GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Amazing Spider-Man 2

What started out as the search for a killer very quicklybecomes something so much more. In a unique storyalongside the events of the second film, Spider-Mandiscovers he's not the only one tracking down Manhattan'scriminals. The underworld has been turned upside downwith a one man campaign of violence and murder that is hascaptured the city in an iron grip of fear. Villains from thefilm as well as fan-favorite, classic Marvel characters arewoven together in a twisted web of adrenaline-fueled, freeroaming,web-slinging action that puts players on a collisioncourse with an evil far beyond Spider-Man's reckoning.
Average Customer Rating:
6
6
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 560%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Review 1 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
..Well, yes and No...
Posted on:2/4/14
Location: Canton, GA
I, at first, in the first three original films thought his suit was OK, but in The Amazing Spider-Man his suit rocked! Now, it looks worse than ever and I really wish it has the same Big-Time suit and Scarlet Spider 2012 suit as the first. It don't want to look like a web-slinging MORON. But by the look of things, this game will be all right and I totally will get this for my X1.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Looks boss
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Awesome Game Spidy Lives On
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/14
Location: Simi Valley, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The new Spiderman II game is not like most sandbox games which basically involve the standard gun fights and car chases. These stereotypes don’t apply to Spiderman II, which is different in that it follows a specific storyline of the characters. Comic book villains such as, Kraven Shocker and Carnage are not only present in the game, but strongly effect the possible outcome.
Game play and accessibility are easy and quick to pick-up. Be it swinging around the city of New York, which was a very visual enjoying experience or chasing down the villains, the games graphics keep the gamer on the edge of their seat. The choices and variations you can make throughout the game let you decide to save citizens or continue on with the story. The game is not just a one-way street, you really have to think and react quickly. This gets the gamer involved at the next level and really adds gamer ownership into the game. You don’t want to leave.
Spiderman II is a top rated game that is gamers and Spiderman’s fans treat.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
A Pure Let Down.....
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/15
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
~Gameplay~
-What sold me on AMS2 (Amazing Spider-Man 2) was the fact that the developers claimed that they’re web swinging mechanics were going to be inspired from “Spider-Man 2” where it was at its peak. All they did was use the EXACT same web swinging mechanic from the first AMS game and added the feature that the webs anchored to buildings that everyone was crying for and the infamous “Web Slingshot”. It doesn’t even hold a candle to what SP2 (Spider-Man 2) had. Not only does the slingshot only ‘work’ if you are near street level unlike in SP2 where you could do it ANYWHERE there were two buildings within web slinging range, also in SP2 you could sling yourself in ANY direction (even left and right at times). AMS2’s slingshot not only is utterly worthless starting out but it doesn’t even become useful when you upgrade it to go only a little bit farther/faster, it’s purely cosmetic, just like the flipping-through-the-air animations after you swing. Speaking of which, SP2 allowed you to do “tricks” at your own desire allowing you to quick-swing if need be. AMS2 makes it so you HAVE to wait for the animation to finish before he shoots out a web to swing from, often at times making it too late and you swing from the wrong building going in another direction/losing momentum or the most common: INTO A BUILDING FACE FIRST. Another key thing about the web swinging is that in SP2 you could plan out “how” you were going to swing, if you were going to have a long web swing or have it short for a quick direction change. My personal favorite was making it long, swinging down, getting my web ‘caught’ into a street lamp and swing around before letting go to fly off. AMS2 makes it so A-L-L of your web swings are long. Also you can’t hold onto the web to circle around in vertical circles like you could in SP2, it makes you let go at the height of the swing, not even fast enough so you plummet to the ground with your camera facing the sky praying you can catch a building with another web. Another thing they could’ve taken from Sp2 that would’ve made AMS2 better was taking out that god-awful “Web Rush” and put back in the “Sprinting”, “Web-Zip” and “Charged Jump” that SP2 had. Sure you can “walk” in AMS2 if you slightly push the direction control but to auto-run everywhere at the same speed, insta-hopping by the push of the jump button at the same height and auto-vaulting over the side of buildings and ledges is a HUGE pain. Trying to sneak around a compound when you suddenly auto-hop over a small wall or ledge and falls into the middle of a group you were planning to pick off one at a time (Especially the Russian Hide-Out missions where you N-E-E-D to be stealthy) makes this game more of a hassle then enjoyable.
