GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MLB 14 The Show

Become a part of Major League Baseball's biggest moments. Welcome to The Show.
Average Customer Rating:
7.778
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
9
8 stars
9
7 stars
5
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
34 out of 4576%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MLB 14 The Show
Review 1 for MLB 14 The Show
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/14
KingofMiami305
Location: Miami, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A true baseball player here, stepping into the single A. This game is by most the realistic baseball game I ever played on next gen game console. MLB The Show always made the beat baseball game and now playing it on the ps4 puts the icing on the cake. I am satisfied. I am currently speechless right now. MUST HAVE FOR TRUE BASEBALL PLAYERS!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MLB 14 The Show
GREAT GRAPHICS,THATS ABOUT IT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/14
ShawnyShawn
Location: las vegas,nv
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The graphics are indeed nothing short of amazing but this game is useless for those who love to play online. You will wait for this game to load for minutes (if it loads at all). As of yesterday, I had to keep trying and trying just to get into an online game. Just setting your lineup in the dynasty part of the game for online play took forever as adjusting each player and waiting for it to load was just ridicoulus! When in game, it is laggy. Atleast online!!!!! Playing offline is great. graphics,gameplay, just all around great! BUTTTTT it still has to load forever before the game even starts. My advice for those curious about this game is to rent it first!!!!! My personal opinion on this game is because 2k is no longer making a baseball game, they slacked off on certain aspects of this game knowing that everybody will buy it because it is not the only baseball game out there. I think I am more upset about this because This game is a HUGE reason that I went to PS4 and gave up my xbox!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for MLB 14 The Show
Great, but two negatives about it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/14
Uberguy3535
Location: Norman, OK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game. It is a great game and I play it all the time. The graphics are proof that we have finally hit the next gen era, commentary is pretty good, the crowd looks fantastic, and we have updated rosters. But there are two problems I've had with this game. On RTTS, I made a closer who got drafted #1 overall. But sometimes while he is pitching, the game will start to glitch out and the dirt and players will turn black. I'm not really sure what causes this, or if it's just my PS4/TV, but it's really weird and i have only encountered this problem while I'm playing RTTS. The other problem is that while I'm playing online, the game tends to crash. I am 9-3 online right now, and all 3 loses were because I got kicked anywhere between the 1-5 inning. But once again, those are the only two problems. This is a very well made game. The one thing I wish they would bring back is the ability to schedule promotions and upgrade stadium capacity and things along that nature. Thanks, and happy gaming!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for MLB 14 The Show
Fed up with horrible strikezone
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/14
Jadedmonkey99
Location: Atlanta, GA
When I first got this game I enjoyed, I thought it looks pretty good on the ps4. I was excited to finally play next generation baseball. But after playing the game for a while I absolutely hate this game. In my 25+ years of gaming I don't think I have ever had a worse experience with a game. The strike zone is a joke, time and time again you throw strikes and they are called balls in key moments. Even setting the umpires to call the "perfect" game you watch strikes being called balls. Both grid boxes on the screen show strike while it's called a ball. This almost always sets up the AI for a score often perfect games are lost as strikes are simply not called. Hitting isn't fun, even with sliders maxed I find 8/10 balls I hit are pop outs or ground outs. Want to sim some games to advance the season, forget about it. The game will routinely bench key players when you sim games w/o any warning that your superstars are not playing because the game thinks they just need a day off. For me I'm done with this series and will not consider buying any more "the show" games.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MLB 14 The Show
Looks amazing
Posted on:2/11/14
sth1245
Location: Franklin, TN
This is one of the main reasons I got PS4 over Xbox One. This game looks amazing. Literally. Can't wait!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
22 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DDG777
Brinson, Ga.
 
