! i recommend it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Thief
Just bad
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
imaplayit
Location: Broken Arrow, Ok.
The trailers sure look fabulous but, the game is terrible. It is boring! Just the same thing over and over and over again. I can hit someone over the head with a stick for some action though if I am starting to doze off. Pfft. Really? I read where some were having difficulties being stealthy, but I did not find this to be difficult at all! I am so disappointed in this game. I expected more from these people, shame shame. In fact, I found everything about this game lacking. Sound, graphics, gameplay....all just baaaad. Just no ya'll. No.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thief
good for casual gamers and hardcore
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/14
amazingforhardcoregame
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is like assassins creed and skyrim. There are different difficulties ranging from theif to master to custom
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Thief
This game makes Sneak King look like Skyrim
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/14
sherlockahomie
the absolute worst game i've ever played. i love stealth games! but this was the most repetitive, horrible piece of garbage i ever wasted money on. So unoriginal, so simple helen keller could dominate it and still be bored, and just a mockery of video games. i mean, wow. It made me second guess my ps4 entirely.
As the old witch from the Princess Bride would say, "BOOO! BOOOOOOO!"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thief
They got lazy in the end
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/14
Pilzbari
Location: Arlington, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has great mechanics and challenges you to observe your surroundings and avoid combat for greater rewards. Hence the title is "Thief" and not "Assassin." However, after playing the whole game through, the story feels gripping for a while, but in the end is a huge disappointment. The end of the game makes you question what the heck is going on with underdeveloped plot pieces and characters you don't really give a second though about.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 16 for Thief
Terrible game needed more time to get better
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/14
xElitexPunisherx
Location: Fayetteville AR
Just like I said in the summary this game was terrible Frame dropped all the time voices did not match up with lips very repetitive and was just all around boring I'm sorry to say it buy if they had released it in maybe 6-7 months maybe it would/could have been better but no not this time around. not impressed sorry.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 17 for Thief
Great Visuals, Poor Gameplay
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/14
Gnasty
Location: Davison, MIchigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Thief was a game I was really excited for. Unfortunately after about an hour of game play my expectations were crushed. The story was very confusing and not very strong. The games melee combat is one of the worst I have ever experience, which isn't a big deal for a stealth game, but it still should have been a lot better. Also, it was a little disappointing that you were more a a petty thief when I had expected to play as a master thief. What i mean by that is I was hoping to steal more expensive and meaningful items, not ink wells, vases and pens. The camera angles also interfere sometimes, the city layout is confusing and there are limited uses for Garrets special items. However, the game does have some things going for it. The time period is a great setting for the game which leads to amazing visuals and the sound for a stealth game is great. Also, the actually stealth element was very well done and a lot of upgrades are offered for your equipment. Overall, the game wasn't my favorite, but it was playable. The visuals and sounds were great, but the actual game play and story was sub-par. Not a terrible game, but its definitely not for everyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 18 for Thief
Great game on higher difficulty levels
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/14
HOGWASH
Location: NC
I do not understand the negative reviews for this game. It is by far better than a 6.4. I guess all people want is a point and shoot. Sure the game has a problem or two. Loading between areas could have been approved and travel from point to point takes awhile but that is part of the challenge of not getting caught. The facial animations and character detail are just average but lighting is great. To me this game was far more enjoyable than Assassins Creed Black Flag. If you try to remain unseen on mid to high difficulty levels and actually complete the challenges, the game presents a challenge. If you want a shooter, do not buy it because you will die! If you want to think a little, buy the game. I experienced none of the controller problems nor frame rate problems I read about in a few other reviews and the load times for me are very short. I noticed many reviews are before the game was even released?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Thief
Was okay
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/14
pyromaniac213
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
I bought this game after seeing the trailers. The game kept my interest at first, but after about half way through the game it just became very repetitive. I played all the way through game but, it was not too impressed. The graphics were excellent it really should the next gen style. The game play was smooth, and the sounds was good. Like I said, The game just is very repetitive and its one of those game to me that is worth renting or waiting till the price comes down. Its not a $60 value to me.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 20 for Thief
It's okay
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/14
EricAF
Location: Miami,florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It was okay the audio was a little off and the story could use a little work. I recommend it to stealth gamer
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>