~Combat~
The combat people ‘praised’ because of the countering “Just like in the batman games” (as some people have mentioned)…. All it is X or Square button mashing…that’s it. You don’t really need to press B or Circle button for special moves when most of the time one more simple punch will finish them off. Also, sure you can pull the enemies gun away but the problem lies in the targeting system: YOU CAN’T SWITCH TARGETS (easily at least). Went up to a group of 4-5 enemies, web-pulled one of the guns away and found it near impossible to move the cursor (that you can’t turn off like in AMS1 which was a bad move in my opinion) so I was stuck pulling in the same thug over and over even though my camera at that point was fully turned to the right where another thug was filling me full of holes trying to disarm him instead.
~Hero/Menace System~
-WORTHLESS, not only is it a pain to having to keep having to do side "good deeds" to keep from being targeted over and over but when there is something technically more important to get to in the story or in general you HAVE to stop and help. If you get to low you become a menace and it hinders your suits special abilities which is rather un fair in the end. Leaving NO benefits what-so-ever if you do. Granted Spider-Man is supposed to be the good guy but it'd be interesting to see him in another light...dark light (like in Web of Shadows). It's not about morality more as the game stomping and crying like a child until you make yourself a "hero" again.
~Audio/Sound~
Everything from the voice acting to the normal sounds of the city life isn't that bad to be honest, especially when it comes to the story. The hiccups come in all sizes though. Smallest hiccup I can see is that the scripted audio for cut scenes clip over each other at times. Sometimes someone is talking (an evil character) and suddenly his next scripted audio kicks in to early or too late, leaving him mouthing silently for a second or two, nothing big but a hiccup none the less. Biggest problem would be Spider-Man's non-stop talking no matter WHAT he's doing. Not only is most of it first-time-around-funny but it is endlessly repetitive. It also makes completely no sense within the situation he's in at that very moment. Case in point: Spider-Man had to pick up some building rubble pinning a citizen down. He cries out "Hurry, I can't hold this thing up much longer!" Yet at the very end of his cry he chucks the thing like it was a crumpled piece of paper with the citizen still laying on the ground not having moved an inch in the process. Another time was RIGHT after that previous incident where I was swinging the person to a nearby hospital when suddenly Spider-Man blurts out "If my costume makes my butt look big... Someone would tell me... Right?” Something completely inappropriate at that moment in time swinging someone injured to safety. Not only is Spider-Man repeating things hardly worth a chuckle as you swing around but once in combat it just gets worse. We all know Spider-Man is just an older teen growing into man yet his punch lines barely level to an elementary school yard bully boasting because he's just started out being a tough guy.
~Graphics~
-I'm not going to lie, the graphics on SPIDER-MAN himself look decently good... but everywhere else it just falls off a cliff. Everything from the buildings to terrain to even the citizens are low-budget at best. Graphic's wise it's like they took a step back from AMS1's graphic's because they needed to fit in the whole "Webs clinging to buildings and slingshot" mechanic's to make room, taking something worth-wile out for something that doesn't even live up to expectations.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Disappointed
Posted on:4/17/14
Location: Charlotte, N.C
I am very disappointed with Activision they postponed or even cancel this game for the XboxOne for no reason. I pre-order this a couple weeks ago and I found out today it might be cancelled. What kind of company postponed a game 12 before launch.
11 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Annoyed with Activision and XBOX One
Posted on:4/20/14
Location: Boston, MA
I heard this game is delayed and possibly being cancelled on the XBOX One all together. No explanation was given. I pre-ordered this game as well for the one (only system I currently own) and was looking forward to playing this. How can you cancel/delay this with no explanation 2 weeks before launch.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
therealclow
Somerset, KY
 
