GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

The Elder Scrolls Online

Experience one connected world and stay up-to-date with everything your friends are doing in one of the most socially enabled games ever. Whether you play with your friends or adventure alone, the game's innovative mouse-driven combat system allows you to focus on action and tactics, not the user interface. Use any weapon or armor at any time and customize your abilities to play the way you want as you uncover the mysteries of Tamriel and seek heroic quests on your own terms. Explore the far reaches of Skyrim, the mysterious lands of Morrowind, the sprawling metropolis of Daggerfall and beyond. The choices you make, from the alliance you join to the battles you fight, will shape your destiny and the world of Tamriel.
Average Customer Rating:
0
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for The Elder Scrolls Online
Review 1 for The Elder Scrolls Online
The Cost of Awesomeness
Posted on:9/15/14
PanZee
Location: D.C.
Price of the game + monthly fee + Xbox Live fee + the loss of sleep, skipped meals, daydreaming about Tamriel at work . . . WORTH IT! I am a console gamer through and through, but also a huge Elder Scrolls fan. So, I bought ESO for the PC because my wife was raving about it. She, too, is a huge Elder Scrolls fan. Skyrim, the best game ever! (Her words). We’ve spent entire weekends playing ESO together. You can play alone or group with other players for almost every objective. Other players can and will help with missions, even if you’re not grouped. When ESO comes out for Xbox One, we’re there. Didn’t even mention the PvP gameplay – AWESOME!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Elder Scrolls Online
stop console subscriptions!
Posted on:6/6/14
Anonymous
Location: miami,fl
it's bad enough that the prices for these games is on a steep incline, and they show little signs of stopping. yet now we have a game for a console which we dished out hundreds of dollars for, bought accessories, the subscription for xbx live, then the games, and now they want a subscription fee. as if the company who developed the game wasn't making enough profit from the Elder Scrolls franchise as it is. Why must there be a fee? i was so interested into buying this title that I was going to order it a few moments ago, but when i read the disclaimer about the subscription fee i decided that this game, regardless of how cool it looked, was not for me. Buying this game will undoubtedly cause fees as such to become a fad and soon even games like Call of Duty will require a subscription. STOP CONSOLE SUBSCRIPTIONS!
53 of 56 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DarkPaladin
Ut
 
Please wait while more information about DarkPaladin is loaded.
Additional information about DarkPaladin could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
You sir need to re-evaluate
Posted 9/13/14
Yes, games are outrageous now days, and prices are only getting steeper. However some games are more worth it then others. You say "soon call of duty will require a subscription". yes probably. However COD is a shinny steaming pile of ... stuff... plated gold on the outside. COD takes a moderate sized team about 6 months to program each game to the point of beta testing. All elderscrolls games take a fleet of designers usually a good 3 YEARS to get to that point. Why? because it's such a huge game. As much as I hate world of warcraft, compare that game to COD. It's a huge game. So big that your pc only holds the main running programs, most of the physics, graphics, sounds, maps, etc are all ran on the servers. Why? Because otherwise it would require the pc of every player to be a good 20gb of ram EACH, or more. Games this massive you don't pay for the "privelage to play" You are paying for massive server farms that are required. Lets compare this. TES Skyrim is so massive, you can spend 100+ hours in one game, and still not discover everything. COD any game about 10 hours into it and you have seen it all. Same with halo, battlefield, etc etc. Now consider that 100+ hour game. How massive the map, and content is. Now consider that content, PLUS Morrowinds 100+ hours of content PLUS "Oblivion" 100+ hours of content, etc. And that's before considering any expansion packs. This game will likely take a good 800 hours to see the majority of, and that's before expansion packs. 15$ a month after initial pay? That's a steal of a deal my friend. Now COD on the other hand that is 60+80DLC=140 for roughly 20 hours... That is daylight robbery. I've always said that Bethesda's Massive RPG's are well worth a tall order, and no other game even comes close.
With all that said. Consider how much ram, and processing is required for this game. Now multiply it by the fact that it's an MMO. I.E. it must process that, among what? Hundreds, even thousands on the same server? If you think this game would run with even 2 players for the first 5 minutes on COD servers, battlefield servers, or anything else, you are dead wrong.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Seems like a good game, but left out one detail.
Posted on:12/20/13
DontTRIP
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
This game may be by far, the best MMORPG to date, especially for consoles. Reading up on it's story and how it will be played (it's PvP as well as the game itself) It may blow every other MMORPG out of the water. Although, the summary of the game on this page forgot to mention one CRITICAL piece of information. It will, in fact, have a $15/month subscription fee. It will not be free to play. This subscription fee also comes with the $60 original fee to buy the game. Although, you will get to play for one whole month (hold applause *sarcasm*) before you will have to pay the monthly fee in order to continue playing. Which sucks, I know. But it is an MMO. If it's as successful, content loaded, and as big of a world as they make it out to be, it could very well work. But needless to say, they will have to be pouring out tons of new content/expansions to keep subscribers interested. Hopefully, they will all be free. But if they load it with tons of microtransactions, as well as the monthly fee and the cash shop. They might as well have committed suicide to The Elder Scrolls Online.
113 of 130 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
cowboystorm
terre haute In
 
