GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes

MGSV: GZ gives core fans the opportunity to get a taste of the world-class production's unparalleled visual presentation and gameplay before the release of the main game. It also provides an opportunity for gamers who have never played a Kojima Productions game, and veterans alike, to gain familiarity with the radical new game design and unparalleled style of presentation.The critically acclaimed Metal Gear Solid franchise has entertained fans for decades and revolutionized the gaming industry. Kojima Productions once again raises the bar with the FOX Engine offering incredible graphic fidelity and the introduction of open world game design in the Metal Gear Solid universe. This is the experience that core gamers have been waiting for.
Average Customer Rating:
6.095
6.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
13 out of 2162%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
Review 1 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
Metal Gear Solid: The Phantom Pain
Posted on:12/9/13
iLoveNintendoFlo
Location: America
WOW. This game looks great! I have been a gamer for years now. But few games make you feel bad about the people you kill or have as compeax and meaningful storys as Metal Gear Solid. The story looks to be VERY DARK and show the sarrow of war. I am a have loved the MGS games they have amazing gameplay! The graphics from the inestments and the animals & bird in them. To the chearters and the sound of hearing your boots in the crunch in the sandy dirt. Make you feel like your really thare. This game looks amazing! I love the animations and Snakes new abitlys to dive and jump more freely. That should make moment more natural and enjoyible. Also I love the new voice actor for Snake. I think he shows more emoation and is better for the story than David Hayter. Personaly I never liked David Hayter work. And his talking for Snake took me out of the expreance. So yeah. Sorry if you disagree. But this game looks amazing! My only consern is that they will try to be lustful with the girl chearters like they did in MGS 4 that takes me out of the story and feels distastful and sinful. So yeah don't do that! I am going to buy a PS4 with this game and Infamous Second Son. I hope more amazig PS4 games come out both Big blockbusters and Indie's! I love gaming. Also please watch the trailer bellow! this video it's the director's cut. My friend loved this Song so much he downloaded it for his 3DS. I am also a big Nintendo fan if you have a Wii U follow me on Miiverse Nintendo Net Work Id 3DSFlo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
I feel sorry for them people. God's Childern. :(
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
SCAM!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/14
jajajajajaj
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Do not buy this game; it is literally one level long, as in 1 singular level. That's it! That’s the game; it takes ten minutes to finish the game. There are side missions that are available that provide no story progression at all. Even if they did, again, it is all on the same level; they just change the weather and move the soldiers around. Why anyone, including fans of the franchise, would ever pay for this game is beyond reason. I have never been so disappointed in a game given how much hype has been built around it. The entire game is viewable online; it’s the extended trailer with gameplay. I cannot begin to understand where they came up with the price for this game. This should have been DLC for the previous game because there is absolutely no reason this should have even been on a separate disk.
I returned the game immediately afterwards, I will not be buying the actual game with the remaining 99% of content on it, nor will I be buy any future metal gear solid titles.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
can't wait
Posted on:11/24/13
classicsagat
This feels impossible to wait for. It's 30 bucks. Totally worth it. Who wouldn't get this? It looks amazing! A must have for any Metal Gear Solid fan.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
14 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
Don't buy it, rent it
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/14
dnlcod3
Location: Not important
The game is short, extremely short. I have no idea how anyone can justify a $30 dollar price tag on this. In terms if gameplay, the game is a step back from MGS4. The stealth is less tense, and the penalties for triggering an alert are more of an inconvenience now thanks to Snake's regenerating health. There are some stupid design decisions as well. Snake can only carry two guns, which sounds fine but Snake most constantly fight APC's, soldiers, and other vehicles. If Snake could carry multiple weapons then he could combat everything without needing to run back to the one spot were the player left his/her rocket launcher, C4, rifle, tranq gun, ect... 5 facets of the game really baffle me: 1. Reflex mode: Upon being spotted Snake enters slow-mo to take out those that have spotted him. If he takes them out then no alert stage is entered. This makes the game extremely easy, even on hard. There is an option to turn it off, but a better system was already in MGS4. If Snake neutralized all guards that spotted him before they radioed for back-up an alert would end. 2. The game is to easy, even on hard Snake can mow down the entire base with ease. 3. Snake has the most annoying running sound in any video game I have ever played. 4. Peace Walker was a very flawed game, and overall not a good game. However, it is canonical in the Metal Gear universe. At the end of Peace Walker, Snake decides to ditch the code-name Snake, and finally accept the title Big Boss. So why is he going by Snake again? 5. Why is Kiefer Sutherland voicing Snake? David Hayter isn't just the voice of Snake, he is a better voice actor. I have no idea why Kojima replaced a man regarded as one of the best voice actors in the industry. Ground Zeroes is an overpriced demo that deflated my hype for MGSV. If GZ is a vertical slice of TPP like it should be, then The Phantom Pain is definitely a step back.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 5 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
Not Worth 30 bucks!! It's a demo!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/14
Invictus165
I was so excited when I bought this game because I am a fan of the Metal Gear Solid series and I've played all the games. When I finished the first mission and I saw the credits I was very disappointed. This was just a demonstration of the actual game, Metal Gear Solid Ground Zeroes Phantom Pain. I passed this game in 30 minutes. I think this game should have been a demo given in PSN rather than sold at store. Completely disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
YEAAAAH LETS GO!!!!!!!
Posted on:12/12/13
JIG2000
I looked online today to find an update on MGS V and I found out that its coming March 2014 so ITS ON TO GET MY PS4 before March and Pre-order infamous and MGS. I have been I big fan of all canonical Metal Gears in existence including Rising. I LOVED all of Kojima's games and since he doesn't make games every year (COD, Assassin's Creed) and puts a lot of time to make each one great and they've all been masterpieces. I will pre-order when I get my PS4 to get the most out of MGS V.
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
Short, sweet, and to the point
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/14
firetomysoul
Location: Rochester, ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
What an amazing game. Game play is well tooled.Extra missions are fun. The story line is well planed, you definitely feel drawn into the game from all sides. Well the biggest gripe is the price of the game. I really feel that $30 is asking way too much for what is being offered. However PS store had a flash stale on the game and i snagged it up for $13(perfect price point). Point is get it cheep and you will have your self a 10* game . Pay retail and you will feel ripped off.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jajajajajaj
Cincinnati, OH
 
