GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Thief

Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron's Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach.
Average Customer Rating:
6.288
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
12
8 stars
13
7 stars
7
6 stars
10
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
4
40 out of 7355%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thief
Review 1 for Thief
Stealth is key to being a great thief
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
joecorleone
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To clear this up for all the bad reviews saying the combat sucks. Umm its called Thief, not M.M.A. If you play the game like a thief its fun, if you want to play it like God of War, yeah its going to blow.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Person21
 
Please wait while more information about Person21 is loaded.
Additional information about Person21 could not be loaded.
Why all the Hate
Posted 3/29/14
I personally have loved this game so far. The immersion is real good, and the fighting if done right is not as bad as everyone says. I mean I'm no thief in this game, I get caught often, but I use the fight methods very well. I can say it is not meant to be a fighting game, but the fighting works for the purpose intended. I love this game, it personally is more than I could hope for, I didn't know it would be RPG which was awesome. I thought it would be a "follow the story" game like Dishonored. A real good game 8.5 out of 10.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Thief
Just to clear up some confusion...
Posted on:1/4/14
Lekar
No, this game is not a Dishonored copy, Thief has been out since 1998 and this game series reboot has been in-dev since 2005-6. Also, Garrett isn't a Robin Hood-type guy, he steals for his own personal gain and to set the wealthy in their place. I really hope this game lives up to the standards and enjoyment as it's previous successor, Thief: Deadly Shadows
36 of 40 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheTruthHurtsYou
Earth
 
Please wait while more information about TheTruthHurtsYou is loaded.
Additional information about TheTruthHurtsYou could not be loaded.
Copy Cat
Posted 2/22/14
I already have Dishonored, so no need for this game. Yes this is EXACTLY Like it, reason it didn't come out til later is because they took the Dishonored's game engine and completed it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Thief
Terrible Game!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
kingshnae
Location: three rivers, mi
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is terrible. The fighting is bad all you do is keep on press r1 the whole time it is annoying. They rest of the time you use the bow and press r2 the whole time there is not other weapons besides these two. There are different arrows but there a waste of time. When your not sneaking around (the only good part of this terrible game) you are opening draws and trucks the whole time it gets old really fast. I would be alright with this if the story line was so predictable and pointless. The acting from the people in the game didnt match the people that well at all. The game lags alot and white stricks would come in the screen out of nowhere. The people will talk and there mouths would not even move and when they where done talking they would its sucks. They made this game as fast as possible and didnt take their time at all to fix these bugs. Sometimes when you are jumping up to new areas the button would not responde after you press it over 3 time which gets anoyying fast. This game is not good at all it is not worth 60 dollars.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thief
Lots of potential, doesn't live up to it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/14
Detizo
Location: Portland, OR
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There is so much potential with this game and it just falls short. The repitition gets old early on. The load screens are annoying and feel lazy. The story builds up to something potentially really great just...well, ends. No conclusion to any of the main plot points that they built up so well. It's disappointing. The good things: Graphics look pretty good. Nothing overly awe inspiring but well done. Controls are smooth and precise. But these things don't make up for the negative things. I leave disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thief
Quality Next Gen Title!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
Jrod115683
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Just to give some background, I have never played a thief game and it's definitely a top-tier stealth game! There are many aspects of the game that I enjoy and only a few that I don't. One thing that isn't that greatest on the PS4 version, is that you may experience a slight lag between cut-scenes and the framerate, because it runs at 1080p, can sometimes drop at random points during combat and running through the city. The game itself is very challenging and I had a hard time putting it down. Overall though this is a high quality game and looks great on a next gen machine. I definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys stealth games!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thief
Great game on higher difficulty levels
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/14
HOGWASH
Location: NC
I do not understand the negative reviews for this game. It is by far better than a 6.4. I guess all people want is a point and shoot. Sure the game has a problem or two. Loading between areas could have been approved and travel from point to point takes awhile but that is part of the challenge of not getting caught. The facial animations and character detail are just average but lighting is great. To me this game was far more enjoyable than Assassins Creed Black Flag. If you try to remain unseen on mid to high difficulty levels and actually complete the challenges, the game presents a challenge. If you want a shooter, do not buy it because you will die! If you want to think a little, buy the game. I experienced none of the controller problems nor frame rate problems I read about in a few other reviews and the load times for me are very short. I noticed many reviews are before the game was even released?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Thief
Something different!