Please wait while more information about DDG777 is loaded.
Additional information about DDG777 could not be loaded.
Posted 4/29/14
Have it reserved for day of release, and can't wait, BUT it still needs an EA sports like Ultimate Team, or 2K Sports like My Team. If you could get legendary and hall of famer cards in this baseball game and play them like in Madden Ultimate Team and 2K basketball My Team modes... then it would TRULY be a 10 / 10 rating. That is the ONE THING the baseball series is missing, which is what EA has done with football and hockey Ultimate Team, and what 2K did with basketball My Team. There needs to be a baseball mode like MUT or 2k My Team.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for MLB 14 The Show
Good, but AI is horrible
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/14
Jadedmonkey99
Location: Atlanta, GA
The game has really great graphics, defiantly looks next gen. There are a few artifact issues and bad textures. Beards also look weird and plastic looking at times. Stadiums look really cool, very detailed and the crowd looks cool. Only thing on balls into the stands only a few react at one time. The game offers super fast play mode or broadcast which is super slow. Pitching is is a nightmare for me. The strikezone is not called on a reliable basis. The game allows you to set umpires to one of 3 settings. From supposed realistic with a varying strikezone to supposed perfect. Sadly realistic mode flat out cheats you as clear cut strikes are called balls which is maddening. Nothing like watching the AI get a free walk because the game refuses to call strikes a strike. Even down the middle is called a ball at times. If you turn it off to call a supposed perfect game your pitcher will go thru random periods of not being able to throw a strike no matter where you try to throw the ball. This isn't fun it's a joke. Forget about hitting the corners, they are not called on a consistent basis. No matter what mode you set umpires to strikes vary in weather they are called or not. You can have over half the ball in the box and it's called a ball on one pitch and a strike on the next. To me this isn't fun, it's annoying. Fielding is pretty straight forward, although players gave a nasty habit of ducking out of the way of line drives instead of jumping to catch the ball. All in all it can be really fun to play, but also very annoying at the same time.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MLB 14 The Show
My favorite game!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/14
stimy123
Location: Richmond, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is exceptional!!! Although there are some moments that will either make you rage or make you just really annoyed at the game it is still overall my favorite game. You should definitely get this game even if you don't know much about baseball because it will catch on in no time......... PLAY BALL!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for MLB 14 The Show
The Game-changer in Nex-Gen Console War
Posted on:12/26/13
baseballmatt7
Location: Stratford,CT
Mlb the show has been my favorite game every year and I cant wait to see how it is on the PS4. When I heard that this would be the only baseball game on a new console,(Xbox one and PS4) I immediately made my decision on the PS4. Mlb the show gets better each year and I am very excited to see the improvements on a console like the PS4. This is a big win for sony and a big loss for microsoft.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MLB 14 The Show
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/25/14
Toodles70
Location: Emmaus, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My ONLY complaint with MLB The Show is they do not have a tutorial in the game to show you all the different controls. I had a really hard time in "experienced mode" because I did not know how to use most of the controls. A tutorial showing you have to manually bat and steal bases and stuff like that would have been wonderful.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for MLB 14 The Show
Nice
Posted on:11/6/13
LikesMeSomeGames
Location: Carmel, IN
MLB: The Show is the best baseball franchise ever. The Show mode is amazingly addictive and there is nothing like going from the minors to the majors, having a breakout season and entering the free agent market and having teams throw money at you to get you to sign with their team. It's a satisfying reward for all of the time you've invested in bringing your player up. The graphics were already pretty good on PS3 but judging from the player models on PS4 this game will be nuts. I wonder if they put in PED mode for Ryan Braun. Zing! Can't wait for this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CunningDestroyer
Milwaukee, WI
 
Please wait while more information about CunningDestroyer is loaded.
Additional information about CunningDestroyer could not be loaded.
Braun
Posted 1/7/14
Don't hate on Ryan Braun...He was a great player and still will be a great player!
Customer Avatar
chisoxfan
Northwest indiana.
 
Please wait while more information about chisoxfan is loaded.
Additional information about chisoxfan could not be loaded.
MLB 14 the show
Posted 12/3/13
Micro trans actions are no Mandatory but to each their own I can,t wait for this game Look forward to it this game will rock.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 11 for MLB 14 The Show
Can't Wait
Posted on:11/6/13
ArmorAssassinX
Location: Ridgewood, NJ
I love Mlb The Show. It is going to be so awesome on the PS4. Just from the couple pictures they showed in the video compared to the ps3 the graphics look godly. The Show is a major reason why I'll be getting a PS4 over a PS3.
12 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MLB 14 The Show
Average, start by giving us a hard copy manual.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/14
Spion
Location: Miami, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
MLB the Show 14 has been hyped up for over a month and a half for PS4. After about an hour or so of install time, I was ready to play some ball. Or so I thought. The loading times on this game are horrendous! It takes about a minute or so to play ball. The graphics are really good, as each ballpark is individually rendered to its lifelike counterpart. You can see individual beard hairs. That's alot of detail. The game to me feels like a hardcore sim, although they do have beginner modes to get you into the action. This will include one button throwing and auto fielding. To get the most experience you will have to adapt to the more complicated controls. The learning curve is tough, but the dynamic difficulty will try and make things fair for you while you are learning. I wish the game came with a hard copy manual. I would like to learn how to do different things with my pitcher or batter, but had to constantly pause the action, open up the digital manual, scroll to what I want and resume. A minor complaint but this is geared towards the major baseball simmer and less towards the casual crowd. Id give it a 7/10
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 13 for MLB 14 The Show
this is a joke
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/14
Pinga
Location: New jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game on ps4 is supose to be better than all on ps3. This game is a complete joke when it comes to online gaming. Too many glitches they have not fix yet, they keep updting stuff and roster but never fix the real problems. Sometimes game glitches and you have to disconect and you get the loss. Sometimes when you pitching the batter does not see the pitch untill its called a strike or ball. Horrible Horrible online gaming experience man, i get mad at this game all the time when playing online. PS3 has a better online experience than ps4. All ps4 has is better graphics thats it. but come on this is supose to be better than ps3 and is a joke..it is slow on the home screen. i play call of duty and MLB and on both games i have had bad online gaming experience, worst than in ps3. give me my money back!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MLB 14 The Show
Pre-ordered my copy already
Posted on:11/6/13
Riker
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Pre-ordered this the first day it became available for pre-order. I like that it comes with the $19.99 in game currency. That will be of help.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
baseballfreak23
iowa
 
