GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Demon Gaze

Oz awakens to find himself in Misred - a cursed land at the world's western frontier - with a dark shroud covering certain memories of his past. The land before him contains many labyrinths that hold both treasure and danger in equal volumes. Without knowing where else to go or what else to do, Oz decides to take up arms in order to hunt down artifacts and eke out a living in this world that feels so new to him. One day, he will have to face his past, but until then, he has no choice but to trust those around him, and in his newfound abilities as a "Demon Gazer"...
Average Customer Rating:
7.4
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 560%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Demon Gaze
Review 1 for Demon Gaze
OLD SCHOOL JRPG/DUNGEON CRAWLER
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/14
Deathshand40
Location: Everett, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't usually write reviews but here goes. This game was bought on a whim. Its really old school when it comes to the dungeon crawler. The maps reminded me of old school wolfenstein type. Where you walk on squire at a time and your in first person mode. The battles are truly old school. You only see the enemies on the screen. This game wasnt made on a huge budget clearly. But if you are looking for a real good jrpg that has a heck of a challenge (you can change the difficulties). Has a good selection of party members(different classes to choose from and you pick what classes each character is). Mix and matching your party members and classes makes a world of difference when it comes to fights. I highly recommend this game to any hardcore jrpg fan looking for something old school and refreshing. If you care for a game being high quality graphics and voices half there i would not get this.Oh and one more thing i forgot to mention that i feel is important. This is a strongly text based game, so alot of reading and ofcourse being a jrpg a slow start but once you get through it can be very addicting.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Demon Gaze
The Best DungeonCrawler in a WHILE
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/14
PoisonCube
Location: Miami, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you like old school RPG dungeon crawling, then you will adore this game. Not only did I play through it with headphones on due to its old-school but great soundtrack, I admired the hand-drawn visuals and was totally immersed in the Demon Gaze universe. I worried about my bag getting full, my party members HP's and Boss levels with complete immersion. I hadn't felt that since I played Fallout3 in 2008 or the mod recent Etrian game. You grind. You loot and power up your arsenals. You capture demons. I'm glad i got NISA's limited edition :P
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Demon Gaze
It is better than expected.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/14
Schneizer
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Watch gameplay trailers to help you decide . But, this game is better than I expected. I did not like the first Etrian Odyssey for the DS, the game was punishing and I vowed to never pick up another dungeon crawler again, this game proved that wrong. For a pilot game, here's me hoping for future installments, it's pretty good. The difficulty spikes throughout the game and it WILL take you by surprise if you are not prepared. This game taught me the power of STRATEGY rather than just GRINDING out levels to overcome bosses. The story can be predictable but at the same time you wouldn't mind since it's also hilarious. This game basically became my gateway to the Dungeon Crawler genre... Give the game a try and play more than 30 minutes of it, I'm sure you'll get hooked like I did.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Demon Gaze
Its a Grind
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/14
spyke01
Location: Anacoco, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It almost feels like a game ruined by my most hated element...level grinding. After the initial storyline (great by the way) you start the battles. The controls are a little strange for someone who is used to dual analog sticks for other games bu once the battles start the game isn't too bad until you realize that the first boss will wipe you out in just a few hits.
The lack of instructions and tutorials in vital areas such as character race and stats selection means that if you choose the wrong race for a character you will have to rack up another 500G to rebuild that character as a new lv1 sidekick.
Also all new sidekicks come in as level 1 meaning that you will have to get each new member up to par before tackling large foes. Couple this with the fact each time you leave the inn and come back your rent goes up at least 5G, not so bad at first but after a few rounds your rent will be 100G of that 125G you just made.
All in all I think the game is a nice one but has a few areas that just breaks it for me. Judge for yourself, but for me its not one with much value.
My Gaming Genres: Mainly JRPG, Fighting, & FPS/Adventure
Game Choices: Persona Series, Tekken, DoA, Bioshock Series, Assasins Creed Series, Wolfenstein, Tales Series, Persona Series, old school such as Chrono Trigger, Seiken Densetsu
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Schneizer
 
Please wait while more information about Schneizer is loaded.
Additional information about Schneizer could not be loaded.
Race and Stat Allocation
Posted 6/1/14
"The lack of instructions and tutorials in vital areas such as character race and stats selection means that if you choose the wrong race for a character you will have to rack up another 500G to rebuild that character as a new lv1 sidekick."
While picking the Race of the new character, under the base stats of that race, the game tells you which areas the particular race is proficient.
Human, well balanced(= All Stat)
Elf, Lacks muscle( - STR) but are very smart (+INT)
the same goes for all other Races.
As for stats, the TUTORIAL goes with you throughout the game... press Triangle (Menu), Press Start(Help), Select Status and scroll down to "Status 2/3". it explains what each attribute, STR, INT, MYS, VIT, AGI, and LUC, does.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Demon Gaze
This game...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/14
MajorDan
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got to say I was expecting more from it. If you like first person dungeon crawlers then this game is for you. I was expecting a more 3D like dungeon, but that is my fault for not getting more information about the game. If you can get passed odd graphics and first person classic style game then you will probably like it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Demon Gaze
Potential!
Posted on:1/3/14
FutureHunter
Location: Henderson, NV
I am always on the look out for solid if not great ps vita games. This one has a lot of potential in the fact it speaks of both action and mystery. I love a fighting game as much as the next person and pure fighting games are wonderful in my opinion for stress relief, but I am really hoping that this game has an amazing plot and storyline as well. The description gives great potential for that so I hope the game can live up to its potential.
I do realize that the whole lost memory, new land, with some destiny or special power has been done multiple times before, even recently (exp: Rune Factory 4 for the 3DS). I would however like to see what kind of twist this game puts on it and I will also admit that anything with the word demon catches my though that does not mean I will buy it but it does assure that I will be checking it out.
So in conclusion I look forward to what this game could be and have pre-ordered it, but it is still a toss up. I will be reviewing after I have played it but until then I suggest if you like this category of game and wish to take a possible risk on it then go for it, if not wait for more reviews to come out and then make your decision especially since as of when I am typing the buzz no pre-order bonus is attached to this game that could lead to missing out on something.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
crayzi78psn
miami fl
 
Please wait while more information about crayzi78psn is loaded.
Additional information about crayzi78psn could not be loaded.
one of japans mozt surprising under dogs
Posted 3/20/14
In japan this game was released only woth 10,000 in mind to be sold in the first month it stormed off shelves at an alarming rate it was back ordered as to date over 100,000 sold so yes a great game its a disgea type humor mixed with blazblue cutscenes and great replay value
Comments (1)
Comment (1)