GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Amazing Spider-Man 2

What started out as the search for a killer very quicklybecomes something so much more. In a unique storyalongside the events of the second film, Spider-Mandiscovers he's not the only one tracking down Manhattan'scriminals. The underworld has been turned upside downwith a one man campaign of violence and murder that is hascaptured the city in an iron grip of fear. Villains from thefilm as well as fan-favorite, classic Marvel characters arewoven together in a twisted web of adrenaline-fueled, freeroaming,web-slinging action that puts players on a collisioncourse with an evil far beyond Spider-Man's reckoning.
Average Customer Rating:
7.562
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 1669%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Review 1 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
May Live Up to Spider-Man 2 From Back in the Day
Posted on:2/5/14
TheHeroOfTime1995
Location: Allport, PA
Beenox has many Spider-man games produced, and from what they have been saying on their Facebook page, the game should be superb. The game will not be canon but actually based on the movie. The Menace and Hero mechanism sounds a lot like Webs of Shadow or even InFamous. The game has a lot of potential to be fantastic, heck the first game made me feel like the Spider! (except for the web swinging on thin air thing) I hope they can make this a tried and true free roam Spidey game! I also hope for a Superior Spider-man costume, but hey, I can wish.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
5 Things We Want in the Spider-Man game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Will This Surpass the Last Spidey Game?
Posted on:3/30/14
PS3game222
Location: St. John, IN
I am so excited for the Amazing Spider-Man 2 coming out and like its prequel there will be a game along with it. I am excited for this game to come to shelves in April but I'm curious what it will bring to the table. I enjoyed the last Amazing Spider-Man game. It had a familiar and fun combat system and the free roaming through Manhattan were high points in the last game. But cons were that it was very repetitive and had a lack luster story. I enjoyed the game but i thought it had more to offer and i hope that what was missing in the last game is put into this one. Things I as well as many other people who played the last game will probably want in this one are: more variety in enemy types, a more intriguing story, better side quests, and less repetition. If they can tweak these small details i think it could make a huge difference in this game's potential. If you agree with my preview then give me a thumbs up if you disagree then thumbs down. Check out some of my other reviews and previews and add me on my PSN accounts (miguelyorkes222 and/or ZeGamerBoy). Thanks for your time.
20 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Worth Looking Into
Posted on:1/25/14
Wolf82
Location: CA
The first game was very much based on look rather than gameplay but was impressively polished up to look and feel similar to the movie. That said the combat really needed work as it wasn't very smooth and felt a bit clunky. Story Mode was fun but the free roam was not anything compared to the past Spider-Man 2 or Spider-Man 3 titles as these had plenty of random missions in free roam and felt more open where as finishing The Amazing Spider-Man left you to do almost nothing. The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is said to have even more openess similar to the older games and a new Hero or Menace system which could make side missions fun and possibly with much variety. Hopefully this can mean a much more fluid combat system and even the ability to dodge bullets like in other games with the hero. This game seems worth taking a look at to see the new features it will and may have and me being a big Spider-Man fan, I will no doubt pick this up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Awesome
Posted on:10/29/13
Steve3456
Location: moreno valley,CA
the first game was great but with some flaws now there bringing a second one hopefully this game is better because then it would suck if it was basically the same
 
My Product Recommendations
 
17 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SpiderFan576765478
 
Please wait while more information about SpiderFan576765478 is loaded.
Additional information about SpiderFan576765478 could not be loaded.
