GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

The Elder Scrolls Online

Experience one connected world and stay up-to-date with everything your friends are doing in one of the most socially enabled games ever. Whether you play with your friends or adventure alone, the game's innovative mouse-driven combat system allows you to focus on action and tactics, not the user interface. Use any weapon or armor at any time and customize your abilities to play the way you want as you uncover the mysteries of Tamriel and seek heroic quests on your own terms. Explore the far reaches of Skyrim, the mysterious lands of Morrowind, the sprawling metropolis of Daggerfall and beyond. The choices you make, from the alliance you join to the battles you fight, will shape your destiny and the world of Tamriel.
Average Customer Rating:
0
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for The Elder Scrolls Online
Review 1 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Worth it/info
Posted on:12/2/13
Shisui
Location: A-town, IL
So...For anyone who doesnt know this will be a P2P game and you have to buy it for $40 im pretty sure and then a $15 a month subscription...but I got to beta test this game in the last wave and I will tell you it is definitely worth it if you enjoy either MMO's or Elder Scroll games, and if you like both you will LOVE this game! Im hoping you guys take my word for it and believe me because I want this game to be epic with as many players as possible. This is the only picture I can post due to NDA and the two exit thingys are just my computer glitching...but seriously THIS GAME IS WORTH THE MONEY ITS AMAZING ALREADY!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ruger223
Victorville CA
 
Please wait while more information about Ruger223 is loaded.
Additional information about Ruger223 could not be loaded.
The PRICE!
Posted 2/26/14
After taxes 63.41 or around there, $15 a month, $50 a year for psn or xbox subscription is CRAZY. i played WoW for 7 years add up the 15 a month and 4 $60 expansions. i at least think if this game does go to console then it should be only $5 a month sense we r paying for year memberships already.... Looks like an AMAZING GAME i played the Beta and it was AWESOME. but for people like me who work and go to school $15 a month isn't worth it. Save ur money...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Dissapointing!
Posted on:7/6/14
FranCalvo
Location: Buenos Aires, ARG
I can´t believe I have to pay $60 plus $15 every month. So, every 4 months, I spent $60 (not including taxes) and that´s a bit TOO MUCH. I will not buy the game, to play for a year, it is $156 plus taxes, that´s almost 3 new full-playable PS4 games. I´m dissapointed with Bethesda, and I know they lost lots of fans around the world. I´m from Argentina, and I was looking forward to this game., as many people from many other countries. Besides, this game looks more like World of Warcraft rather than Skyrim, so that´s another reason why I have no doubt that I will not buy this pay-monthly game. I know that MMORPGS costs millions to make, but I think is not fair to pay twice (the game and monthly). We should pay monthly (but not $15), without the cost of $60 of the game, or $60 the game and nothing monthly. Too expensive, too dissapointed. Thank you for reading, from an ex-fan of The Elder Scrolls, Fran.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Can't wait! $15 a month is necessary.
Posted on:3/29/14
OzzSOAD
Location: California
After some hands on time with the PC beta, I can't wait to play at launch. I've chosen to go with the PS4 version over the PC for a few reasons, the main being the graphical limitations of my PC. The controls are simple enough that I have no worries about the ease of mapping them to a gamepad. The most common complaint I see for this game is the required $15 a month fee. People that don't understand why an MMO needs this don't understand much about the genre. With these kinds of games, the developers are constantly developing after launch. Monthly fees pay for server maintenance and further updates to expand the game's content. It's an enormous game that will get much bigger over time. Expecting PS+ or Live to support the developers isn't realistic, of course it has to be a separate fee. At least PS+ isn't required. It's either a monthly fee or a Free-to Play model. Having a cash shop always in your face, something that comes with the Free-to-Play model, would ruin this incredibly immersive game. No thanks.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
18 of 35 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
phystudent
South Dakota
 
