GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MLB 14 The Show

Become a part of Major League Baseball's biggest moments. Welcome to The Show.
Average Customer Rating:
8.609
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (159 reviews)
10 stars
63
9 stars
47
8 stars
18
7 stars
15
6 stars
4
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
141 out of 15690%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MLB 14 The Show
Review 1 for MLB 14 The Show
As good as baseball gets on ps3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/14
cashc32
Location: vancouver wa
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I gave MLB 14 a perfect score for one simple reason, baseball gets no better on the PS3 PERIOD, I am certainly getting the PS4 version in May, but if i were to get stuck with this version I'd be very happy all season long. I love baseball and feel this game gives us hardcore fans a truly awesome game.The presentation is top notch as usual, the sound is awesome, though i do think the music was better in last years game, and the graphics are really impressive. However where this game truly shines is in the game play. It is very responsive and intuitive with a ton of options to customize the way you play or your skill level. for example if you're comfortable hitting you can bump up your difficulty to veteran for batting while being able to have your pitching set to an easier interface and still choose manual or auto fielding. If you're a fan of baseball this game is for you, however casual fans will find this game quite fun and exciting. Baseball fans rejoice the show is back and better than ever.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MLB 14 The Show
YES!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/14
usnturner11
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Got this for the PS3 so i can quench my thirst for baseball until may when i can trade the game in with the coupon to get the game for 19.99 for the ps4. I only just watched the opening sequence and played a quick game but presentation doesn't disappoint. Sure the graphics, animations, and detail will be ungodly when the PS4 edition comes out, but MLB The Show has always boasted some of the best graphics on PS3. Welcome to the show people. can't wait to start my RTTS tonight. Also, i'm pretty sure they have cross-game saves too which will be amazing when the ps4 comes out so i don't have to start over like i did in NBA 2k14. Only thing i might do is change my guy's look a little bit and we'll be back in business. Love this series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MLB 14 The Show
CANT WAIT
Posted on:3/23/14
CodyRKonPS3
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
I'm very new to playstation and just got my PS3 last month! I was an Xbox gamer and was forced into buying MLB 2K each year and it got so old so fast every year. But the first game I got for PS3 was MLB 13 the Show and I can't describe how amazing this game is, I seriously cannot wait to finally be excited to pick up a baseball game on it's release day and not pay attention in school due to the excitement, this game will be amazing and I just know it because hey, when has MLB the Show ever let down. See you all on April 1st! Add me on PS3: CodyRK so we can play together sometime. Game on baseball fans!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
usnturner11
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about usnturner11 is loaded.
Additional information about usnturner11 could not be loaded.
Don't listen to ScootFL
Posted 4/1/14
No disrespect to ScootFla, but i think its absolutely not the same. if you read all the additions to the game, including a bunch for RTTS, it is far from the same game. I love baseball. been a passion of mine since i was 3. I have played every MLB The Show game since it game out in i believe in 06. I will admit there are things they had in the first few that seem to have disappeared over the years, but the game is still amazing. graphics are amazing, gameplay is amazing, and if you really love baseball, you won't get bored too quick. especially if you decide to try out doing a RTTS in different positions. i always make a starting pitcher and a middle infielder. lots of fun to go from pitching an comlete game shut out to hitting 3 homers. its an easy way to "spice things up."
Customer Avatar
ScootFla
Lakeland, FLA
 
Please wait while more information about ScootFla is loaded.
Additional information about ScootFla could not be loaded.