This game sounds awesome
Posted 3/8/14
Just by looking at what the game has to offer makes it sound like a big move up from the original Amazing Spider-Man game I may pre-order after I earn enough money by selling a few games!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Beenox Came Up Short
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/14
PS3game222
Location: St. John, IN
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is a game that had the potential to be great but fell much too short and goes into the ever growing category of sub-par spidey games. The story originally is Peter Parker out to discover who his Uncle Ben's killer is then takes many turns to where you get lost and confused to what the story designer wants you to get out of the story. The story itself is bland and has no interesting narrative. Sometimes spidey has a sarcastic comment that will make you smirk but for the most part you are just sitting there waiting for a conversation to end so you can get back to fighting enemies. The added segments where you play a Peter Parker feel more like fillers in the story where they would have been better off if they focused solely on spider-man himself. All of these segments last longer than they should and they all end up leading to another uninteresting conversation. The graphics of the game are below average even if the game was released two years ago and its high points in quality comes when you are swinging through the city with the buildings and skyscrapers are rusting past you in a blur of gray. But up close these building look like they are from an early released PS3 game with smudgy textures that just don't cut it in todays video game society. The combat is again a copy of the Batman Arkham series and ties in some new ways to take down foes but is ultimately button mashing. You will find yourself hitting the attack button, the spider sense pops up above your head, and you dodge the strike. I know that this is the Amazing Spider-Man but it helps that he is facing idiots who can't come close to landing a punch. Beenox tried to change things up in the gameplay by adding brutes (large characters who need to be hit by a seismic blast) and smaller and much more agile characters that all you have to do is dodge and then pull the enemy to you to take them down. They did add more variety to boss fights but they were often very simple as well and I found myself doing the same things over and over to take him or her down. I also found that later in this mess of a story that the boss fights just seemed to be thrown in so you could face a few enemies from the movie before the game came to a shrieking halt. The battles where you face Electro and the Green Goblin I found were almost identical. At the beginning of these boss fights you're chasing them through the city for a good two minutes dodging projectiles that are thrown your way. After that you find yourself on a building where you fight by throwing projectiles back at them or dodging there movements. They also both have scenes where you are taken airborne and you proceed beating up the foe continuously before finally defeating them. So what I'm trying to say in a nut-shell is that this game is just as repetitive as the last, with a lack luster story, and is a huge let down for me as a spider-man fan. But, hey you can collect cool costumes!! I would recommend letting the price drop before you buy this mediocre spidey game.. If you agree with my review then give it a thumbs up and I want to see your comments on what you think or how you felt about the game. Also add me on PSN ZeGamerBoy or miguelyorkes222.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/14
Omega39
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Where the last game gets a 9/10, this game gets at least a 7. While the story has proved itself interesting, I think that Beenox was better off with the method of having 15 hour and a half long levels with a good story. In this game, the levels seemed rushed and the characters, especially the villains aside from Kraven and Carnage, rarely get the screen time that they deserve. The hero-or-menace system also proved to be a hindrance. I mean, at first it's cool swinging around saving people from burning buildings and stopping petty crooks, but there are really only 5 different missions you can perform and they're more-or-less in the same setting every time. Plus, it doesn't help when you've beat the game, and while your searching for collectibles, trying to return home, or even just getting to the Comics Stand, which seems impossible sometimes, you're being attacked and having your web-shooters compromised by the Task Force for not performing these deeds. I'm not saying they should remove this system, I'm merely saying they should make it more interesting. New dialogue between Spider-Man and the villains of the game stopped more abruptly than I thought it would which made the interactions dull and repetitive. One of the only things that shows promise in this game is the web-shooting mechanics for when you're traveling around New York. While they seem a bit complicated at first, you become adjusted rapidly and it barely falls short of the mechanics from Web of Shadows. Therefore, this game most likely deserves a 7/10 and may slightly disappoint players of the first game, but greatly entertain players new to the franchise.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Awesome!
Posted on:4/3/14
spidey4000
Location: Grand Island, NE
I counted how much suits their are and their are 14 suits and if you get the web threads suit pack you get 18. Add me on PSN my username is SpiderMan4584. Thanks.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Fun, but weak plot.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/14
theblazerrazorgamer123
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Fun, but weak plot. I mean seriously I was expecting more. It was really fun but too many villains and the story is all over the place. it only makes a little sense. Also, the faces on the characters, come on we are in the 21st century a 15 year old could do better than that. Here are the Good things. First off, Carnage was awesome. Great Electro boss fight.Great voices for the characters.Great web slinging. Also, Stan Lee's roll in it, amazing. Here's one more bad thing, the medium setting was too easy if your new to video games play on medium, who your good at video games play on super hero.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Simply Amazing!!!!
Posted on:4/17/14
UltimateHulk
Location: Upper Marlboro,MD
I've been waiting for this game ever since they announced it! Now it's almost here! What I like about this game is they went back to the comic look instead of the movie look, ie the Spider Man 1-3 Trilogy, and TASM first game. Second thing I like is the good/bad meter or Hero/Menace meter as they call it, I love game with this concept. Third thing I like is they've promised more extended free play and a bigger New York-Manhattan to play around in. The last thing I like are the bonus suits u get from PSN and GS that the game has allowed to grant u access to not just a skin for looks, but a actual suit that has abilities and powers as well as looks. I hope this preview help feel free to add me on PSN Dk-Xander83... I will also be getting a PS4 as soon a June too......