Please wait while more information about phystudent is loaded.
Additional information about phystudent could not be loaded.
Thanks
Posted 4/2/14
Dude, thank you for pointing this out. I was so excited about ESO, but then I read about the fee, and was a bit less excited. However after reading your post, I immediately felt better. Thank you for pointing out the common sense stuff that I for one did not really pause to think about. I would rather pay $60 for the game, and then $15 bucks a month to have a game that is massive, and will keep me busy for more than a weekend. Most of the games now are so short, that if a monthly fee is what it takes to have a game you can really put a ton of hours into, then I will happily pay it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for The Elder Scrolls Online
About Subscription Fees and Elder Scrolls
Posted on:4/15/14
Roadkell
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
MMORPGS cost millions to make. They cost millions to constantly update and add content. If an MMORPG doesn't have a subscription, it has an item mall. There are those types of MMO players, such as myself, who would rather pay a one time monthly fee than be bombarded with an out of game item shop. One way or another, a good game needs residual income to add new stuff and keep people employed making it better. If it isn't your thing, there are plenty of games out there for you. I have been playing this on the PC. It is good for an old guy like me who likes to explore online worlds with my buddies. I will get it for my PS4 because I am excited to play an MMORPG in my living room. MMORPG's are unique in that the people who play them, and play them often, don't have time for other games. So instead of buying a different game every couple of months, they are content to pay a marginal fee monthly to play the game their friends are playing. It isn't a right or wrong thing, it is a preference thing. I am glad that at least Zenimax had the guts to put a sub on this. An item mall that took me out of game to buy a potion or whatever, would have been a disaster for me. Thanks.
20 of 29 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Medaltiger
 
Please wait while more information about Medaltiger is loaded.
Additional information about Medaltiger could not be loaded.
Posted 8/16/14
The main elf that is captured at the end of this newest trailer, is she a high elf? or what race is she? cause if she is that's the faction I'm joining.
Customer Avatar
Medaltiger
 
Please wait while more information about Medaltiger is loaded.
Additional information about Medaltiger could not be loaded.
Posted 8/16/14
All these people complaining about paying a little bit a month for a really great mmorpg. They don't take into account what it takes to make a game like this and what it takes to keep the servers running smoothly etc.
Customer Avatar
Medaltiger
 
Please wait while more information about Medaltiger is loaded.
Additional information about Medaltiger could not be loaded.
Posted 8/16/14
I agree wholeheartly. what is your gamertag? or i'll tell you mine and we can meet up when the game starts.
Customer Avatar
Sevher
KY
 
Please wait while more information about Sevher is loaded.
Additional information about Sevher could not be loaded.
Quite Agree
Posted 4/28/14
I also feel it helps brings in quality players to the game. If you buy a game and you have to pay to monthly to play it. Your not going to sit around all day in a major traffic area spamming the chat, risking your account by buying/building a bot, Advertise a Gold selling website, and etc... what usually comes with MMOs. Don't get me wrong there will be someone who does, but there will be a lot less who does it.
Plus being a Company being Paid for there services, they are pretty much obligated. To find Hackers, Botters, glitchers and anyone else who will ruin the gaming experience for other players.
That's just my thoughts.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 5 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Phenominal Game!!
Posted on:3/25/14
Kelamor
Location: TX
I participated in the beta and i would put this as being one of the most fun games i have ever played. The skill system is capable of being customized to your own Unique playstyle. The combat system keeps you on your toes with enemy abilities that require situation awareness to counter. A Beautiful Landscape set in the Elder Scrolls realm. The pvp is the most fun i have ever had pvp'ing and i hate pvp..you can use seige weapons, and pour oil down onto enemies trying to break through your gates, actually coordinate with your team, archers on the walls, knights at the main line, and actually use real time war strategy. The 15$ a month is acceptable. When i think about the cost of a games sub i think to myself well "there are people who work for this that wish to recieve a paycheck, people with families, people with kids, peopl who try to use this money you put in to deliver better, more rich future content.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
demonehemann
Russellville, AR
 
Please wait while more information about demonehemann is loaded.
Additional information about demonehemann could not be loaded.
Really
Posted 6/3/14
Man i was so excited for this game and now i have to wait longer man this sucks but boy dose it look amazing it kills me to wait
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for The Elder Scrolls Online
GREED RUINS GAMES
Posted on:2/18/14
1PVZ1
Elder scrolls. One of the best games ever, hands down but now this is how the fans are treated. This is yet another game that I WILL NOT BUY. Think about what it will cost a month to play this game. Monthly subscription+ PS or Xbox subscription + internet + the game. The greed has to stop. Please take a stand
149 of 203 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Usrevenge2
 