MLB The Show gets old very fast every year too
Posted 3/25/14
Unless you're playing MLB The Show for other modes OTHER than RTTS, you'll find it as disappointing as you say MLB2K games are. Nothing ever changes with RTTS -- just like in MLB2K games, you get to the major leagues and you just play for a higher salary year after year and sometimes get traded to a team you don't want to play on (until year 6). I'm glad you're excited, but you must be liking the game for online features and NOT RTTS because it becomes old after several weeks. And for MLB The Show 14, they added absolutely nothing for RTTS players.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for MLB 14 The Show
Like night and day
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/14
gladiswitched
I recently purchased The Show 14 and a PS3 after many years of playing xbox 360 and having to play 2k baseball. I'd have to say, just WOW! It's like night and day. This game is simply outstanding and blows 2k away. I'm now regretting waiting so long to make the switch back to The Show(had it for ps2). It's so realistic, great graphics, great sound , and great playability. It's so nice to play a baseball game you actually enjoy. I had to put up with a less than average game for the last 5 years. I am really glad I picked up this game. Great game! Definitely pick it up!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MLB 14 The Show
The best baseball game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/14
YunDarvit
Location: Glendale, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
graphic got better, more reality, and softer. I have PS3 and MLB 13 The Show, when I compare two games, I can say 14 is much better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MLB 14 The Show
Good changes to Road to the Show
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/14
CharleyCoug
Location: Portland, OR
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you have played this series before, then you will be familiar with the gameplay as not much has changed there. The major change this year is with the Road to the Show feature, which has greatly improved. You now start off in a 3 game Prospect Feature Showcase, where you play vs the 3 other regions a prospect can be from (West, Central, East, International). You then enter the draft, and can choose to either join the team that drafts you, or, attend a various number of college/junior college options. I just joined the team that drafted me (Toronto) in the second round, so I have yet to experience what happens if you decide to go to college. I imagine that you are given some more experience points to improve your player, and then you enter another draft a few years down the line. There is only one thing that bugs me about this game, which is also why I gave it a 3 on sound: There is a very annoying crowd cheering noise that repeats about once every 6 or 7 seconds. But, since that is really the only negative about this game, I strongly suggest getting it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for MLB 14 The Show
CANNOT WAIT
Posted on:11/7/13
JetMan
Location: Milwaukee, WI
I have all of the games since 09 and I think this will be the best one yet. Playing this on the PS4 will be amazing. Hope it is as good on the PS3!
21 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MLB 14 The Show
April in the D
Posted on:3/13/14
irvich
Location: escanaba, michigan
I can't wait for this game to come out. I wish I had a PS4! I will be buying this game day 1. GO TIGERS!!!
11 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Slimturkey16
 
Please wait while more information about Slimturkey16 is loaded.
Additional information about Slimturkey16 could not be loaded.
#boston
Posted 4/2/14
Tigers suck but I'll be getting this game thanks for the heads up when it comes out
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for MLB 14 The Show
MLB 14
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/14
gfc110660
Location: Farmingdale, NY
The game is fine and an upgrade over 13. I do have several problems/complaints:The points earned are not equal to the points necessary for example, I bought 50K worth of points as I selected both a closer and a shortstop. I loaded the points on both selections and both earn about 75-100 points per game. Now the closer earned about 60 saves and all of the points earned went to the attributes. By the end of the season my total actually went down as the "cost" to increase ability exceeded the points earned. So after a season where I saved every game and did not increase anything but pitching and participated in every practice and got the "gold' my ability went down. For the SS I earned more points as I played every game and my ability was about the same as the season concluded. so I think that the game would prove to be better if your training points were the amount required to get the medal and not the paultry 400 points. For the closer I also did the practice and struck out and got out all except 1 base hit and the base hit cost me 150 points and it reduced my medal to silver for one session. Why is a strikeout 200 points and a single cost 150?
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for MLB 14 The Show
Best Baseball game I have ever played!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/14
FreeNMotion
Location: Americam Fork, UT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
They improved so many things on it. I love the game-play and choices they put in the game. Still has that same dumb stuff every other sport game has; impossible plays by the computers, computers cheat. Bad. Always. Got to build into it though.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for MLB 14 The Show
most fun I've had playing a baseball game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/14
mlb77
Location: kennet mo
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the one thing that makes this game so much fun for me is the RTTS player lock being available for every game mode. i've never played the rtts mode because i like to manage my roster (set my line ups, make trades, edit my players, create new rookies etc.) and rtts wouldn't allow me to do that. with this game i can select season mode, create my own player, place the player lock on my own player and still manage my roster, manage the team etc. for me its the best of both worlds, rtts and season/ franchise mode. graphics are unreal. game play is tough, but that is a trade mark of the mlb show games. the good news is the game play is not so difficult that it turned me off to the game. i have the show 13, mlb 2k 10, 11, and 12. i enjoy all of those games, but i am addicted to this game. 10/10 rating, no major complaints.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for MLB 14 The Show
Great Game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/14
kyleblack251988
Location: Temecula CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the best baseball game I have ever played. The graphics are out of this world and the gameplay is awesome. They should make the fielding easier though.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for MLB 14 The Show
