GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Bravely Default

Square Enix's highly-acclaimed fantasy RPG brings deep, strategic combat to the Nintendo 3DS system in an ambitious game that bolsters its turn-based combat with a compelling new risk/reward system RPG fans will obsess over. Explore Luxendarc as Tiz and other memorable characters on a visually stunning quest to restore balance to the world.
Average Customer Rating:
9.533
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bravely Default
Review 1 for Bravely Default
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/14
Azazel7777
This game is simply amazing, from the sound to the gameplay to graphics(though i would prefer less chibi) but still amazing none the less. gets repetitive toward the end(NO SPOILERS) but all in all, great game, well worth more than 40 dollars.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Bravely Default
Fool's Gold
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
MMT31
Location: Columbia, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'll start out my review like this: If you're a die hard Final Fantasy lover, get this game, if you expect a new Square Enix series this game is literally fool's gold. The story was terrible and a regurgitation of FF's crystals storyline. This game excels at having stolen or reused material. The spell book is exactly or almost exactly the same as Final Fantasy's and yes SE created this game, but am I wrong to expect something new or for Bravely Default to have it's own twist and no, letting spells only be used if your Job level is high enough isn't that twist. Besides that the world travel music is EXACTLY the same as Ni No Kuni's and for those who liked the party chat, that is the "Tales of" series skits as they called them.
Another issue I had is how the Brave/ Default is showcased. I played the game on a Normal difficulty and going from the first dungeon where I beat the bosses easily, I went to the second dungeon, the fort where you meet Edea, and got slaughtered by those Pigs/ Boars. Training from level 6 to 10 I proceeded to head by back into the dungeon and Brave Spammed those Pigs and beat the black mage with ease. That's the problem though, unless you want to spend all of your cash on items for healing you need to be able to Brave spam your enemies and end it before they strike and deal with too much damage for common enemies. Grant one can turn off the encounter slider and run through a dungeon, but encounters and level training has been a major part of RPGs since the start and the classics taught me that; you don't run from monsters and beat the bosses. Play Skyrim, run past your enemies and when you meet your first wild dragon for a one-on-one fight time how many seconds it takes to be destroyed then you'll start to see why RPGs shouldn't have encounters turned off, but turned down. Plus the other thing about an awesome battle system in an RPG is that it shouldn't be the selling point of the game! RPGs are known for their stories because you wanting to know how it ends and this game "doesn't make me want to save the world", that's a quote from another review elsewhere I feel that way about this game. The story is a cruddy one rehashed from FF's crystal ideology. The characters: Agnes is boring and your one dimensional goody two shoes that is plain. Ringabel is your player with a magic book and if he's not making a comment about women every other line it means he isn't talking. Tiz also is pretty plain; he always does the right thing, but doesn't have much emotion outside of getting the job done, but he develops somewhat. Edea is easily your star in terms of character; trying to find the truth behind the lies she's been told, she's feisty, tough , and not afraid to show her skills though most of the time Ringabel is getting under her skin.
The graphics while good are inappropriate for the mood of the game. The graphics kind of kiddish and look like the setup of the pop up books to get the 3D effect, but the rating for the game is T for Teen. Literally what's wrong is having these graphics is you'll walk into a room where a mass killing has occurred and you see torn clothes here and there, but other clues other than the characters saying there's blood. So the grapics give the wrong atmosphere I feel. The mirco transactions in the game with SP are pathetic. For those who say whatever, people may buys these to get past a boss and then SE sees a chance for more money and where does it end: when we're buying all in game items with real money or a lesser extent?
Though the game does do something well: The monsters use the Brave/ Default system and you never should ever get lost and you'll be happy until Airy tells you like a five year old to get this or go there, "Inserting a T for Teen", be quiet Airy. Besides at the end I hated Airy even more for her role in a plot twist and the fact they make you backtrack towards the end of the game.
