GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

The Seagate® Expansion External hard drive by Seagate offers an easy-to-use solution when you need to instantly add data storage to your computer.
Average Customer Rating:
7.889
7.9
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 978%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
Review 1 for Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
Works well with Xbox One.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/15
Location: Van Nuys, Ca
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Alright, I bought this expansion hard drive cause I ran out of memory space on my Xbox One. (I have a 500gb one) Got home opened the box, read the instructions, very simple installation.Box includes the hard drive, 3.0 usb cable, and the power plug,(also the instructions manual, along with the 1 year warranty). Almost ready to use instantly, formatting on the Xbox just takes a few minutes. Takes up about 260gb, so you get 2.7tb out of it, plus the 500gb you have already. Only two things that bothered me at first, were that one, it's kind of big. (About the size of three Xbox one game case stacked). Second was that you can sometimes notice the fan it has, when its very quiet, but It's something that doesn't bother me anymore. Other than that it works great, I have recommended to a cousin, he had bought a WD hard drive and was freezing up his console, he ended up buying one of these himself and it has worked fine. Well, this is my review, based off on my experience with the Seagate 3Tb Expansion Hard drive. Thanks for reading, hope it helps.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
36 of 36 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
Above Comment
Posted on:11/29/14
Location: KS
Whoever wrote that did not know what they are talking about, just bought one for my xbox and it works perfect. Awesome hard drive. It's a must have if you like owning a good size collection of games.
30 of 30 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
Super Easy Way To Expand
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/15
Location: East Providence, RI
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This was so easy to install on the xbox one!! It was set up in like 5mins and my hard drive went from 96.8% to 10.6% full!! Was worth every penny!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
Very good hard drive.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/15
Location: USA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Walked into Gamestop looking for an external hard drive for my Xbox One. Walked out with this product and couldn't be happier with the choice. It's small so it fits nicely just about anywhere. It is not loud at all like another review claimed it to be. You plug it in to an outlet and then to the Xbox One with the USB cable. The Xbox will ask you to format it and that takes about 20 seconds. After that, you now have 3 more TB to use on your console.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BruceNV
 
Please wait while more information about BruceNV is loaded.
Additional information about BruceNV could not be loaded.
Posted 6/18/15
Does the unit power off when the Xbox powers off? Is there a manual shut off switch?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
Amazing hard drive for the xbox one!
Posted on:11/30/14
Location: dub
i had gotten a 3tb hard drive the the same time the dashboard preview updated to let us use them and it did not work very well due to the fact that it kept going into a "sleep mode" then i got this hard drive and everything works alot better ! the person who gave this a low rating does not know what he was doing! i formated it to use saved games and installed games!
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mikey120
 
Please wait while more information about Mikey120 is loaded.
Additional information about Mikey120 could not be loaded.
NEED AN OPINION PLZ!!!!
Posted 12/26/14
was looking to buy this hard drive to expand my memory for my xbox one. only have 30 gb left......saw someone posted that it works great and they formatted it to install and save games or something like that??? how do u format it? is it easy to get it working with your xbox one? someone please help...i have a 100 dollar gift card for gamestop and i dont want to use it on this if it wont work.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
Fast 'n Easy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/15
Location: Maine
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
quick n easy set up. saw it cheaper else where , but i stick to Gamestop for all my gaming needs. just plug it in and follow the pop-ups. set it up for external storage and you are good to go. i have yet to hear any noise coming from this unit. just a flashing blue light when on
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
Exactly what I needed to expand my XBox One Memory
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/14
Location: Mt. Dora, FL
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This unit installed very quickly, is low profile, runs quiet and does it's job well. The console will ask if you want the hard drive to be the primary location for newly installed games. I set it to my default and it works great.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
FANTASTIC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/15
Location: Lorain, OH
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
A absolute must have for anyone with a Xbox One.. Works great, silent, easy setup. Only complaint is the size but if you can find a nice spot for it like myself it's perfect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TheRev
Jacksonville, FL
 
Please wait while more information about TheRev is loaded.
Additional information about TheRev could not be loaded.
Not powered by USB
Posted 5/8/15
the product description clearly states the following: Setup is straightforward; simply plug in the included power supply and USB cable, and you are ready to go. It is automatically recognized by the Windows® operating system, so there is no software to install and nothing to configure. Saving files is easy too - just drag-and-drop. Included power supply means it plugged into a power strip on the wall not powered by USB.
Customer Avatar
LethelLlama
Edgewater, MD
 
Please wait while more information about LethelLlama is loaded.
Additional information about LethelLlama could not be loaded.
External Power?
Posted 5/7/15
I've been considering buying this, but the main thing I'm looking for in an external drive is it being Powered VIA USB. Not having another power cord I have to plug in to my maxed out power strip. So, does this use USB or External for it's power?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
Great product
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/14
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It does exactly what it's supposed to do, and does it well. It is not noisy as one person has said..
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
Noisy, Noisy, Noisy!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/14
Location: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this for my Xbox One. I have it set up on my entertainment center and I have to unplug it when I'm not using it because the noise is outregous. Seriously, if your watching TV and there's a moment of silence you can hear the thing hum it is so distracting.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
4 of 36 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
Does not work for xbox
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/14
Location: Texas
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I purchased this for my xbox one for the extra harddrive and it shows up as a hard drive for media player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 80 found this review helpful.
Comments (7)
Comments (7)
Customer Avatar
thebluewhale
 
Please wait while more information about thebluewhale is loaded.
Additional information about thebluewhale could not be loaded.
Posted 6/19/15
This was only recognized as a media player for me. Now i'm not tech savy so i probably didn't set it up right or i did something wrong. All i want it to do is allow me to download game information onto it, not media stuff.
Customer Avatar
Deso20
New Jersey
 
Please wait while more information about Deso20 is loaded.
Additional information about Deso20 could not be loaded.
um...
Posted 5/14/15
Actually it does say it works with Xbox One... You should read the description before you comment. its literally called "Xbox One 3TB Expansion USB 3.0 External Hard Drive" lol
Customer Avatar
Aizenthebeast
 
Please wait while more information about Aizenthebeast is loaded.
Additional information about Aizenthebeast could not be loaded.
it does work for xbox.
Posted 3/20/15
It works for a xbox one your just have to format it.
Customer Avatar
omar028
puerto rico
 
Please wait while more information about omar028 is loaded.
Additional information about omar028 could not be loaded.
not working for me
Posted 1/13/15
reads only as media storage i format the hdd exfat 32,nfs,fat32,did not recognized it
Customer Avatar
xbox360only
dub
 
Please wait while more information about xbox360only is loaded.
Additional information about xbox360only could not be loaded.
LOL to the tech n00b
Posted 11/30/14
ok first of all you need to format it for what you want to use it for it only asks once after it is detected or you can select it in the settings>system.(storage) manage storage
Customer Avatar
CosmicBreaker
Yakima, WA
 
Please wait while more information about CosmicBreaker is loaded.
Additional information about CosmicBreaker could not be loaded.
one word: FORMAT
Posted 11/25/14
did you format it.
Customer Avatar
Syndrical
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about Syndrical is loaded.
Additional information about Syndrical could not be loaded.
Not for Xbox
Posted 11/20/14
Yo, you shouldn't give this a bad rating because no where does it say it works for Xbox. It says PC in the description. Please read before you buy.
Comments (7)
Comments (7)