Please wait while more information about jajajajajaj is loaded.
Additional information about jajajajajaj could not be loaded.
Posted 9/1/14
So it's not worth $30 then? Yet you gave it 10/10. You sort of contradicted yourself, not a very informative review.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
hmmmmmm?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/14
Ninjagaiden
Location: schenectady,ny
this is by far one of the best and one of the worst games I ever played and here is why. Graphics: Beyond any I ever seen just reeking of awesomeness. Sound: great but im not used to hearing somebody else's voice coming from snake. Length: poorly I can not explain how disappointed I was beating everything in a half hour arrrrggghhhh how appalling from and for a metal gear game. I will highly talk about it all but for metal gear phantom pain is like this but hopefully longer gameplay instead of yeah woo hoo im playing im playing awwww that's it credits rolling gameover sheesh well I will continue with my metal gearness since I have then all have fun gamers
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
Can't Wait To Play It!
Posted on:11/26/13
Capcomfan2010
Location: Plainfield, IL
Man I've been looking forward to this game ever since it's been announced everything about this game looks stunning.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
Great game, don't buy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/14
dnlcod3
Location: Not important
Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes -Tactical Espionage Action needs two things. 1. A shorter title 2. To be more than a demo. This game provides up to 5 hours of entertainment maximum unless the player milks out an experience for the asinine price of $30. The gameplay is great. Shooting is the most functional as its ever been, yet stealth is slightly inferior to MGS3 and MGS4. The small base Snake roams around in is well designed, and the lack of objective markers is a nice touch. The story isn't convoluted this time, but it isn't good either this time. There are to many discrepancies with its own story and so much left unexplained, failing to be evocative in all but one scene. The graphics are amazing, better than the 360 yet the PS3 suffers from frame-rate drops, never pushing below 20fps thankfully. A major problem that disappoints many fanboys (and me, who isn't one) is the voice change for Snake. David Hayter is easily one of the best voice actors of all time, why has he been replaced. Hayter is easily the superior voice actor for Snake; Sutherland is good, just not as fantastic as Hayter. Overall, there would be little enmity for Ground Zeroes, if it wasn't for the fact that it is $30. If this was $5 or even $10 the price could be justified, but with this little content it isn't.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 11 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
MGSV: Ground Zeroes is AMAZING!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/14
Bazzle313
Location: Detroit, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is quite an amazing piece of art/entertainment. I personally have been waiting for a new MGS release for 3+ years now, and finally it has come out!!! Although the main campaign is quite short (which I knew before purchasing) it still has massive replay value and just makes you want to play The Phantom Pain even more once it is finally released. I already have over 8 hours into the game and I only have a 9% completion rating. So if that doesn't tell you that this game has plenty to offer, than I don't know what will. All I can say now is if you are a Metal Gear fan as I am, then this is a MUST BUY for you! BRING ON TPP!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
hard for cod gamers
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/14
jjcool66
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game. it short and sweet. got me ready for the real mgs 5. better to rent than get cause I finshed it in 1 day.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 13 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
NO DAVID HAYTER!
Posted on:12/29/13
Ocelot2000
I know this game has amazing graphics and all, but, something seems missing. Like something isnt there that should be, and thats because there is. David Hayter isnt voicing Snake, or really its Big Boss. Kojima just kept everything a secret from him until eventually he found out on his own that Kiefer Sutherland is taking his place. He should at least tell him straight. Im not saying the game is bad; its an awesome game, and im getting it, but i wont feel the same rush that i do when i hear david hayters voice.
6 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SgtHorvas
 