MLB 14:The Show is a grand slam!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/14
HeartthrobOfficial
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been playing the MLB: The Show series for a few years on my PS3, and love the gameplay and the graphics. They get better each year. This year is no different. The presentation is solid, with the commentary, and how smooth everything happens. The only difference this year I noticed was in the commentary. A very small change, is that in previous years, the commentators would make comments reacting to a pitch that may have been called a strike when the replay showed it be just out of the zone, or if a pitch SHOULD have been called strike three or ball four, but wasn't. In reality, it had zero effect on the gameplay. One addition I do like, is you can take your created player and use them in future editions of the game. Love that! Overall, it's a great game, and MLB fans will have a blast playing it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for MLB 14 The Show
Not worth 10 cents
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/14
Redneck4Bengals
Location: Charlotte
Game constantly freezes while trying to play online. I finished one game of the 7 or 8 that I played because it freezes every game. I have the fastest internet my cable service provides and play other games with no problem. Don't waste your money
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MLB 14 The Show
Online gameplay has SERIOUS issues right now.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/14
CopperheadMojo
Location: Jackson, MS
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
MLB'14 delivers the same awesome graphics & sounds as usual from this franchise, and the offline RTTS is solid. The addition of the player showcase before the draft was a nice addition, and the between-appearances music is way better. The online gameplay has serious issues right now, though. Hopefully a patch will come out soon correcting them. Umpires call runners safe, then it shows as an out during the next at-bat. Wild-pitches often glitch game to a stand-still for almost 2 minutes, etc. Sometimes shows the ball being thrown to certain base, but ball arrives to a totally different fielder. To faithful MLB:The Show players, these faux-pas are unacceptable, game-changing mishaps that need fixing. Other than the online issues, MLB'14 gives the same experience you've grown to expect.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 16 for MLB 14 The Show
Simply Unbelievable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/14
miguel24cabrera
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I didnt think that Sony would pay much attention to this game since the ps4 came out and they'd pay more attention to developing the ps4 version and this would simply be mlb the show 13.5 with updated rosters. Was I wrong. The major thing I noticed was the player faces look a lot more realistic then 13, the game play has gotten better and even the announcing has, but still gets VERY repetitive and has been long overdue for a change and overhaul. Other then that this game is flawless and adding the year to year save just made it better. Perfect game of baseball.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for MLB 14 The Show
Still 720p??? Ps4 version gets the spotlight
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/14
ClashWIthSociety
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The show 14 has some bright spots when it comes to the tweaks they made in RTTS (road to the show) and diamond dynasty, even some nice changes made in the "play now" mode. The player lock feature is cool, it gives the player a different point of view of gameplay, kind of like a sneak peak of RTTS. The logo editor is still basically the same for diamond dynasty but they added a logo vault for users to share and download logos. The gameplay is still great, they give the gamer plenty of gameplay choices based on how experienced you are. There's lots of great additions to this game, more than the usual year to year additions expected, but there's one thing that really bugs me: 720p. Why??? Why STILL 720p??? Obviously they're pushing for gamers to go out and buy a ps4 and buy the ps4 version that comes out in May, but there's still a huge market out there of gamers who aren't going to buy a ps4 or won't for awhile at least, so this is it for them. This is the best gets. I'll be buying the ps4 version when it's released, but I would be very underwhelmed if I bought this version and saw the mediocre visuals they stuck us with for ANOTHER year. At least make the resolution 1080p and make some lighting updates!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for MLB 14 The Show
the show is still great
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/14
tdruf
Location: mt. prospect
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Solid game but really wish I would have bought the next gen ps4 bc I feel like the developers focused more on that version.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MLB 14 The Show
best mlb the show yet.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/14
conyackim
Location: Aurora, Colorado
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The road to the show is better, you get to prove yourself and not just pick a team. The controls are a little better and easier to use. I like the player lock on the other modes. It allows you to treat it like rtts. Also in rtts you can play your favorite player which is a big plus.And it all transfers to the newer games. I hate making new games, and having to start over, so the new transfer is great and i cant wait to play newer games not having to restart. Because not once have i been able to take my player to the hall of fame. I also like that they give you points to spend in the playstation network fro skill points or other things to help you along the way. I highly recommend this game for anyone who loves mlb the show franchise.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for MLB 14 The Show
Great overall game play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/14
Nocti
Location: Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've played a few of these games in this franchise and each one has its own appeal to it. I did not like how they took off the commentary durring game play in RTTS, it is great to hear them go play by play on or off the field. Now im sure the graphics engine is a lot better on the PS4 how ever this review is for the PS3. Fielding is a bit tricky of LF CF and RF you have to really look at the screen to see the indicator to see where the ball will be, it adds to the realism, 1B,2B,SS,3B are all great easy to play, Pitching and Catching is still a bit tricky even more so in the minor leagues most times the pitch wont go where it is intended, Other then that the game is great and i suggest it to any sports game fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>