Please wait while more information about Usrevenge2 is loaded.
Additional information about Usrevenge2 could not be loaded.
at the guy above
Posted 3/30/14
Destiny doesn't have a subscription. but having played the beta for elder scrolls online, I think it's going to be worth it. it's like 2 skyrims in one, with your friends, and with enemies to fight in cyrodil. plus they said there would be frequent updates (read free dlc) thinking about how much I liked skyrim, I'l be getting this game day 1. if I end up getting bored i'l quit like every other game.
Customer Avatar
Tsolval
Austin
 
Please wait while more information about Tsolval is loaded.
Additional information about Tsolval could not be loaded.
Greed Ruins Games
Posted 3/29/14
While I agree in principle, it should be noted that a PS+ subscription is not required to play this game on the PS4. Zenimax was still in negotiations with Microsoft for the same privilege on XBone, last I heard. Also, the $15 subscription to this and other MMO games is typically used for server and network upkeep and improvements, game content expansions, live support, live events, and so on. I'd much rather pay this monthly - knowing I can cancel whenever I like - than to pay another $10 to download and play the last chapter of the game I paid $60 for. Yes, I'm looking at you, Ubisoft...
Customer Avatar
CMannn
 
Please wait while more information about CMannn is loaded.
Additional information about CMannn could not be loaded.
It's worth it if you're into MMO's
Posted 3/14/14
What it will cost? Probably around $15-$20 a month, which is around what Destiny will be. And being an MMO of this scale I'd say it's worth it.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 7 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Lame
Posted on:5/8/14
Chase88
Location: Tulsa, OK
Delayed 6 months great. I bought my PS4 for this...and its only 3 semesters away now, thats awesome.
10 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Really? $15 a month?
Posted on:3/15/14
DayWalker112
Location: Texas
Skyrim and especially Oblivion have changed my life and given me a lot of fun times, but not matter what I refuse to pay $15 dollars a month to play it no matter how fun or new this game looks this has ruined it for me. I would already be paying $60 plus tax on it why make me pay more? I understand they want it to be like World of Warcraft but they are going to be losing a bunch of customers for this, it just simply isn't worth it.
30 of 46 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wolfmoon
NY
 
Please wait while more information about Wolfmoon is loaded.
Additional information about Wolfmoon could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
It's called an mmorpg
Posted 8/16/14
If you don't want to shell out 15$ a month there are several crummy free to play mmo's on the market. MMO gamers are used to paying a measly 15 dollars a month for quality content and updates. Most people spend more than that at the vending machine at work per month.
Customer Avatar
wolfgarHR999
Wisconsin
 
Please wait while more information about wolfgarHR999 is loaded.
Additional information about wolfgarHR999 could not be loaded.
ESO:A World of Greed
Posted 3/19/14
I absolutley loved Oblivion and Skyrim. Yet the world of greed being introduced by ESO may just end that love affair. By all reports, both by reviews, as well as people that I personally know, the beta showed quite a bit of promise. Few bugs and a very "Skyrimish" feel to the game are some of the best aspects of ESO. Yet the blatant greed is upsetting. In order to play ESO you will have to pay for an internet subscription, a console subscription (ie PSN Plus) as well as over $65 dollars for the game. Now if this alone was the price I could say ok, after all we have to pay something. Yet it goes much further than that with a $15 a month fee, compared to FFXIV's $13. We all know how dramatically a subscription based game's player base drops soon after everyone tires of dlc'd content leaving empty worlds and broken economies. Yet to top it all off, as if we were not already going to pay enough, ESO will charge numerous micro transaction fees. Simply put, your $15 a month DOES NOT even grant you full access to the game. Your first year of ESO will cost u well over $400 just for the game and subscription fees (internet, PSN Plus and ESO). $400 plus dollars just to play a game, oh, and let us not forget those pesky micro transactions. In reality, is there anyway, EVER, that ESO can be over $450 a year worth of fun???
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for The Elder Scrolls Online
I Totally Agree
Posted on:2/22/14
Snelly2586
Location: Andersonville, Tennessee
I was so looking forward to this game.....but now I will not be purchasing it just simply because I am not willing to pay $60 dollars for the game then another monthly charge just simply to be able TO PLAY THE GAME!!!!!! This is absolutely ridiculous...anyone that doesn't see anything wrong with this is a fool!
47 of 72 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Usrevenge2
 