Review 10 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
It'll suffice...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/14
Alienworkshop995
Location: Springfield, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love Spider-man. I bought the first Amazing Spider-man game and walked away feeling satisfied, thinking that whatever mistakes they made in this would be corrected in the sequel...which they weren't. In fact, to be brutally honest, the game lacks so much polish that some would walk away after 5 minutes of gameplay out in New York. Nevertheless, the things I was most pleased with this game was the improved swinging and (when it actually gets it right) the momentum-based web zipping parkour actions. But frequent pre-programmed maneuvers that launch me into the buildings are just inexcusable. Buildings and especially cars lack polish (low-res), and enemies glitch, and characters' walk cycles are horrible. The new "Hero vs Menace" system sucks, it's just a new way to keep players playing so they don't get shot at by cops. The audio gets screwed up. Story is just meh as well. How then, did I rate everything so low, yet put the lasting appeal so high? Cuz swinging around New York is just so incredibly fun, and it never gets old. Finally, we've got some realism to this game (or whatever counts a realistic in the Marvel Universe), and once you get the web boost, and the slingshot web, you just want to jump off of the high buildings in the game and swing all over the place. So somehow, I'll probably be coming back to this game many times just to get that Spidey feel goin...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Awesomest game ever made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/14
DarkPlaya
Location: louisiana,LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Everybody wants to get this game i got the game and trust me i don't regret buying it and i only got it $40 trust me you'll love this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Its all right
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/14
Jedi1234
Location: Phoenix
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok so this game is just like the first one, The fighting style sucks its not free flowing combat more like button mashing. The city environment sucks there are alot of graphic iusses you get stuck in places that the game is just not loading in, but I have to say that story line is fun and the game play is ok, but you just repeat the same side missions over and over again. Wait till the price goes down on this game before you buy it. I got it new and the only good thing about that was I got 2 tickets too see the movie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 13 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Great Spider Man Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/14
PlatnumMagnus
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was very skeptical at first because the trailers were sub-par at best. After buying the game I can easily say that this is a great spider man game for hardcore spider fans like myself. The swinging mechanic dose take time to learn, but when you learn it, is simply marvelous and fun. The combat is still a little wonky but definitely more improved than the first game. The open world is also greatly improved with new York being bigger and with more varied districts.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/14
lightup
Location: Connecticut
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Yes the graphics werent the best but everything else was simply awsome. the story was interesting and the fighting was better then the first one. The web-slinging was a bit tricky but after awhile you get use to it. And also- spoilers- it has black cat, kingpin, shocker, and even carnage as the last boss, i mean how awsome is that. This game is a lot like Spiderman 2 for gamecube and ps2. it was just simply amazing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Low resolution city building textures
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/14
Crackerever
Location: New England
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the first spidey game I've played since Web of Shadows. I figured Beenox must have figured it out by now. The city building textures are so low res, the game reminds me of the first Prototype game - the graphics are that bad. Character animations are decent and fighting is improved, but the ugly looking city isn't worth exploring. I wasn't expecting Arkham Asylum here, they could have done better than this. I regret buying the game.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Excelsior!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/14
UltimateHulk
Location: Upper Marlboro,MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game. The graphics r IMHO awesome! The game play is amazing! The storyline is soooo much better then Arkham Origins, (which IMHO is sub-par). I absolutely love everything about this game, and would definitely recommend to anyone who loves Spider Man or Super Hero games in general... I definitely approve this game. EXCELSIOR!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Amazing!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/14
lightup
Location: Connecticut
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is Amazing. They put in characters from the original spiderman 2 game and they improved the fighting from the first amazing spiderman. The story was excelent and the web swinging was excelent also. All in all it is an Amzing game and deserves praise.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
meh spiderman game
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/14
aliy
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I have to say the graphics are absolutely horrendous, I understand the focus on fighting and swinging, while enjoyable at times, would not recommend this to a spiderman fanatic, i bought it to add to my (very small) ps4 collection and so i can finally swing around as spiderman, that is the only reason I'm keeping this game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/14
corschm
Location: Oakfield, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I liked this game not only for the fun in it, but for reserving it, I was able to get $20 for 2 tickets for The Amazing Spider-Man 2! It has action, the Web-slinging idea was great but didn't work too well. Overall = Let's go Spidey!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Not Original
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/14
ASEP
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Felt like playing a batman game with a spiderman skin. Not much for comic book fans. Definitely made for kids.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 2 next>>