Please wait while more information about cowboystorm is loaded.
Additional information about cowboystorm could not be loaded.
my game of choice
Posted 1/26/14
I love this game (Elder Scrolls ) whats $15 a month i just hope that is worth the wait Storm Hargis
Customer Avatar
GenXdark
 
Please wait while more information about GenXdark is loaded.
Additional information about GenXdark could not be loaded.
Subs...
Posted 1/1/14
Don't let this page fool ya -- there WILL BE a $15/month subscription fee in order to enjoy this game. For this reason, I will NOT be purchasing this game, which saddens me deeply. I am a very skilled MMO veteran, I have played many, many MMOs, for a really, really long time, and this MMO was one of the ones I have been waiting for the longest. A lot of people like me are extremely saddened and disappointed by the fact this game is NOT free to play.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Just say "NO!" to console subscriptions
Posted on:5/28/14
LXCoupe
Location: Detroit, MI
I'm sure this game will be very good and fun to play, but the $15 a month is going to kill it. I was going to buy it on the release date and will not be buying it at all because of this monthly fee. Come on Bethesda this is not a PC and your pushing away gamers like me who only play on the weekends.
98 of 103 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
darthshadow
St. Louis, MO
 
Please wait while more information about darthshadow is loaded.
Additional information about darthshadow could not be loaded.
It's not Bethesda's fault.
Posted 7/30/14
This game was not developed by Bethesda(It says they do on Gamestop's listing, but that is erroneous). It was made by Zenimax, the company that owns Bethesda. All of these poor decisions are being made by Zenimax, against the will of Bethesda. So don't blame Bethesda, blame the parent company that insists on squeezing every last penny out of this legendary IP.
Customer Avatar
NickC15
Austin, TX
 
Please wait while more information about NickC15 is loaded.
Additional information about NickC15 could not be loaded.
The Price
Posted 6/15/14
I kind of agree with you, the price is outrageous. But luckily, Bethesda said that this is just the beginning price, the monthly price will stay like that for about 2 months or less and then it will slowly drop down until, hopefully, there is no price at all.
Customer Avatar
brwilliams11
Columbus, Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about brwilliams11 is loaded.
Additional information about brwilliams11 could not be loaded.
RE:
Posted 6/9/14
......Its an MMO. Any MMO that is any good is going to have some sort of monthly fee.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 5 for The Elder Scrolls Online
The Elder Scrolls Online $15 a month to play
Posted on:6/13/14
dan22
Location: New York
Not worth paying $15 a month.. You will not be able to access the game if you don't pay the fee that month.. game = $60... Fee's = $180 a year... Xbox live = $60 a year... so $300.00 just to play The Elder Scrolls Online. No thanks..
30 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Officially done and over it
Posted on:9/19/14
Brutal669x
Location: Lafayette, Indiana
I specifically purchased my xbox one to play this game just to be greeted by delay after delay and this after participating in 5 rounds of Beta testing. You can not find one credible shred of news about the console version as of this writing which has me speculating. Upon release of the news that there would be a $15.00 subscription fee on top of the $63.94 price tag (Indiana) , the net was a buzz with folks making sure Bethesda was well aware of where we thought they could stick their subscription fee. I find it funny that not long after that , closer to the June 2014 release date, they announced a delay. It wasn't much longer and yet another delay was announced. Now, no one really knows what is going on with the game.....I think Bethesda realized that the console community wanted nothing to do with their game in a subscription format and I believe the announcement that they decided to scrub the project all together is coming. I mean for PC, they are already up to update 4...yet no news for console owner....come on!!.....this is precisely how to loose your following
Review 7 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Stop Whining People
Posted on:10/19/14
fatboy13
Location: Florida,Jacksonville
I'm freaking stoked about this game. I've played it on the PC and it's well worth the 15 dollars a month... But! The Developers said they are working on freeing Xbox One users of the subscription fee, They don't want us having to pay 2 fees. So stop whining people and lets see what happens. Either way I'm still playing ESO, fee or no fee
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Not worth the cost
Posted on:4/20/14
Pwniam
Location: Limerick, PA
It is pretty obvious that this is going to be an exhilarating game filled with plenty of content, and the addition of massive multiplayer is absolutely amazing. The Elder Scrolls has been my favorite RPG series to play, but for $15 a month, I am sadly going to miss out on this new one. Plenty of people have already figured the numbers out, but to reiterate, with Xbox Live AND the game AND the subscription, the first year of owning the game will be almost three hundred dollars. Playstation owners don't need to worry about paying for Plus, but it still comes out to be over two hundred dollars. (By the way, what happened to Microsoft claiming that there will be new advantages to owning Gold much like Playstation's option to own Plus? Why can't our subscription be slightly lower?) I have no doubt that this game will do great, but they are forgetting how new EVERYTHING is. This game will be released in two months, and at that point the Xbox One will barely be half a year old. That means people who were going to buy this game have very recently spent at least half a thousand dollars just getting the console and a controller. Not only that, much of the audience includes teenagers and poor college students. In my opinion, at the very least, the subscription needs to be lowered to 5 dollars a month if not completely eliminated. Then, the content can be sold for maybe 5 or 10 dollars. Heck, you guys love doing the whole 60 dollar season pass thing, and if Call of Duty can get away with selling 4 bad maps and the same gun for 15 dollars every other month, then I'm sure a respectable game such as ESO can convince people to spend money that way. But this idea of a subscription will surely be your downfall, and I hope you're listening to your fans.
37 of 40 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Wait it Out
Posted on:4/6/14
Hoosiers7
Location: Illinois
What I'm doing with this game is that I will wait. I agree with all the others in the sense that not many people are willing to pay 180$ a year for one game. Yes, it is supposed to be "Content Packed" but I could by 3 games for the price of one ideally. I think that once it releases and their sales figures are low, they will take away or reduce the fee. At that point I would buy the game. It was a big mistake on Bethesda's part, they lost most of their fan base by doing this and now only hardcore/pro gamers are going to buy ESO. Not buying this game unless the fee is dropped or reduced. Just buy Destiny, Watchdogs, or The Division instead.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
20 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thejewster
texas
 