Please wait while more information about Usrevenge2 is loaded.
Additional information about Usrevenge2 could not be loaded.
Posted 3/30/14
most MMOs do this. fact is, it costs MILLIONS to make an mmo, then on top of that it takes hundreds of thousands of dollars a year just to run the servers.. Blizzard spent 200MILLION dollars in just upkeep for wow since 2004, so 10 years and customer support+servers+upgrades for servers $200million is more than most games cost to make, and before building the actual game.
Customer Avatar
Milkmoneyhitman
 
Please wait while more information about Milkmoneyhitman is loaded.
Additional information about Milkmoneyhitman could not be loaded.
Really?
Posted 3/2/14
People that play world of warcraft have been doing this for years, in fact if they paid for all the xpacs that have come out which 9 million people have they spent 189.95 plus a 14.99 a month fee to play. This is the only game that has been able to even get the reviews to actually kill wow off. So I guess you don't want to buy it. Your loss i'll be enjoying it while you're trying to figure out something fun to play
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for The Elder Scrolls Online
I doubt it's coming out this December either
Posted on:7/29/14
cubslover
Location: Anaheim
I just heard from someone at Gamestop and they said that the 12/31/14 date is just a placeholder date. It probably won't be out till sometime next year. If they continue to have problems with server integration etc., then just leave the PS4 offline. I think the setup for Skyrim was just fine. Keep it offline then.
Review 11 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Not Buying it! The Elder Scrolls Online
Posted on:7/23/14
Kevin569
Location: Atlanta, GA
They went away from the RPG, to try and make more money. It is not going to work. I think true fans will be turned off. I won't be buying this game. Let’s see if Dragonage will give me that Skyrim experience.
Review 12 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Stunned..
Posted on:4/18/14
NateyNate7
Location: Texas
I really didn't think Elder Scrolls needed to go live and yet they did, and worst of all they made it an MMORPG so now we pretty much have a dished up version of WOW... I really don't think im gonna buy this when it comes out. Im really disappointed...
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Monthly fee
Posted on:5/27/14
kozmo
Location: michigan
So I have been looking forward to getting an RPG game that I would enjoy as much as I have enjoyed playing World Of Warcraft. The only Thing that I do not like is having to pay about $65 for the game plus the monthly fee to play it. I do how ever understand the reason for the fee They will be maintaining the servers as well and correcting any updates and bug fixes. Just take a moment and think about this for a moment, if you are the ones complaining about the fee and will not buy this game, just think what it would be like if all games where this way. Just thanks your lucky stars that it is not like that. I Will be getting this game and will be preordering it very very soon.
Review 14 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Why
Posted on:6/19/14
dragonslayer28
Location: missouri
Why should we have to buy the game and pay extra just to keep playing. I get after reading other comments that they need money to update the game, but think about how there are so many people in the world. If 500 people bought it that's already 30,000 dollars they just made. So they probably won't make as much money with the extra payments. The game looks like fun but I wouldn't recommend it.
Review 15 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Was Excited For This Game.....Key Word Was!
Posted on:4/2/14
OneMan234
Location: Connecticut
I was really excited when I saw this game was coming out. I was more into these games when I was 12-15, but faded away from them. When I heard this was coming out on PS4 I pre-ordered it immediately. Sadly after reading a few things and talking to a few people I heard there would be a $15 a month charge to play the game. I honestly don't spend enough time playing video games to justify paying almost $250 (subscription + game) for one year of play. Because of this I canceled my pre-order and will have to pass on this game.
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Bethesda has gotten TOO GREEDY
Posted on:3/31/14
intrepidpooch
Location: Jacksonville, FL
I was super excited when I first heard about ESO but now that they've announced that after paying $60 for the game, players will also have to fork over another $15 a month I REFUSE to buy this. This is ridiculous in an era when even World of Warcraft is free to play up to level 20 and every single decent MMO has also gone free to play. I hope enough gamers choose to boycott this release that Bethesda will be forced to drop the pay to play decision. It worked when gamers spoke out against Microsoft policies and they reversed everything they had planned for the XBOne.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Elder Scrolls Online
This game is great!
Posted on:1/17/14
onlinekilla
Location: PA
Got in the beta last weekend, and I couldn't stop playing. The game ran so good, no lag or any drop in fps. The beta was on pc, but I'm going to get it for the ps4.The game just feels like it will be great with a controller. Plus I want a awesome mmo for my ps4. I can not wait to try pvp in this game. I was reading that 200 people can be in pvp to fight for keeps and forts.
9 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BlackStar300
 