Please wait while more information about therealclow is loaded.
Additional information about therealclow could not be loaded.
Posted 4/30/14
Actually they didn't take it off so don't believe the rumors.
Customer Avatar
kjacks8
ohio
 
Please wait while more information about kjacks8 is loaded.
Additional information about kjacks8 could not be loaded.
OUT NOW
Posted 4/29/14
you can buy this on the xbox one store right now. it isn't out yet? i'm confused
Customer Avatar
MikeLowery8807
Houston
 
Please wait while more information about MikeLowery8807 is loaded.
Additional information about MikeLowery8807 could not be loaded.
cancelled or delayed???
Posted 4/29/14
Doen't make much sense how they can take the game off a platform without explanation 2 weeks before. It better be a freakin good change to the game when/if it drops.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 6 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Garbage
Posted on:5/4/14
Location: Texas
The games graphics looks like hot garbage for a new console looks like something for the PS2 or Xbox its just a cash grab shouldn't even be worth $59.99. Marvel need to find another company to make a Spider-Man game like the Arkham Series exclude Orgins that game sucked it was a cash grab itself.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Bad just Bad...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/14
Location: Corona, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game has a hero menace system that needs to go, it does nothing buy annoy you. Even after finishing the game it plagues you and makes it nearly impossible to enjoy just hanging around. The only saving grace for this game, is the varied suits you can wear I personally loved the Superior Spider-Man suit. Other than that I can not in good conscious recommend this game to even die hard web heads. Avoid this game until its 20 bucks!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Spidey is Back!
Posted on:3/3/14
Location: Henderson, NV
I had originally ordered this for my 360 but once I realized I would have an Xbox One by the time this came out I switched. Now there is an awesome pre-order bonus that consists of 4 other suits from the start. I am serious looking forward to this game and hopefully the free world in it to explore. Also looking forward to the movie, which these games help fun so support the Spider-Man franchise and hopefully enjoy the new game.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JUS7IN1991
 
Please wait while more information about JUS7IN1991 is loaded.
Additional information about JUS7IN1991 could not be loaded.
Posted 4/29/14
idk they released it for download
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
WebSlinging Action
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/15
Location: North Little Rock
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really liked this game! you get to swing around manhattan and help people out! the controls are fairly easy if you can get the hang of it. just gotta get in the swing of things! lol. But anyways i really liked how you got to fight most the villains from the Spider-Verse. vaguely reminded me of the spiderman game i had on the og xbox from the tobey mcguire series. Its a great game to me for just killing time and enjoying Peter Parkers alt life.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/14
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game was very fun just like the first. i just dont understand how this is a next gen sequel with graphics less appealing than the first. Still, overall good spidey game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Cool
Posted on:1/22/14
Location: Brooklyn,NY
Maybe we shouldn't give up on this game because we all loved amazing spiderman before so i think that if they keep in the suit changing process and different suits it will be an amazing game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JustinGI91
Cleveland, OH
 
Please wait while more information about JustinGI91 is loaded.
Additional information about JustinGI91 could not be loaded.
I'm gonna get it
Posted 1/26/14
Been playing Spider-Man games ever since the first one on the psone. Its just fun to swing through NYC only like a spider can.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
I can't wait to get my Spidey powers again!
Posted on:2/5/14
Location: Clovis New Mexico
I can't wait for this spring 2014. Because I 'll be web slinging all over the expanded manhattan New york as the web head himself The Amazing spiderman in The Amazing Spiderman 2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jaden
maryland,md
 
Please wait while more information about jaden is loaded.
Additional information about jaden could not be loaded.
I'm kinda disappointed
Posted 4/23/14
I heard that this game will be postponed for Xbox one. Its sad but I got a Wii u so I'm good.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
xbox one game not cancelled..!
Posted on:4/29/14
Location: Hoboken, NJ
from what i heard, they are having trouble with locking in a stable frame rate and resoloution, they dont want to compromise so the game has been pushed back to july to make sure the game has a stable frame rate and high resolution..
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
It doesn't look like it is going to be delayed
Posted on:4/29/14
Location: Somerset, KY
It is already on the Xbox One for digital download so it won't be delayed or anything. So with that being said don't believe the rumors.
Review 15 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Buy preowned!
Posted on:2/26/14
Always liked the spiderman games better than the movie, but when I saw BEENOX was making the game......... Will be waiting for someone to return it than buy it so I know I can return it back.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.