So if you're looking for a remake with a different name from Final Fantasy get this; if you're looking for an awesome RPG that improves the genre forward Square Enix will keep you disappointed after their questionable FF 13 series, and the befuddlement of FF14.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bravely Default
Amazing! Does Not Disappoint!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/14
DeadSkye
Location: South Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game pretty much has it all. A phenomenal story, excellent graphics, a great sound track, and replay value. The characters are well developed and it's hard not to become attached to them. It's very hard to put down once you jump in. I really hope Square and Nintendo continue to put out titles like this. Overall, I am very impressed and would definitely recommend.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Bravely Default
Square Enix redeems themselves!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/14
GameMaster1000
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Lately Square Enix has been on a bad streak with FFXIII trilogy. But this game has made up for their mistake. This game put my faith back in Square Enix. Great job Square Enix. Keep the good games coming
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Bravely Default
I love this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/14
samurai16
Location: Oklohoma,OK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I actually do not have the game yet it will arrive here on March 7 2014, but I played the demo and it was AMAZING!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Bravely Default
This game is so much fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
HOOTYMACK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I first got hooked onto this game by playing the demo, and that was when i realized this game was perfect for me. The star of the game is definitely the brave and default combat system, and the variety the job system creates. The only real downfall to this game is there is some backtracking that is pretty much just a waste of time, but the combat in the game definitely makes up for it. If you have a 3DS or a 2DS GO BUY THIS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Bravely Default
A JPRG for the ages
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/14
hosslayer79
Location: Duluth, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had almost given up on Square Enix ever coming out with a good new RPG for any system...that is until now. They finally came through. It's a shame the Final Fantasy series didn't go in this direction, but at least the developers still know how to make a good RPG. It's addictive and enjoyable. I plays just like a turn based Final Fantasy game but it makes it better. The story is engaging, but it's familiar. The job system is back and integrates with the story and not just thrown in just because people wanted a job system. Buy this game if you loved the Final Fantasy series before it became what it is today.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Bravely Default
Modern Mix to Old RPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
PrinceOfGotham
Location: Gotham City
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game looks and feels like an old JRPG, but adds some awesome modern twists that will keep you hooked til the end. I have been playing for 13 hours now and still feel like the game is fresh everytime I pick it up. The characters are classic, and the voice acting is top-notch so no complants. I am a hardcore gamer, and I will admit that this is one of the best games I have picked up in years, and reminded me why I loved all the old RPG's of the past.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Bravely Default
RPG gold. Must have title.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/14
Deanimator
Location: Phoenix,AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you're an old school gamer with roots in early Final Fantasy games you will absolutely love this game. It has it all, music,pace,plot,graphics,compelling personalization, just a touch of modern spin with streetpass and most of all it is fun! The humour that Ringabel brings is delightful, Tiz can be slightly stoic and a bit of a wiener but overall the characters are likeable and someone you will be rooting for. Weather you want to be a ranger that also uses black magic, or a summoner who dabbles in knightly endeavors you can set up your party any way you like as you acquire more jobs. While not too difficult the game isn't a mindless turn based attack fest, boss fights will be tough without good strategy and careful execution. Overall this is on par with Chrono Trigger and the great Final Fantasy games of my childhood. I think any self respecting RPG fan would have to be crazy not to pick this up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bravely Default
It feels like a must for people who love jrps
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/14
Ranuis
Location: Chino Hills, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got the collectors edition for this and it's the first jrpg in a long time to feel like it's actually trying something new. The gameplay is really fun to mess around with and the characters feel right at home in their environment and in their group.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Bravely Default
DON'T MISS OUT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/14
MegaShooter
Location: Elkhart, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One of the Must have titles for the 3ds! All I have to say is Buy it or you'll regret it. You do not want to miss out on this title. It's even worth buying a 3ds just to play this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Bravely Default
Awesome modern classic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/14
Hereaux
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is perfect for any JRPG fans. It has an amazing blend of the classics with modern gameplay. Story is great and most of the characters are likeable. Norende mini-game is fun and has great benefits.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Bravely Default
Very good game! :):D:)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/14
iLoveNintendoFlo
Location: Home
Great combat system. Amazing graphics. Epic music. And a good story with some good charecters and no emo people like so many RPGs today. The graphics look great even more so in 3D. It's a little old school in parts but with some modern stuff to and some heart. I say buy it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Bravely Default
You will sink so much time...BUT IT IS ADDICTING!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/14
xJokerGirlx
Location: Moberly, Mo
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
THIS GAME IS AMAZING. When the demo first released, I was sold on this game. If you love the old style RPG's, then you will love this! I have already sunk so much time into the game and it just released! There are sooooooo many jobs to level! Black Mage, White Mage, Ninja, Conjurer, Spell Fencer, Knight, Arcanist, Bard, Monk, Vampire, Knight, Thief Ranger, Red Mage and even MORE! PLUS you can switch out different abilities with different jobs just too give you that perfect fight! The story is great too and the voice acting is...well its okay! :D If you are wary, then play the demo. It gives you a good idea from there. Otherwise, BUY IT! :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bravely Default
Awesome sequel
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/14
Luci
I have had this game for just a short time and I can already tell this is completely amazing. The game play is like Final Fantasy The 4 Heroes of Light, but with some improvements. The combat is still the same in a way. SE even added in a few extra things outside of the battling to keep the player entertained. The only thing this game is missing is the "Final Fantasy" posted on the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Bravely Default
About time America got this.