Please wait while more information about baseballfreak23 is loaded.
Additional information about baseballfreak23 could not be loaded.
The show
Posted 1/26/14
MLB the show is the whole reason i switched to the ps3 when i had a 360 im a baseball freak and i play in college right now im super stoked for this game the worse thing about it is that i have to wait so long just wish it was out but i know it will be worth the wait and i also wished that someone will pick up the college baseball series i guarantee it will sell just as good as games like call of duty, nba 2k, and the show and it possible could make the show even better by importing drafts if its even possible to make it better.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for MLB 14 The Show
Good in most aspects; not so good in others
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/14
MrCookus0
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been getting MLB the Show since it came out for the PS2. I feel that the graphics and game play have always improved; however, for this years next gen (PS4), I feel that they slacked on the Franchise mode-- I used to like to control every facet of the game from travel, stadium upgrades, fan attractions, etc.. This year's version only has the scouting, coaching staff, and the managing of contracts. The Road to the Show hasn't changed too much either, which I'm okay with since it has been one of the main things I play.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for MLB 14 The Show
Great game to get caught up playing in
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/14
Dc17
Location: Reading,Pa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Mlb the show 14 offers a showcase of next gen is. It has many things to play . It's road to the show is brilliant as far as experiences are concerned
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for MLB 14 The Show
Not much different from last year
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/14
Sportsgamer42
Location: Andover, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
MLB The Show is probably the most satisfying Sports game out there as it offers great graphics, great gameplay and a great baseball simulation. However almost every edition before this one I was calling it the "best MLB: The Show yet" however this year it feels pretty much the same as far as features and gameplay however its understandable because this to me looks the first true next gen sports game as the graphics look outstanding.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 18 for MLB 14 The Show
Scratches my itch to play baseball.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/14
Mckintay81
Location: North Olmsted, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a very fun an authentic MLB baseball game. I haven't really played a baseball game since MVP baseball was around many years ago. It's my understanding that this is the baseball game to get for the PS4. I mostly play Road To The Show mode which can be very addicting and since you only play when your created player is up to bat or a ball is hit to you in the outfield a game could last between 5 to 10 minutes in that mode. The graphics look next gen for sure. Everything between the players and stadiums looks amazing. My only gripe would be if your impatient like me and want to build up your RTTS character as fast as possible to max him out your going to spend over $60 aside from the $60 you paid for the game. But amazing game besides that go buy it now.......like right now close your web browser get to the store and buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for MLB 14 The Show
Greatest baseball game to date...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/14
Colby8195
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I first started playing this franchise when I bought MLB 07 The Show for my PlayStation 2. I loved the game (although I received a bad disk at the time and had to exchange) but as a game, it was great. I more or less was too young (7th grade) to really get into the technical stuff (managing a team and all that roster managing stuff) and I stuck with the franchise/season mode with my favorite team, the Pirates. I had moved on to the Bigs games for the Xbox 360 and loved those as well. I loved the arcade style, but after a while, I really started to miss the feel of a real baseball game that was more like a real game than arcade style. I tried to play the 2K games, however with the MLB 2K games, they started not caring about graphics and not changing the interface, so I lost interest. That brings me to today, and now that I own a PS4, I bought this game the same day as the console. Since I've plugged it in, this was the first game I tried, and it does not disappoint. It has amazing graphics (although sometimes choppy, which will probably be fixed next year), up to date rosters (and by up to date, they release new rosters like once a week!), and just an overall great experience when I put the disk in. There are so many different modes to play! Online with your own created team in Diamond Dynasty, Franchise and Season to play a full (or however many games you want) season and lead your team to the World Series, Road to the Show which follows one player (custom or current MLB player) and has great controls in-game, and many other mini-modes and home run derby type game styles. Overall, I think for next year, I want the game to be a bit more smooth graphically (which really isn't bad this year, but there's always room for improvement) and maybe a bit less customizable options for those players who don't get into every little detail (I love it because I'm a huge baseball fan, but some people just want to play the game!) Overall, this game is amazing. The playability in the future is outstanding and I won't get rid of this game every year to get a new one, because they'll keep updating it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for MLB 14 The Show
Just a bit outside...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/14
Jmaggs
Location: Rancho, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This video game is unreal. Awesome graphics and easy to play. It does take a few minutes to download but once that is finished it's time to play ball! The crowd is crazy real. People getting up from their seats and walking up & down the aisles. Ball parks on spot on! Game play is fun and lasting. I'm a sports geek so any sport games PS4 brings out I will purchase.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>