Please wait while more information about BlackStar300 is loaded.
Additional information about BlackStar300 could not be loaded.
Sounds good!
Posted 1/24/14
I played the beta on 2 different occasion. Well the last 2 betas and much has changed in the time (November-January) and I too plan on getting this for PS4. People complain about this game, but I just don't think they are giving it a chance. You can stand and judge something all you want, but until you try it you can't really knock it. It isn't Skyrim (which was phenomenal), but its great. If you want you can add me on PS4 for when the game comes out BlackStar300 ( The L is an I). Just put in msg that you are here for eso so I don't get randoms =P.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Not very promising so far
Posted on:12/21/13
shadyassassin93
Location: USA
First of all Bethesda has nothing to do with this game and never will (meaning the creaters of Morrowind Oblivion and Skyrim have nothing to do with this game), ZeniMax Online Studios is in complete control of the project and they are completely fresh and new to the gaming world, meaning this will be the first game they have ever made with Bethesda doing nothing but backing them financially and letting them use their product names. This itself isn't relay that big of a deal, but all the info they've released about the game so far dose'nt seem like its going to turn out very well. They have announced that they are throwing out all guidelines for MMOS such as classes, dungeons closed to the parties in it and rolls (tanks, dps, heals) all of which have been tried and caused games to flop (guild wars 2, rift ect.) also the game's main focus is apparently going to be on PvP with hardly any PvE which to some people is good news but for the majority of MMO players isn't going to fly, and as for me that system isn't going to work very well since I enjoy lore more then bashing people's skulls in which appears to be what this game will be focusing around. if all of that dose'nt turn you off this game if you do get it for the Xbox One or PS4 you will have to pay the $15 monthly fee for the game on top of your Xbox Live/PSN subscription. I had high hopes for this game but unfortunately I believe this game will be a flop. I do hope they change these flaws but as of right now unfortunately I will have to pass on this game.
33 of 70 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TheBob
 
Please wait while more information about TheBob is loaded.
Additional information about TheBob could not be loaded.
well...
Posted 3/30/14
I don't know where you are getting your info but the game will most definitely have a lot of PvE, the only PvP area is Cyrodil, meaning the rest of the game is PvE.
Customer Avatar
Keasey
Las Vegas
 
Please wait while more information about Keasey is loaded.
Additional information about Keasey could not be loaded.
Trust Me
Posted 1/12/14
I have seen a lot of comments of people bashing this game just because it was not made by Bethesda. I'm a die hard Elder Scrolls fan and I have beta tested it. From what I have seen so far the name is standing up great a few minor bugs in the beta but it will be fixed way before this game is released. Now just because it wasn't made by Bethesda... Doesn't mean it not gonna stand to its name. Why because the are financing it means it has to meet there approval. Do real think Bethesda will let a bad game come out with there name on it. I don't think so! I just hope it is as fun on the ps4 as the PC!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 19 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Looks awesome, But why you do this to us!!!
Posted on:5/29/14
AssassinsDojos
Location: Columbia, SC
This game is going to be amazing i know that for sure but i just hate the 6 month delay, like for real, i was looking forward for this game then BOOM, 6 month delay -_-, i just really wanted to play this awesome game. Well what ever, I'm a PC Beta tester and i enjoyed the experience of the game, Cant wait for the PS4 version of the game. :)
Review 20 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Not buying
Posted on:4/12/14
gamestarii
Location: South Carolina
I love The Elder Scrolls series, have them all but this will be the first one i'll be skipping i'm not paying the $65 then a $15 dollars a month on top of that. I'm not into playing with others i'm old school let me play my game in peace without all the chatting back and forth. I hope the next one they make isn't a pay to play game if so I guess i'll be skipping that one as well. But here's an idea if you want us to pay $15 dollars a month let the game it's self be free.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>