Posted on:2/6/14
IchibanCrush
Location: Lilburn, GA
I highly recommend playing the demo on the eShop first, because that's to give you an idea of whether or not this is your kind of JRPG. This is basically the spiritual successor to Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes Of Light. If you've played that and liked it, you'll love Bravely Default. If you haven't played it, let me draw you a picture: Job Class System similar to Final Fantasies III (not VI), V, Tactics, or XI: Online, but you start off with a very basic class and earn different jobs through game progression. There is a story, but unless you make an effort to talk to NPC's, like you had to in the 8-bit days, you're not going to know what steps to take, and you may even miss out on some bonus items. You may die on your first random battle if you don't play your cards right. This game is not going to COMPLETELY hold your hand. From what I've gathered of the demo, BD actually has an auto-save system when you enter/leave an area, something FF4HoL lacked. Also, the battle system has a Brave/Default system that can totally change the tide of battle, even amongst the easiest/hardest of foes.
It's not, as the 80's kids say, "Nintendo Hard", but I'd say as far as most games, this is a tier close to "Hardcore" but far, far, far from "Casual".
Regardless, play the demo, that's going to help you more than any "pre-buzz" will in making a decision. And if you do like it, finish the demo to get bonuses in the full game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Bravely Default
Watch your step
Posted on:2/5/14
shinx
Location: ft.thomas ky
I am not to sure about this game, I do like certain RPG's but Square Enix hasn't made the best ones such as how most of us thought that dungeon siege 3 was going to be awesome but then it wasn't so good. so personally I would just be careful.
0 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bravely Default
anticipation builds
Posted on:1/24/14
rpgloverr777
Location: Pearl, MS
Yes I wanted agnes statue THAT MUCH :) Friday February 7, 2014 can't arrive soon enough for me!!!! :) Earlier this month I downloaded the demo from the 3DS eshop and I played non stop although I didn't complete town rebuilding 100% the MAIN POINT is that I could have been playing this game 2 months ago had it not been for the "region lock" on 3DS :(
Review 19 for Bravely Default
A Replacement for Final Fantasy
Posted on:1/7/14
DarkTiger2156
Location: Livermore, CA
This game takes a good gander at what's in store for Square Enix for 2014 since Final Fantasy has rarely made an appearance for Nintendo. The demo plays alot like Final Fantasy: The Four Heroes of Light in terms of the Job class structure and battle system. However, the demo adds a few new mechanics such as the Street Pass ability to be able to add friends to your party whenever you need help with battling and rebuilding the town of Norende. In battles, you can stack actions called Battle Points using the "Default" action (up to 3 times), then attack with multiple skills using the "Brave" action. All in all, this is a good alternative to the Final Fantasy series and will keep players entertained for awhile once it is released on February 7th, 2014.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 20 for Bravely Default
Can't Wait!!
Posted on:11/19/13
NoMoreFeels
Location: ND
There is so much that could be said about this game.. If you enjoy old school jrpg's or rpg's, I'd say there is 99% chance you'll love this game. You'll also catch onto the mechanics and the overall system very quickly, whether you're new to the genre or not. Not to say that it's not a great system because it is! I don't want to ramble on.. I'll just say this , if you're on the fence about buying this game, do it! You won't regret it, I promise.
To the person asking if this game is 2DS compatible, YES IT IS! All 3DS games will work on the 2DS. From day one of the 3DS, Nintendo has stressed to game developers that they need to make the game's 2D compatibly (before 2DS) and now even more so because of the 2DS. Although the name might not sound like it, the 2DS is part of the 3DS family. All 3DS games will work on your 2DS.
I have played the game before and will definitely be buying an NA copy. :)
I give this game a 9.5/10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>