Please wait while more information about thejewster is loaded.
Additional information about thejewster could not be loaded.
really
Posted 4/13/14
its an MMORPG like world of Warcraft and Star Wars the old republic these always have subscription fees its mainly for running lots of servers which isnt cheap and having development teams churning out bug fixes and added content developing is also very expensive swtor cost around 200 million dollars to develop that is a but ton and also xbox live is a service that i already pay for and you cant be telling me you have a xbox one and your not paying for gold and you have internet to buy this game in all actuality most people who have an xbox have live anyways so factoring in the live cost is unfair towards the developers and also Bethesda did not make this game it was zenimax online studios you cant compare it to skyrim either because its an mmo and the initial $60 dollar fee is to pay for development costs and if you wish to further argue argue towards me im on xbox live all the time send me a message or something my gamertag KSI jfisher
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for The Elder Scrolls Online
An enormous let down
Posted on:1/30/14
rthomp
Location: Katy, TX
I don't have much to say regarding the game itself. I've only played the beta, which was pretty darn good. The one thing that holds me back COMPLETELY is the price of owning and playing this game. Here is the math I did to figure out how much it would cost to play this game for one year: $60 (the game itself) + $15 (monthly subscription fee) * 12 (months in a year) = $240. This DOESN'T include the price of XBOX LIVE either. I can buy 4 brand new xbox games with that money. If I were to play the ESO for another year, it would cost me $420. All in all, I'm just not going to pay for this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
76 of 89 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
MrClean
 
Please wait while more information about MrClean is loaded.
Additional information about MrClean could not be loaded.
do the math right
Posted 4/27/14
Who would pay $15 dollars each month instead of paying $60 for the whole year for xboxlive???
Customer Avatar
blademaster1121
MI
 
Please wait while more information about blademaster1121 is loaded.
Additional information about blademaster1121 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Posted 2/7/14
Just wait like 6 months or so after its release, it will become free to play eventually.
Customer Avatar
TylamiteRex
 
Please wait while more information about TylamiteRex is loaded.
Additional information about TylamiteRex could not be loaded.
Posted 2/2/14
Xbox Live gold is $60 a year. Buying it monthly is stupid because of its high price. So it would only cost $120 to play it the first year.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 11 for The Elder Scrolls Online
wtf
Posted on:11/18/14
christopsall
Location: jax fl
lots of cry babies in here ill gladly pay the sub just release it on xbox already and yall should not include all the xbox live fee's im sure yall would play more then eso in that month or year
Review 12 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Thanks but No Thanks
Posted on:3/4/14
Wildcat
Location: Georgia
Would love to get this game, but will not pay a $15 monthly subscription service. Sorry, but no game is worth that amount of money.
$60 cost for the game
$180 annual fee to play
on top of
Xbox Live fee and Internet costs
Best of luck to the developers on this one.
37 of 42 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Spook
 