Posted on:2/1/14
JayPeeZee77
Location: Beaverton, OR
I'm excited for this title as I've recently discovered that running around and shooting people in one of the countless FPS games out there gets very boring, very fast. One year of daily CoD/BF3 and I don't know if I'll ever think of kids the same after hearing what they are capable of saying from the safety of their parents' homes. That being said...this game looks like a perfect direction in which to go now that I've had my fill of brainless running and gunning. Bring it on! And parents...please don't buy this for your children...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
15 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thief
a really good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
lucasmyrick123
Location: gadsden
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game might be getting some bad rep but i found it to be really enjoyable it has really good graphics, a great storyline, and plenty of stuff to do.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thief
Mediocre at best!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/14
leelee619
Location: Oceanside, CA
I gave this game such low ratings, although it is a somewhat fair game. The ONLY thing that was great about this game was the graphics. However, it still falls short ... you will heavily notice sound glitches left and right, a drastic lag when it comes to the cinematics, which is a HUGE disappointment! As for sound glitches it was very annoying to hear some weird type of overlay of the same person talking and the same conversation. Gameplay was okay with sneaking around or attack head-on, depending on your play style, but becomes very repetitive. As for side missions there are really low incentives as to doing them, esp just even trying to find the location for what ... 40 G. What can you even do with that. When I ever play a game side missions area always worth it, just not in this game. I would not suggest getting this game at all until the price drops in the $20 range if not lower than that. Definitely not a must have. I mean, for a game that was supposedly "in development" since 2005-2006 there was not much to show for it. ESPECIALLY with the rushed ending and poor done credits!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 10 for Thief
Good but not great.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/14
bigez
Location: san diego
First off let me start by saying I really enjoyed this game! Moving through the shadows, pick-pocketing people, a little breaking and entering here and there. Game was fun! It def is not for impatient people that want a run and shoot game. This game focuses on stealth, not combat. He's a THIEF. Graphics and sound were really good and made a very good environment. The only thing i didn't like the was no rap-up to the story. It just ended, leaving me very confused as to what happened. You play all those hours, and for nothing. All in all, glad i bought it and played it and i think anyone can enjoy this game so long as they are not critiquing every minor detail.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Thief
A good, but flawed, stealth game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
Zahntarr
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If your a fan of stealth games you should definitely give this game your attention, as the stealth gameplay is extremely well done. It's tense, in-depth and quite fun (especially If you play with a custom difficulty.) But it has it's fair share of problems. The story isn't very good, with iffy voice acting and lip syncing in cutscenes. It mainly serves as a reason for the main character Garrett to go someplace and steal everything there, and the hub world isn't very well laid out and is broken up by constant loading screens (Which is more annoying than it sounds). Despite those flaws, though, I still really enjoy playing Thief because of the great stealth gameplay, with diverging paths and plenty of thieving opportunities. Completing the game with all of the side quests done took me about 16 hours on the normal difficulty. If you like stealth games, definitely pick this one up.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Thief
Fun and challenging without being infuriating
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/14
MattD
Location: Melbourne, Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't get why this game seems to have gotten a lot of bad press lately. I bought the game on Tuesday and have barely put it down since. The graphics are great, the story is compelling and the game is just plain fun. There are a few gripes; it would be nice to have a dedicated jump button and there are still moments when you want to yell at the screen to just have the character reach up and grab something rather than wander through the level to find a ledge and drop down, but that is common in games. Also the sound has a few bugs like hearing a conversation between two people you left around 3 corners. But these gripes are minor. I gave lasting appeal a 6 because I haven't really delved into the Challege missions and other extras to know how much replay there is, but just the fact you can complete and play mission in multiple ways adds some replay value. Overall I highly recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 13 for Thief
Dissapointing
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/14
Sammybarbwire
Location: East Auorora, NY
I was very excited for this game however it did not turn out to what i had hoped it would be. To begin navigation around the city is quite difficult and takes a while to get used to. Combat mechanics were alright and i liked that you could attempt a level in many different ways which adds some diversity to the gameplay. The graphics are quite breathtaking especially when escaping the burning buildings on the ps4. However the game is quite short and i beat it in around 5-6 hours.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 14 for Thief
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
Banes
Location: VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So far this game has been really fun and different. The reviews do not give it much justice. I am sure most FPS people will not like it. If you are a fan of the old Thief games you will definitely enjoy this.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thief