Please wait while more information about SgtHorvas is loaded.
Additional information about SgtHorvas could not be loaded.
Posted 3/18/14
To be fair with the way MGS4 wrapped up it makes plenty of sense to go back and change big boss' voice although ya tell your old guy what's happening
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
i'm heart broken.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/14
aceifer
Location: buffalo
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the absolute worst in the series. bad controls,poor rehashed story, playing the same map through the game after each mission only with new objectives. yeesh!!!! how lazy were the creators riding on an old horse. I'm am completely shocked Kojima would put this junk out. would have been ok in 2003, maybe. I think this is the last we'll see of snake unfortunately, well maybe in the used bins.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
this game should have cost 60 and the other one to
Posted on:1/19/14
idario
Location: pennsilvania
where can i post a five star on this game is to much it beats any game on the market i play a lot of games tat also other people beast for but this game is one to break history better than any game out there sorry call of duty u nothing compare the same goes for grandtheft auto to this i rather play this game then any other game i was gonna buy gran turismo 6 but naa is not worth it as soon as i saw this i don't want any games i also have a lot of friends i mean a lot i but they all herd of this game but cant afford it they very poor only if i had money to buy multiple copys like i said before i dont care spending 120.00$ on this game i mean american dollars or euros too or even gold or diamonds . hey kojima i only have diamonds u want them exchange for mgsv, thanks u
0 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
Dont listen to bad reviews
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/14
funnyboy
MGSV:GZ is a very good game. for everyone who says the game is a rip off and a scam shouldn't be allowed to play games cause Kojima announced that it was a prologue to phantom pain. people who didnt do there research or pay attention to the info dont know about the game so they said bad things even though this game has alot of replay value. theres side ops when you beat the main mission and as well if you collect all the xof tags you get a "secret" mission :D buy this game even if you dont know the story line cause theres an option that tells you what leads up to this mission. i recommend this game to the fullest and is a must buy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jajajajajaj
Cincinnati, OH
 
Please wait while more information about jajajajajaj is loaded.
Additional information about jajajajajaj could not be loaded.
sorry but...
Posted 4/7/14
Yes I don't do more research for a game than the length of time it takes to complete it (not even an hour). Kudos for giving it a 10/10 for replayability, too bad it's not. Also I like your recommendations, nothing says biased like suggesting title of the same game, not very diverse.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
great game but way to short
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/14
JPT012182
Location: West Grove Pa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is a great game but it's way to short it only has one setting that takes you to one place and you have to save two people and once they are saved the game is over it only takes like an hour to beat so save your money torwards a longer lasting game
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 18 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
Awesome!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/14
Gaberguy95
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Now, before you listen to all those other people who say this game is like a demo, hear me out. This game is short. I get that. But everyone who bought this game knew it was going to be a prelude into Phantom Pain and yet tons and tons of people pre-ordered it and bought it. The gameplay is by far the best of the series. The graphics are hands down amazing. The cutscenes, which were few because of the length of the game, had me hooked to the edge of my couch. And this game only cost $30 at it's release! I suggest you all get this game because I just can't get enough of it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jajajajajaj
Cincinnati, OH
 
Please wait while more information about jajajajajaj is loaded.
Additional information about jajajajajaj could not be loaded.
lies
Posted 4/7/14
this game is better than Snake Eater, is that what you are saying? This 15 minute game is better than games that take 15 hours? My point has been made.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/14
bigboss541
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game was good but their where some minor things that i didn't like the story didn't catch much my attention because David hayter was not the voice of big boss, plus the story and the the side missions was too short. But other than that it had the best gameplay i've ever experience in the mgs series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes
A player cleared this game in 6 minutes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/14
TLLL
Location: Austin, TX
This is literally a high quality demo. I am offended that they would market it as a game. Average play time is 1 hour. Just save your money.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 2 next>>