Please wait while more information about Spook is loaded.
Additional information about Spook could not be loaded.
The monthly Fee
Posted 4/6/14
The PC has a $14.99 monthly fee, but like the Diablo 3 conversion, Microsoft is trying to eliminate that fee for the ESO on the Xbox One, because they already charge a yearly Gold subscription. They are still going over a deal with Bethesna. Even though we give Microsoft a hard time they've done some decent things, like early access to DLC
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for The Elder Scrolls Online
I understand the fee, but not for consoles...
Posted on:10/30/14
VinceJersey
Location: Florida
Look, I get the whole subscription fee for a real good MMORPG game, but I think that where they went wrong was bringing that to consoles. Monthly fee is normal to those who play on PC's but on consoles that's just wrong. I love Elder Scrolls but not for $60 then $180 every year plus online costs. Honestly if you think that this game will do good on consoles you're sadly mistaken. As for PC, I think it'll be a homerun. It's quite sad, just look at all the reviews on here already, 80% aren't getting it, and the game hasn't even come out yet!
Review 14 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Think About It.
Posted on:10/14/14
mrfobs
Alright, so I know what a lot of you are thinking. "What the heck is with the subscription fee??" Others are whining and trying to make ZeniMax take away the subscription fee. Well I have bad news. ESO is an amazing and well developed game and is very popular on PC. I played for four months before I had life and responsibilities come in that prevented me from playing. This game is long. It's fun. It's worth the money. The fee isn't going to go away, and for those of you who refuse to pay it, have fun missing out an amazing game.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ClanGamer
 
Please wait while more information about ClanGamer is loaded.
Additional information about ClanGamer could not be loaded.
not true
Posted 10/19/14
I played it and it was ok but not to pay for it. And if you go on steam everyone is saying its not that good of a game to pay a fee for.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Issues with ESO (Console)
Posted on:4/9/14
KcJTrick
The issues with ESO are simple, monthly payment. Yes this may be a common MMO theme... when on the computer. When it's on the computer it makes sense. Many people have a computer in the first place and only those dedicated will go out and buy a computer specific for a game such as World of Warcraft, however those who wish to play on a console, such as Xbox One or PS4 must obviously buy the console. So this is a payment of $400-500 depending on your preference, then there is the price of online capability, another $50-60, and of course the price of your desired game, in this case ESO, $60. So just for any game start up you're going to need to invest $510-620. But wait there's more! You have to pay $15 a month! Totaling to $180 a year... But I suppose that if you're willing to spend $690-$800 for only one year of playing the Elder Scrolls Online, it's a pretty cool game. The beta was fun and nothing short of what you would expect from an Elder Scrolls game. TONS of quests, good fighting mechanics, fun game overall.
Review 16 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Never Going to Happen
Posted on:4/5/14
Kyuzo
Location: Dallas, TX
Seems like another great Elder Scrolls game and I hate to miss it. But, I'm going to have to because of the subscription fee.
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Just wrong
Posted on:10/20/14
justaguy1
Location: Fremont, OH
Elder Scrolls is the best RPG I''ve ever played, and I''ve played a lot. I am a 40 something year old guy who makes a decent amount of money and loves RPG's . There is no way I will pay the monthly subscription fee just out of principle. To me $15 is not a lot of money, but if we gamers cave and pay it, we are telling the developers it's ok. Don't buy it and send them the message. It's just wrong.
Review 18 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Overall too expensive
Posted on:10/22/14
Murder
Location: MI
This game is going to be outrageously expensive if you count the game, the subscript fee, xbox live subscript fee, and if you are buying an xbox one for the first time along with this game.
Review 19 for The Elder Scrolls Online
SERIOUSLY
Posted on:3/8/14
glorysheart
Ive played all the elder scrolls game always been amazing but this sub monthly cost will destroy the game hands down I will refused to buy just because of the monthly cost. Because we all know every game these days has micro buys in game and the cost of xbox live on top of 60 for the game that's just stupid. DO US A FAVOR AND DROP THE SUB CHARGES!!!!! Do like everyone else put up a season pass.
15 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GR3YFOX
OREGON
 
Please wait while more information about GR3YFOX is loaded.
Additional information about GR3YFOX could not be loaded.
Not gonna bite...
Posted 6/21/14
I've loved all tes but from what I've seen on PC this looks like it's really gonna be a let down and that monthly fee makes it entirely out of the question.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Was going to buy but for $15 a month, I WILL NOT!!
Posted on:10/10/14
Peanutapt
Location: USA
I get the whole idea of next gen but increasing prices is not going to improve anything. I WONT BE GETTING THIS GAME
1 2 3 next>>