Don't let the bad reviews fool you!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/14
thunderball5001
Location: Bethlehem, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing. I have no idea why the reviews are so bad. I love replaying levels just trying to get 100% completion. It's very challenging. The plot is phenominal, the graphics stunning, and the game is surprisingly witty. If you like Tomb Raider (reboot) and Dishonored, you'll have a blast playing this game! My only complaints are no fast travel, no tranquilizer arrows like Dishonored, and certain powerups are very expensive. That, however, doesn't make the game bad. Just more challenging ;)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Thief
Great Visuals, Poor Gameplay
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/14
Gnasty
Location: Davison, MIchigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Thief was a game I was really excited for. Unfortunately after about an hour of game play my expectations were crushed. The story was very confusing and not very strong. The games melee combat is one of the worst I have ever experience, which isn't a big deal for a stealth game, but it still should have been a lot better. Also, it was a little disappointing that you were more a a petty thief when I had expected to play as a master thief. What i mean by that is I was hoping to steal more expensive and meaningful items, not ink wells, vases and pens. The camera angles also interfere sometimes, the city layout is confusing and there are limited uses for Garrets special items. However, the game does have some things going for it. The time period is a great setting for the game which leads to amazing visuals and the sound for a stealth game is great. Also, the actually stealth element was very well done and a lot of upgrades are offered for your equipment. Overall, the game wasn't my favorite, but it was playable. The visuals and sounds were great, but the actual game play and story was sub-par. Not a terrible game, but its definitely not for everyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 17 for Thief
something to try
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/14
addictivegamer13
its an interesting game thats fun to play but you spend way to much time try to dig through things looking for gold and things to take that it sometimes gets boring, i wish that it would have had a crossing between a third person and first person view when toggling between crouching to steel and get through different places vs. to stand and run (just a thought).
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 18 for Thief
Not what you'd expect.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/14
GarrettJCPL04
Location: Boulder City, Nevada
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
When I saw the previews for this I got so excited. I knew it would be a Dishonored type game but not exactly. If you plan to buy this game you better plan on being really good at stealth games because any other approach is just a death sentence.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 19 for Thief
An Easy and Fun Game To Keep You Busy
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/14
KiDDecepticon
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I want to start off by addressing the combat system. People complain about it, but that is probably because they haven't upgraded their characters enough for it to actually be fun. Combat is great when your character gains all of his abilities from focus points. But regardless, the game is Thief, and the experience is much more fun if you attempt stealth to complete your missions. The trophies/achievements are very easy to get, and the companion app is worth the money if you desire to get the platinum trophy because it has everything you could need. I have noticed an issue on various systems with game crashes, most recently being on the PS4. Upon reaching Chapter 6, I had a random save file corruption that forced me to delete my saves and any other data from the game and start new. However, the game is easy enough that this only took me a couple of hours. Hardcore gamers will blow through the story in no time, giving plenty of replay value because of the numerous collectibles and side missions. Casual gamers will probably take a lot longer but will definitely get their money's worth. In all, it is a good game, and if played how the developers intended, it is a very enjoyable experience.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 20 for Thief
I am tired of FPS
Posted on:2/23/14
DefeetEmAll
Location: East Coast
Haven't we developed FPS to death. I have played FPS since the original Castle Wolfenstein and it seems not much has changed. 3RD Person shootings incorporate much more real world elements. elements such as shooting from cover, bunkering down and it gives the player a quicker manner to know where an attack is originated. I also physical combat can be incorporated in more detail than just striking with the but of the gun. I will never play another FPS. All of the best games and MOST GoTY are 3rd person: Metal Gear Solid, Resident Evil 4, GTA 4, GTA 5, Uncharted 2, Read Dead Redemption, Assassins Creed, Last of Us...and the list goes on and on. First person is only good for online, However 3rd person spans both online and off. Developers, isn't it time to evolve?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
4539
 
Please wait while more information about 4539 is loaded.
Additional information about 4539 could not be loaded.
FPS means First Person Shooter
Posted 2/27/14
FPS means First Person Shooter, and this is obviously not a shooter game. This is an intricate next gen stealth game that can be played in multiple different ways through each and every level. Does that sound like a stupid run and gun game? I agree that Third Person is usually better, but in this case this game is much better than any of those other games you mentioned. So next time you criticize something that you don't know anything about, get your facts right.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 next>>